Detroit, MI - HDTV - Page 274 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8191 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 01:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjbawc View Post

Thanks, that's something to look for, anyway. (I assume it's DCT 6200)

Anyone else have any info?

If that is the box you are looking for the DCH is going to be the exact same thing. The DCH series is just a replacement for the DCT series because of separable security rules. 6000 series boxes have an analog tuner, which is no longer needed because of all digital simulcast. 3000 series boxes only have a digital tuner.
homcom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8192 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjbawc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
homcom, thanks for the info. Do I understand correctly that the DCH3200 (HD), and the DCT700 and DCH70 (SD) can all be programmed to change channels for timer recordings on my DVDR? Do the SD boxes have S-Vid outs, as well as composite?
kjbawc is offline  
post #8193 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 01:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjbawc View Post

homcom, thanks for the info. Do I understand correctly that the DCH3200 (HD), and the DCT700 and DCH70 (SD) can all be programmed to change channels for timer recordings on my DVDR? Do the SD boxes have S-Vid outs, as well as composite?

I am 90% sure that they all three boxes can do timer recording, I only have DVRs so I will try to confirm with some friends for you. Only the DCH3200 has S-Video. DCT700 and DCH70 are RF and composite only.
homcom is offline  
post #8194 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 02:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjbawc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've tried to find some info on line. I found one person saying that the DCH 70 can't be programmed to change channels, but will accept an IR blaster. Unfortunately, my DVDR has no IR blaster. Also, I prefer S-Vid, so I guess I am really most interested in the DCT 6200, and the DCH 3200. Unfortunately, when I search Comcast's web site for them, nothing comes up. Thanks for any help you can provide. I can no longer record TCM, and will soon lose CNN, MSNBC, and Comedy Central, all of which I like to record in SD on my DVDR.
kjbawc is offline  
post #8195 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
compson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Ann Arbor Comcast HD launch dates, 10/20 to 11/19.

Great. Thanks for the information. I'm looking forward to the new channels and hoping, perhaps unrealistically, that TCM is among them.
compson is offline  
post #8196 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 11:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by compson View Post

Great. Thanks for the information. I'm looking forward to the new channels and hoping, perhaps unrealistically, that TCM is among them.

Comcast does carry TCM HD in other areas, but I've not seen it in Michigan as yet, even those locations that have 100+ HD channels.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #8197 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Where did Cartoon Network HD channel go on Comcast?
I cannot find it-it was there last year I think as I recall capping star wars clone wars in HD.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #8198 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 08:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post

Where did Cartoon Network HD channel go on Comcast?
I cannot find it-it was there last year I think as I recall capping star wars clone wars in HD.

Channel 227, but it is not available in all areas. What city are you in?
homcom is offline  
post #8199 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Shelby Twp-48317
qz3fwd is offline  
post #8200 of 11904 Old 10-18-2009, 08:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post

Shelby Twp-48317

Not available in your area at this time, it never has been available.
homcom is offline  
post #8201 of 11904 Old 10-19-2009, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Doesn't TNT or TBS show Clone Wars reruns?

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
post #8202 of 11904 Old 10-19-2009, 05:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,132
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 633
Am I the only one who noticed that WWJ-TV just didn't broadcast Cold Cast last night?

My best guess is that they didn't notice that the football game ran about 65 minutes long and assumed they were only 5 minutes behind, so they ran their 11:00pm CSI Miami rerun at 11:05 PM (or so) on top of where Cold Case should have been.

IDIOTS!!!
Stereodude is offline  
post #8203 of 11904 Old 10-19-2009, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rreini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Westland, MI, USA
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

Am I the only one who noticed that WWJ-TV just didn't broadcast Cold Cast last night?

My best guess is that they didn't notice that the football game ran about 65 minutes long and assumed they were only 5 minutes behind, so they ran their 11:00pm CSI Miami rerun at 11:05 PM (or so) on top of where Cold Case should have been.

IDIOTS!!!

According to this discussion on the TV or Not TV forum, Cold Case got pre-empted in the East.

Roger in DTW
rreini is offline  
post #8204 of 11904 Old 10-19-2009, 05:29 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 295
CBS pre-empted the episode. It'll air next week. Stations scream bloody murder if their local news is off by an hour. Overtime for crews, rebates for advertisers..

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #8205 of 11904 Old 10-19-2009, 05:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,132
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 633
So CBS pulled the episode, not the local?

I had never heard of that before... Interesting...
Stereodude is offline  
post #8206 of 11904 Old 10-19-2009, 05:54 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Happens a lot when anything puts them an hour behind. Note that this doesn't happen on single-header weekends since the whole Eatern/Central isn't getting a late game.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #8207 of 11904 Old 10-19-2009, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post

CBS pre-empted the episode. It'll air next week. Stations scream bloody murder if their local news is off by an hour. Overtime for crews, rebates for advertisers..

if we had a real CBS station someone might have put up a crawl explaining the show was pre-empted.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #8208 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 04:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
JohnS-MI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgdaes View Post

if we had a real CBS station someone might have put up a crawl explaining the show was pre-empted.

Do you want a "real" one or a "good" one?

WWJ is CBS O&O, but 11 PM is reruns under the "No news is good news" banner.

I watched an hour and a quarter of a football game I didn't care about to determine the time shift for Cold Case, and they scrub the episode? I might be done with Cold Case. I used to do it last year for the Unit, but CC has been on my "marginal" list for a while. I'm not sure it is worth the work to DVR it every week.
JohnS-MI is online now  
post #8209 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnS-MI View Post

Do you want a "real" one or a "good" one?

WWJ is CBS O&O, but 11 PM is reruns under the "No news is good news" banner.

I watched an hour and a quarter of a football game I didn't care about to determine the time shift for Cold Case, and they scrub the episode? I might be done with Cold Case. I used to do it last year for the Unit, but CC has been on my "marginal" list for a while. I'm not sure it is worth the work to DVR it every week.


You say that like it is choice WWJ is niether real or good. I have always hated WWJ because they basically have no local presence. CBS treats this market like garbage and we deserve better.

I have to wonder is there even someone there running the place on a Sunday Night that could run a crawl in the event of a show getting bumped for football.

Not to mention it was such an important game they shoved down our throats in first place.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #8210 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 10:56 AM
Member
 
mlr_1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post

CBS pre-empted the episode. It'll air next week. Stations scream bloody murder if their local news is off by an hour. Overtime for crews, rebates for advertisers..

I know this is our local Detroit forum, but just wondering in those situations do they pre-empted it for the West coast too and just run something else in that time slot (most likely a re-run).
mlr_1977 is offline  
post #8211 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 11:12 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Yes. West coast gets a rerun in those situations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgdaes View Post

I have to wonder is there even someone there running the place on a Sunday Night that could run a crawl in the event of a show getting bumped for football..

I don't have any information as to WWJ-DT's decision-making process, but if you were programming it and your bonuses depended on ratings, you wouldn't run the crawl, either. Every Nielsen home that sits there through Maddus is money in your pocket. Run the crawl and they're gone. In a market where just a tenth of a share can mean a couple hundred grand difference in your bottom line, you don't want to tell them "Hey, your show isn't going to be on, so you can turn off your TV, now." Sure, you'd think it'd be common courtesy, but in a market as tight on ad dollars as this one is, common courtesy loses to bottom line.

Heck, the whole reason Maddus is there is to hold on to that 11:00 viewer just long enough to get counted.

Again, that's just me thinking like a programmer and should in no way be construed as what actually goes into ANY CBS decision making process.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #8212 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Chris Berry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New HD Channels
  • CNN Headline News (channel 228)
  • Cartoon Network (channel 258)
  • E! (channel 262)
  • WE (channel 268)
  • Disney XD (channel 307)
  • G4 (channel 313)
  • Style (channel 324)
In addition, three channels currently available on the Digital Sports Tier will also be broadcast in HD:
  • The Tennis Channel HD on channel 653,
  • the Outdoor Channel on channel 654 and
  • CBS College Sports on channel 657

These channels will move to their new location:


Old Ch. Channel Name New Ch. Old Channel Status
240 WDIV HD 204 240 becomes Bravo HD
221 WMY HD 206 221 becomes ION TV HD
270 WXYZ HD 207 270 becomes National Geo HD
262 WWJ HD 214 262 becomes E! HD
228 Travel HD 328 228 becomes Headline News HD
211 Showtime HD 611 211 becomes WTVS HD
73 Style 124 will be located on 124 and 324 in HD
77 FSN Plus / BHN Presents will be merged with Community Bulletin Board on Channel 3
Chris Berry is offline  
post #8213 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 12:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,132
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 633
And how much bitrate is being shaved off the existing channels to do this?

Because I know we really need CNN Headline News in HD.

I have BHN cable, and I use OTA wherever possible because the picture quality is better.
Stereodude is offline  
post #8214 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 12:37 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Chris..

Couldn't they at least make the HD tier contiguous? The channels in the 200s and 300s are fine.. but then you have to skip over the 400s and 500s to get back to HD in the 600s.

Ok, that was a rhetorical question.

And, yes, we need HLN in HD. Reasons: Robin Meade. Natasha Curry.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #8215 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post

Couldn't they at least make the HD tier contiguous?

As usual, another cable company fails with HD channel numbering. I cannot understand how DirecTV and Dish were able to get it right, with HD and SD channels on the same number, while no cable company (or more likely, no cable IPG developer) has been able to do it. The satellite way makes infinitely more sense, and you'd think cable would be eager to copy it.
Jeremy W is offline  
post #8216 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 01:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is an article from the Sports Video Group about FS Detroit's new studio.

Quote:


Fox Sports Detroit Gets a New Home (Studio)
By: John Rice, Contributing Writer | Published: October 20, 2009

Fox Sports Detroit unveiled a studio on Oct. 1, marking the first time that the regional network has a home base for game coverage. The studio, completed in conjunction with the network's conversion to an all-digital facility, is the result of a multi-year planning and construction plan.

It's not just the studio aspect that was a challenge, says Fox Sports Detroit Executive Producer John Tuohey. Converting our facility from standard definition to high definition [meant] we had two things going on at the same time.

Prior to the studio construction, all pre-game, post-game, and intermission programming was generated from the sports venues and the on-site production truck. Since the trucks are really built for game production, he says, having a studio and having additional resources to record highlights and have other features available really allows us to make the show much bigger and better than we could from the production truck.

The new studio sits in a 20- x 30-ft. soundstage and features two Ikegami HD cameras, a Ross 2ME HD production switcher, 360 Systems' MAXX-2400 four-channel HD broadcast server, Chyron HyperX HD character generator, Yamaha Digital 96 5.1-channel surround-sound audio mixer, and, from Avid, ISIS/Interplay editing and four Media Composer edit systems integrated with an Interplay asset-manager system. A custom-designed set from FX Group is supported by two 73-in. DLP rear-projection monitors and a 32-in. LCD.

The Fox Sports Detroit facility is tied via HD fiber connections to the Joe Lewis Arena, The Palace of Auburn Hills, and Comerica Park, as well as to the FSN national technical operations center in Houston.

Shifting from the tape world to the media-based, file-based way of storing [and editing] footage is a really a step, says Tuohey. While the transition from the videotape world will take some time, this move to hard-drive and flash-drive storage is remarkable. It turned out to be well worth the wait.

Planning for this conversion and studio construction began nearly four years ago. It was in the past year and a half that it looked like it was finally going to happen, he says, adding that, for him, the delay in building the studio was a blessing. It allowed us to put a high-definition facility in place. If we had gotten the green light [for the studio] four years ago, we would have needed an overhaul by now anyway.

The studio, located in the Fox Sports Detroit facilities in Southfield, MI, sit almost equidistant from downtown Detroit and the Palace in Auburn Hills. We're ideally located for the major sites we go to, Tuohey points out. Fox Sports Detroit carries the Detroit Red Wings, Pistons, and Tigers games. A multi-year sponsorship of the studio by The Sam Bernstein Law Firm gives the facility the name Call Sam Studio.

While current production from the studio includes the pre- and post-game and intermission programming previously produced on location, Tuohey believes we probably have the opportunity to find [expanded] programming and productions the studio will help us evolve into.

http://sportsvideo.org/main/blog/200...w-home-studio/
homcom is offline  
post #8217 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post

Yes. West coast gets a rerun in those situations.

I don't have any information as to WWJ-DT's decision-making process, but if you were programming it and your bonuses depended on ratings, you wouldn't run the crawl, either. Every Nielsen home that sits there through Maddus is money in your pocket. Run the crawl and they're gone. In a market where just a tenth of a share can mean a couple hundred grand difference in your bottom line, you don't want to tell them "Hey, your show isn't going to be on, so you can turn off your TV, now." Sure, you'd think it'd be common courtesy, but in a market as tight on ad dollars as this one is, common courtesy loses to bottom line.

Heck, the whole reason Maddus is there is to hold on to that 11:00 viewer just long enough to get counted.

Again, that's just me thinking like a programmer and should in no way be construed as what actually goes into ANY CBS decision making process.

I see your point. But that is the reason why they are a sham of a station. In my mind a local affiliate should originate some local programming, and more importantly be a have presence in the community they serve.

WWJ has 5 minutes of weather and some local show called Michigan Matters. Seriously is there even someone in control room to run an Amber alert or weather alert.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #8218 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 06:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgdaes View Post

I see your point. But that is the reason why they are a sham of a station. In my mind a local affiliate should originate some local programming, and more importantly be a have presence in the community they serve.

WWJ has 5 minutes of weather and some local show called Michigan Matters. Seriously is there even someone in control room to run an Amber alert or weather alert.

They also have a few hours of what some might call a local newscast each weekday.

Frankly, I have found WWJ and WKBD to be the most consistent in what they provide as far as emergency alerts and how they show them.
homcom is offline  
post #8219 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by homcom View Post

They also have a few hours of what some might call a local newscast each weekday.

Frankly, I have found WWJ and WKBD to be the most consistent in what they provide as far as emergency alerts and how they show them.

Now that the Unit has been canceled I'm down to 60 Minutes, The Amazing Race, and Football.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #8220 of 11904 Old 10-20-2009, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjbawc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Comcast in Ann Arbor just added The Independent Film Channel in HD. I like the IFC a lot, and was looking forward to seeing it in HD. So, imagine my disgust when I tuned in to two different movies, and found they were stretched horizontally, with black bars top and bottom!

I checked the SD channel, and they were both 16x9 letterboxed, in the right aspect ratio, so at least I could zoom it, and fill the screen. Does anyone have any idea when and if the IFCHD will really have HD, in the correct aspect ratio?
kjbawc is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off