Detroit, MI - HDTV - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 11893 Old 10-03-2005, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
water1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Pleasant Ridge & Suttons Bay, MI, Carefree, AZ
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,
Do you know if Channel Master will offer an upgrade path for the Gain Master dish?

John
water1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 11893 Old 10-03-2005, 11:04 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lovswr, Existing DIRECTV HD customers will be upgraded by DIRECTV's exclusive Home Services Providers, HSP.

DIRECTV dealers use either their own satellite technicians or their own independent satellite contracted technicians or the nationwide data base of Master Service Provider, MSP.

walter1, No larger dish is planned for now. The new 5 LNB Plus dish is 24"x36" and should provide excellent rain fade.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1083 of 11893 Old 10-03-2005, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Robert, some of us have "moved" ( in my case 12 miles...)so a D install is not an option, I guess we'll just have to wait until the equipment is readily available. If D will just send the equipment I'd be happy, but I don't think they will, at least initially...
Matt L is offline  
post #1084 of 11893 Old 10-03-2005, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

lovswr, Existing DIRECTV HD customers will be upgraded by DIRECTV's exclusive Home Services Providers, HSP.

DIRECTV dealers use either their own satellite technicians or their own independent satellite contracted technicians or the nationwide data base of Master Service Provider, MSP.

walter1, No larger dish is planned for now. The new 5 LNB Plus dish is 24"x36" and should provide excellent rain fade.

-Robert

That is comforting to know. I will assume that they will bring/provide all equipment to make the 5 LNB dish work as well.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #1085 of 11893 Old 10-03-2005, 01:51 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post

That is comforting to know. I will assume that they will bring/provide all equipment to make the 5 LNB dish work as well.

Yes, if you need more than 5 outputs they will include the proper multi-switch and run any necessary coaxes to accommodate your system.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1086 of 11893 Old 10-03-2005, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UncD2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert, do you happen to know the weight of the 5LNB dish compared to the Phase III 3LNB? Also, does the H20 STB have RF out and Caller ID? Will antenna/satellite diplexers work with the new system? Thanks.

UncD2000
UncD2000 is offline  
post #1087 of 11893 Old 10-03-2005, 03:11 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not know the weight, but I can tell you that the mast pipe has a 2" OD to handel the increased wind load.

The new dish, model # AT9 will be called the Plus dish and have 5 coax outputs. We will also have new KA/KU 6x8 multi-switch for customers who need more than 5 outputs. The 6th input on the KA/KU switch is to intergrade more ATSC local channels.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1088 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 04:29 AM
Member
 
otown47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 5.1 audio on this station is still wrong......only the front L&R channels have any sound. Even MNF was not right. Does anyone know when this will be fixed????
otown47 is offline  
post #1089 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 01:28 PM
Member
 
lysinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

Will the H20-250 have two OTA and two Sat tuners like the H10-250 and require two Sat lines in?

For those of us who need more than eight lines (5 TIVO units) what multiswitch will be available?

Would it be better to wait for the TIVO server?

Thanks,

Mark
lysinger is offline  
post #1090 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 01:36 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark, DIRECTV's HMC will have a single OTA input that will internally split the signal to its built-in dual ATSC tuners. The HMC will also have 4 satellite inputs to accommodate the 4 satellite tuners.

The HR20-250 will have the same dual OTA and dual satellite configuration as the HR10-250 but will decode both MPEG-2/4 signals.

The new Plus 5 LNB dish requires a new KA/KU 6x8 switch for customers who require more than 5 outputs.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1091 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 01:54 PM
Member
 
lysinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Robert,

So it sounds like the HMC would be prefered to having 5 HR20-250 units each requiring two multiswitch outputs. That totals 10 which is more than the KA/KU 6x8 can provide.

How will the HMC be connected to each TV?

Mark
lysinger is offline  
post #1092 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 02:03 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark, the 6x8 KA/KU switch can be cascaded to provide more outputs.

The final development of the HMC network is just being completed and DIRECTV is planning TCPIP over your house AC power.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1093 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 02:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post


The final development of the HMC network is just being completed and DIRECTV is planning TCPIP over your house AC power.

-Robert

Really..? That will certainly be interesting...I have never seen that method produce anything with high quality output..but there is always progress I suppose.
Keenan is online now  
post #1094 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 02:24 PM
Member
 
lysinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again Robert,

Any word on what the storage capability will be on the HMC and when will it roll out?

Mark
lysinger is offline  
post #1095 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 02:50 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No answer on the hard drive size yet, but I am sure it will be very large. At this early time it's very hard to provide any accurate delivery date, but I suspect, by Q3-4 2006.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1096 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 03:15 PM
Member
 
running_on_mty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dexter, MI
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Robert, great info for the Detroit area. I currently am using the HD Tivo unit and have my old Hughes E86 in mothballs due to it not receiving all transponders any more. Would it be to my advantage to reactivate that unit on a SD TV to receive the Direct TV STB?

If I read the messages here correctly, nothing near term to replace the HD TIVO?

Thanks
running_on_mty is offline  
post #1097 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 03:33 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you activate the E86 and have HD programming on your account you will get a H20 to replace the E86 at no charge. DIRECTV will be charging $49.99 to upgrade your system.

I expect the next generation HD DVR will be shipping by Q2-06 or sooner.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1098 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No offense intended, Robert, but I wonder why are we hearing this for the first time from you, and not from the "horse's mouth?" Has anyone in Detroit been contacted by DirecTV about an HD upgrade program?
tbb1226 is offline  
post #1099 of 11893 Old 10-04-2005, 04:44 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbb1226 View Post

No offense intended, Robert, but I wonder why are we hearing this for the first time from you, and not from the "horse's mouth?" Has anyone in Detroit been contacted by DirecTV about an HD upgrade program?

No offense taken. DIRECTV does not plan on making any announcement. Detroit is the test market for MPEG-4 HD LIL programming and equipment. Upgrades for existing customers will begin by the end of the month and new subscribers will start getting the new systems beginning October 18, 2005.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1100 of 11893 Old 10-05-2005, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
f300v10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

If you activate the E86 and have HD programming on your account you will get a H20 to replace the E86 at no charge. DIRECTV will be charging $49.99 to upgrade your system.

I expect the next generation HD DVR will be shipping by Q2-06 or sooner.

-Robert

Robert, first off thanks for the information here, without you we would still be completely in the dark on the MPEG4 rollout. What do you mean by $49.99 to upgrade your system? Is that the price for existing HD customers to get the new dish installed and swap our MPEG2 HD boxes, or to upgrade an existing customer from SD to MPEG4 HD?

Thanks again.
f300v10 is offline  
post #1101 of 11893 Old 10-05-2005, 06:58 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The $49.99 price is for upgrading existing DIRECTV HD customers. DIRECTV will upgrade the antenna dish system, (switch if required) and all HD STBs.

Existing SD customers who want to upgrade to HD can have the dish upgraded for $49.99, but will need to purchase the HD receiver for $199.99.

After October 18th most new subscribers who purchase a HD system will get the new H20 and 5 LNB Plus dish.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1102 of 11893 Old 10-05-2005, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
UncD2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert, if the 6th input on the 6 x 8 multiswitch is for OTA antenna, will there be a special diplexer required to separate the OTA signal at the STB, or will the existing satellite/antenna diplexers that many of us use work with the new system?

Does the H20 have an RF output? How about Caller ID? Thanks from all of us for answering our questions.

UncD2000
UncD2000 is offline  
post #1103 of 11893 Old 10-05-2005, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
UMDMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otown47 View Post

The 5.1 audio on this station is still wrong......only the front L&R channels have any sound. Even MNF was not right. Does anyone know when this will be fixed????

It's really driving me nuts too. I have to really crank up the receiver to even hear anything and it's not even DD5.1 . Must be why there's such a wicked lip sync issue on ABC, giving the viewer extra time to read lips if the volume is too low....

Wish I had something constructive to add to discussion, but I just really hope to hear Lost in 5.1, as Milton in Office Space put it, "at a reasonable volume."
UMDMatt is offline  
post #1104 of 11893 Old 10-05-2005, 01:49 PM
Member
 
SKluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question for anyone that knows about comcast / works for them or what have you... The CSR told me they encrypt all HD and had no idea why I could recieve TNT over HD and not any other channel. They must be testing it or something. Anyways, since comcast isn't supposed to encrypt local HD, is it possible comcast will unencrypt the locals in my area (Hartland/Howell 48353) sometime soon? They also told me if I signed up for the HD I would have to have someone come out and "install it". I know that isn't necessary and I don't need a box. I don't have a HDTV, just a HD capable PC and they are really clueless about it.

I don't know what to do, I'm 30 miles out from Southfield so I get fox, abc, wb reliably and NBC rarely over my antenna. I thought it was illegal for them to encrypt locals.. and they freely admit to it.

Another odd thing is the channel listing on comcast.com doesn't list any HD for my area, but does for all the surrounding area like brighton, central howell, south lyon, etc.

What is the deal here? No other Detroit area has locals encrypted but Hartland does?
SKluck is offline  
post #1105 of 11893 Old 10-05-2005, 03:16 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by UncD2000 View Post

Robert, if the 6th input on the 6 x 8 multiswitch is for OTA antenna, will there be a special diplexer required to separate the OTA signal at the STB, or will the existing satellite/antenna diplexers that many of us use work with the new system?

Does the H20 have an RF output? How about Caller ID? Thanks from all of us for answering our questions.

1. Yes, you can use the same di-plexers we currently use as they are just combining or separating the OTA or Cable 150-475 mHz with the blocked down 950-2450 mHz satellite signal and does not care if the signal is MPEG-2 or MPEG-4

2. No coax RF out.

3. Yes, caller ID.

4. You are very welcome!

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #1106 of 11893 Old 10-05-2005, 10:48 PM
Newbie
 
spiderweber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: DC area
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post


The HR20-250 will have the same dual OTA and dual satellite configuration as the HR10-250 but will decode both MPEG-2/4 signals.

Robert, do you know if the HR20-250 will look the same as the HR10-250? With TIVO service and all? I'm guessing not. Is this the first mpeg4 HD DVR with Rupert's DVR service?
spiderweber is offline  
post #1107 of 11893 Old 10-06-2005, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ktulu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! I watched some of the Phoenix/Vancouver game on HDNet last night and wow. The NHL looks good in HD and it sounds good too. This is the first time I've seen hockey in HD. I like it!

Jeff

Gamertag - Ktulu1

"Assiduus usus uni rei deditus et ingenium et artem saepe vincit" - Cicero
Ktulu_1 is offline  
post #1108 of 11893 Old 10-06-2005, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otown47 View Post

The 5.1 audio on this station is still wrong......only the front L&R channels have any sound. Even MNF was not right. Does anyone know when this will be fixed????

Nobody's mentioned it, so I thought I would jump in here and say that this issue seemed to be resolved as of Wednesday night's prime time.

Thanks to anyone here who had a hand in getting it fixed.
tbb1226 is offline  
post #1109 of 11893 Old 10-06-2005, 12:30 PM
Member
 
otown47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otown47 View Post

The 5.1 audio on this station is still wrong......only the front L&R channels have any sound. Even MNF was not right. Does anyone know when this will be fixed????

It seemed to be fixed as of Tuesday night....sounds great.

Thanks.....
otown47 is offline  
post #1110 of 11893 Old 10-06-2005, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
smitchell24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like tonights Red Wings game v. the Blues will be in HD on HDNet, per DirecTV...awsome!!! As long as its not blacked out!
smitchell24 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off