Detroit, MI - HDTV - Page 399 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11941 of 11964 Old 02-15-2015, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
coolpixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Matt,
I have full signal bars in Oxford for 20.1.


But my CBS 62.1 went totally out Sat. night an still not back. Anybody else?
coolpixer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11942 of 11964 Old 02-15-2015, 10:05 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,064
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 349
WWJ-DT added a subchannel, last night. 62.2 is now "Decades." You may need to rescan.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decades_%28TV_network%29

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.

Last edited by DrDon; 02-15-2015 at 10:30 AM.
DrDon is offline  
post #11943 of 11964 Old 02-18-2015, 10:39 AM
Member
 
dherman516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southfield, MI
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
WWJ-DT added a subchannel, last night. 62.2 is now "Decades." You may need to rescan.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decades_%28TV_network%29
Cool Concept -- Binge watching of classic shows... I wish Get Smart was upcoming (instead of last month) though...

Thanks for letting us know!

Dave
dherman516 is offline  
post #11944 of 11964 Old 02-18-2015, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 26
they are doing the binge thing until their official launch on Memorial Day
unclehonkey is offline  
post #11945 of 11964 Old 03-08-2015, 04:46 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,064
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 349
FWIW The addition of "Decades" also included a whole a new encoder, I'm told.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #11946 of 11964 Old 03-09-2015, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 39
how does it encode differently?
billmich is online now  
post #11947 of 11964 Old 03-09-2015, 06:28 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,064
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 349
From the looks of things, "better."

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #11948 of 11964 Old 03-09-2015, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 39
do you have a spec sheet differentiation between old and new?
billmich is online now  
post #11949 of 11964 Old 03-09-2015, 08:53 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,064
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Lord no. TV is in a different building, so getting eyes on the new gear ain't happening until the next time I have a reason to go over there. You gotta admit, it looks better now - even with a subchannel - than it was looking a year ago. Maybe if Carol Cain calls in sick, this week, they'll have me sub and I can find out more.
billmich likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #11950 of 11964 Old 03-12-2015, 11:35 AM
Member
 
yimitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Interesting news for those of us who are BHN customers. Charter is in talks to buy BHN per this article: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articl...house-networks

I'm guessing that this would only happen if the Comcast deal blows up. In that case, Charter would be after TWC instead.
yimitz is offline  
post #11951 of 11964 Old 03-12-2015, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by yimitz View Post
Interesting news for those of us who are BHN customers. Charter is in talks to buy BHN per this article: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articl...house-networks

I'm guessing that this would only happen if the Comcast deal blows up. In that case, Charter would be after TWC instead.
Let's all hope the Comcast deal implodes.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #11952 of 11964 Old 04-15-2015, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I am in Farmington Hills near 9 Mile and Inkster and have problems.

I have a 25-year old Archer VU-110, VHF/UHF/FM pointing at C 9.1. It also does C 2.x well.
And a RCA ANT751 UHF antenna aimed at magnetic 90 as closely as I can. 
They are 25 ft above ground and go into Antenna's Direct EU385CF UHF/VHF Antenna Combiner.



I recently cut off the outdoor portion of my coax, pushed some of the spare inside the attic out and re-terminated it. And replaced the grounding block a.k.a. antenna discharge unit. 



I have an old Sony DHG-HDD500 DVR which can be brought back from the brain dead by rebooting to confirm that it can do a good picture when my TiVo Premier XL displays a mess for the same channel.

1. Per tvfool 56.1 and 20.1 are both at magnetic 104. 56.1 has good PQ. But 20.1 gets a "problem with signal" message on my TiVo.

2. Per tvfool 7.1 is at magnetic 86 and 4.1 is at at magnetic 83. 7.1 occasionally has a good picture for brief intervals but 7.x are usually a mess. This is true with both tuners in the TiVo. But 4.1 is good.

I am mystified. Suggestions, comments, insults, relevant information is greatly appreciated.
humbug2 is online now  
post #11953 of 11964 Old 04-15-2015, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rreini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Westland, MI, USA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WXYZ swaps Live Well for Laff

As of April 15, WXYZ has dropped the Live Well Network and added the Laff channel. It's still 480i.

Roger in DTW
rreini is online now  
post #11954 of 11964 Old 04-15-2015, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by rreini View Post
As of April 15, WXYZ has dropped the Live Well Network and added the Laff channel. It's still 480i.
I am in mourning.
humbug2 is online now  
post #11955 of 11964 Old 04-16-2015, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Gary S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug2 View Post
I am in Farmington Hills near 9 Mile and Inkster and have problems.

I have a 25-year old Archer VU-110, VHF/UHF/FM pointing at C 9.1. It also does C 2.x well.
And a RCA ANT751 UHF antenna aimed at magnetic 90 as closely as I can. 
They are 25 ft above ground and go into Antenna's Direct EU385CF UHF/VHF Antenna Combiner.



I recently cut off the outdoor portion of my coax, pushed some of the spare inside the attic out and re-terminated it. And replaced the grounding block a.k.a. antenna discharge unit. 



I have an old Sony DHG-HDD500 DVR which can be brought back from the brain dead by rebooting to confirm that it can do a good picture when my TiVo Premier XL displays a mess for the same channel.

1. Per tvfool 56.1 and 20.1 are both at magnetic 104. 56.1 has good PQ. But 20.1 gets a "problem with signal" message on my TiVo.

2. Per tvfool 7.1 is at magnetic 86 and 4.1 is at at magnetic 83. 7.1 occasionally has a good picture for brief intervals but 7.x are usually a mess. This is true with both tuners in the TiVo. But 4.1 is good.

I am mystified. Suggestions, comments, insults, relevant information is greatly appreciated.
It sounds like you have a lot going on for being so close to the TV towers (2-5 miles for all of them), like why do you have 2 UHF antennas tied together with an antenna combiner? That sounds like a recipe for disaster. Literally I have used a paperclip on the antenna input of a TV in a commercial building at 11 Mile and Evergreen and gotten a usable signal. Maybe you should look at scaling back some of this as you may be overloading the input of your tuner.
Gary S is offline  
post #11956 of 11964 Old 04-16-2015, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary S View Post
It sounds like you have a lot going on for being so close to the TV towers (2-5 miles for all of them), like why do you have 2 UHF antennas tied together with an antenna combiner? ...
you may be overloading the input of your tuner.
The Archer Antenna feeds real VHF through the combiner which filters out UHF. This gets me C 9.1 and C 2.x. The RCA antenna feeds UHF through the combiner which filters out VHF. This gets the rest of my channels.

TiVo tech support said their tuners were not easily overloaded and this should not be my problem.

I have read that TiVo does not show strength but quality of the signal. But they call it strength and so will I.

I have watched signal strength on many occasions and have not seen any indication of near maximum on the TiVo or maximum on the Sony. The channels I have problems with show lower than some with good PQ and higher than others with good PQ. The main characteristic of a problematic channel is major fluctuations in the signal on the TiVo.

Comments, etc. are appreciated.
humbug2 is online now  
post #11957 of 11964 Old 04-20-2015, 07:54 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,064
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug2 View Post
TiVo tech support said their tuners were not easily overloaded and this should not be my problem.
Comments, etc. are appreciated.
TiVo tech support vs actual local engineer? I'm going with Gary every time.

Call it whatever you want, but IIRC, most of those "signal meters" simply display the reverse of the amount of error correction being used. Doesn't help much with anything other than coarse adjustments.

Easy way to test things. Stick some $10 rabbit ears on the TiVo. Yeah, you'll lose CBET, but if everything else comes in fine and stable, then overload was your issue.
billmich likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #11958 of 11964 Old 04-20-2015, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
TiVo tech support vs actual local engineer? I'm going with Gary every time.

Call it whatever you want, but IIRC, most of those "signal meters" simply display the reverse of the amount of error correction being used. Doesn't help much with anything other than coarse adjustments.

Easy way to test things. Stick some $10 rabbit ears on the TiVo. Yeah, you'll lose CBET, but if everything else comes in fine and stable, then overload was your issue.
Yesterday I tried a FM trap which had been suggested. No discernible effect. Removed that and inserted a variable signal attenuator. I varied the attenuator from min to max pausing at several points. It did lower the indication for C 9 which continued to have good PQ. C 4.1 went into erratic pixelation. C 20.1 and C 7.1 continued to have the same problems with no apparent effects.

Suggestions are appreciated. I have a parts closet with a half-century's accumulation of things A-V and I think there is a bow tie there which I will try.
humbug2 is online now  
post #11959 of 11964 Old 04-20-2015, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Bozzmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
TiVo tech support vs actual local engineer? I'm going with Gary every time.

Call it whatever you want, but IIRC, most of those "signal meters" simply display the reverse of the amount of error correction being used. Doesn't help much with anything other than coarse adjustments.

Easy way to test things. Stick some $10 rabbit ears on the TiVo. Yeah, you'll lose CBET, but if everything else comes in fine and stable, then overload was your issue.
That sounds like a good course of action. I live about the same distance from the towers at 11 1/2 mile and Stevenson. I can get all the locals including WJBK on RF7 at full strength with just a bowtie in the attic and nearly 50 ft. of coax with no amp. I have to go outdoors for CBET. My results at near the set on the first floor are pretty spotty. My antenna has to look through the wire mesh behind the plaster in the walls that make the downstairs multipath city for me.
Bozzmonster is offline  
post #11960 of 11964 Old Yesterday, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I tried a bow tie on the 6 foot cable to the TiVo. There are very large windows on the West and Northwest sides of the room. I aimed it due West then tried rotating it Northward until aimed at the Antenna for 7.1. Problems with 7.1 continued with no noticeable difference. C 62.1, less than 2 miles away, went from good, which it normally is, to periodic pixelation and freezing.

One thing that I find curious is watching the TiVo "Signal Strength" meter. It shows good readings well into the green while the picture displayed for 7.1 is badly broken up and 20.1 gives an error message not a picture. Other times the strength will fluctuate wildly and rapidly from 70s to 20s or even turn off the strength display for a second.
humbug2 is online now  
post #11961 of 11964 Old Yesterday, 10:18 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,064
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug2 View Post

One thing that I find curious is watching the TiVo "Signal Strength" meter. It shows good readings well into the green while the picture displayed for 7.1 is badly broken up and 20.1 gives an error message not a picture. Other times the strength will fluctuate wildly and rapidly from 70s to 20s or even turn off the strength display for a second.
That's the problem with a meter that's calculated on error correction and not actual signal quality. If it's so bad it CAN'T use error correction, then the amount of error correction goes to zero and the meter goes fullscale green. I can swing my array to point at my neighbor's house and the mutipath gives me two signals of nearly equal strength on WJBK. Full scale signal on the tuner, no picture. At least that's how I figure it.
billmich likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #11962 of 11964 Old Yesterday, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Gary S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
That's the problem with a meter that's calculated on error correction and not actual signal quality. If it's so bad it CAN'T use error correction, then the amount of error correction goes to zero and the meter goes fullscale green. I can swing my array to point at my neighbor's house and the mutipath gives me two signals of nearly equal strength on WJBK. Full scale signal on the tuner, no picture. At least that's how I figure it.
Remember that digital is a much different animal than the old analog transmission days. High signal strength can overload a tuner, and multipath is something to be avoided at all costs. It can be caused by nearby hills, buildings, trees (I have seen trees blowing in the wind make a signal completely unwatchable, yet it is fine on calm days) and as Bozzmonster mentions, wire mesh lathe for plaster walls. Just putting the antenna near a window is not enough. Remember that even you can cause multipath if you are near the antenna or walking around in the room. A small antenna in the attic or on a small pole outside is probably the best option, so long as there are not a lot of trees nearby.
Gary S is offline  
post #11963 of 11964 Old Yesterday, 12:08 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,064
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Not to mention planes. I didn't NEED a yagi to pick up Cincinnati stations when I lived in Florence. I needed the narrow beam so the planes that landed over my house didn't mess up my reception

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #11964 of 11964 Old Today, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Not to mention planes. I didn't NEED a yagi to pick up Cincinnati stations when I lived in Florence. I needed the narrow beam so the planes that landed over my house didn't mess up my reception
And right now one from Metro is quite audible. I didn't know this could be a factor. It might explain the times when a show is faultless except for a few brief instances of problems.

Additionally my antenna sees nothing but trees for almost half the year. They are particularly thick in all directions to broadcast towers.
humbug2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off