Detroit, MI - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 11844 Old 12-07-2004, 01:12 AM
Senior Member
 
TheTimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congratulations, Igme -- welcome to the HD world. I recommend rearranging your schedule if you have to so you can catch Lost tomorrow night.(If there are little stutter problems, it isn't your tv or antenna hook-up!)
TheTimm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 11844 Old 12-07-2004, 06:11 AM
Member
 
rkwochoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wide Open West now has UPN (channel 204) and WB (channel 206) added to its HD channels.

I can't wait to see Smallville in HD!
rkwochoski is offline  
post #183 of 11844 Old 12-07-2004, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Gcawad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ypsilanti, MI, US
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio is still suttering on 7.1 as of this AM on my HD-Tivo.
Gcawad is offline  
post #184 of 11844 Old 12-07-2004, 06:58 AM
Member
 
mwinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canton,MI
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same Audio problems on my HDTIVO for 7.1.

Mark
1 SAT T-60
1 hughes Tivo
1 HD TIVO
2 D10
mwinn is offline  
post #185 of 11844 Old 12-07-2004, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I didn't notice any dropouts during NYPD Blue, could it be the problem is fixed?
Matt L is offline  
post #186 of 11844 Old 12-07-2004, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It wasn't bad during NYPD Blue. I had only 4 or 5 short audio dropouts during the entire hour. I watched most of the Peanuts special and there were only a few problems I noticed during that, too. However, earlier in the evening (during the early local news) I had quite a few periods of bad stuttering, separated by a couple of 10-15 minute long stretches of glitch-free reception.

It's possible that something is being done to address the issue, but I've had similar runs of good reception over the last couple weeks, only to have the dropouts come back in abundance the next day. Time will tell.....
tbb1226 is offline  
post #187 of 11844 Old 12-08-2004, 04:54 PM
Member
 
igme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my 3rd day as a very happy OTA HD receiver.. From Madison Heights, with an El Chaepo Internal Rabbit Ears I get: PBS, NBC, ABC, FOX,WDB, CBS & UPN!

Only complaint I have are the dropoutrs/stuttering with 7.1 AND sometimes delayed audio on some PBS-HD broadcasts.

Is there a link/resource somewhere that shows what channels are showing HD programming and at what day/time/program?

The reason for my HD plunge is mainly for OTA broadcasts and soon HD DVD's...

Hakuna Matata!
igme is offline  
post #188 of 11844 Old 12-08-2004, 07:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Did anyone experience a video drop out during the West Wing around 945 pm? I'm using a 6208 from Comcast.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #189 of 11844 Old 12-08-2004, 08:19 PM
Member
 
igme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
None from my end (Madison Heights).

I watched "Lost" in its entirety and West Wing via OTA on my Sony KDF-55WF655 with the built-in tuner and cheapo Rabbit Ears. No lost/dropped audio at all!

Hakuna Matata!
igme is offline  
post #190 of 11844 Old 12-08-2004, 08:25 PM
Member
 
citidream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Plymouth MI
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Dawgdaes
Did anyone experience a video drop out during the West Wing around 945 pm? I'm using a 6208 from Comcast.

Yes. I was OTA for me but I had to switch to Directv to watch it for a few minutes.
citidream is offline  
post #191 of 11844 Old 12-08-2004, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 73
yep, no video for about 4 minutes on WW, audio continued. Picture popped back in letterboxed then went full screen.
Matt L is offline  
post #192 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 03:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
At first I thought they were trying to do something like "Bartlet is going blind"
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #193 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Dynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone have any picture freeze issues from WXYZ last night? I know this was a problem last week.

This happened while I was watching Lost and the picture began freezing on me last week but wasn't half as bad as it was on last night's episode.

I didn't see any comments here on this so I'm wondering if this has been resolved and its only a local issue (which I doubt). I'm getting the feed over cable with a SA8000HD box.

Any feedback is appreciated...
Dynot is offline  
post #194 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Risuli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I had some momentary picture freezing during the first few minutes of last nights "Lost" broadcast. I have a Toshiba HD DirecTV box (3000?) with a rooftop antenna. I hadn't heard that these problems had been occuring. I thought it was my set up. After a few of these "freezes" (no audio drops thou), I rotated my antenna. Had a few more, but then all was OK. Hope the local station fixes this soon.
Risuli is offline  
post #195 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
rollerfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't been getting any picture freezes but continue to get periodic audio drop outs on ABC. Last night during Lost it happened a lot during the first few minutes then seemed to be fine for the rest of the episode. I'm on Comcast using (and loving) the 6412.
rollerfink is offline  
post #196 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 10:02 AM
Member
 
goblue97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had no issues during LOST last night. I have WOW with a Sci Atl 3250 HD.
goblue97 is offline  
post #197 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Thomas JW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farmington Hills, MI, US
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had numerous long periods of audio dropouts and picture freezes during the first few minutes of "Lost" and into the first commercial break rendering it unwatchable. After the commercial break, had only sporadic dropouts/freezes. It picked up again in frequency towards the end of the program.

I am using OTA TiVo HD. BTW, this all started happening maybe 2 weeks ago. Before that time I didn't have any problems with WXYZDT whatsoever and I know my setup hasn't changed.
Thomas JW is offline  
post #198 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Thomas JW
Had numerous long periods of audio dropouts and picture freezes during the first few minutes of "Lost" and into the first commercial break rendering it unwatchable. After the commercial break, had only sporadic dropouts/freezes. It picked up again in frequency towards the end of the program.

I am using OTA TiVo HD. BTW, this all started happening maybe 2 weeks ago. Before that time I didn't have any problems with WXYZDT whatsoever and I know my setup hasn't changed.

Ditto every single comment you made. Exactly my experience (HD-TiVo in Royal Oak)
tbb1226 is offline  
post #199 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 02:46 PM
Member
 
MJburt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tbb1226
Ditto every single comment you made. Exactly my experience (HD-TiVo in Royal Oak)

Exactly the same for me too - exactly.
MJburt is offline  
post #200 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 06:04 PM
Member
 
MakingNews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the EXACT same issues with Lost using an HD-Tivo OTA in St. Clair Shores. Glad to hear it wasn't just me. It was my first week with my new toy, and was worried that I hadn't set my antenna up properly.
MakingNews is offline  
post #201 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 06:51 PM
Member
 
goblue97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious what firmware those with the Sci Atl 3250 HD have.
goblue97 is offline  
post #202 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MakingNews
I had the EXACT same issues with Lost using an HD-Tivo OTA in St. Clair Shores. Glad to hear it wasn't just me.

I'm not sure you should be glad. This problem has persisted for almost three weeks now, and despite multiple complaints to channel 7, it doesn't seem to be improving - at least for us TiVo viewers.
tbb1226 is offline  
post #203 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 07:15 PM
Member
 
MJburt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tbb1226
I'm not sure you should be glad. This problem has persisted for almost three weeks now, and despite multiple complaints to channel 7, it doesn't seem to be improving - at least for us TiVo viewers.

I also checked it on my TV's internal tuner thinking it might be some kind of hdtivo issue, but it was doing the same thing so it is definitely something at their end that they NEED to figure out and get fixed. Please....
MJburt is offline  
post #204 of 11844 Old 12-09-2004, 07:30 PM
Member
 
MakingNews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tbb1226
I'm not sure you should be glad. This problem has persisted for almost three weeks now

At least I know it wasn't the new Tivo or something I was doing wrong. It'll take me a day or two to get angry at Channel 7.
MakingNews is offline  
post #205 of 11844 Old 12-11-2004, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
redvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it might be a receiver problem...I have a Panny, and a Bell Exvu with the ota module.When I got sick of the breakup problems while trying to watch Lost last week with the Bell receiver, I unscrewed the antenna line, and hooked it up to my Panasonic...no breakup problems after that!!
redvette is offline  
post #206 of 11844 Old 12-11-2004, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
rollerfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by redvette
I think it might be a receiver problem...I have a Panny, and a Bell Exvu with the ota module.When I got sick of the breakup problems while trying to watch Lost last week with the Bell receiver, I unscrewed the antenna line, and hooked it up to my Panasonic...no breakup problems after that!!

Could be, but you might want to reproduce your test results because all my breakups were in the first few minutes of Lost (Comcast 6412).
rollerfink is offline  
post #207 of 11844 Old 12-11-2004, 09:19 PM
Member
 
pds22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am wondering if anybody has been successful with picking up HDTV QAM signals from Comcast using LG-4200A. I'm in Royal Oak area - and have not been able to pick up any HDTV QAM signals whatsoever. Am wondering if this is due to Comcast scrambling the QAM signals or perhaps I need to switch coaxial connectors as there are 2 and give that a try.

TIA
pds22 is offline  
post #208 of 11844 Old 12-11-2004, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by redvette
I think it might be a receiver problem...I have a Panny, and a Bell Exvu with the ota module.When I got sick of the breakup problems while trying to watch Lost last week with the Bell receiver, I unscrewed the antenna line, and hooked it up to my Panasonic...no breakup problems after that!!

Quote:


Originally posted by rollerfink
Could be, but you might want to reproduce your test results because all my breakups were in the first few minutes of Lost (Comcast 6412).

It does seem to be happening only with some brands of receivers, so it's possible that redvette's Panasonic whatever-it-is receiver is not affected. Somebody earlier stated they had no problems with their SA cable box on WOW, also.

I still think it's a compatibility issue between the transmitting encoder or its setup and the receiving decoder in the particular receivers that we're complaining about. Perhaps these receivers share a common component that chokes on the bitstream from channel 7? It must be that nobody at WXYZ uses one of these receiver types to test their transmissions, or they would have realized that whatever change they made to their system in middle-late November caused this problem for so many of us.

I'm convinced it's a change they made, because:
  • I've seen it happen during all their programming (and local commercials), at all times of the day, so it's not a network source issue
  • There are lots of people here reporting that they had no issue at all with receiving WXYZ-DT prior to Thanksgiving week, and now are having this problem.
  • It seems that the really bad dropouts occur at the same times for everybody who experiences them (e.g. the first and last segments of Lost this week). Multipath and other OTA reception issues would not be so uniform across the whole metro Detroit area.
  • The signal "strength" meter on my receiver reads a solid 85-90 on channel 41 nearly all the time. This has not changed since before I started having this issue, and it now appears to be no different during periods of frequent drop-outs than it is when I'm not having drop-outs.
  • My HD-Tivo hasn't had any software updates around this time frame, so I can't say that the receiver has changed.
Bear in mind that I don't have any technical knowledge about DTV, so it's possible some of these reasons don't apply, but to me they add up.

I can't seem to get through to the engineering dept at channel 7 - mostly because my work schedule doesn't allow me to call during "normal" hours, and they don't acknowledge e-mail. It seems they don't post here either, unlike several other local broadcast professionals.

You may have done so already, but if one of you guys that has already got their ear could explain all this to them, maybe it would give them some clue to solving this. It has gone on far too long already.

(edited to add another point and to reiterate my earlier ignorance disclaimer )
tbb1226 is offline  
post #209 of 11844 Old 12-12-2004, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
smitchell24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the Detroit Lions game against Green Bay is in HD today? Or know a website where I could find out? Game time is 4:15.
smitchell24 is offline  
post #210 of 11844 Old 12-12-2004, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by smitchell24
Does anyone know if the Detroit Lions game against Green Bay is in HD today? Or know a website where I could find out? Game time is 4:15.

Yes, it will be. You'll get to see the massacre in excruciating detail.

Maybe the simplest way to look it up would be the NFL DirecTV Sunday Ticket schedule page. Even if you don't have NFLST, you can see which games they're carrying on the HD channels - and they carry all of the HD games.
tbb1226 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off