flickering pixles in GA? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-18-2004, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all, the program we were watching wasn't HD but it was a digital broadcast and I didn't see a digital OTA forum soooo...
We were watching Extreme Home Makeover yesterday on the local digital OTA ABC station (WSB, Atlanta) and we noticed there was line of flickering pixles in the upper left of my screen. Given that I have a D-ILA tv, I'm always paranoid about pixle problems so I did some looking. The problem wasn't apparent on other channels, the analog OTA or DTV local analog broadcasts. Now, I've seen hot pixles in shots from one camera during scenes of shows and I've seen them from one or two cameras in sports broadcasts but this was different. It was in all shots and scenes of that show and even in the commercials!
It was gone during the HD broadcast of Desperate Housewives later on the same channel.

Ok,
What the heck was THAT all about?

CW

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-18-2004, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Morris Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Monrovia, CA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What you were seeing was a few lines that aren't supposed to be visible normally from the Vertical Blanking Interval. Unfortunately a lot of broadcasters' upconverters include those lines in the DTV signal.

The flicker you see is data: time code, closed captioning, or other non-video data that gets placed in the VBI where it's not supposed to be seen.

Mojo

Morris Jones
Monrovia, CA
http://www.whiteoaks.com
Old Town Astronomers: http://www.otastro.org
Morris Jones is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-18-2004, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm familiar with what you're talking about Morris and this wasn't that. This was horizontal, about a centimeter in length and a few millimeters high, and in the normal picture area.
I'm wondering if it was generated at the station, by my tuner(unlikely), or if the network.
Can anybody shed some light on how these programs are distributed to the local stations? I wonder if ABC has some huge video server that feeds the up-link or...hell, I don't know.
Whatever it was, one piece of gack or other had a glitch.

CW

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-25-2004, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still seeing this artifact on the ABC local. NOT on the HD shows but it certainly there everywhere else...
LL

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-25-2004, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco California
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would say it's either local or equipment related, because I have been watching a lot of ABC in San Francisco lately and there is nothing like that on the screen, during local news, network news, nor network programming. I hope that helps. Hopefully the fact you don't see it during HD is a good sign your equipment is fine.

My sincere thanks to everyone who makes AVSforum such an awesome resource.
GregF is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-25-2004, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wakey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crwaters, I have been seeing that for the last few days on ABC..

I think it's subliminal advertising :D

To the best of my memory is isn't visible during the commercials, just the actual show..
Wakey is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-25-2004, 10:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco California
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check it out, you're both in Jawja. Same station perhaps?

My sincere thanks to everyone who makes AVSforum such an awesome resource.
GregF is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-26-2004, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
bdm72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get that same thing when watching non HD programming OTA on our local ABC affiliate. Only on ABC. Maybe a widespread issue with ABC...
bdm72 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-26-2004, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by GregF
Check it out, you're both in Jawja. Same station perhaps?
Yeah, we'd both be watching WSB. I hear from another person here in the metro that he's seen it too. I was begining to think I ws making it up(!)
But now that BDM72 is seeing it, I wonder if it's a transmission glitch with ABC.

Wierd.

CW

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-26-2004, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RonAuger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: outside of Denver CO - between Parker and Elizabeth (wayyyyy SE)
Posts: 1,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like just plain ole video breakup. Which is most likely a reception issue for you. What signal level do you get for your ABC station and what freq are they?
RonAuger is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-26-2004, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Crwaters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No real way to tell what signal strength I'm getting but this thing is flickering there the whole time I'm watching and the picture is otherwise perfect.
I don't know what frequency they're on...Ch 2 if that tells you anything...

Cory

We're selling our Photo Annuals and giving the proceeds to Curesearch so they can fight cancer in kids. Please have a look.
Crwaters is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 10-26-2004, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
w9wi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pleasant View, TN
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WSB-DT is RF channel 39.

Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66
http://www.w9wi.com
w9wi is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 10-27-2004, 06:06 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Continue discussion in the Atlanta, GA - OTA thread.
CPanther95 is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off