Bakersfield, CA - HDTV - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 770 Old 01-18-2006, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
scasmflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshowers View Post

That is great news. Now if we can get Fox we will have just about all major sporting events covered.

Yep, we really need to land Fox because they seem to be taking over more and more as ABC seems to be bowing out of the football realm. I saw they were already advertising that next years BCS will belong to Fox.

Wonder if Brighthouse could strike a deal to cover the local and Fresno affiliate for Fox? It seems the local low power Fox station has no intention of going HD anytime soon, so since Brighthouse carries a SD and HD version of each of the networks anyway - would it be possible for them to carry the local feed for SD and strike a deal with the KMPH for the HD?
scasmflop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 770 Old 01-18-2006, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
jefe noche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI...I have an 84" High Contrast Grey/Criterion Carada Screen for sale. PM me if you (or if you know anyone in Bakersfield) are interested.
jefe noche is offline  
post #123 of 770 Old 01-19-2006, 10:16 AM
Member
 
shakyblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's up guys, I just got my Directv setup this last weekend. I have a H20 receiver and a 3lnb Sat. what else do I need to get the local channels in HD. I thought that my reciver was also a hdtuner but I don't see any of the locals in HD. I really want to watch the superbowl in HD so what do you guys think I need to do. Oh yeah I live in Wasco.

Sony KDF-E42A10
Sony NS70H
HDDirectv H20 Receiver
Yamaha YHT-160 Surround sound
shakyblack is offline  
post #124 of 770 Old 01-19-2006, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
scasmflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would think that you just need to hook up a seperate regular tv antennae to your Off-Air In connection on the back of your H20. Check out the info in this thread if you have further questions with it: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...88#post6911188
scasmflop is offline  
post #125 of 770 Old 01-19-2006, 01:22 PM
Member
 
shakyblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what's a good OTA for this area?

Sony KDF-E42A10
Sony NS70H
HDDirectv H20 Receiver
Yamaha YHT-160 Surround sound
shakyblack is offline  
post #126 of 770 Old 01-19-2006, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
scasmflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTA Antenna? A lot of people swear by the CM 4228, but there are so many variables that your actual location can throw at you. If you are looking for strictly an indoor solution, you might be able to get by with just a silver-sensor style antenna. The CM 4228 seems to be consensus pick for most situations.

This site can help give you information about your location and distance and direction from the local station towers:
http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/Address.aspx

And you can snag Antennas at a reasonable price here:
http://www.solidsignal.com/prod_disp...=&PROD=ANC4228
scasmflop is offline  
post #127 of 770 Old 01-19-2006, 08:39 PM
Member
 
shakyblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anything smaller?

Sony KDF-E42A10
Sony NS70H
HDDirectv H20 Receiver
Yamaha YHT-160 Surround sound
shakyblack is offline  
post #128 of 770 Old 01-20-2006, 07:58 PM
Member
 
jeadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been using the SR-15 for over a year and like it. The new Lacrosse model looks pretty sleek if you are concerned about the appearance. http://www.antennasdirect.com/MR_tv_antennas.html
jeadams is offline  
post #129 of 770 Old 01-24-2006, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
laoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello all, using humax hfa receiver with winegard indoor antenna and getting 7/8 dtv channels, anyone getting more channels using other type of antenna?
laoman is offline  
post #130 of 770 Old 01-24-2006, 11:47 AM
Member
 
shakyblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about indoor antennas

Sony KDF-E42A10
Sony NS70H
HDDirectv H20 Receiver
Yamaha YHT-160 Surround sound
shakyblack is offline  
post #131 of 770 Old 01-24-2006, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
scasmflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shakyblack View Post

What about indoor antennas

The silver sensor seems to be a popular indoor option. http://www.solidsignal.com/prod_disp...T=&PROD=ZHDTV1
scasmflop is offline  
post #132 of 770 Old 01-24-2006, 02:07 PM
Member
 
shakyblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've heard this wasn't a really good one. I'm thinking of putting one in my attic but I just don't know how much power I need for Wasco.

Sony KDF-E42A10
Sony NS70H
HDDirectv H20 Receiver
Yamaha YHT-160 Surround sound
shakyblack is offline  
post #133 of 770 Old 01-24-2006, 11:17 PM
Member
 
M_Minnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brighthouse has been advertising on the radio that the Super Bowl will be shown in HD on channel 58. Hopefully this means we will now have FOX as part of our lineup.

Mike
M_Minnick is offline  
post #134 of 770 Old 01-25-2006, 06:29 AM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI,
Are you sure they didn't say 48? I believe ABC has the Super Bowl this year.

Have a good one!

mgh
mgh is offline  
post #135 of 770 Old 01-25-2006, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
BakoBull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are reports of Universal HD showing up on Time Warner\\Brighthouse cable systems.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6&page=2&pp=30

Have any Bakersfield Brighthouse subscribers seen any hints of this here?
BakoBull is offline  
post #136 of 770 Old 01-25-2006, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
scasmflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brighthouse has had the channel since last November -

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh View Post

Channel 66 - UHD

Universal HD channel I guess.... nothing that grabs me from the guide yet....
...no complaints but I'd be more excited about ESPNHD2....

That said I haven't watched much of it. There might be 1 or 2 movies a month that would catch your eye, but other than that it is mostly a retread of recent and past NBC programming...that's right, yet another place to get your Law and Order fix in case you missed the 52 other channels carrying it in syndication. I'll probably give it some viewing time once the Olympics start though.

So for a quick recap, BrightHouse HD now includes:

NBC
CBS
ABC
TNTHD
DiscoveryHD
INHD
INHD2
HDNET
HDNET Movies
ESPNHD
UniversalHD

HBOHD
ShowtimeHD
scasmflop is offline  
post #137 of 770 Old 02-08-2006, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
mocus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody know when the 5LNB dish upgrade for DirecTV will be available in the Bake?.....this will allow local HD channels to be received on the dish, instead of a separate antenna.......great !......maybe I'll finally get channel 29-1 again !!
mocus1 is offline  
post #138 of 770 Old 02-08-2006, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
mocus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
shakyblack.....currently, to get the local HD channels, you'll need a separate HD antenna,however there's an upgrade on the way from DirecTV with a 5LNB dish which is 40% larger than the 3 LNB dish.....it'll get all the HD's including locals on it, without a separate antenna......I 've heard it'll be "free" to those with a 3LNB and H10 receivers, but we'll see about that......they'll probably charge us for the new H20 recievers.....
mocus1 is offline  
post #139 of 770 Old 02-08-2006, 09:37 AM
Member
 
sbelmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by polivarez View Post

has anyone else noticed that fox 58 has DT and 58.1 in their call letters now and not LP. I was wondering why they are not showing anything in HD. Hopefully now BHN will beable to pick up the signal since Kbak is now avalible to BHN and Kbak owns KBFX. also why do kget and kbak not have 5.1 surround sound?

KBAK bought the rights to KBFX from KMPH with the intent to make the station a full power station. During the assignment of digital bandwidth however the station was still an LP station and no digital bandwidth was set aside for it. What KBAK is doing is actually broadcasting KBFX as 29-2 with the pseudo name 58-1. This means they have limited bandwidth and will not be able to broadcast HD. I was told it could be 3 years until they are assigned the bandwidth for the HD. I also asked KBAK about the DD5.1. They do not currently own the equipment but see that as their next step.
sbelmont is offline  
post #140 of 770 Old 02-08-2006, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Jollybear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bakersfield, Ca. 06
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In actuality I need someone that can climb up to my dish and remove the wires from it. I'm moving and my landlord wants me to remove the wiring. Not so much the dish. and then replace the holes from the wiring. Does anyone have the local number to ironwood communications here in bakersfield. I lost my copy and everytime I had called I always got a machine. I'd gladly pay so one to come out and do this. It seems like it wouldn't take very long. All I need are the wires pull back through the house so I can repair the damage. I'm moving and will get my new dish at my new place.

Thanks
Robert
Jollybear is offline  
post #141 of 770 Old 02-09-2006, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Jollybear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bakersfield, Ca. 06
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mocus1 View Post

shakyblack.....currently, to get the local HD channels, you'll need a separate HD antenna,however there's an upgrade on the way from DirecTV with a 5LNB dish which is 40% larger than the 3 LNB dish.....it'll get all the HD's including locals on it, without a separate antenna......I 've heard it'll be "free" to those with a 3LNB and H10 receivers, but we'll see about that......they'll probably charge us for the new H20 recievers.....

Just called DTV for my move and they will install the new 5LNB and Swap out my H10 for H20 for Free with One year agreement. To answer your question about that. I won't find out til next Sunday if we get local Bakersfield Channels on that one.

Robert
Jollybear is offline  
post #142 of 770 Old 02-10-2006, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
jefe noche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why are you guys so opposed to OTA? The signal is tons better than "HD-lite".
jefe noche is offline  
post #143 of 770 Old 02-27-2006, 02:33 PM
Newbie
 
BakoBull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How many channels does everyone get from Fresno OTA. Currently I only get 26-1 becuase I am getting my locals OTA here so my antennae is pointed to get the best average from the 4 of them. However I am thinking about switching to Brighthouse and this would free me up to point my antennae at Fresno. Any thoughts?
BakoBull is offline  
post #144 of 770 Old 02-27-2006, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jshowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree. I get the HD package from Brighthouse and when I want to see Fox in HD I pull in KMPH OTA.
jshowers is offline  
post #145 of 770 Old 02-27-2006, 08:08 PM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm planning to watch 24 ota tonight, but 26 wasn't giving me a signal for awhile.

Also my projector setup resets every scene change so I know my wife won't stand for that It did the same thing for football games. I wish I knew what's up. I don't think it was like that several months ago. Maybe a loose connection?

I have a lower end Samsung receiver.

Good luck all. Probably SD on the Bright House dvr for me.

btw 26 is the only channel I get from Fresno that I'm aware of....

mgh
mgh is offline  
post #146 of 770 Old 02-28-2006, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
BakoBull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jshowers and/or other BH subscribers-

What set top box do you have from BrightHouse?
Does it have an OTA HD tuner?
BakoBull is offline  
post #147 of 770 Old 02-28-2006, 03:48 PM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the earlier Scientific Atlanta model. It does not have an OTA tuner as far as I know. Good dvr, but gets glitchy sometimes. I've been thinking about getting the newer model if possible.
mgh is offline  
post #148 of 770 Old 02-28-2006, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jshowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the SA 8000HD from Brighthouse, it does not have an OTA tuner. I use a Zenith HDV420 tuner.
jshowers is offline  
post #149 of 770 Old 02-28-2006, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
JLIntegra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sure would be nice if they enabled those IEEE 1394 ports on those SA boxes. Or rather took the "broadcast flags" out.
JLIntegra is offline  
post #150 of 770 Old 03-01-2006, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
BakoBull's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys know which software those SA boxes are using?

I've read that there are 2 software packages - SARA and Passport - with most people prefering the SARA software.
BakoBull is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off