Bakersfield, CA - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 774 Old 10-15-2006, 11:13 PM
Member
 
Malo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Porterville,Ca.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PBS does have some great HD programs if your into ReRuns
Malo83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 774 Old 10-17-2006, 06:14 PM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Article in the paper tuday says that Bright House will soon be the only cable provider in Bakersfield. Buying out the competition. Somehow don't think this will be a good thing. Hope I'm wrong. May try the Dish solution suggested by another poster if things don't improve in the next year.
mgh is offline  
post #183 of 774 Old 10-18-2006, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
GL17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the advice Jefe. Do you have a suggestion where to buy and what brand of OTA antenna works best. Thanks again.
GL17 is offline  
post #184 of 774 Old 10-18-2006, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Malo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Porterville,Ca.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GL17 I would recommend www.antennasdirect.com, i'm using their DB8 antenna with excellent results, the DB4 is also a good one, I have my antenna mounted on the roof with an ChannelMaster rotator, living between Fresno and Bakersfield I get great OTA HD
Malo83 is offline  
post #185 of 774 Old 10-18-2006, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
jefe noche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GL17 View Post

Thanks for the advice Jefe. Do you have a suggestion where to buy and what brand of OTA antenna works best. Thanks again.

That antenna that Malo83 mentioned is a very popular one. I use a Radio Shack UFH only, directional antenna (forget the model number) that is simular to the SR15 model at www.antennasdirect.com. I also use a signal amp. I would suggest looking for something simular at Radio Shack and giving it a try because they have a no questions asked 30 day return policy.

FWIW, I live in NW Bakersfild (close to Rosedale).

I just finished watching Game 6 of the NLCS in glorious HD .
jefe noche is offline  
post #186 of 774 Old 10-19-2006, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Malo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Porterville,Ca.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry jefe ,didn't mean to steal your post,scrolled back and saw your prior post
Malo83 is offline  
post #187 of 774 Old 10-19-2006, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
jefe noche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malo83 View Post

Sorry jefe ,didn't mean to steal your post,scrolled back and saw your prior post

LOL...no problema Malo

I'm sure GL17 is happy to get as much input as he can, and if you did not post, I probably would have failed to mention the antenna that you use (which is one of the most highly regarded ones out there).
jefe noche is offline  
post #188 of 774 Old 10-21-2006, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tighr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Jefe, what is the model of the amplifier that you are pairing your antenna with? How much did you pay for it? I've seen some amps, but they were either too much money or didn't look reliable.

~Tighr: Not helping the situation since 1983

tighr is offline  
post #189 of 774 Old 10-21-2006, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
jefe noche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tighr View Post

Jefe, what is the model of the amplifier that you are pairing your antenna with? How much did you pay for it? I've seen some amps, but they were either too much money or didn't look reliable.

Sorry, I have no idea what the model # is. I got it at Radio Shack the same time I got the antenna. I know this much: I did not cost very much and it is very simple. It is two pieces. One piece connects inbetween the coax output of the antenna and your coax cable. The other piece connects at the end of the coax run and the words "power injector" are on it. One side of the "power injector" is labled "to antenna" and the other "to T.V. (in my case a DVR). In the middle of the "power injector" is where you plug in the AC adaptor to supply the "power". The entire "power injector" is only about 3" long, and it is gold (like alot of splitters you see).

I was very skeptical about it when I bought it, but it works like a charm. Without it 26.1 Fresno comes in around 70% with some drop outs . With it, the station come in at 95-100%.

I hope this helps
jefe noche is offline  
post #190 of 774 Old 11-10-2006, 12:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tighr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Well I ended up biting the bullet and upgraded to the BHN digital cable package. OTA has been good to me, but I was missing out on the other choices in HD. I guess my only outage now is Fox, which I hope to fix by getting around to getting an amplifier. I can pick it up but its never strong enough to come in.

Now that I've got BHN, maybe they'll add some more channels?

~Tighr: Not helping the situation since 1983

tighr is offline  
post #191 of 774 Old 11-23-2006, 02:25 AM
Member
 
pathighgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved to Bakersfield this past week. I decided that I'd get rid of satellite and get cable (several reasons. . . cable just seemed to offer more of what I wanted). When I called Brighthouse to order services, they said 'Oh yes, we have all the major networks in HD'. Of course, they don't. Now I'm faced with watching the football games broadcast on Fox in standard definition, something I'm not terribly happy about.

I'd like to receive Fox and PBS broadcasts in HD. The trouble is, I can't really put up a huge mast outside my apartment to grab the OTA signals from Fresno. Has anyone found luck with an indoor antenna in the Bakersfield area? I'm off California about 1/4 mile West of the freeway.

I also have a window in a second floor room with nothing of importance in it (read: an ugly antenna could be put there) with a direct view of the North. Looking out the window, the view to the North is more or less unobstructed.

I'm guessing the only way to get Fox is going to be with an antenna. It seems the same hold true for PBS. Any suggestions?
pathighgate is offline  
post #192 of 774 Old 11-23-2006, 07:54 AM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had some luck with the Silver Sensor antenna (Zenith, I think). I mount it on an old tripod and play with it until I find the "sweet" spot. I run it through an amplifier. It's been awhile since I've used it. (Bugs my wife when it drops the signal every once in awhile). BHN/TWC need to add ESPN2HD and NFL Network.
Don't hold your breath. I guess there are issues regarding FOX since 58 is a low-power repeater station. Write a letter to your legislator? Some people like the Dish/OTA fix. I do enjoy the BH HDDVR. Ramble ends.......
mgh is offline  
post #193 of 774 Old 12-08-2006, 10:43 AM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ZZZZZZZZZ

stretched reruns and CSI Miami HD marathon.

Some movies in hd and some not.

Anything to look forward to with this channel?
mgh is offline  
post #194 of 774 Old 12-11-2006, 02:14 PM
Member
 
jeadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the worst HD channels that I have ever seen. A waste of bandwidth.
jeadams is offline  
post #195 of 774 Old 12-23-2006, 11:40 AM
Newbie
 
RUBEN99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting Dishnetwork DVR HD in 2 weeks, They said I will not receive local channels in HD, I am in the 93312 area. Does anyone have a recommendation on a good antenna, Indoor or out, Thanks
RUBEN99 is offline  
post #196 of 774 Old 12-23-2006, 11:49 AM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUBEN99 View Post

I am getting Dishnetwork DVR HD in 2 weeks, They said I will not receive local channels in HD, I am in the 93312 area. Does anyone have a recommendation on a good antenna, Indoor or out, Thanks

Hi,
Check the previous posts. You can also check at antennaweb.org (I think) for directions of signals. Also check the Fresno thread for more info.

Good luck!

mgh
mgh is offline  
post #197 of 774 Old 12-26-2006, 05:40 PM
Member
 
jeadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got this antenna and added a pre-amp. http://www.antennasdirect.com/SR15_hdtv_antenna.html
Picks up all the local channels along with FOX HD in Fresno.
jeadams is offline  
post #198 of 774 Old 01-09-2007, 09:52 PM
Member
 
de_runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my nice shiny new Sony SXRD HDTV. Very nice picture. However, after watching football games in High Def I can't stand watching them in SD.
I've had no luck in pulling in KERO-DT off the air using indoor antennas. Tried both a cheapo rabbit ears one and a silver-sensor. I live in SW Bako. I'm not clear on where it comes in... is it 10.1 over the air or is it 23.1? Are others having difficulty receiving KERO-DT?
I also contacted the general manager for KBAK/KBFX asking about FOX HD and he replied that they hope to get it on before the end of the year (2007). Yikes! Maybe more people need to complain directly to them.
de_runner is offline  
post #199 of 774 Old 01-10-2007, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
RUBEN99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also cannot get Kero-DT off the air, I am using a lacrosse amplified outdoor antenna. I live in the Rosedale area. Panasonic plasma looks great in HD. I am also getting spoiled watching HD, does anybody know what is going on with Kero- HD.
RUBEN99 is offline  
post #200 of 774 Old 01-12-2007, 04:42 PM
Member
 
de_runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeadams View Post

I've got this antenna and added a pre-amp.
Picks up all the local channels along with FOX HD in Fresno.

Are you pointing the SR15 at Fresno/Visalia and getting all Bakersfield local HD, including ABC-HD from KERO-DT's signal?
de_runner is offline  
post #201 of 774 Old 01-12-2007, 10:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
jefe noche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by de_runner View Post

Are you pointing the SR15 at Fresno/Visalia and getting all Bakersfield local HD, including ABC-HD from KERO-DT's signal?

I do with a very simular Radio Shack antenna .
jefe noche is offline  
post #202 of 774 Old 01-14-2007, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
hbsiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefe noche View Post

ABC is 23.1. I could not get it with an indoor antenna. Since I went outdoors (and use an amplifier) I get all of Bakersfield digital chanells as well as Fox-Fresno (26.1), which is in glorious HD.

What kind of antenna are you using?

Jefe Noche - I get 29.1, 17.1 in HD and had 23.1 locked in but it went away and I can't seem to get it back despite adding another 10 feet to the mast, turning antenna, etc. Please advise what type of amplifier you are using and what part of Bakersfield do you live in? Are you using a rotator to get 26.1 Fresno? The 58.2 is pretty poor compared to CBS, etc.

Thanks.

Hal Stewart
hbsiii is offline  
post #203 of 774 Old 01-14-2007, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
jefe noche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbsiii View Post

Jefe Noche - I get 29.1, 17.1 in HD and had 23.1 locked in but it went away and I can't seem to get it back despite adding another 10 feet to the mast, turning antenna, etc. Please advise what type of amplifier you are using and what part of Bakersfield do you live in? Are you using a rotator to get 26.1 Fresno? The 58.2 is pretty poor compared to CBS, etc.

Thanks.

Hal Stewart

I live in NW Bakersfield (behind Best Buy). I do not use a rotator. I have my directional antenna pointed directly at 26.1 in Fresno. The amplifier I am using is two piece. One piece connects to the antenna. The second piece is a "power injector". It is worth noting that my signal strenth of 23.1 is the lowest (high 70s). All other stations are 85+.
jefe noche is offline  
post #204 of 774 Old 01-15-2007, 01:43 PM
Member
 
de_runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbsiii View Post

Jefe Noche - I get 29.1, 17.1 in HD and had 23.1 locked in but it went away and I can't seem to get it back despite adding another 10 feet to the mast, turning antenna, etc. Please advise what type of amplifier you are using and what part of Bakersfield do you live in? Are you using a rotator to get 26.1 Fresno? The 58.2 is pretty poor compared to CBS, etc.

Thanks.

Hal Stewart


If I move my indoor antenna close to a window I am able to receive KERO-DT at 10.3. If you are not getting the signal at 23.1 try 10.3. I;ve got no clue why it comes in at that frequency/channel.

58.2 does not broadcast anything in high def although there's plenty of HD programming from FOX, like NFC football, 24, to name just a couple. KBFX is owned by Westwind Communications (also owns KBAK) who has chosen to NOT to provide FOX-HD programming to Bakersfield.
de_runner is offline  
post #205 of 774 Old 01-15-2007, 05:14 PM
Member
 
sbelmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by de_runner View Post

58.2 does not broadcast anything in high def although there's plenty of HD programming from FOX, like NFC football, 24, to name just a couple. KBFX is owned by Westwind Communications (also owns KBAK) who has chosen to NOT to provide FOX-HD programming to Bakersfield.

That is actually an incorrect statement. KBFX was a low power rebroadcast of KMPH in Visalia. Westwind bought the rights and have taken over broadcasting the signal. When the frequencies were assigned for digital stations the government did not assign any to the LP stations. Currently Westwind is piggybacking the digital signal for KBFX on KBAK-2. They do not have enough bandwidth to send two HD signals. Once the government assigns them a frequency for KBFX they will have enough bandwidth.

Most of this discussion is on this thread if you look back through it.
sbelmont is offline  
post #206 of 774 Old 01-18-2007, 08:35 AM
Member
 
de_runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbelmont View Post

That is actually an incorrect statement. KBFX was a low power rebroadcast of KMPH in Visalia. Westwind bought the rights and have taken over broadcasting the signal. When the frequencies were assigned for digital stations the government did not assign any to the LP stations. Currently Westwind is piggybacking the digital signal for KBFX on KBAK-2. They do not have enough bandwidth to send two HD signals. Once the government assigns them a frequency for KBFX they will have enough bandwidth.

I'm not sure this makes sense to me. If Westwind piggybacks onto KBAK to provide the signal for KBFX and the feds havn't provided a frequency HOW do they broadcast at 58.2 instead of 29.2?

Whatever the issue is I know that FOX-HD programming is not available OTA in Bakersfield unless you have a large outdoor antenna and pull it in from Visalia. It seems reasonable to me that KBFX (Westwind) should provide waivers to Bakersfield residents to allow them to have an alternate available. With a waiver I could get the west coast FOX-HD feed through DirecTV.
de_runner is offline  
post #207 of 774 Old 01-18-2007, 02:19 PM
Member
 
jeadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone currently receiving KERO DTV OTA at 23.1 or 10.3? I have lost their signal over the past several days Thanks.
jeadams is offline  
post #208 of 774 Old 01-18-2007, 02:52 PM
Member
 
de_runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeadams View Post

Is anyone currently receiving KERO DTV OTA at 23.1 or 10.3? I have lost their signal over the past several days Thanks.

I was able to receive KERO-DT last night (Wednesday Jan 17) on 10.3.
de_runner is offline  
post #209 of 774 Old 01-18-2007, 06:37 PM
Member
 
sbelmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by de_runner View Post

I'm not sure this makes sense to me. If Westwind piggybacks onto KBAK to provide the signal for KBFX and the feds havn't provided a frequency HOW do they broadcast at 58.2 instead of 29.2?

It actually is 29.2 but they trick the system into thinking it is 58.2 for display purposes. They tried making it 58.1 but the systems would confuse the sub-channels and show the same signal on both.

Believe me, they want to get the HD signal out there for FOX but are waiting on the government. There engineer has also asked for the equipment to send out the DD5.1 signal is waiting to see if it gets budgeted this year.
sbelmont is offline  
post #210 of 774 Old 01-18-2007, 08:02 PM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info regarding FoxHD. Is there any government official or entity that the consumer can contact to expedite the process?
mgh is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off