Alexandria, LA - HDTV - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 372 Old 08-24-2006, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
diat150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: opelousas, la
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
inbetween opelousas and lawtell, just off of 190. no problem with katc on this end. if you live near opelousas and dont receive this channel you either A: have a junky antenna B: have a piece of junk tuner or C: dont have your system set up correctly. there is no reason why you shouldnt catch katc in eunice.
diat150 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 372 Old 09-22-2006, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Was KALB NBC down for anyone else tonight?
Baldmaga is offline  
post #93 of 372 Old 09-23-2006, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Signal is still shake for me. I will give the station a call soon
lolowar is offline  
post #94 of 372 Old 09-23-2006, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldmaga View Post

Was KALB NBC down for anyone else tonight?

They said the reciever went out. They are using a backup right now.
lolowar is offline  
post #95 of 372 Old 09-24-2006, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still down in Eunice during NFL
Baldmaga is offline  
post #96 of 372 Old 09-26-2006, 10:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KALB must be back at full power, I am receiving them as usual quite clearly, without break-ups here in South Arkansas. Haven't heard a peep out of them for a few days. I noticed instead of remapping to just "KALB", they now remap to "KALB-HD". Good to know they're back to normal

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #97 of 372 Old 09-26-2006, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAR2002 View Post

KALB must be back at full power, I am receiving them as usual quite clearly, without break-ups here in South Arkansas. Haven't heard a peep out of them for a few days. I noticed instead of remapping to just "KALB", they now remap to "KALB-HD". Good to know they're back to normal

I had just tuned in during Studio 60 last evening to notice they were back to full power. Good work KALB getting back in business
Baldmaga is offline  
post #98 of 372 Old 10-20-2006, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checking to see where everyone has gone from this board. Has KATC increased their power? I was getting a reading CH 28 a little earlier while I had my 4228 pointed in that direction, although it might have just been from KTBS in Shreveport. I locked on to KLFY and KADN's signal for a little while... Still receiving KALB here with a signal in the high 80's.

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #99 of 372 Old 10-23-2006, 06:41 AM
Member
 
PMantle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alexandria, La.
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, with Suddenlink adding both PBS and KALB to the HD lineup, I no longer really need or use my antenna. I did notice that the KALB HD station shows up three times on my antenna menu though.
PMantle is offline  
post #100 of 372 Old 11-05-2006, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has suddenlink added CBS yet?
On a side note - looks like NBC is experiencing some difficulty this weekend
lolowar is offline  
post #101 of 372 Old 11-06-2006, 06:16 AM
Member
 
PMantle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alexandria, La.
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolowar View Post

Has suddenlink added CBS yet?
On a side note - looks like NBC is experiencing some difficulty this weekend

No, NBC is the only HD network SuddenLink has so far. I have no idea if there are plans to add more at this time or not.
PMantle is offline  
post #102 of 372 Old 11-06-2006, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
sbmanuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From KALB's website: After much speculation we are now able to announce that there will be a new addition to the KALB television family.

Beginning January 2007 in addition to transmitting the NBC network signal KALB will also become a CBS affiliate
sbmanuel is offline  
post #103 of 372 Old 11-07-2006, 06:37 AM
Member
 
PMantle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alexandria, La.
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbmanuel View Post

From KALB's website: After much speculation we are now able to announce that there will be a new addition to the KALB television family.

Beginning January 2007 in addition to transmitting the NBC network signal KALB will also become a CBS affiliate


Yay!
PMantle is offline  
post #104 of 372 Old 11-07-2006, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be cool if they had a separate transmitter for CBS. So, since KALB will also carry CBS, does that mean KLFY will be dropped from Alexandria cable systems?

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #105 of 372 Old 11-07-2006, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
sbmanuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If they multicast, it will not be HD.
sbmanuel is offline  
post #106 of 372 Old 11-07-2006, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know if they multicast, it won't be in HD. I was merely stating that it would be nice if they were separate.

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #107 of 372 Old 11-09-2006, 08:39 PM
Member
 
toms111la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just saw an announcement by KALB Channel 5.1 in Alex that they are becoming the first station in the country to have two major network affiliates. They say they are going to broadcast the CBS feed in HD only as KALBDT 5.2. Does this mean that it is going to be on the same UHF frequency as their current NBC HD broadcast? I guess it could but I suppose they could put it on a separate frequency and still map it as 5.2. If they piggyback it on UHF35, does that not also mean that the quality for their NBC HD will suffer? I sure hope not. It has become my primary NBC OTA signal at my location in Southern Lafayette Parish. It is very strong... except when it goes off the air! The guy talking about it says they are adding lots of equipment and computers and that their signal strength will increase. I don't see how that can be. All you experts, what do you think??
toms111la is offline  
post #108 of 372 Old 11-09-2006, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I'm 99% sure that CBS will be SD on 5.2..... I really don't think it's possible to have two 1080i feeds on one channel... if they could, it would look UGLY! I will be willing to bet they will take off the weather subchannel, and just have CBS as 480i. I just hope they don't have NBC-HD, weather, and CBS... that would be three subchannels which would just not be good..

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #109 of 372 Old 11-10-2006, 04:54 AM
Member
 
toms111la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAR2002 View Post

Well I'm 99% sure that CBS will be SD on 5.2..... I really don't think it's possible to have two 1080i feeds on one channel... if they could, it would look UGLY! I will be willing to bet they will take off the weather subchannel, and just have CBS as 480i. I just hope they don't have NBC-HD, weather, and CBS... that would be three subchannels which would just not be good..

Their anouncement said that their CBS will be HD only. I hope that means two separate frequencies.
toms111la is offline  
post #110 of 372 Old 11-10-2006, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
haley-SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern SE Arkansas
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The practice of a small market station broadcasting a network in SD (480i) on a subchannel is not uncommon.....

KYTV puts The CW on its 3.2 Subchannel in Springfield, MO (and WX + on 3.3)
WTOK puts two networks on subs: Fox (11-2)*and* CW (11-3)
WABG puts Fox (sd) on its 6.2 sub
KNOE puts CW on its sub (i've not seen it yet due to local KATV-7)

Those are stations broadcasting their primary network in HD.

PBS stations do this (PBS You, Create, or a simulcast of analog) on subs also
Our PBS network here (AETN) uses 4 SD subs and the first is used for HD (three subs are turned off).

Image quaility is not determined by signal strength, rather by available bandwidth. Signal just determines how far that station will travel (under normal conditions). Too many stations have added 2 subs to an already existing HD main channel resutling in pixeliation (especially on Sports and shows/movies with action).

CBS will likely be SD (unless KALB changes its primary network affliation).


haley-SEA is offline  
post #111 of 372 Old 11-10-2006, 06:09 AM
Member
 
toms111la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by haley-SEA View Post

The practice of a small market station broadcasting a network in SD (480i) on a subchannel is not uncommon.....

KYTV puts The CW on its 3.2 Subchannel in Springfield, MO (and WX + on 3.3)
WTOK puts two networks on subs: Fox (11-2)*and* CW (11-3)
WABG puts Fox (sd) on its 6.2 sub
KNOE puts CW on its sub (i've not seen it yet due to local KATV-7)

Those are stations broadcasting their primary network in HD.

PBS stations do this (PBS You, Create, or a simulcast of analog) on subs also
Our PBS network here (AETN) uses 4 SD subs and the first is used for HD (three subs are turned off).

Image quaility is not determined by signal strength, rather by available bandwidth. Signal just determines how far that station will travel (under normal conditions). Too many stations have added 2 subs to an already existing HD main channel resutling in pixeliation (especially on Sports and shows/movies with action).

CBS will likely be SD (unless KALB changes its primary network affliation).

I assume everything you are saying is correct, except go to the KALB web site. Thay are saying that they will only be broadcasting CBS in HD! They are especially trying to get CBD in HD before the Superbowl.
toms111la is offline  
post #112 of 372 Old 11-10-2006, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked KALB.com, but all I see is that they are adding a CBS feed...it doesn't say anything about HD... here is the quote -

Quote:


After much speculation we are now able to announce that there will be a new addition to the KALB television family.

Beginning January 2007 in addition to transmitting the NBC network signal KALB will also become a CBS affiliate.

This unique arrangement is one of the first of its kind and enables KALB to enhance its presence in central Louisiana.

It comes at a time when viewers have more choices than ever and means KALB will be able to introduce new programs to our area.

Stay tuned for more details on this exciting announcement.

I don't think you'll have to worry about two 1080i subchannels.. they'll most certainly remove the weather subchannel and replace it with CBS. I find it odd that Media General just doesn't build another studio for the CBS station..or at least a separate transmitter. Maybe they will in the future... in any case, this is the first time I've seen a station carry two major networks....just hope it works out though!

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #113 of 372 Old 11-10-2006, 11:43 AM
Member
 
toms111la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent an email to KALB engineering and got the following response:

Tom,
CBS programming will replace the Weather programming presently located on KALB-DT 5.2. We have sought out and purchased a technologically advanced system that will allow us to provide a HD signal on both KALB-DT 5.1 (NBC) and 5.2 (CBS).

Gary C.
toms111la is offline  
post #114 of 372 Old 11-10-2006, 02:50 PM
Member
 
toms111la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent a second email asking if they thought the NBC HD would suffer by combining two HD feeds on one frequency. I got the following reply:

We expect fully HD quality on both 5.1 (NBC) and 5.2 (CBS).
We have been told by Harris Corp, supplier of the technologically advanced piece of equipment know as a NetVx, that we would elect a primary channel for HD. In our case NBC and that this channel would always be in full HD. The secondary channel, CBS would receive supplemental bandwidth not instantaneously needed by the primary channel for HD. This provides the secondary channel with additional bandwidth (over SD) making it capable of presenting a program in HD. It is a bit complicated to explain and much more complicated to implement but we have been assured hat the system will be able to do both. We will be among the very first stations in the country to employ this device. We have complete faith in Harris Corp. having employed many of their systems in the past and present.


All I can add is that KALB is sending out a great signal which has made my life easier. My guess is that it will continue to work great.
toms111la is offline  
post #115 of 372 Old 11-10-2006, 08:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well that's very interesting... I will want to see the PQ once they get it completed.. if they have this new technology, then why can't all these other stations that have a zillion subchannels and one HD channel do something about their PQ? lol.... Tom, in Lafayette can you get WAFB from BR? I have read some of the terrible reviews of their HD quality... I bet KLFY looks a LOT sharper, doesnt it?

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #116 of 372 Old 11-11-2006, 03:37 AM
Member
 
toms111la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAR2002 View Post

Well that's very interesting... I will want to see the PQ once they get it completed.. if they have this new technology, then why can't all these other stations that have a zillion subchannels and one HD channel do something about their PQ? lol.... Tom, in Lafayette can you get WAFB from BR? I have read some of the terrible reviews of their HD quality... I bet KLFY looks a LOT sharper, doesnt it?

I can't get WAFB so I can't compare it to KLFY.
toms111la is offline  
post #117 of 372 Old 11-11-2006, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
KeithAR2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A lot of people on this forum say they can tell when a station is multicasting, but honestly, I can't tell a difference except when there is lots and lots of motion. Jay Leno and Conan looks just as good to me whether a station is doing no multicasting, or doing three subchannels. I can tell on Directv (especially on NBC) that the quality is not as good as OTA. NBC HD has always ranked last in my book..I've noticed "sparkles" in NBC's HD feed. CBS-HD has always been #1 to me... even on Directv, CBS-HD looks great. FOX and ABC are very good, as well... and really the only programs on NBC that look good to me are Leno and Conan.. primetime (esp Friday Night Lights) looks like very generic HD. These are just my opinions, though

HD OTA From Houston, TX

KPRC 2 (NBC-HD)
KUHT 8 (PBS-HD)
KHOU 11 (CBS-HD)
KTRK 13 (ABC-HD)
KTXH 20 (MNTV-HD)
KRIV 26 (FOX-HD)
KIAH 39 (CW-HD)
KeithAR2002 is offline  
post #118 of 372 Old 01-03-2007, 02:21 PM
Member
 
PMantle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alexandria, La.
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it's up and running. It took the place of the weather 5.2 as stated above. I have not seen any HD stuff on it yet, but I honestly almost never watch CBS. I will only be checking it for sports.
PMantle is offline  
post #119 of 372 Old 01-03-2007, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMantle View Post

Well, it's up and running. It took the place of the weather 5.2 as stated above. I have not seen any HD stuff on it yet, but I honestly almost never watch CBS. I will only be checking it for sports.

I talked to the head engineer and he said they will be at 480i until they receive the rest of the equipment needed. They are hoping to have HD up in time for the Superbowl.
lolowar is offline  
post #120 of 372 Old 01-03-2007, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think they are using UHF 36 and mapping it to 5.2. If that is the case then they are not multicasting.
lolowar is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off