Chico, CA - HDTV - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:11 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is up with the volume on KNVN and who is controlling the HD feed?
HDTV-luver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

what is up with the volume on KNVN and who is controlling the HD feed?

I have noticed that there is less audio volume than on the analog channel. They are working hard on fixing the HD channel but are having technical difficulties. This is to be expected with brand new equipment. I'm talking about the terrestrial HD channel and not the KNVN HD cable channels.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #123 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:20 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you know why KNVN only broadcasting HD programs at night and not 24/7, there are alot more HD programs on through the day that KNVN is not showing
HDTV-luver is offline  
 
post #124 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

do you know why KNVN only broadcasting HD programs at night and not 24/7, there are alot more HD programs on through the day that KNVN is not showing

Yes, the networks provide HD content. KNVN, the stations, regular equipment is SD. They up-convert their programming to the HD transmitter. When there is something in HD then they broadcast that. Wake-up and local news most likely will remain SD for a long, long time. Even the large DMA markets have SD programming for their local stuff and provide network HD content.

I was very surprised that KNVN and KHSL are being so proactive in getting enough equipment to broadcast network HD. The equipment is extremely expensive. KNVN HD transmitter works in HD 16:9 at 1080i 24/7.

ABC has Good Morning America in HD. CBS, NBC, and FOX are doing their morning national news in SD!

John
blastoff is offline  
post #125 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:36 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KNVN HD transmitter works in HD 16:9 at 1080i 24/7.? where, when?
only time I see the 16:9 is at primetime, rest of the time it is 4:3 upconverted analog
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #126 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:44 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blastoff, your up in Redding, have heard anything about KRCR coming back to comcast?
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #127 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

KNVN HD transmitter works in HD 16:9 at 1080i 24/7.? where, when?
only time I see the 16:9 is at primetime, rest of the time it is 4:3 upconverted analog

I already explained that they up-convert their SD signal to the HD transmitter. The up-converted signal is SD 480i in 4:3 which is rebroadcast in the HD 16:9 1080i data stream. Looking at it another way, the HD transmitter only transmits HD in 16:9 at 1080i. The station puts their SD programming on the HD channel by formatting it so it fits in the the HD format. The viewer sees a 4:3 480i video in a HD data stream. The picture really doesn't look much better because it is just up-converted. If they left their SD signal normally, it would look stretched. If you have the equipment you can check the HD signal and see that it remains HD when the station is showing their programming on it. Your right your only going to see prime time, sports events, and some other thing is HD. As time passes, more things will become HD. Remember KNVN, the station is SD and they happen to have an HD transmitter for NETWORK HD programming. They use the HD transmitter to re-broadcast their SD signal. The stations daytime programming is affiliated and syndicated material. The Stations cameras, recorders, etc. are SD and can not do HD.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #128 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

Blastoff, your up in Redding, have heard anything about KRCR coming back to comcast?

Yes, KRCR is negotiating with Comcast and hopefully KRCR HD will be provided by Comcast in the near future. From what I read, they most likely will follow KNVN and KHSL

John
blastoff is offline  
post #129 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 06:54 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that will be nice.
http://tvlistings4.zap2it.com/comcas...ner_id=comcast <-- is already showing KHSLDT 912 as a active channel.
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #130 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 07:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

that will be nice.
http://tvlistings4.zap2it.com/comcas...ner_id=comcast <-- is already showing KHSLDT 912 as a active channel.

KHSL"DT". I suspect that it is only showing all programming in SD? am I right?

John
blastoff is offline  
post #131 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 07:05 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wouldn't know, that channel is not on my STB or CC.
I just found it interesting that are listing it as if it was actual channel

According to TV Guide.com and TitanTV.com us in Butte Co. don't even have KNVN 904
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #132 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

I wouldn't know, that channel is not on my STB or CC.
I just found it interesting that are listing it as if it was actual channel

I see, I tried your listed site: http://tvlistings4.zap2it.com/comca...tner_id=comcast , but I don't have a good zip code to get the listing in the qualifying area. We have Charter here.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #133 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 07:13 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
try 95928 Chico or 95965 Oroville

I see Redding is getting TNT HD ch792, is this correct?
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #134 of 2677 Old 02-10-2006, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

I see Redding is getting TNT HD ch792, is this correct?

Here is the channel line-up. http://www.charter.com/account/lineu...el_choose.aspx

John
blastoff is offline  
post #135 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Dammenion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that they dont have 5.1 working on KNVN HD yet. But at least HD was going all through Leno and O'Brian last night. Thursday night it switch to SD 4:3 near the end of Leno.

Can't wait for KHSL to go HD. And hopefully KRCR will be HD soon. Grey's anatomy and Lost will be so much better then
Dammenion is offline  
post #136 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 09:55 AM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree Dammenion.
but its nice having KNVN HD in time for Nascar at Daytona, I hope the 5.1 is up and running by the 19th
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #137 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well if the KNVN HD drop out aren't bad enough, I'm watching ski-board jumping in the SD format. Did someone forget to switch it back to HD?

John
blastoff is offline  
post #138 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 02:01 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is what I can't understand is why are they switching back and forth from SD and HD?
Put it on HD and walk away.
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #139 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone fall asleep at the switch again?

John
blastoff is offline  
post #140 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Dammenion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Through the STB 904 just gives "One moment please"


Hopefully it's just them setting up 5.1 or something and not a problem. Better to have them improving the channel then have a flakey signal, although saturday afternoon isn't the best time to have a problem in the signal.
Dammenion is offline  
post #141 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Dammenion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, has anyone heard about WB going HD at all here?

I kinda lost hope with the merger later this year that they would even invest in it
Dammenion is offline  
post #142 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 03:02 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope so, I had to listen to the olympic last night in PLII
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #143 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dammenion View Post

Through the STB 904 just gives "One moment please"


Hopefully it's just them setting up 5.1 or something and not a problem. Better to have them improving the channel then have a flakey signal, although saturday afternoon isn't the best time to have a problem in the signal.

I'm watching KNVN HD over the air. The audio is totally bad. I don't have Dolby 5.1. There is no "Center Channel" audio. I get good background noise but that is about it. I have my volume cranked up to about 2/3 of max.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #144 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 03:12 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I surely hope KNVN is taking notes in setting up HD, so when its KHSL turn it will go faster.
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #145 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 04:39 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dammenion View Post

Also, has anyone heard about WB going HD at all here?

I kinda lost hope with the merger later this year that they would even invest in it

From what I have seen on the web, the merger between UPN and WB is still on, and the new channel is going to be called CW.
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #146 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 04:46 PM
Member
 
rtatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

I'm watching KNVN HD over the air. The audio is totally bad. I don't have Dolby 5.1. There is no "Center Channel" audio. I get good background noise but that is about it. I have my volume cranked up to about 2/3 of max.

I'm with you, I thought I had no audio at all and then i decided to just turn my volume up really loud and noticed there actually is audio.
rtatman is offline  
post #147 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Dammenion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-luver View Post

From what I have seen on the web, the merger between UPN and WB is still on, and the new channel is going to be called CW.


Yeah I know. I kinda wrote that strange. I meant I lost hope in the local WB getting HD here because of the merger. Not lost hope in the merger
Dammenion is offline  
post #148 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 06:35 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got home from work tonight to find that the sound is still very low and not in 5.1


watching 902 on tv and listening to ch4 on stb
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #149 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 07:58 PM
Member
 
HDTV-luver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to khsl.com and under programming, they show khsl-dt on 12-1.
is there anyone with OTA picking this channel up?
HDTV-luver is offline  
post #150 of 2677 Old 02-11-2006, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cmassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KHSL-DT has been around awhile (at least a year) but is not in HD. Its actual frequency is 43. Your tuner remaps it to 12.1. I can get it with my antenna without difficulty.

Chris
cmassa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off