Chico, CA - HDTV - Page 77 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2281 of 2644 Old 07-01-2010, 11:24 PM
 
HDFinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCAL
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any of you had issues with KRCR again lately? I've had issues for several. It either works near perfectly, or it's useless with audio dropouts and pixelation.

Any idea when 34 will be available to those of us on the AM-21 through DirecTV?
The DirecTV signal meter is bouncing around between 46% and 60% at the moment for 7-1.


Thanks all......
HDFinder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2644 Old 07-03-2010, 04:06 AM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDFinder View Post

Have any of you had issues with KRCR again lately? I've had issues for several. It either works near perfectly, or it's useless with audio dropouts and pixelation.

Any idea when 34 will be available to those of us on the AM-21 through DirecTV?
The DirecTV signal meter is bouncing around between 46% and 60% at the moment for 7-1.


Thanks all......

Yes, I am still having issues with KRCR. I have re-done satellite setup on both my HR20 and my HR24/AM21 with no luck. I can't get a locked in signal at all.
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2283 of 2644 Old 07-10-2010, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished a local OTA scan and am getting the above channel with a signal of 64. Picture quality is very good. The low signal is working very well without macro blocking or signal loss. Quality looks exceptional I'm showing 720p!

Additional:
Using the TSReader program, I determined that this channel is 480i. It looks pretty darn good for SD.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2284 of 2644 Old 07-11-2010, 10:36 AM
 
HDFinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCAL
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

I just finished a local OTA scan and am getting the above channel with a signal of 64. Picture quality is very good. The low signal is working very well without macro blocking or signal loss. Quality looks exceptional I'm showing 720p!

Additional:
Using the TSReader program, I determined that this channel is 480i. It looks pretty darn good for SD.

What is the network, or the type of programming you're getting?
HDFinder is offline  
post #2285 of 2644 Old 07-11-2010, 10:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
TeleFutura. He mentioned it in the subject line of his post.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2286 of 2644 Old 07-11-2010, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDFinder View Post

What is the network, or the type of programming you're getting?

Channel 30 TeleFutura, licensee: SAINTE PARTNERS II, L.P., 15kW ERP, broadcasting from Cohasset.

I'm very surprised that I can get this channel, but can't get the other LP from the Chico vicinity

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2287 of 2644 Old 07-17-2010, 07:23 PM
 
HDFinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCAL
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

TeleFutura. He mentioned it in the subject line of his post.

- Trip

Sorry, I guess I didn't clarify the question well enough. I've never watched Telefutura before therefore I really don't have a clue about what it is. No matter though, my antenna didn't pick it up anyway.
HDFinder is offline  
post #2288 of 2644 Old 07-17-2010, 07:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Oh. TeleFutura is the sister network to Spanish-language Univision. I believe it airs similar programming.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2289 of 2644 Old 07-19-2010, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Ray4x4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DirecTV only has the top ten markets in local ABC HD.
DirecTV has plans to bring local HD to all markets "soon".

Our KRCR channel 34 translator is now on the official FCC licensed database. Which should start to show up in Tribune data bases and search by zip code databases.

Please note that during mid to late August, we are expected to replace our main antenna. There will be disruption of service of both 7 and 34. We will atempt to keep the disruptions to a minimum.
Ray4x4x4 is offline  
post #2290 of 2644 Old 07-20-2010, 09:30 AM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray4x4x4 View Post

DirecTV only has the top ten markets in local ABC HD.
DirecTV has plans to bring local HD to all markets "soon".

Our KRCR channel 34 translator is now on the official FCC licensed database. Which should start to show up in Tribune data bases and search by zip code databases.

Please note that during mid to late August, we are expected to replace our main antenna. There will be disruption of service of both 7 and 34. We will atempt to keep the disruptions to a minimum.

Is the new antenna going to be better than the last one? Will your signal strength increase I hope?
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2291 of 2644 Old 07-21-2010, 12:40 PM
Member
 
AKAWalrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the Comcast "XFINITY" upgrade is underway - friends with a digital box report that they are now without most of their channels.
AKAWalrus is offline  
post #2292 of 2644 Old 07-26-2010, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
mikemaxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray4x4x4 View Post

DirecTV only has the top ten markets in local ABC HD.
DirecTV has plans to bring local HD to all markets "soon".

Our KRCR channel 34 translator is now on the official FCC licensed database. Which should start to show up in Tribune data bases and search by zip code databases.

Please note that during mid to late August, we are expected to replace our main antenna. There will be disruption of service of both 7 and 34. We will atempt to keep the disruptions to a minimum.

D* broadcasts HD locals to well over 100 markets, Chico/Redding is not one of them. D* has no plans to broadcast HD local here this year or next year.

D* tuners do not handle two digital channels on the same logical channel very well. Neither do any of the tuners in my TV sets.

It makes more sense to broadcast one channel at a higher power than two channels at different frequencies.

IMO

Mike
mikemaxj is offline  
post #2293 of 2644 Old 07-27-2010, 08:59 AM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried adding local channels to my DirecTV HR24 today to see if the KRCR issue is fixed. It's not.

On another note, a new channel appeared, 31-1. It's CW31 out of Sacramento and it's in HD.
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2294 of 2644 Old 07-28-2010, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildbill129 View Post

On another note, a new channel appeared, 31-1. It's CW31 out of Sacramento and it's in HD.

Wildbill,

are you still getting CW31 our of Sacramento? No luck getting it from my place.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2295 of 2644 Old 07-28-2010, 07:33 PM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

Wildbill,

are you still getting CW31 our of Sacramento? No luck getting it from my place.

I just checked, no luck. It is gone from the guide and it won't let me tune to the channel even though it is in my off-air channel list (DirecTV HR24). It must have been an anomaly. I did enjoy watching Sacramento news in HD for a few hours the other day.....

I also checked the signal strength. Yesterday when it was working it was around 45%, now it's a big flat zero....
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2296 of 2644 Old 08-05-2010, 11:19 AM
Member
 
AKAWalrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast added new HD channels overnight. They also moved the HD channels to the 700s, and the Music Choice channels to the 900s.

As far as I can tell, the new HD lineup is as follows:

702 – KCVU
704 – KNVN
706 – KVIE
707 – KRCR
709 – KIXE
712 – KHSL
718 – HSN
719 – QVC
720 – Comcast SportsNet Bay Area
721 – Comcast SportsNet California
722 – Golf Channel
723 – Vs.
724 – ESPN
725 – ESPN2
726 – ESPNews
727 – NBA TV
728 – NHL Network
729 – MLB Network
730 – NFL Network
731 – Speed
732 – CBS College Sports
733 – Bravo
734 – A&E
735 – TBS
736 – Syfy
737 – TNT
738 – USA
739 – Universal HD
740 – TV One
741 – FX
742 – Style
743 – Spike
744 – G4
745 – Comedy Central
746 – HGTV
747 – Food Network
748 – TruTV
750 – Discovery Channel
751 – Animal Planet
752 – TLC
753 – E!
754 – HD Theater
755 – Travel Channel
756 – Science Channel
757 – National Geographic
758 – History
759 – CNN
760 – Fox News Channel
761 – Fox Business Network
762 – CNBC
763 – Disney XD
766 – Cartoon Network
767 – Nickelodeon
768 – ABC Family
769 – Disney Channel
771 – Planet Green
772 – The Biography Channel
774 – HLN
776 – The Weather Channel
776 – BET
778 – CMT
779 – Fuse
781 – VH1
782 – MTV
783 – Palladia
784 – Outdoor Channel
785 – NFL RedZone
786 – Tennis Channel
787 – MSNBC
788 – ESPNU
789 – Turner Classic Movies
790 – Independent Film Channel
791 – WE tv
793 – Hallmark Channel
794 – Hallmark Movie Channel
795 – Lifetime
796 – Lifetime Movie Network
797 – MGM
798 – AMC
801 – HBO
807 – HBO Zone
808 – HBO Latino
809 – Encore
816 – Starz
817 – Starz Edge
818 – Starz Comedy
819 – Starz Kids & Family
825 – Showtime
826 – Showtime 2
838 – Cinemax
847 – The Movie Channel
AKAWalrus is offline  
post #2297 of 2644 Old 08-05-2010, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKAWalrus View Post

Comcast added new HD channels overnight. They also moved the HD channels to the 700s, and the Music Choice channels to the 900s...

AKAWalrus,

The List of HD channels that Comcast is going to provide looks pretty darn good. Here in Redding we have Charter. I don't know what they provide in HD as I don't use them. I've been to a few places where Charter is used with HDTV's. I don't know what it is but the quality seems just so-so.

It looks like Comcast is pretty progressive. Seems like they are a pretty good cable company. How is the quality of the HD channels?

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2298 of 2644 Old 08-06-2010, 03:19 PM
Member
 
AKAWalrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blastoff,

I've been satisfied with the picture quality, but to be quite honest, I'm not the best judge of picture quality, as my vision is pretty shoddy. The only thing I can judge is if something is in true HD, and wheter or not someone has their HDTV set up properly.

I haven't noticed much pixelation, but that was before they added more HD channels. I haven't watched enough TV in the last few days to make a judgment as to whether or not there's been a drop in picture quality to conserve bandwidth.

My only gripe, as I've mentioned before, is that they don't carry the Sacramento locals in HD (they're available in SD), but that's almost definitely for economical reasons. It'd be nice, though, to be able to see syndicated programming in HD, as well as local Sacramento news. It'd also be a leap forward to have the option to watch the CW in HD.
AKAWalrus is offline  
post #2299 of 2644 Old 08-15-2010, 10:05 AM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In this day and age, the 49er/Colts game is in SD on Fox20? Really? It's in HD (so the guide says) on the NFL Network, but it's blacked out on DirecTV. Unbelievable.....


Edit: As of 1047 it's no longer blacked out and it's in HD on the NFL network....that's dumb FOX...
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2300 of 2644 Old 08-15-2010, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildbill129 View Post

In this day and age, the 49er/Colts game is in SD on Fox20? Really? It's in HD (so the guide says) on the NFL Network, but it's blacked out on DirecTV. Unbelievable.....


Edit: As of 1047 it's no longer blacked out and it's in HD on the NFL network....that's dumb FOX...

Thank goodness for the NFL Network! I have Dish and it is playing in HD!

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2301 of 2644 Old 08-16-2010, 08:39 AM
 
HDFinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCAL
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is 7-1 out for any of you? Mine was out sometime Sunday evening, and is out still this a.m. Getting the Searching for Signal error, while my other OTA channels are fine.
HDFinder is offline  
post #2302 of 2644 Old 08-16-2010, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDFinder View Post

Is 7-1 out for any of you? Mine was out sometime Sunday evening, and is out still this a.m. Getting the Searching for Signal error, while my other OTA channels are fine.

VHF07 is working but UHF34 in off the air.

I think that for this month we will see outages for both transmitters as Ray4x4x4 reported previously on this forum that they are going to replace the, "Main" antenna.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2303 of 2644 Old 08-16-2010, 10:27 AM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

VHF07 is working but UHF34 in off the air.

I think that for this month we will see outages for both transmitters as Ray4x4x4 reported previously on this forum that they are going to replace the, "Main" antenna.

I am keeping my fingers crossed that the antenna replacement will improve their signal, I still haven't been able to pick it up since May....
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2304 of 2644 Old 08-17-2010, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
mikemaxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

VHF07 is working but UHF34 in off the air.

I think that for this month we will see outages for both transmitters as Ray4x4x4 reported previously on this forum that they are going to replace the, "Main" antenna.

This would be a good time to sync an HR20 to pick up 7 instead of 34.

Mike
mikemaxj is offline  
post #2305 of 2644 Old 08-17-2010, 05:40 PM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemaxj View Post

This would be a good time to sync an HR20 to pick up 7 instead of 34.

Mike


Just tried...no luck...
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2306 of 2644 Old 08-23-2010, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I discovered that UHF 34 is back on the air, I get a very good signal of 85. VHF 07 signal was about 92, now it is 88.

Has anyone noticed any reception differences?

I looked at Bally today and it seems that something has changed, the antennas must be camouflaged, I can't see the tower.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2307 of 2644 Old 08-23-2010, 12:22 PM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

I discovered that UHF 34 is back on the air, I get a very good signal of 85. VHF 07 signal was about 92, now it is 88.

Has anyone noticed any reception differences?

I looked at Bally today and it seems that something has changed, the antennas must be camouflaged, I can't see the tower.

Blastoff,

I just tried again on both my Panasonic TV and my DirecTV HR24/AM21, no go on 34-1 or 7-1.... 0 signal strength...
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2308 of 2644 Old 08-23-2010, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildbill129 View Post

Blastoff,

I just tried again on both my Panasonic TV and my DirecTV HR24/AM21, no go on 34-1 or 7-1.... 0 signal strength...

This isn't good for you. You must have a hill or something big blocking. With the transmitters at 6,000 plus feet above sea level, you must have something pretty high in between.

I don't know if KRCR is done with the replacement, but at least UHF 34 is active.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #2309 of 2644 Old 08-23-2010, 09:46 PM
Member
 
wildbill129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

This isn't good for you. You must have a hill or something big blocking. With the transmitters at 6,000 plus feet above sea level, you must have something pretty high in between.

I don't know if KRCR is done with the replacement, but at least UHF 34 is active.

I have hills all around me. What I don't get is I got KRCR fine for 15 months (since I bought this house) until it went out in May. I've made no changes to my antennas, and the signal strength on all the other networks hasn't changed. Something has, just not me....
wildbill129 is offline  
post #2310 of 2644 Old 08-28-2010, 10:52 AM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Talked to the Chief Engineer at KNVN yesterday and they are now broadcasting Oprah, Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy in HD. I watched wheel & Jeopardy last night and they looked good.
Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off