Chico, CA - HDTV - Page 88 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 2644 Old 08-23-2013, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have not received KRCR for 3 days now. I called and all I was told was some kind of line problem. I watch UHF channel 34 as I can't receive VHF channel 7. I don't have sat or cable so I assume it is working on those systems. Anyone else going without?
Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 2644 Old 08-23-2013, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I watch KRCR on VHF 07.  Since your previous post, I've checked UHF 34 and get NO signal that continues to present.  I wonder what the problem is?  I have Dish and get KRCR on SAT.  I thought that Dish got the signal from UHF 34.  Must be time to start bugging KRCR.


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2613 of 2644 Old 08-23-2013, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Redding Delivery,

 

I contacted Engineering at KRCR, they have staff working on the UHF34 problem transmitter.  My guess it will be up and running sometime.


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2614 of 2644 Old 09-18-2013, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like Comcast is now encrypting their clear qam channels. No more TV for me mad.gif
David Scott is offline  
post #2615 of 2644 Old 09-19-2013, 05:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm surprised that KRCR UHF34 is still off the air.


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2616 of 2644 Old 09-20-2013, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Me too. I can't receive vhf 7 for some reason. tried high vhf antenna pointed directly at Bally. I get KIXE with a "99" signal out of "100". KRCR vhf at 10-15 signal. That's just not right. My friend at KNVN engineering says that KRCR vhf is going right over the top of me. Sad I miss the local news and network premiers. I put in a call to KRCR engineering about my issue and they never returned my call. I guess they just don't care if you receive them OTA. No money in it for them. They get paid for sat & cable subscibers. Oh well, I'm just upset that this has been off for about 3 weeks. BTW, I'm located Lake Blvd-Panorama area and I can see the transmitting towers from my back yard. Clear shot.
Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
post #2617 of 2644 Old 09-20-2013, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Redding Delivery,

 

It sounds like you are in a spot where their transmitter signal path has a blind spot.  This makes me think that the transmitter signal is focused more toward the South East perhaps favoring the direction of Chico.  If it were possible for you to take a second VHF antenna (small size), where you can hold it while it is connected to your receiver so to walk around to different spots on your land to see if you can find a sweet spot.  But then, if you did, you may not be able to mount that antenna at that location for obvious reasons.  Maybe even changing the current height of your existing antenna from higher to lower might make a big difference.

 

I am located in the Enterprise area South of Hwy 44.  Like you the VHF07 signal actually does shoot over my property and my elevation is a little over 600 ft.  I should have a 100% signal but only get around 80 on the best of days.  KIXE VHF09 signal is 100% all the time.

 

The UHF34 transmitter must have some pretty severe problem or maybe it is being upgraded.  Maybe they have acquired MY TV and are going to make it HD for that channel.  It would be nice to see the bay area games in HD!


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2618 of 2644 Old 09-20-2013, 08:38 PM
Newbie
 
technoshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Scott View Post

Looks like Comcast is now encrypting their clear qam channels. No more TV for me mad.gif

Discovered this, this week, as well. The scum sucking grin of their talking head's little pre-recorded message about it (the only channel that comes up after re-scan) is just salt and lemon juice in the wound. Truly loathe everything about comcast.

I am up in Paradise and am working on researching whether I will be able to set up an attic mounted antenna to get the main channels (abc/cbs/nbc/fox) or if I will have to go roof mounted/free standing.

If attic or garage mounted I will just need to figure out how to get the cable from my attic/garage to the crawlspace under my house so that I can connect it into the existing cable wiring.
technoshaman is offline  
post #2619 of 2644 Old 09-21-2013, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Chas Hart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out 'www.tvfool.com' and select start maps. Enter your address and it will show what is avalible at your location. Also you can enter the hight of the antenna above ground.

This site is extreamly accurate with addresses. I don't know how they do it.
Chas Hart is offline  
post #2620 of 2644 Old 10-08-2013, 04:07 PM
Member
 
tapokata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tehnoshaman, I went OTA in southeast Chico about three years ago- I have a cheap RCA YAGI external antenna, mounted about 8 feet off the ground on top of a shed, and I can pick up KRCR's three digital stations, KXIE's three digital stations, three from KHSL, and three from KNVN- that gives me the major networks (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, CW and PBS) in HD, and standard definition digital for Me-TV, MyTV, Antenna TV, This, Living Well, a couple of additional SD PBS feeds, and a weather channel. All of this with the antenna in a fixed position, a few degrees off of due North from my location (Doe Mill area near E 20th and Bruce Rd). The fact that the KCRC and KXIE transmissions are high-band VHF helps to overcome the distance, I assume. They don't "boom" in, but the signal is strong enough to get a good lock

If I rotate it to the south, depending on the weather conditions I can pick up some of the Sacramento area transmissions-- a 120 mile haul- not bad for a 40 mile range antenna.

I would suspect if your antenna is up over the ridgeline in Paradise, aimed to the NW, your experience will be about the same

The house I'm in was pre-wired for coax, with a comcast cable feed. I added an a/b switch to the feed, and mounted the antenna on a mast that had been previously used for a directTV mini-dish. If comcast is encrypting everything now, it looks like I can remove the a/b switch.
tapokata is offline  
post #2621 of 2644 Old 10-08-2013, 04:14 PM
Member
 
tapokata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Outdoor antenna's love to breathe, too- the higher outside, the better, Get a decent antenna, invest in a quality pre-amp for it and some good coax cable and you'll be good to go. In a perfect world, you'd like a direction where you don't have a lot of trees in the way- leaf cover will degrade the signal- but I'm guessing that in Paradise that's not realistic.
tapokata is offline  
post #2622 of 2644 Old 10-28-2013, 07:37 AM
Member
 
Ray4x4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a trick to getting KRCR channel 7 close in to Redding.
Take two 16 inch pieces of wire (bailing wire or thicker, the thicker the better) and bridge them with a coax to 300 ohm transformer. ( you can get these at electronic or home improvement stores).
Hang this vertically. Plastic pipe or wood 2x2 could work just fine

|
>
(coax to TV)
|

Place this outside if you can. If you have reflection issues, try placing a separate three to four foot piece of metal a foot/16 inches or so also vertically behind. Assume the dots to indicate no physical connection between the director and the receive antenna.

|
|. |
|. >
to TV
|. |
|

This works because there Is both vertical and horizontal signals being broadcast from the channel 7 antenna.
Ray4x4x4 is offline  
post #2623 of 2644 Old 10-30-2013, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Ray4x4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 34 should be back up by now. They had to replace thier broadcast antenna. However I think what they have up now is a temporary antenna.
As for channel 7, On the classic vertical plane, (where the recieve antenna has the elements parallel to the ground) you can experience less than optimal signal level when you are close in to Redding. With the power beam pointed more outwards towards Chico and Weed directions from Shasta Bally.
However as the antenna is circular/elliptical there is significant horizontal plane energy that is less directional. It covers Redding pretty good. However you will need to add a simple antenna like I mentioned earlier, or mount a standard antenna "side ways" so that the elements are pointed up and down.

One example is the Dish receive site, which is close in to Shasta Bally. Careful inspection of that site will reveal a sideways mounted antenna for channel 7 reception.

As building or modifying a special antenna is beyond most consumers, channel 34 does serve as fill in translator instead.
Ray4x4x4 is offline  
post #2624 of 2644 Old 11-04-2013, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
mooreted's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in Anderson. I noticed that I have not been able to get KNVN DT 24-1 for the past few days. Every once in awhile it comes on, but they are playing old shows like Bewitched.

Anyone know if there is a problem with KNVN in my area?
mooreted is offline  
post #2625 of 2644 Old 11-06-2013, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am in Redding and receive TV OTA. I have no problem with 24-1, -2, or -5. It sounds like you are watching 24-2. You might want to re-scan your receiver for channels to see if that helps. If you are watching 24-2, then you are receiving frequency 24.
Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
post #2626 of 2644 Old 11-06-2013, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
mooreted's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's odd. I have it pointed at 148 degrees and it has been working for months. Someone on the Action news Facebook page said they were moving equipment and were having issues. I don't know.

I will re-scan and see what happens.
mooreted is offline  
post #2627 of 2644 Old 11-06-2013, 05:45 PM
Newbie
 
mooreted's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did a re-scan. The channel seems to be stable now. Don't know what happened.
mooreted is offline  
post #2628 of 2644 Old 11-20-2013, 06:16 PM
Member
 
Chas Hart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else having problems with KHSL on 43.1 the past few days? I was getting 85% signal strength but now it's 5-10%. KCVU and KNVN are at normal strenght on the same antenna.

KHSL on 36.1 is at 80% off another antenna.
Chas Hart is offline  
post #2629 of 2644 Old 11-20-2013, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm getting 43 at around 78 now.  It is working fine for me.


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2630 of 2644 Old 01-07-2014, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I noticed today at noon that KHSL-KNVN News on 12-1 & 24-1 is in HD.
It looks pretty good.

Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
post #2631 of 2644 Old 01-07-2014, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ed,  I agree.  The news looks much better in HD.  The camera folks obviously are getting introduced to the wider area.  Did they make any mention of going HD?


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2632 of 2644 Old 01-07-2014, 12:37 PM
Member
 
AKAWalrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oroville, CA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I, for one, congratulate them. Hopefully they'll enjoy 2007 as much as I did.

So far, it looks like it's just the in-studio segments that are in HD, while remotes and taped pieces are still SD.
AKAWalrus is offline  
post #2633 of 2644 Old 01-07-2014, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

Ed,  I agree.  The news looks much better in HD.  The camera folks obviously are getting introduced to the wider area.  Did they make any mention of going HD?

John,

I didn't hear it announced at the opening credits. It did read "Action News in HD"
Last night at 5 it was still in SD. I think today was the first HD at noon.

Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
post #2634 of 2644 Old 01-07-2014, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ed,

 

Maybe they will make some announcement on their evening news.  I had recorded the noon news for KHSL and finished watching it moments ago.  There were having brightness level changes.  The quality of the HD was good, the cast looked a little too soft, not very sharp.  Do you know if they have field HD cameras yet?


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2635 of 2644 Old 01-08-2014, 07:56 AM
Member
 
Redding Delivery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post

Ed,

Maybe they will make some announcement on their evening news.  I had recorded the noon news for KHSL and finished watching it moments ago.  There were having brightness level changes.  The quality of the HD was good, the cast looked a little too soft, not very sharp.  Do you know if they have field HD cameras yet?

John,

I did see a few wide screen field shots last night. I don't know if they were HD. I don't have any contact with our local stations anymore since I retired. I think the picture will improve over time. It looks like they have new sets. I was surprised no announcement was made.

Ed
Redding Delivery is offline  
post #2636 of 2644 Old 01-13-2014, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have noticed on "Movie" 7-3 that some things are in a 16:9 format and the quality is very good.  I checked the signal at it reported 480i.  Most strange. 


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2637 of 2644 Old 01-14-2014, 12:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastoff View Post
 

I have noticed on "Movie" 7-3 that some things are in a 16:9 format and the quality is very good.  I checked the signal at it reported 480i.  Most strange. 

 

Does what you're seeing look as good as 720p HD, or does it just look somewhat better than ordinary SD?

 

What you are seeing may be what is sometimes called "480i widescreen".

I don't understand all of the technical details (any engineers out there?) of what resolutions stations can support in their broadcasts, but this might be a type of anamorphic widescreen.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anamorphic_widescreen

 

Regular 480i for ATSC is (as I understand it) 480 lines of resolution at an aspect ratio of 4:3, so 640 pixels per line. (On a computer monitor, isn't that called VGA? Is each pixel assumed to be square?)

 

But there apparently is a way of broadcasting 480 lines at 704 pixels per line (ten percent more pixels per line than is usual for 480i) and perhaps also using pixels that are not square. If a pixel itself had an aspect ratio of 40:33, then that display of 704 pixels by 480 pixels would have an aspect ratio of 16:9.

veedon is offline  
post #2638 of 2644 Old 01-14-2014, 05:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Movies! is provided to its affiliates in widescreen SD.

The resolution and aspect ratio of SD channels are independent. About 65% of all subchannels in the US and Canada are in 704x480i, with 21% in 720x480i, 6.5% in 528x480i (mostly due to ION), and 4% in 640x480i. (A handful of others are in 544x480i, 480x480i, or 352x480i.) The aspect ratio has its own value, which can be set to either 4:3 or 16:9.

A full list of known widescreen SD subchannels in the US, with their resolutions, is on my site here (I see a few things broken on it, hadn't looked at it in a few years): http://www.rabbitears.info/oddsandends.php?request=widesd

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2639 of 2644 Old 01-14-2014, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
 

 

Does what you're seeing look as good as 720p HD, or does it just look somewhat better than ordinary SD?

 

What you are seeing may be what is sometimes called "480i widescreen".

I don't understand all of the technical details (any engineers out there?) of what resolutions stations can support in their broadcasts, but this might be a type of anamorphic widescreen.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anamorphic_widescreen

 

Regular 480i for ATSC is (as I understand it) 480 lines of resolution at an aspect ratio of 4:3, so 640 pixels per line. (On a computer monitor, isn't that called VGA? Is each pixel assumed to be square?)

 

But there apparently is a way of broadcasting 480 lines at 704 pixels per line (ten percent more pixels per line than is usual for 480i) and perhaps also using pixels that are not square. If a pixel itself had an aspect ratio of 40:33, then that display of 704 pixels by 480 pixels would have an aspect ratio of 16:9.


Hi Trip,

 

Thanks for the information.  There are more possibilities than realized with the sub-channels.  The quality of the wide screen video was very good but a shy short of HD quality as colors lacked robustness.  I believe what was widescreen was a commercial.  When the regular program resumed it changed to the 4:3 ratio and quality which was not so hot with pixeling and motion sweeping.  Normally on my HDTV when I tune to a 480i channel the HDTV automatically stretches the 4:3 picture to fill the screen.  I'll have to watch channel 7-3 to better define the differences.  The engineers are obviously expanding capabilities.


John
blastoff is offline  
post #2640 of 2644 Old 01-14-2014, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Movies! is provided to its affiliates in widescreen SD.

The resolution and aspect ratio of SD channels are independent. About 65% of all subchannels in the US and Canada are in 704x480i, with 21% in 720x480i, 6.5% in 528x480i (mostly due to ION), and 4% in 640x480i. .... The aspect ratio has its own value, which can be set to either 4:3 or 16:9.

A full list of known widescreen SD subchannels in the US, with their resolutions, is on my site here (I see a few things broken on it, hadn't looked at it in a few years): http://www.rabbitears.info/oddsandends.php?request=widesd

- Trip

 

Cool. I had not seen that page with the specific pixel counts. Thanks for providing that information.

I always thought that the aspect ratio was just the ratio of the width (of a line on the display) to the height. If the pixels are square, then the aspect ratio is known from the pixel counts, right?

 

704 by 480 would be a ratio of 1.47, which is a bit less than the 16:9 ratio of 1.78.

 

So if you set the aspect ratio on your set to be 16:9, the set is going to stretch or enlarge the image in some way to get it to fill the whole screen or nearly the whole screen.

(What I really dislike is the "postage stamp" effect where sometimes there are black bars around all four sides of the image.).

 

It seems that some ways of stretching do a better job than others.

Sometimes when an image is stretched to full screen, people on the screen wind up looking short and pudgy.

But on other channels, when the image gets stretched, it still seems OK.

 

Maybe that's the idea behind anamorphic widescreen; it's a way of stretching the image without making things seem so distorted.

veedon is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off