Atlanta, GA - Charter - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 358 Old 10-07-2009, 03:15 AM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You're correct. I can find it in HD all the time on 85.1 on my QAM-capable TV but 703 does go back and forth for some reason.
TBarclay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 358 Old 10-07-2009, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
By the way, Charter customers, TBS is now available in HD in the Atlanta area for the baseball playoffs on Channel 780!
TBarclay is offline  
post #273 of 358 Old 10-15-2009, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just checked last night and QVC HD has been replaced by TBS HD on 85.1 QAM.
TBarclay is offline  
post #274 of 358 Old 10-20-2009, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Finally got the new HD channels this morning (although ION TV was still missing). Speed, FX, Lifetime, TBS and WGTV-HD are now live in NW Atlanta on Charter. Still would like to have either CNN or Fox News HD and Travel Channel in HD.
TBarclay is offline  
post #275 of 358 Old 10-22-2009, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
BeeCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: T' Town, GA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noticed this past week on a Clear Qam tuner TV that all local HD
channels are scrambled(ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC).

Just did a rescan with same results.

Is this temporary due to channel changes/additions?

Location: South of Atlanta

Thanks

BC
BeeCee is offline  
post #276 of 358 Old 10-30-2009, 11:34 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeCee View Post

Noticed this past week on a Clear Qam tuner TV that all local HD
channels are scrambled(ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC).

Just did a rescan with same results.

Is this temporary due to channel changes/additions?

Location: South of Atlanta

Thanks

BC

We have tested and all locals are in and have been in the clear.

Here are the frequency assignments. The QAM tuner should be tuned to the EIA channels and sub-channels for each station.


Freq. EIA Channel Display Channel
603 87 701 WATL - WBN
741 115 702 WSB-DT - ABC
621 90 704 WGCL-DT - CBS
597 86 705 WAGA-DT - FOX
627 91 706 WXIA-DT - NBC
615 89 707 WPCH-DT - IND
111 98 708 WJSP-HD
603 87 709 WUPA - CW
657 101 711 WXPAD
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #277 of 358 Old 10-30-2009, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
BeeCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: T' Town, GA
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I will recheck tonight.

BC
BeeCee is offline  
post #278 of 358 Old 12-12-2009, 09:51 PM
Member
 
freonchill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
never-mind, they must have been fine-tuning their software after installing new hardware / nodes / etc

it cleanered up by the end of the day sunday
freonchill is offline  
post #279 of 358 Old 12-14-2009, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anyone else lose Fox 5 HD in the middle of yesterday's Falcons game? I couldn't get it on 705 or at 86.1 through late Sunday night. It was back this morning, though.
TBarclay is offline  
post #280 of 358 Old 12-27-2009, 02:09 PM
Member
 
msmisfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBarclay View Post

Finally got the new HD channels this morning (although ION TV was still missing).

Does this comment mean you were expecting ION to be in HD now?

I'm curious, because I just recently discovered ION on Channel 11, when I started watching "Durham County".
msmisfit is offline  
post #281 of 358 Old 12-27-2009, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WPXA, ION-TV, is now in HD on channel 711. It was announced as starting at the same time as the other additions but took a few days to show up. It's there now.
TBarclay is offline  
post #282 of 358 Old 12-27-2009, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
sargetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as Charter is concerned, I think they are the worst Cable company on the planet! They never keep their word about the bill! They keep changing the cable tv portion of my bill, and I have to speak to customer service every month. I bought my own cable modem and They kept charging me 5 dollars for a modem lease for 3 months!! Each month I had to call them and give them the order number for the returned modem!! I have bundled service (cable-internet-phone). Charter also has now moved more channels to their digital tier, to force you to pay extra for one of their boxes. They have moved a Public Broadcast Station PBA30 to digital, trying to force a rental of their equipment, Bastards!!! But if you have a new tv with a QAM digital cable tuner, you can receive many of their channels that you have to use one of their boxes for. You can also receive all the music channels!!!
sargetech is offline  
post #283 of 358 Old 12-27-2009, 07:38 PM
Member
 
msmisfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBarclay View Post

WPXA, ION-TV, is now in HD on channel 711. It was announced as starting at the same time as the other additions but took a few days to show up. It's there now.

Thanks!!! I don't know why I didn't think of looking for it there. I guess it's because I kept overlooking it in the guide. Or maybe it has just shown up *very* recently. In any case, thanks again!
msmisfit is offline  
post #284 of 358 Old 12-30-2009, 03:13 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sargetech View Post

As far as Charter is concerned, I think they are the worst Cable company on the planet! They never keep their word about the bill! They keep changing the cable tv portion of my bill, and I have to speak to customer service every month. I bought my own cable modem and They kept charging me 5 dollars for a modem lease for 3 months!! Each month I had to call them and give them the order number for the returned modem!! I have bundled service (cable-internet-phone). Charter also has now moved more channels to their digital tier, to force you to pay extra for one of their boxes. They have moved a Public Broadcast Station PBA30 to digital, trying to force a rental of their equipment, Bastards!!! But if you have a new tv with a QAM digital cable tuner, you can receive many of their channels that you have to use one of their boxes for. You can also receive all the music channels!!!

Good afternoon sargetech, and welcome to AVS forum. I'm sorry to hear that you feel that way about us. I'd be more than happy to take a look at any billing issue you may have and make sure it's correct. Charter is committed to bringing great value to our customers through our bundled communication services, improved customer care initiatives and the latest technology. To support this commitment, the company executes a variety of efforts that allow us to launch new products or services (i.e. additional High-Definition (HD) channels).

These launches may result in new channel additions and/or cause exiting channels to be moved to another channel space. Many of our channels are indeed moving to a digital platform. This is not an effort to punish or force customers to lease digital equipment. Please send me a PM or email us at umatter2charter@chartercom.com for assistance.

George
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #285 of 358 Old 01-05-2010, 10:08 PM
Member
 
freonchill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2-3 days later and QAM seems to be back again.

odd

thats the 2nd time in 2 months

wonder whats going on with charter's network
freonchill is offline  
post #286 of 358 Old 01-15-2010, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sure would be nice if Charter would add CNBC and MSNBC in HD in time for the Winter Olympics since so much of the coverage will be on those two channels and Everything will be produced in HD!
TBarclay is offline  
post #287 of 358 Old 01-15-2010, 12:35 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBarclay View Post

Sure would be nice if Charter would add CNBC and MSNBC in HD in time for the Winter Olympics since so much of the coverage will be on those two channels and Everything will be produced in HD!

Unfortunately it doesn't look like we will be able to add these channels in HD at this time. However we do have NBC HD and Universal HD which will be covering the games and we will have VOD Content for the games as well.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #288 of 358 Old 01-20-2010, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks for the info. Can you give any word about possible HD additions in the Smyrna, GA area? I would like to see either CNN, Fox News or MSNBC in HD along with Travel Channel, ESPN-U and GPB's Knowledge and Kids Channels (SD).
TBarclay is offline  
post #289 of 358 Old 01-26-2010, 01:45 PM
Newbie
 
berwickl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wondering if George (Umatter2Charter) or someone can confirm whether Charter in the Atlanta area (I'm in Roswell) can lease a M-card cable card. I am thinking about buying a CableCard TV tuner with multiple tuners for my Media Center PC and would like to know if this multi-stream card is available. I know there are "S-cards" availalbe, but they only provide one stream to a single tuner.

Thanks!
berwickl is offline  
post #290 of 358 Old 01-29-2010, 12:14 PM
Member
 
msmisfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm wondering if Charter has changed their filters or anything on the servers for the Atlanta area? Lots of my inbound mail has been mysteriously "dropped" in the past week. It seems concentrated on 2 friends who use AOL. [By "lots", I mean over a half dozen messages.]

Anyone else have any missing mail, or any ideas what may be happening?
msmisfit is offline  
post #291 of 358 Old 01-29-2010, 01:54 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by berwickl View Post

Wondering if George (Umatter2Charter) or someone can confirm whether Charter in the Atlanta area (I'm in Roswell) can lease a M-card cable card. I am thinking about buying a CableCard TV tuner with multiple tuners for my Media Center PC and would like to know if this multi-stream card is available. I know there are "S-cards" availalbe, but they only provide one stream to a single tuner.

Thanks!

Yes, we do offer M-cards to be leased in GA.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #292 of 358 Old 01-29-2010, 01:55 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by msmisfit View Post

I'm wondering if Charter has changed their filters or anything on the servers for the Atlanta area? Lots of my inbound mail has been mysteriously "dropped" in the past week. It seems concentrated on 2 friends who use AOL. [By "lots", I mean over a half dozen messages.]

Anyone else have any missing mail, or any ideas what may be happening?

You have a PM over on DSLR about this.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #293 of 358 Old 01-30-2010, 03:02 PM
Member
 
msmisfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! Whatever was going on seems to have cleared up now. Maybe they were making some system changes at month's end and some batched mail got dropped or something.

Appreciate your help and George's.
msmisfit is offline  
post #294 of 358 Old 02-07-2010, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
mb300sd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone in Athens, GA on Charter getting local channels over Clear QAM? I'm trying to get my my USB QAM tuner working for the superbowl and all I can pick up is PBS and 4 spanish channels.
mb300sd is offline  
post #295 of 358 Old 02-07-2010, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
According to Silicon Dust, you should be getting CBS in HD on clear QAM channel 90.1 or in SD on 94.4.
TBarclay is offline  
post #296 of 358 Old 02-07-2010, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
mb300sd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBarclay View Post

According to Silicon Dust, you should be getting CBS in HD on clear QAM channel 90.1 or in SD on 94.4.

I can't manually tune channels on my card, only use the ones it scans. Is there any way to get the frequencies for those channels? I can manually edit the channel database and add it.
mb300sd is offline  
post #297 of 358 Old 02-07-2010, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Go to silicondust.com and enter your Country and Zip Code and then your cable provider and it gives you a list of clear QAM channels.
TBarclay is offline  
post #298 of 358 Old 02-11-2010, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
mb300sd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBarclay View Post

Go to silicondust.com and enter your Country and Zip Code and then your cable provider and it gives you a list of clear QAM channels.

Well, all the channels just showed up on a scan today, looks like they were just down DURING THE SUPERBOWL! Had a couple angry guests over here watching it in SD...
mb300sd is offline  
post #299 of 358 Old 04-03-2010, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just realized today that Charter subscribers in the Atlanta area will NOT be getting Atlanta Braves games in HD from FSN South. Last year, channel 723 carried content from both FSN South and SportSouth in HD -- but now it's full time SportSouth HD. Today's exhibition game was on FSN South and NOT available to us in HD. The time is NOW to add a full-time FSN South HD channel!!!!!
TBarclay is offline  
post #300 of 358 Old 05-04-2010, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
TBarclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Glad to see Charter will be adding FSN South HD on July 1st. Also adding Disney HD and Hallmark Movie Channel HD, while moving several SD channels around. Wish they would finally add a news channel in HD since I only watch HD. (CNN - 1st choice, then HL or Fox News, then MSNBC). Also, Travel Channel is a natural for HD and would like Comedy Central, too.
TBarclay is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off