Wichita Falls, TX - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 295 Old 09-23-2009, 07:12 AM
Member
 
jlhugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: WF, Tx
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kauz told me that CW is not yet available in HD. once they do they will broadcast it. i know the CW channel in DFW is broadcasting in HD along with others. other cities with CW are being picked up by dish and being broadcasted in HD. so i am not sure what these means exactly other than they are not giving to kauz in HD for WF.
jlhugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 295 Old 09-23-2009, 07:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
That's correct. The CW Plus service that KAUZ uses is a feed that CW provides to all its affiliates in markets smaller than the top 100. It comes with syndicated programming included, all the local station does is add some IDs and ads. At this time, that feed is only available in SD.

My contact at CW told me that HD is in the works for CW Plus, but is still a ways off.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #273 of 295 Old 09-23-2009, 07:18 AM
Member
 
jlhugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: WF, Tx
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nice, thanks for the information.
jlhugh is offline  
post #274 of 295 Old 09-26-2009, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Rikimaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any experience with the DB2? It sounds like it'll do the job, but I'd like to hear some first hand stories. Thanks!
Rikimaru is offline  
post #275 of 295 Old 09-27-2009, 11:06 AM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rikimaru,

I've had the opportunity to install all four of the little 2 Bay Antennas, but I wonder if it would be the right choice ( for the WF area ), given that the..
Antennas Direct DB2
the...
Terrestrial Digital DB2
and the...
Channel Master 4220-HD
are full UHF units. Assuming that you're getting one for the WF area ?

These little guys just don't do all that well, nor or they advertised to pick up the HiVHF band, and you would be cutting out your KSWO-ABC Channel, if you used one of these.

Additionally, though they all are of sufficient Beamwidth (about 66° required), their range is barely over the 26 mi, for your ABC and FOX stations, that being a little "to close for comfort".

Now, if you're intent on using one of this type Antenna, there is the...
Winegard HD1080
It IS rated to pickup HiVHF, BUT, the Beamwidth is only about 60°, which would require you to manually/remote change it between your 260° and 321° Farms.

So, all in all I'd say that you may should consider another choice, and if you'd describe your reasoning for thinking about the DB2, maybe I can help direct you to another.

Have a good Day !
S.W.

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #276 of 295 Old 09-29-2009, 08:19 PM
Member
 
jlhugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: WF, Tx
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the channel master 4228 in my attic over here in city view. i also got an amp on it and it get 7 and 18 at almost 100% all the time. my problems are with 3 and 6 and they are only 3 miles away. they are only in the low 80% range and cut in and out sometimes. i think if i move it outside on the roof i can take off the amp and probably get all the channels pretty good. i think my attic is causing multi-path problems and that is why 3 and 6 are iffy.
jlhugh is offline  
post #277 of 295 Old 09-30-2009, 08:01 AM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jlhugh,

The 4228 you have has been replaced with the...
Channel Master 4228-HD

To tell the truth, I can't see any difference in them, so, I wouldn't replace it just for the "HD" part !
I think it is just CM's way of pumping the unit's sales, not that they need to.

Those 8-Bays are great antennas and it's a good choice to move any up out of your Attic, where they can see better.

Keep in mind though, that it's a very directional antenna. Has about a 15° Beamwidth/eye, which may be the reason for the strength differences.

Your Channel 3 & 6 are at about 256° & 266° azimuth for you.
Channel 7 & 18 are at your 322° & 320°.
Plus you have a couple more channels which may be of interest to you, if you could turn the Antenna easily.

I'd say get a Rotator, and hang on to the Amp !

Have a good Day !
S.W.

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #278 of 295 Old 10-24-2009, 01:43 PM
Member
 
illuvatar81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, i don't have an outdoor antenna yet(just and indoor one). Im looking for a good one to cover the WF area and dont have a clue where to start.

My local info is like this:
DTVAntenna TypeCall SignChannelNetworkCity,StateLiveDateCompassHeadingMilesFromR FChannel
* yellow
uhf KAUZ-DT 6.1 CBS WICHITA FALLS, TX 350° 3.1 22
yellow
uhf K30DJ 30 FMN WICHITA FALLS, TX 345° 2.8 30
* yellow
uhf K26DL-D 26.1 TBN WICHITA FALLS, TX 290° 4.3 26
* yellow
uhf KFDX-DT 3.1 NBC WICHITA FALLS, TX 324° 2.7 28
* yellow
vhf KSWO-DT 7.1 ABC LAWTON, OK 331° 27.0 11
yellow
uhf KJBO-LP 35 MNT WICHITA FALLS, TX 345° 2.8 35
green
uhf KUWF-LP 36 UNI WICHITA FALLS, TX 292° 3.5 36
green
uhf K26DL 26 TBN WICHITA FALLS, TX 290° 4.3 26
green
uhf K44GS 44 PBS DALLAS, TX 350° 3.1 44
lt green
uhf K20DN 20 FMN WICHITA FALLS, TX 26° 4.2 20
* violet
uhf KJTL-DT 18.1 FOX WICHITA FALLS, TX 330° 26.3 15

Hope that comes out well. Anyway they range from 290 to 350 degrees. The farthest being 27 miles out. I only get 6.1 and 3.1 right now, both within 4 miles. What antenna do you guys recommend for no rotator and single installation no fuss setup to get both FOX at 26mi. and ABC at 27mi. Lost is starting soon and i need to have that channel

Thanks for all the help.
illuvatar81 is offline  
post #279 of 295 Old 10-25-2009, 02:44 AM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings illuvatar81,

There are a few Antennas which will be ok for you (depending on Mfg).
You can look through the various lists of them, using the following criteria.

You need...
A Full Range Antenna (Ch 2-69) they're called "Combos", or
A Modified Range Antenna (Ch 7-69)
Either of these will include your ABC Ch 11 to your generally UHF needs.

The Range of your Stations is about 27 miles, and using the standard formula for distance, that would require an antenna which would reach out about 40 miles, to take advantage of the Beamwidth at Half Power.

The Beamwidth you have indicated is 60°, requiring a Multi-Directional Antenna, which limits your selection.

So to focus on the criteria...
Full or Modified (2-69 or 7-69)
40-50 Mile
Multi-Directional (greater than 60°)

Now, here is a list of the most popular Manufacturers which you may view and make a selection from:

Winegard
Channel Master
Antenna Craft
Antennas Direct
Terrestrial Digital


Have a good Day !
S.W.

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #280 of 295 Old 10-25-2009, 07:20 PM
Member
 
jlhugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: WF, Tx
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...u=853748001088

this one has 100 degree beam width. should work good here.
jlhugh is offline  
post #281 of 295 Old 10-25-2009, 11:35 PM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jlhugh,

Good choice !
It should cover your 256° to 322° very well.
The "sweet spot" for aiming should be at about 289° (Magnetic).
I still think you're going to need that amp for your ABC & FOX Stations.

Have a good Day !
S.W.

Wichita Falls TX 10/2009

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #282 of 295 Old 10-26-2009, 04:14 PM
Member
 
illuvatar81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Much appreciated guys, ill let you know what i get and how it works.
illuvatar81 is offline  
post #283 of 295 Old 11-21-2009, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
thatyoungkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey everyone im new here...i was just wondering if i were to get an amplified indoor antenna would i be able to pick up fox here in wichita falls on my hdtv?
thanks
thatyoungkc is offline  
post #284 of 295 Old 11-22-2009, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
mikabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thatyoungkc

Yes you can. I live on the southwest part of Wichita Falls and receive all four networks in HD using a Terk indoor Antenna for the living room. In the bedroom there is a Philips indoor Antenna and also receive all networks in HD.
mikabz is offline  
post #285 of 295 Old 12-27-2009, 10:24 AM
Member
 
illuvatar81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the help with picking guys, i think that im going to get the Winegard 7694, mainly because its the only one i can find online. The others that looked like they would suit my needs are the AntennaCraft HBU22, C290, and the 5884. Should i search for the antennacraft or just grab the winegard now. Thanks.
illuvatar81 is offline  
post #286 of 295 Old 12-31-2009, 10:27 AM
Member
 
illuvatar81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i went with the 7694 from amazon and got it setup . So far i get all my old ch at 100% and fox and abc at about 87%. Thanks for the advice.
illuvatar81 is offline  
post #287 of 295 Old 01-10-2010, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
WhatToDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having just purchased my first digital TV, I hooked up the over the air antenna I've used for my analog TV sets for the past 27 years. Being a complete noobie I had no idea if it would even work at all. At 49 miles east of Wichita Falls, I can get the following channels.

3-1
3-2
6-1
6-2
7-1
7-2
7-3

I cannot however pick up the Fox channel KJTL .... can anyone comment on why ?
WhatToDo is offline  
post #288 of 295 Old 01-11-2010, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Bill Millar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Iowa Park Texas, North of Wichita Falls, Tx.
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to turn your antenna very little until you can pick up channel 18, thier tower is in Grandfield,Oklahoma. You say your 49 miles east of Wichita Falls, where exactly are you?

I really don't understand why your getting Channel 7 and not 18 as thier towers are together in Grandfield.
Bill Millar is offline  
post #289 of 295 Old 01-12-2010, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
WhatToDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Millar View Post

You have to turn your antenna very little until you can pick up channel 18, thier tower is in Grandfield,Oklahoma. You say your 49 miles east of Wichita Falls, where exactly are you?

When I first tuned in the channels for this TV, I'm pretty sure 18 was one that I could receive. Though, later that afternoon it was not there, but 7 was. The next day (late afternoon) I noticed that channel 7 was gone. My antenna was aimed at channel 3, so I then aimed it directly toward the antenna at Grandfield.
Got channel 7 back, but 18 did not show up. Later that evening I tried 18 again and it was there, only to disappear the next day.

I'm in Nocona.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Millar View Post

I really don't understand why your getting Channel 7 and not 18 as their towers are together in Grandfield.

Me either... aimed at Grandfield my signal strengths show:

3-1 :: 3 of 5 bars
3-2 :: 3 of 5 bars
6-1 :: 2 of 5 bars
6-2 :: 2 of 5 bars
7-1 :: 2 of 5 bars
7-2 :: 2 of 5 bars
7-3 :: 2 of 5 bars
18-1 :: No Signal

Grandfield measures 64 miles (line of sight)
WhatToDo is offline  
post #290 of 295 Old 05-21-2010, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
Darthraider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wake up guys- where is everyone/ Did you see Direct TV will introduce locals into WF in fourth quarter of this year! Dish will have some competition.
Darthraider is offline  
post #291 of 295 Old 06-13-2010, 11:27 AM
Member
 
illuvatar81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Price is always the factor, for me. I have not paid for tv broadcasts in 4 years so companies have a lot to come down to for me to get on board. Plus after visiting with some friends and seeing the quality of different kinds of tv broadcasts, im just happy as pie over the monumental increase in PQ from OTA transmissions.
illuvatar81 is offline  
post #292 of 295 Old 12-10-2010, 08:35 PM
Member
 
ChocoLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you guys noticed channel 18 periodically going out lately? I think it was early last week when I first noticed that it was very weak, and right now it's out completely. Last time, I called my parents to see if it was also out on cable, but it was fine for them. So somehow I guess the problem is only over the air. But it's out on different TVs, all with strong antennas, and all my other channels are fine... So it's not me.

Anyone know how to reach them? When I tried to call before, I just got voice jail. I don't see a good way to reach them through their website, either.

I just wonder if so few people watch over the air that they don't even know they have a problem.

Edit -- well, wouldn't you know -- just a few minutes after I posted, it came back on. I'd still like to know how to reach them, though, because there is definitely some kind of problem.
ChocoLab is offline  
post #293 of 295 Old 04-27-2011, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
williamsbobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in southwest Oklahoma and receive KSWO and KAUZ with no problems, but KFDX is a hit and miss, sometimes it comes in and most of the time it doesn't. KJTL has known problems as it is broadcasting on channel 15 digitally as is KTBO in Oklahoma City. Televisions across southwest Oklahoma can't discern which one to lock in on. My question is when is KFDX going to up their power as KSWO and KAUZ have. They are actually covering their broadcast footprint well, but KFDX doesn't reach very much of theirs.
williamsbobby is offline  
post #294 of 295 Old 04-27-2011, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
williamsbobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RESPONSE to #290

... but neither Dish nor DirectTV offer 3.2, 6.2, 7.2, 7.3, or anything other than the primary network affiliate, and then the question of HD comes into play. If I already have an antenna and the stations are having technical problems, why should I have to pay to receive a portion of their service?
williamsbobby is offline  
post #295 of 295 Old 04-27-2011, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
KFDX is already at 1000 kW, the maximum power allowed by the FCC.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off