Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - Page 109 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3402 Old 07-15-2011, 10:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

But it will be interesting to see which FSM/NWA station ends up with the prize.

If I was a betting person, I'd say KFSM 5-2.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3402 Old 07-15-2011, 11:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

If I was a betting person, I'd say KFSM 5-2.

Quite possible, but would it be SD or HD? Their bandwidth is kinda limited....
arxaw is offline  
post #3243 of 3402 Old 07-15-2011, 09:27 PM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,
Thanks for all your help. Here's where things stand at this point. I got my Channelmaster DVR and unfortunately its tuner is not locking in the KNWA signal so the multi-path still persists.

I have no knowledge of how to combine multiple antennas and the spot on my roof's eave I can install antennas prevents me from directing it at KNWA. The best I'll be able to do is aim it due east when I really need to have it pointing NE.
doskyis is offline  
post #3244 of 3402 Old 07-15-2011, 09:37 PM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

If I was a betting person, I'd say KFSM 5-2.

- Trip

I think KFSM 5-2 is the default choice, unless there is a local TV station I'm not aware of. Is there a chance no one gets it?
doskyis is offline  
post #3245 of 3402 Old 07-16-2011, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFSM is certainly a possibility, but who knows. In Springfield, MO, a crappy LPTV station North of that town picked up the FOX affiliation. So, it's remotely possible that even KPBI might be a contender in the NWA/FSM market.
arxaw is offline  
post #3246 of 3402 Old 07-16-2011, 06:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doskyis View Post

...I have no knowledge of how to combine multiple antennas and the spot on my roof's eave I can install antennas prevents me from directing it at KNWA.

Can you post a picture of your current antenna install?
arxaw is offline  
post #3247 of 3402 Old 07-16-2011, 07:48 AM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

Can you post a picture of your current antenna install?

Here are a couple of pictures I took with my phone. I can't get to the apex of the roof because of its steepness.
LL
LL
doskyis is offline  
post #3248 of 3402 Old 07-16-2011, 08:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your (or neighbors') siding has foil-backed insulation behind it, that may possibly be a source of some of your multipath problems. Also, that antenna is not very directional, so it may be picking up multipath from several directions.

In that location and with that short J-mount, it would be impossible to install a two-antenna setup on the single mounting mast.
arxaw is offline  
post #3249 of 3402 Old 07-16-2011, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
4029engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Smith AR / Fayetteville AR
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doskyis View Post
I think KFSM 5-2 is the default choice, unless there is a local TV station I'm not aware of. Is there a chance no one gets it?
Quite possible.. Stations are under affiliate agreements that run 2 to 5 years. It could be a legal nightmare to try to get out of a contract Even Nexstar appears to only discontinue carrying FOX after their contract expires at a station.

4029engineering consists of several engineers who are HDTV viewers just like you. Anything said in this forum is their own opinion and not necessairly official KHBS/KHOG policy.
4029engineering is offline  
post #3250 of 3402 Old 07-19-2011, 08:22 AM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know when the current Fox contract expires? I guess if KPBI got it the battle would be which of their two affiliates (Fox or Univision) they broadcast in HD.
doskyis is offline  
post #3251 of 3402 Old 07-21-2011, 02:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the Springfield, MO thread:
http://www.multichannel.com/article/...sible_Sale.php
Nexstar owns KNWA/KFTA.
arxaw is offline  
post #3252 of 3402 Old 08-17-2011, 06:33 PM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just installed a winegard hdp269 to my antenna and connected it to a PV22233 power passing splitter to help improve signal reception. I'm not sure if i'm doing something wrong but the setup has not improved reception one bit. I even took out the splitter part and that didn't improve things. Is there something else I need to do? Here's what I have set up: cable from antenna to preamp, from preamp to splitter in, from power passing side into the house, from cable wall outlet to "antenna in" on splitter that came with hdp269, then power in on the adjacent input on the splitter, then from splitter tv out to the tuner. All cable is RG6. Am I missing something?
doskyis is offline  
post #3253 of 3402 Old 08-17-2011, 08:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


It sounds like you have it connected properly. Check that the LED is lighted on the power injector. If you have a voltmeter, you should be getting ~14 volts from the power supply. If you do, either your wiring is bad or your amp is bad.
arxaw is offline  
post #3254 of 3402 Old 08-17-2011, 08:18 PM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a voltmeter, but the led light in the power injector is on and red. I initially had the power-passing splitter before the line going to the power injector antenna input, but I even took it out and it didn't change anything. You're probably right it's defective.
doskyis is offline  
post #3255 of 3402 Old 09-01-2011, 10:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Folks, KPBI is being sold to Local TV, the owner of KFSM. Pure speculation, but I think we now have some idea of where FOX will land when it is dropped by KFTA.

The real questions are:

1) Will they implement the 1000 kW permit KPBI has?

- Current signal: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1406145&map=Y
- Permitted signal: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1251268&map=Y

2) Will either signal help those losing FOX through the KRBK fiasco?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3256 of 3402 Old 09-02-2011, 06:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very interesting, Trip. Thanks for posting.

It would definitely be to the advantage of FOX and the parent company of KFSM. And if the 1,000kW CP is implemented, it would definitely help fill in the loss of FOX coverage in parts of NWA/SW MO, left by the recent KFSX/KRBK fiasco in Springfield, MO. I wonder if the sale includes KPBI-CA, Fort Smith?
arxaw is offline  
post #3257 of 3402 Old 09-02-2011, 08:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
As far as I can tell, it only includes the full-power signal. None of the LPs or CAs.

In reading the agreement, it also sounds like the LPs will be keeping RTV and/or MeTV, and that KFSM will be lobbying for cable carriage of the LPs on their behalf. Apparently, the hope is that with KFSM pushing for it, they'll be more likely to get carried.

Very interesting.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3258 of 3402 Old 09-02-2011, 10:46 AM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

And if the 1,000kW CP is implemented, it would definitely help fill in the loss of FOX coverage in parts of NWA/SW MO, left by the recent KFSX/KRBK fiasco in Springfield, MO.

That would fix my KBRK loss-of-Fox-HD problem quite well. When KPBI was live, it was a blowtorch here, far stronger than Springfield KSFX ever was. If I had problems with it, it meant the winds were strong enough I should probably be watching the radar instead of television :-)
justpushplay is offline  
post #3259 of 3402 Old 09-02-2011, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KPBI is still live. They do have a PSIP SNAFU that prevents a lot of TV tuners from decoding and/or seeing the signal. This problem has been ongoing for months, now. Their power also seems to be way below what it used to be. It seems impossible to contact anyone about the problems. Lights are on - nobody's home.

Taken at 1:07pm today:
34-1 KPBI 34-1

34-2 KXUN
arxaw is offline  
post #3260 of 3402 Old 09-02-2011, 02:31 PM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ah, I remember reading about the PSIP problems awhile back. The Polaroid 40" was tolerant, but when KPBI went away on it, I assumed they went dark. Hard to believe that hasn't been addressed.
justpushplay is offline  
post #3261 of 3402 Old 09-02-2011, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think they have a clue. And I cannot find a way to contact them. If anyone knows, please post contact info.
arxaw is offline  
post #3262 of 3402 Old 09-03-2011, 10:11 AM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Out of curiosity, I did a channel scan this morning, and didn't even get a hint of KPBI. Channel strength shows zero. It used to be a consistent 80+.
justpushplay is offline  
post #3263 of 3402 Old 09-03-2011, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one TV that does that. Zilch on the signal meter.

On all the other TVs but one, KPBI 34 shows signal strength, but no audio/video or video but no audio. Definitely PSIP problems.
arxaw is offline  
post #3264 of 3402 Old 09-04-2011, 11:31 AM
Member
 
justpushplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Out of curiosity, I dug out the converter boxes this morning for a quick test. The Digital Stream saw KPBI in a channel scan, but no audio/video and zero signal strength. The Insignia converter didn't even see anything out there. That makes six different tuners in my household that can't decode their stream. So strange that this has continued for so long. A zombie station in the truest sense of the word.
justpushplay is offline  
post #3265 of 3402 Old 09-05-2011, 12:26 PM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KPBI's number is (479) 785-4600. I have gotten to speak to someone when I call but she always says the engineer is out of the office on assignment (not sure if it's actually true or just coincidence). I live in Rogers and get KBPI on channels 31 and 34 although it does take my tuner a few seconds to lock the channel 34 signal. On channel 34 the RTV station is always available but the Univision station sometimes displays "Weak Signal." However Univision is always just fine on Channel 31. I have a DTV Pal DVR (not sure if it's tuner is able to do things other tuners can't).
doskyis is offline  
post #3266 of 3402 Old 09-05-2011, 01:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
doskys,
Thanks for the tel number. I left a voicemail with the engineer 479 785-4600 ext 114, letting him know there is trouble with the OTA signal.

If others would call and do the same, it might help get the station working again.
arxaw is offline  
post #3267 of 3402 Old 09-05-2011, 02:46 PM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I left a voice mail on my third call after the lady once again said he was out on the field. I never heard back from him. I haven't been able to find a website or email address for the engineer or anyone who works there. If the rumors of the channel being sold to KFSM are true then there may be life at the end of the current KPBI tunnel.
Would this mean KFSM would have CBS, MyNetwork, Fox, RTV, and Univision? That seems like a lot for one tv company to manage.
doskyis is offline  
post #3268 of 3402 Old 09-05-2011, 02:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I'm reasonably sure RTV and Univision will be staying with the low-power stations. KPBI is being sold separately.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3269 of 3402 Old 09-05-2011, 02:57 PM
Member
 
doskyis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So how will KFSM fit Fox into their transmission? Seems like they'll either have to make Fox an SD sub-channel (5-3) or put out a new channel for it. It would suck not to have Fox in HD.
doskyis is offline  
post #3270 of 3402 Old 09-05-2011, 03:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
What? Local TV is buying KPBI but not the low-power stations. If it comes to pass, Fox would go on 34-1.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off