Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - Page 113 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Fort Smith, AR - HDTV

Local HDTV Info and Reception

ProjectSHO89's Avatar ProjectSHO89
05:12 AM Liked: 73
post #3361 of 3403
04-17-2012 | Posts: 2,715
Joined: Feb 2009
Google the call letters of the stations in question. Usually you can find a Wikipedia article or a Facebook page that would answer your question.
arxaw's Avatar arxaw
08:34 AM Liked: 10
post #3362 of 3403
04-17-2012 | Posts: 10,909
Joined: May 2002
Welcome.
Some of those low power stations in question may not be on the air. And even if they are, based on your zip code, they are not receivable at your location.
InFlames's Avatar InFlames
06:19 PM Liked: 10
post #3363 of 3403
04-17-2012 | Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post

Google the call letters of the stations in question. Usually you can find a Wikipedia article or a Facebook page that would answer your question.

Been trying that but not finding a clear answer, KFFS-CA for example is shown to be both on-air and off-air depending on where you look. Maybe i'am not looking in right place or something.

At any rate looks like recieving an rtv channel is probably not going to happen for me.
ProjectSHO89's Avatar ProjectSHO89
06:46 AM Liked: 73
post #3364 of 3403
04-18-2012 | Posts: 2,715
Joined: Feb 2009
Trip should be able to answer any RTV-related questions. Send him a PM if he doesn't happen to drop in on this thread.
Trip in VA's Avatar Trip in VA
07:57 AM Liked: 68
post #3365 of 3403
04-18-2012 | Posts: 14,484
Joined: Jun 2003
Remind me to drop in when I'm back from NAB on Friday.

- Trip
InFlames's Avatar InFlames
12:54 PM Liked: 10
post #3366 of 3403
04-19-2012 | Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012
alright
Trip in VA's Avatar Trip in VA
02:41 PM Liked: 68
post #3367 of 3403
04-20-2012 | Posts: 14,484
Joined: Jun 2003
As far as I know, there is not a signal repeating KFDF-LD in the northern half of the market at this time. KFFS-CA is not operating digitally.

Now, according to filings with the FCC, some of the transmitters such as KKAF-CD 33 in Siloam Springs are on the air, but I have heard nothing to indicate that to actually be the case.

I suspect you are correct that you will not be finding RTV over the air at this time. I am certain KFFS-CA will be converted in the future, but I have no information about a time frame for it.

- Trip
4029engineering's Avatar 4029engineering
08:41 PM Liked: 10
post #3368 of 3403
04-20-2012 | Posts: 416
Joined: Feb 2006
KFFS-CA has a flash cut to digital construction permit that is good until September 2015. Who knows.
InFlames's Avatar InFlames
01:15 AM Liked: 10
post #3369 of 3403
04-22-2012 | Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012
Thanx guys for sharing the info. Though things for me getting rtv now are not good, atleast there's a little hope that i may be able to get it in the future.

I was checking in the pending applications for my area on tvfool and it also shows a (30) KEGW-LP that supposibly would carry rtv. If that station went on air it looks like it would be in range for me. So maybe with some luck and patience KEGW-LP or KFFS-CA will become available for me someday.
doskyis's Avatar doskyis
10:46 AM Liked: 10
post #3370 of 3403
05-02-2012 | Posts: 31
Joined: Jun 2011
Can anyone explain why my KNWA(51) signal is often times pixelated and unwatchable while my KXNW(34) signal is just fine? Here's my tvfool map. I have my antenna pointing at about 150 degrees.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de65f8eb825f61

It looks like both towers are about the same distance from my house and at about the same angle.
arxaw's Avatar arxaw
12:41 PM Liked: 10
post #3371 of 3403
05-02-2012 | Posts: 10,909
Joined: May 2002
If your antenna is aimed off-axis from the stations, it's very likely you're getting multiple bounced signals for KNWA. Reflected signals vary by frequency, so that's why you can have stations in basically the same direction, but only have problems with one, but not all of them. If it happens on windy days, the problem is most likely bounce signals from trees.

Some tuners deal with multipath better than others.
doskyis's Avatar doskyis
02:40 PM Liked: 10
post #3372 of 3403
05-02-2012 | Posts: 31
Joined: Jun 2011
Thanks for the response. I guess I'll have to keep watching NBC on 24-2 in SD.
What's the latest on the Fox affiliation? I thought the whole point of KFSM buying out channel 34 was to acquire Fox. Is that still the case?
arxaw's Avatar arxaw
03:33 PM Liked: 10
post #3373 of 3403
05-02-2012 | Posts: 10,909
Joined: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by doskyis View Post

...What's the latest on the Fox affiliation? I thought the whole point of KFSM buying out channel 34 was to acquire Fox. Is that still the case?

Who knows. And if someone does know, they're probably not at liberty to post anything on this forum.

I just wish KXNW would bump up their power from 70kW to 1,000kW.
nj829's Avatar nj829
08:27 PM Liked: 10
post #3374 of 3403
05-30-2012 | Posts: 223
Joined: Jul 2003
Noticed tonight on my Directv guide that Tulsa ABC, CBS, and NBC are listed. Tried to tune them but got the blacked out message, haven't been on the other forums yet, but curious if anyone has any info on it!
arxaw's Avatar arxaw
09:24 AM Liked: 10
post #3375 of 3403
05-31-2012 | Posts: 10,909
Joined: May 2002
Nope. But I was watching Tulsa OTA yesterday. Gone now, though...
krock918316's Avatar krock918316
08:29 PM Liked: 10
post #3376 of 3403
06-04-2012 | Posts: 102
Joined: Oct 2006
Just checked, and on DirecTV KJRH is in the guide and viewable this evening... Don't know how long it's been available, accidentally tuned to it tonight.

Hope KTUL is next - I won't have to deal with 40/29 showing some garbage SEC game of the week (Hogs excluded) instead of the Sooners.
arxaw's Avatar arxaw
05:49 AM Liked: 10
post #3377 of 3403
06-05-2012 | Posts: 10,909
Joined: May 2002
Cool. It would be nice if DirecTV and Dish would add the NWA locals to Carroll County's locals. Sat subscribers here (without the benefit of an OTA antenna) are stuck watching Missouri locals.
arkeng's Avatar arkeng
03:44 PM Liked: 10
post #3378 of 3403
06-07-2012 | Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

@4029,
I must say, KSPR's multicasts of two 720p subchannels (abc & cw) look much better than the two 1080i subs (abc & cw) on KHOG.

KHBS is still 720p/480i for ABC/CW for us here in the river valley. Wonder when/if they will follow suit... @4029?
AmateurDXer's Avatar AmateurDXer
01:22 PM Liked: 10
post #3379 of 3403
06-17-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2012
CW is running ads with their new spokesperson, Craig Strickland, announcing Arkansas CW will be broadcasting network and syndicated shows in HD.
sethwell's Avatar sethwell
06:12 PM Liked: 10
post #3380 of 3403
06-20-2012 | Posts: 62
Joined: Aug 2008
I noticed that too. Never watch that channel anymore since Smallville ended.
4029engineering's Avatar 4029engineering
07:21 PM Liked: 10
post #3381 of 3403
06-22-2012 | Posts: 416
Joined: Feb 2006
Both ABC and CW are being transmitted at 1080i now on both 29 and 40.. Not my choice but corporate has spoken. 1080i is the Hearst HD standard. So both ABC and CW come in as 720p and get cross converted to 1080i. I have to admit it looks better than I thought it would. The encoders have a graphic display showing how they are dynamically re-allocating bandwidth to fit two 1080i signals in 19 MBPS. Amazing to watch and compare that to the video at the moment.
The hold up on 40 was the fiber optic provider didn't have equipment in place that could handle 1080i.
Larry
jjallou's Avatar jjallou
08:09 PM Liked: 15
post #3382 of 3403
06-22-2012 | Posts: 111
Joined: Dec 2004
The CW Network from the G19 satellite is already 1080i. So you convert to 720p and then back to 1080i?????
Trip in VA's Avatar Trip in VA
11:06 PM Liked: 68
post #3383 of 3403
06-22-2012 | Posts: 14,484
Joined: Jun 2003
CW is providing CW+ affiliates with a 720p feed only, not 1080i.

- Trip
lcdypprokiller's Avatar lcdypprokiller
03:17 PM Liked: 10
post #3384 of 3403
06-23-2012 | Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2005
Is anyone picking up 24.2 or 24.1? I have not been able to get them for a few days now.
4029engineering's Avatar 4029engineering
08:47 PM Liked: 10
post #3385 of 3403
06-23-2012 | Posts: 416
Joined: Feb 2006
Tripp is correct. We are not a regular CW affiliate. We are a CW+ affiliate. The two are similar, but totally different. CW+ was created especially for dot .2 channels and cable companies where it wasn't economically viable to have an affiliate with CW as the main channel. . They just began HD programming on June 15 where the regular CW has been in HD for quite a while.. CW does not advertise that there are actually two different CW's depending on the market size. The major difference is during daytime shows and the number of spots they give back to the local station as an incentive to carry them.
arkeng's Avatar arkeng
11:01 PM Liked: 10
post #3386 of 3403
06-25-2012 | Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdypprokiller View Post

Is anyone picking up 24.2 or 24.1? I have not been able to get them for a few days now.

Don't know where you're located, but both are coming in fine here south of Fort Smith tonight.
awax's Avatar awax
07:42 AM Liked: 10
post #3387 of 3403
07-07-2012 | Posts: 21
Joined: Aug 2002
Been noticing audio issues on 5News lately.
here is the response I got, looks they are going HD for the news.

"I am sorry if you are experiencing audio issues at this time. We are in the process of going full HD on the 7th of this month so there is a lot going on here right now as far as rerouting all inputs and outputs and getting all the levels set up as well not to mention setting up all the new equipment. I would ask that you please bear with us during this upgrade as I hope when it's all done these issues will be no more. Thanks for watching."
sethwell's Avatar sethwell
07:53 PM Liked: 10
post #3388 of 3403
07-09-2012 | Posts: 62
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by awax View Post

Been noticing audio issues on 5News lately.
here is the response I got, looks they are going HD for the news.
"I am sorry if you are experiencing audio issues at this time. We are in the process of going full HD on the 7th of this month so there is a lot going on here right now as far as rerouting all inputs and outputs and getting all the levels set up as well not to mention setting up all the new equipment. I would ask that you please bear with us during this upgrade as I hope when it's all done these issues will be no more. Thanks for watching."

yep, same here, but i watch on Dish, can't get an OTA signal. really low on the news and some programs then blaring loud for commercials. it's gotten a little better but still flaky at times. i seem to remember seeing a post from KFSM's facebook page to report audio issue because of this but can't find the link. i'm sure one could find the link on their website.
arkeng's Avatar arkeng
01:11 PM Liked: 10
post #3389 of 3403
07-11-2012 | Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by sethwell View Post

... i seem to remember seeing a post from KFSM's facebook page to report audio issue because of this but can't find the link. i'm sure one could find the link on their website.

Website link for reporting problems: http://5newsonline.com/2012/07/03/5news-hd-transition/ The audio seems to be about back to normal here now.
Arkyman's Avatar Arkyman
09:54 AM Liked: 10
post #3390 of 3403
07-17-2012 | Posts: 777
Joined: Aug 2007
Checked 5 and 40 OTA the other night. 40.1 and .2 both now in HD. Noticed 5 (18) was carrying KNWX 34 on its sub channel .2

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3