Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - Page 114 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3391 of 3408 Old 11-13-2012, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
wearsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here using Clear QAM via Cox to pull locals for Northwest Arkansas? I'm wondering if anyone else lost 40/29 yesterday. I've done a complete re-scan without success. All other locals for NWA and Tulsa's ABC (KTUL) are fine.
wearsch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3392 of 3408 Old 11-14-2012, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
4029engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Smith AR / Fayetteville AR
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are using it on several sets in various offices in Rogers. I haven't had a problem. But it is possible they did something to it in Bella Vista. We also use it in some Fort Smith offices and it is OK there too. I have noticed they seem to change the channels they have it on once in a while. Apparently they can tell the set boxes where to go but viewers TV's don't get it. A ploy to make you pay for a set top box? I don't know. smile.gif

4029engineering consists of several engineers who are HDTV viewers just like you. Anything said in this forum is their own opinion and not necessairly official KHBS/KHOG policy.
4029engineering is offline  
post #3393 of 3408 Old 11-14-2012, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
wearsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh it is absolutely a ploy to get people to lease boxes. Leasing equipment is what the cable model is all about. That aside, do you have the frequency you're currently getting it on in Rogers? As far as I know, Cox uses the same channel lineup for all of Benton County.
wearsch is offline  
post #3394 of 3408 Old 11-16-2012, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
4029engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Smith AR / Fayetteville AR
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry. I just do a channel scan and the set finds them. They all seem to have strange channel numbers though. Like 92.1 through 92.15 (don't remember the exact numbers)
There was one brand of set we had to call their customer service and get a code to activate the tuner. Didn't cost anything but it seems to me that is hardly what the FCC had in mind for plug and play cable.

4029engineering consists of several engineers who are HDTV viewers just like you. Anything said in this forum is their own opinion and not necessairly official KHBS/KHOG policy.
4029engineering is offline  
post #3395 of 3408 Old 11-17-2012, 06:37 AM
Newbie
 
wearsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found it. 92.3 is the channel right now. 633 MHz.
wearsch is offline  
post #3396 of 3408 Old 11-17-2013, 05:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Can anyone confirm that OETA has added Create and Kids to the OTA lineup?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3397 of 3408 Old 11-18-2013, 10:39 AM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Can anyone confirm that OETA has added Create and Kids to the OTA lineup?

- Trip
Trip, yes. TSReader Lite shows KOET in Eufaula with subchannels for OKLA, Create and Kids. Snippit of the TSReader Lite Display below.

Nice to see that this local thread is still alive.

Regards,
Rudy
arkeng is offline  
post #3398 of 3408 Old 11-18-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I spotted it on the OETA satellite feed. biggrin.gif

Thanks for the confirmation!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3399 of 3408 Old 12-30-2013, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
Springdalesam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi I just got my antenna up and got this channel 48.1 and 48.2 its a good channel but I never have heard of them.  Does anyone have any info on them?

Springdalesam is offline  
post #3400 of 3408 Old 12-30-2013, 10:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The call sign is K48MR-D, and this is the coverage area: http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php?appid=1539553&map=Y

That's basically all I know about the station. A search of my regular sources turns up nothing.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3401 of 3408 Old 12-30-2013, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
Springdalesam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

They got some fishing and hunting shows on so far I'm liking it 

Springdalesam is offline  
post #3402 of 3408 Old 07-09-2014, 04:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Total Newbie!

Found this thread while browsing for info on cutting my cable.

Don't watch much TV, but really REALLY want to get PBS [especially] and a station that carries local and national news. From my research at TV Fool, the locals are fairly close to the south, but PBS is about 40 miles to the south.

I live in Bentonville, and want to invest in an antenna and accessories. Of course, befuddled by the wide range of items available, and prices. I plan to mount outside, on roof. Son and son-in-law will help :-)

Not sure what equipment I need -- any recommendations? Thanks.
Kate Burkes is offline  
post #3403 of 3408 Old 12-10-2014, 07:42 AM
Member
 
KBoswell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate Burkes View Post
Found this thread while browsing for info on cutting my cable.

Don't watch much TV, but really REALLY want to get PBS [especially] and a station that carries local and national news. From my research at TV Fool, the locals are fairly close to the south, but PBS is about 40 miles to the south.

I live in Bentonville, and want to invest in an antenna and accessories. Of course, befuddled by the wide range of items available, and prices. I plan to mount outside, on roof. Son and son-in-law will help :-)

Not sure what equipment I need -- any recommendations? Thanks.
Kate,
Sorry for the delay in answering. I've not check the board in some time.

Did you install an antenna? If so, how did it go? What was it? And, are you pleased with it?

thanks,
Kelly
KBoswell is offline  
post #3404 of 3408 Old 02-22-2015, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Fayetteville newbie.

http://tvfool.com/?option=com_wrappe...f1f052738325b6

I have been looking at the RCA Yogi roof antenna, it has top reviews but I don't know if it is what I need. I've stared at tvfool and the government's website for hours now trying to figure out how to get the channels. TV Fool says i'll probably need a roof antenna, which i'm ok with. I plan on putting it where my directv dish is now and utilize those wires.

Can anyone help me out, i'm looking to grab the big networks like ABC/CBS/NBC/Fox.

Can anyone recommend/teach me what I need to know. Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 6.22.22 PM.png
Views:	20
Size:	235.7 KB
ID:	561745  

Last edited by DrDon; 02-23-2015 at 10:44 AM.
molonlabe is offline  
post #3405 of 3408 Old 02-22-2015, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Ranch
Posts: 3,773
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by molonlabe View Post
Just canceled my directv and want to get some OTA channels like ABC/CBS/NBC/Fox but I can't figure out what will actually work for me.

I have ben looking at the RCA Yogi antenna and placing it where my Directv dish is and utilizing those cables, but I know nothing on how any of this works.

Most of my channels come from the south to south east, but I do have a one channel (NBC) that comes out of the Northeast. According to TVFools website a set top box would be able to pick up that channel, so if I have a rooftop antenna that is pointing in another direction, surely it would still pick it up right?

Here's your corrected TV Fool link:

http://tvfool.com/?option=com_wrappe...f1f052738325b6

If you include PBS in your list you have 4 different stations coming from 4 different directions. NBC and Fox are carried on the same transmitter. The stations are 1 and 2 edge so they're strong enough if you use an outdoor antenna but not overly strong. In this case the best choice is going to be a larger VHF/UHF antenna unless you really want to forego PBS then UHF only is fine. A rotor will be required to point at the various stations and the whole thing will need to be high enough to clear the local trees or the results may be disappointing. You should be able to get quite a few other stations though.

You might be able to use the DB8e and point the halves in different directions but I don't like that idea much for 1 and 2 edge stations that aren't very strong.

Unfortunately there's no easy solution for your situation.
Calaveras is offline  
post #3406 of 3408 Old 02-23-2015, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I believe that a TWO Antenna solution is possible.

Use a Hi-Gain Hi-VHF + UHF Combo with a Mast Mounted Preamp (such as inexpensive RCA TVPRAMP1) and point it toward 168-deg (re True North) to pick up your weakest stations: CBS (Ch18), FOX (Ch27) & PBS (Ch9). Candidates for this Antenna would include W-G HD-7698P or HD-7697P or separate Antennas such as A-D UHF 91XG and Antennacraft Hi-VHF Y10-7-13.

Beamwidth of any of the above Hi-Gain Antennas is probably insufficient to ALSO pick up stations towards 107-deg. However it SHOULD be possible to use the A-D Clearstream-2 (C2, which has an amazing 70-deg Beamwidth), pointed roughly half-way between strong ABC (Ch15, towards 107-deg) and NBC (Ch50 , towards 31-deg). Gain toward each station would be about 6 dBi, since each station would be operating at about -3 dB lower than Max (definition of Beamwidth points). To minimize loss of Sensitivity due to about 4 dB Loss through the RF Combiner, you could use ANOTHER Mast Mounted Preamp between the C2 and the RF Combiner. [Preamp reduces the desensitization effect of the Total Loss after the Preamp, incl. Tuner Noise Figure, proportional to the amount of Gain in the Preamp.]

RCA TVPRAMP1R was measured to draw only 68-ma, so one Power Insertion Module has enough current drive to easily drive TWO....but be sure RF Combiner has DC PASS on BOTH Ports:
http://www.highdefforum.com/local-hd...amplifier.html
RCA TVPRAMP1R Preamp: A Technical Review

Since each Antenna would have it's "back" to the other Antenna's desired direction, ingestion of unwanted Multipath from the "rear" of each Antenna would be minimized. So a simple RF Combiner has a good chance of working....however, be sure to use a SATELLITE qualified Splitter/Combiner that has DC PASS on the port(s) connected to the Mast Mounted Preamp(s).

Last edited by holl_ands; 02-23-2015 at 06:02 PM.
holl_ands is offline  
post #3407 of 3408 Old 03-26-2015, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
BulkHedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm looking for some help/advice.
Last year I decided I was going to cut the cord when my DirecTV contract expired. I decided on the TabloTV OTA DVR.
I started with an indoor Mohu Leaf antenna and it seemed to work OK at first but after a while it became too unreliable so I bought a Winegard FreeVision FV-30BB antenna and mounted it on the existing dish mast.

As before everything started out OK but I started having intermittent problems with two of the local stations (ABC & CW). They both broadcast from the same location.

So I did some research and decided I needed a bigger/longer range antenna. I bought the Antennas Direct DB4E and replaced the Winegard with it.
I had a hard time getting a good direction on it. The TabloTV has a smartphone app so I was able to do a channel scan from outside. I found a direction that showed excellent signal on all the local stations so we locked it down.

But, then I started having periodic picture breakups on the CBS, FOX and NBC stations. So I climbed back up there and repositioned again and I'm still having the periodic glitches, mostly on the CBS station now.

Here's my TVFool report:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...2c15ef25be2d0f


I don't know if an amplifier would do any good, or any harm. It's tough because the stations are in different directions.

Does anyone have any advice? I'm just getting frustrated and second-guessing my decision to go this route. I expected it to work better because the little Leaf antenna worked pretty well inside the house so I figured putting a bigger antenna outside on the roof would be so much better.






BulkHedd is offline  
post #3408 of 3408 Old 04-02-2015, 06:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Stumped.

I am truly stumped.

imgur.com/4Juczd8

tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3df1f0969f99534 9

With the antenna facing about 188 degrees (basically due south) I am able to pick up channel 51.1 (which is at 31 degrees, or North northeast of me) but it is high normal according to my TV and still glitches. When I adjust the TV to about 100 degree (almost due east) the channel drops out completely. This network has a sister station that produces the same two channels (NBC/Fox) at 168 degrees. I can pick that station up too, but it is high bad range.
My degrees aren't exact, but using my iPhone's compass, it is a rough estimate.

I've dropped the tip down and picked it up farther too to try and improve signal.

I just installed a pre-amp. Without the pre-amp I wasn't able to get the channels at all. (because of a splitter and length of coax)
molonlabe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off