Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3402 Old 05-25-2006, 06:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4029engineering View Post

I don't know. Why don't you ever do anything but bitch?

4029, your comment above was in my inbox, and not necessary.

Having a bad day?


.
arxaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3402 Old 05-25-2006, 08:53 AM
Member
 
casino187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

4029, your comment above was in my inbox, and not necessary.

Having a bad day?


.

I saw that too. He obviously changed his mind about posting it. I probably wouldn't have reposted it for him.
casino187 is offline  
post #363 of 3402 Old 05-25-2006, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
4029engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Smith AR / Fayetteville AR
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I apologize to those who saw the earlier message. As soon as I found out about it, I had it removed. I have not been checking the forum lately and several of our engineers have been posting under this name. The idea was that it would be a group effort where any engineer who happened to be online would answer questions, but it looks like we can't keep it under control.
The original thought was to answer some of your technical questions rather than keep you in the dark, not to be a sounding board for your complaints. These guys aren't the operators, aren't even supervisors or policy makers, and this is not a place for an official 40/29 response. In fact, our general manager advised against participating in the forum because he thought it would be a negative - no win situation. He was pretty much correct.

I don't know who made the original post, but everyone has been told that I was not happy about it. Their argument was that the comment was not an official station positing, but their own. I told them that if they want to fight in a public forum, they could get their own account.

I will evaluate if participating in this forum is even worth the effort. Right now I am leaning towards abandoning it, like the other stations in the area have. One thing for sure, we will no longer respond to any postings except for technical questions.

This IS an official 40/29 posting.

Larry Friddle
Chief Engineer
lfriddle@hearst.com

4029engineering consists of several engineers who are HDTV viewers just like you. Anything said in this forum is their own opinion and not necessairly official KHBS/KHOG policy.
4029engineering is offline  
post #364 of 3402 Old 05-30-2006, 06:46 AM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well leave it to a few to ruin a good thing, typical. Thanks 40/29 for trying to be here for technical questions, I appreciate that.

I am curious about something. Watching Good Morning America this morning, I was wondering how you switch from the HD to SD for commercials, local news inserts, etc. Is this done automatically or does someone actually push a button in a control room?

Always wondered that.
jim9251 is offline  
post #365 of 3402 Old 05-30-2006, 10:21 AM
Member
 
WED0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else experiencing audio synch problems with KNWA?

I remember it being an issue with the Preakness, and again as well on the local news last night. I thought it might be my TV, but I saw the same thing on both SD and HD sets.

Am I going crazy? Could this be a by-product of their supposed impending switch to HD? I'm in Fayetteville and, unfortunately, use COX.

If nothing else, it tells you how much I watch KNWA . . .
WED0420 is offline  
post #366 of 3402 Old 05-30-2006, 12:35 PM
Member
 
rheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We noticed it on the last two weeks of SNL on Channel 24 out of Ft. Smith through DirectTV. I just assumed it was something in the feed to the river valley that they never cared to fix.

Does anyone know if there have been any more rumblings about the Fox affiliate taking over Channel 24 down here and how we'll receive NBC after that occurs?
rheff is offline  
post #367 of 3402 Old 05-30-2006, 03:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
arxaw is offline  
post #368 of 3402 Old 05-30-2006, 09:25 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noticed audio sync off on KNWA also. I only watch the 6pm news for that money contest thing, and the morning show because Dana Sergeant is cute.
jim9251 is offline  
post #369 of 3402 Old 05-31-2006, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KNWA hopes to be up full power digital no later than July 28th, and KFTA by August 28th, just FYI from the local engineer...
nj829 is offline  
post #370 of 3402 Old 05-31-2006, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is KNWA-DT even broadcasting yet? If so, it must be really low power....
arxaw is offline  
post #371 of 3402 Old 05-31-2006, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
BulkHedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have discovered something quite strange. I was watching MHD tonight and every time I would make or receive a cell phone call the picture would pixellate and break up badly. Hang up the phone and it stops. Make a call it starts again right away. Is this really possible? I have Cingular if that makes a difference and I have Cox with the Motorola 6412 DVR.
It didn't break up on any other channel that I could tell.

Edit: It also happens on UHD but no other HD channels (I don't have any pay channels).
BulkHedd is offline  
post #372 of 3402 Old 05-31-2006, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
4029engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Smith AR / Fayetteville AR
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim9251 View Post

Well leave it to a few to ruin a good thing, typical. Thanks 40/29 for trying to be here for technical questions, I appreciate that.

I am curious about something. Watching Good Morning America this morning, I was wondering how you switch from the HD to SD for commercials, local news inserts, etc. Is this done automatically or does someone actually push a button in a control room?

Always wondered that.

They have to change control rooms (from news control to master control) and then manually flip a toggle switch. It is much easier in prime time in that since we don't have to worry about local live news they don't have to switch control rooms.

We are also noticing a timing difference between ABC SD and HD. Sometimes when they flip the switch you get a few seconds repeating. ABC says they are working on how to compensate for it.

LF

4029engineering consists of several engineers who are HDTV viewers just like you. Anything said in this forum is their own opinion and not necessairly official KHBS/KHOG policy.
4029engineering is offline  
post #373 of 3402 Old 06-01-2006, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What happens if you don't switch back to SD, would it just stretch the SD out, or is the system windows based and would crash and burn causing a re-boot to occur?
nj829 is offline  
post #374 of 3402 Old 06-01-2006, 04:28 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks 40/29. That's interesting. So I guess whomever is flipping that toggle switch has to really pay attention.

Is it the same during prime time HD shows like LOST? When a commercial comes on someone actually flips a toggle switch? Is that done locally or in New York?

I'm sure there's an embedded timer in a preview monitor we don't see in the control room and something that tells yall when commercials either network or local are to air.

Still interesting stuff on how that's all done.
jim9251 is offline  
post #375 of 3402 Old 06-06-2006, 07:13 PM
Newbie
 
EricJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rogers, Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim9251 View Post

I've noticed audio sync off on KNWA also. I only watch the 6pm news for that money contest thing, and the morning show because Dana Sergeant is cute.

They finally announced on tonights 06/06 6pm news that they are having a software problem with an encoder and that their engineers are working diligently to correct the problem.
EricJ is offline  
post #376 of 3402 Old 06-06-2006, 08:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EricJ,
Welcome to the forum!
arxaw is offline  
post #377 of 3402 Old 06-06-2006, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
EricJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rogers, Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

EricJ,
Welcome to the forum!

Thanks

Long time lurker. Figured it was time to post.
Just wishing we had fox and NBC in HD....
EricJ is offline  
post #378 of 3402 Old 06-07-2006, 06:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the station, KNWA (nbc) should be on the air full power + HD by the end of next month. Not sure about fox, since the station is in the process of changing ownership. In the meantime, you may be able to get the big 4 networks in HD on DirecTV. Enter your address here to see. The big 4 HD networks are free if you qualify for them at your address.
arxaw is offline  
post #379 of 3402 Old 06-07-2006, 12:06 PM
Member
 
WED0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good stuff here about CableCo vs. Sat. move to HD

Although not mentioned in the online version of the article, in reading the print version I found it interesting that removing one analog channel would free up bandwidth for four HD channels.

Some of the facts in the article make me question the judgement of many Cable Execs and, worse, annoy me terribly that I've gotten one extra HD channel (from COX) since my TV purchase last April.
WED0420 is offline  
post #380 of 3402 Old 06-08-2006, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
gmr04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm relatively new to the thread but have had Cox HD since they began two years ago on June 15, 2004. Just wondering if anyone had any information regarding cox adding any new HD channels to the lineup. I love how they add MHD which plays the same things on a three hour rotation, but refuse to add any programming with substance like TNT HD, ESPN2 HD, or National Graphic HD.

Just a disgruntled customer.....
gmr04 is offline  
post #381 of 3402 Old 06-12-2006, 08:18 PM
Member
 
hammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Springdale
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wouldn't want to come off as complaining, but why was the NBA finals not in HD on KHOG last night? and is the issue going to be resolved Tuesday night?
hammy is offline  
post #382 of 3402 Old 06-13-2006, 07:56 PM
Member
 
hammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Springdale
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Game 3 is in HD tonight. Thank you KHOG. I guess they got enough emails.
hammy is offline  
post #383 of 3402 Old 06-14-2006, 04:18 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the Fayetteville Cox office we will see KNWA (NBC), Fox, TNT and ESPN 2 in HD this year.
jim9251 is offline  
post #384 of 3402 Old 06-14-2006, 05:01 PM
Member
 
WED0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim9251 View Post

According to the Fayetteville Cox office we will see KNWA (NBC), Fox, TNT and ESPN 2 in HD this year.

This CALENDAR year or this FISCAL year, which I'm guessing runs from June - July for Cox.

Either way, I'm guessing NBC, FOX, and ESPN2 won't make the switch until after football season.

And, yes, I've been reduced to an eternal pessimist by the entire conglomeration that persuaded me to buy a TV that cost more than a few months mortgage payment, upon which exorbitent television I get approximately four worthwhile channels in High Definition. Now I know how the British feel.

But, thanks for the info. That gives me a glimmer of hope . . .
WED0420 is offline  
post #385 of 3402 Old 06-14-2006, 07:34 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They said this year (2006), and said Cox is trying to get some of them on this month (June).
jim9251 is offline  
post #386 of 3402 Old 06-16-2006, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Kimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"According to the Fayetteville Cox office we will see KNWA (NBC), Fox, TNT and ESPN 2 in HD this year."

Is there any indication from the new Fox affiliate that they will be upgrading to HD? Have they announced it? Do they have the equipment for it? Or is this wishful thinking by Cox?
Kimmie is offline  
post #387 of 3402 Old 06-16-2006, 03:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try contacting KNWA. Their parent company (Nexstar) is selling KFTA to Mission Broadcasting Co., but Nexstar will continue to run KFTA and provide newscasts for KFTA.

email: mcleveland@knwa.com
arxaw is offline  
post #388 of 3402 Old 06-17-2006, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
B2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, I noticed last night that Cox is now broadcasting KNWA-DT on 126.2. This may be common knowledge to everyone, but it was the first I had seen of it.
B2323 is offline  
post #389 of 3402 Old 06-17-2006, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
4029engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Smith AR / Fayetteville AR
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammy View Post

Game 3 is in HD tonight. Thank you KHOG. I guess they got enough emails.

We lost the LNB on the HD satellite dish. As always, it was fixed as soon as possible.

4029engineering consists of several engineers who are HDTV viewers just like you. Anything said in this forum is their own opinion and not necessairly official KHBS/KHOG policy.
4029engineering is offline  
post #390 of 3402 Old 06-18-2006, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
EricJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rogers, Arkansas
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by B2323 View Post

Hey all, I noticed last night that Cox is now broadcasting KNWA-DT on 126.2. This may be common knowledge to everyone, but it was the first I had seen of it.

They announced on the Saturday 10pm news cast that KNWA would be HD on Cox digital channel 715 on Tuesday June 20th. No date for over the air, just that it was coming.
EricJ is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off