Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 3402 Old 08-14-2006, 10:19 PM
Member
 
jmerlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that tonight also, I was able to get a 96% signal but when scanning it just hung on channel 50 as if it was trying to set it up but when it would not add it. At least we can see that they are atleast doing something
jmerlos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 3402 Old 08-18-2006, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
BelmontATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has ESPN been excessively bad for anyone else? Monday Night Football was unwatchable this week, what with all the video problems and the sound dropping out. The problem has continued throught the week. SportsCenter was horrendous this morning. Am I the only one experiencing this?

BelmontATO is offline  
post #513 of 3402 Old 08-18-2006, 02:03 PM
Member
 
darupina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Rogers on Cox and I have had no problems lately.
darupina is offline  
post #514 of 3402 Old 08-18-2006, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am on D* and have not noticed any issues either.
nj829 is offline  
post #515 of 3402 Old 08-19-2006, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
JoshH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious, but is anyone else still having audio sync problems with KNWA HD on Cox? It's closer than it was when it debuted, but still not quite there yet. Anyone else?

Josh
JoshH is offline  
post #516 of 3402 Old 08-19-2006, 06:14 PM
Member
 
mcrendog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed problems with ESPN lately...and I've always had feed problems with KNWA's HD. Sometimes it is better, but lately it does seem worse.
mcrendog is offline  
post #517 of 3402 Old 08-19-2006, 08:51 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFTA, soon to be Fox 24, now has a website, here, inviting input on what viewers want for their 9 pm newscast and with bio's on the anchors.

Update: Also HERE but no new info.
arkeng is offline  
post #518 of 3402 Old 08-21-2006, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
51 analog came on Friday night from their new transmitter, still didn't capture anything from a digital scan though as of last night.
nj829 is offline  
post #519 of 3402 Old 08-21-2006, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
haley-SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern SE Arkansas
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nj829 View Post

51 analog came on Friday night from their new transmitter, still didn't capture anything from a digital scan though as of last night.

Thought I saw something ping my receiver last week on RF ch 50 down here during a tropo opening last week to NWA/SW-Central, MO.

Should be interesting for you guys up there to compare KNWA-DT pic quality and KYTV-DT (Springfield, MO). Too bad KNWA decided to mulitcast KFTA which will degrade the overall picture quality (I've been able to tell the difference since our local CBS station replaced a low-rez radar image with the "THV2" 24 hour news channel).


haley-SEA is offline  
post #520 of 3402 Old 08-21-2006, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
BelmontATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KNWA-HD was off the air last night on Cox. The Colts and the Seahawks... yeah, who would want to see that?



I also noticed that standard-definition Encore was off the air. Cox needs to get their act together.
BelmontATO is offline  
post #521 of 3402 Old 08-23-2006, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KNWA-DT is on the air finally. I am getting a 93 signal strength here in the Harrison area.

The picture is pausing and pixelating some, I guess they still have some kinks to work out.

I am picking up KNWA HD and a stretched version named KNWA SD.....
Arkie is offline  
post #522 of 3402 Old 08-23-2006, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
ascian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BelmontATO View Post

Check out this exchange between KNWA and myself...

D'oh! my quote got messed up. Anyways, this was in regards to an earlier post saying Cox was going to have Fox up this fall in HD on channel 708.

I sent an e-mail to Cox Support on 8/21 regarding if and when they would have Fox on HD and got the following reply:

The channel 708 is an over the air broadcast channel. If your TV has ha built in tuner you should be able to receive that channel. We do not have permission to rebroadcast their HD signal over our cable. However, I believe that we are currently speaking to them about that.


I would assume that 708 is not the actual OTA channel, but at any rate, though a bit vague, it would seem that through Cox, we will not be receiving Fox for sometime. In my personal experiece, both in Fayetteville, and with their regional offices, they are usually pretty forthcoming about new services. Or at least, tell you they can't tell you what you want to know yet.
ascian is offline  
post #523 of 3402 Old 08-23-2006, 06:14 PM
Member
 
WED0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascian View Post

D'oh! my quote got messed up. Anyways, this was in regards to an earlier post saying Cox was going to have Fox up this fall in HD on channel 708.

I sent an e-mail to Cox Support on 8/21 regarding if and when they would have Fox on HD and got the following reply:

The channel 708 is an over the air broadcast channel. If your TV has ha built in tuner you should be able to receive that channel. We do not have permission to rebroadcast their HD signal over our cable. However, I believe that we are currently speaking to them about that.


I would assume that 708 is not the actual OTA channel, but at any rate, though a bit vague, it would seem that through Cox, we will not be receiving Fox for sometime. In my personal experiece, both in Fayetteville, and with their regional offices, they are usually pretty forthcoming about new services. Or at least, tell you they can't tell you what you want to know yet.

Cox's e-mail support staff is absolutely horrendous. I sent a question a few weeks ago regarding the NFL Network in Northwest Arkansas. The reply that I got stated that NFL Sunday Ticket was proprietary to DirecTV.

Morons, the lot of them.

I would take everything sent via e-mail from Cox as rubbish.
WED0420 is offline  
post #524 of 3402 Old 08-23-2006, 10:13 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KNWA-DT
Getting a signal over the air down here south of Fort Smith today too, although it's intermittent. Just a few frames now and then. The tower is about 85 miles away...
arkeng is offline  
post #525 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 05:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up KNWA-DT ch 50 (remapped to 51-1 & 51-2) last night, although it was a pixelated freezing mess. Signal strength is rock solid 100%. Maybe they'll get their encoder problems fixed today.
arxaw is offline  
post #526 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 07:55 AM
Member
 
dmix00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Springdale, Arkansas
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too picked it up last night (KNWA-DT). Signal strength in Springdale is a strong 94% (with an in-attic antenna), but it was very jittery and would cut out every few seconds. I guess they have some "tweaking" to do. Also noticed it was having problems on the cable transmission as well.

If anyone knows: Why 51.2? 51.1 was at 720p and 51.2 was identicle except it was at 480i. And, What will the new Fox station be broadcasting on, 24 or 27?
dmix00 is offline  
post #527 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmix00 View Post

... If anyone knows:
1. Why 51.2? 51.1 was at 720p and 51.2 was identicle except it was at 480i.
2. What will the new Fox station be broadcasting on, 24 or 27?

1. 51-1 will be NBC-HD. 51-2 will be FOX, and I presume it will be SD 480i. I'm not sure why 51-1 was in 720p because NBC-HD is 1080i... They probably just don't have everything set correctly yet.
2. FOX in Ft Smith will be on KFTA-DT. The real (RF) channel number will be 27, but they will likely remap the sub channels to the analog counterpart, channel 24. 24-1 will likely be FOX-HD in 720p, and 24-2 will likely be NBC-SD, in 480i. They are simulcasting the 2 networks on each station to reach more people. The transmitter locations and coverage areas of KNWA-DT and KFTA-DT are not the same.
arxaw is offline  
post #528 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 03:34 PM
Newbie
 
rogershduser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Live in Rogers. I have been reading attentively regarding the NBC and Fox OTA HD situation in hopes all would be settled by the time football rolls around. I have also been scanning regularly on my Dish satellite to pick up the new stations and am going to try tonight to see if anything has changed. My question is this: I have a phillips rabbit ears antenna purchased at wal-mart with some sort of thing in the middle. I recently moved and the reception for 5.1 and 29.1 has been much weaker and basically unusable. Any suggestions on how to increase that strength or another antenna that would work better? It worked fine with strength at 70 percent or more at old house on south wall near window. Don't have that option in new house. I assume many of you have messed with your antennas enough to have some insights. thanks.
rogershduser is offline  
post #529 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the radio shack RS-15880 in Pea Ridge, and receive 29 and 5 with no problem, although I don't know if they stil carry those. Works great in my living room, however the bedroom it doesn't do so good for 5. You may want to buy from walmart an amplified set and see how that works, as I have an old pair from wal-mart that has a uhf-vhf tuning knob in the center which may be what you have.
nj829 is offline  
post #530 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
rogershduser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an amplifier built in but i am such a novice I am unsure. There are red buttons and I can push on them to make them light up or go dark which I assume has something to do with the amplification. I am so curious now I am going home to mess with it. I have messed with it in different areas in the tv room with little improvement and I just want to be able to watch football at least in hd (it plugs into the wall by the way which must mean it amplifies or smething)
rogershduser is offline  
post #531 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 05:28 PM
Member
 
jmerlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogershduser View Post

I have an amplifier built in but i am such a novice I am unsure. There are red buttons and I can push on them to make them light up or go dark which I assume has something to do with the amplification. I am so curious now I am going home to mess with it. I have messed with it in different areas in the tv room with little improvement and I just want to be able to watch football at least in hd (it plugs into the wall by the way which must mean it amplifies or smething)

I believe you have the Phillips MANT510 Antenna if silver, MANT410 if black, it works great if you live in the city and in close range to all the towers. My recommendation is to get a Channel Master 4228 antenna, I live in prairie creek with tons of trees around me and I get 5.1 % 29.1 with 99% reception 13 at 86% $45.00 + shipping
you can get it from solidsignal online, google it and search for 4228
jmerlos is offline  
post #532 of 3402 Old 08-24-2006, 10:50 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFTA has added a FAQ page to their website HERE answering some basic questions that have already been addressed on this forum. They don't give a launch date yet, but they do give an email address for questions. So I emailed them asking when. I'll share anything I hear from them.
arkeng is offline  
post #533 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 07:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rogershduser,
enter your complete address and zip code at http://www.antennaweb.org
(Phone number and email address aren't required, and UNcheck the "contact me" boxes.)
Your complete address will allow antennaweb.org to calculate the channels you can receive at your exact address, and display them in in different colors, based on how strong the signal should be at your address. Click the button "show digital channels only" and report back here what "colors" the DIGITAL channels are for your address.
arxaw is offline  
post #534 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was KNWA-DT on last night? I scanned with both of my receivers and neither one picked anything up.
nj829 is offline  
post #535 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 08:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i didn't see a peep out of them last night or this AM, but they still show up in my channel list.

[yawn] i was anxiously awaiting KNWA-DT to get on the air until i heard they would be multicasting. KYTV 3-1 NBC-HD from Springfield does that and it's awful, due to all the multicasting.
arxaw is offline  
post #536 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good to know you didn't get them. I didn't scan when they were running, so I haven't been able to check signal strength or that they really exist yet on either receiver. Oh how I wish I hadn't loaned out my old OTA converter box that allowed me to manually tune..
nj829 is offline  
post #537 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nj829 View Post

Was KNWA-DT on last night? I scanned with both of my receivers and neither one picked anything up.

They were off yesterday, came back on briefly around 3:45, the pixelation was still there, they pulled the plug again about 3:50. I did not see it again over night....
Arkie is offline  
post #538 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
rogershduser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. Channel 5 and 29 are both blue and 50.1 was violet pending FCC approval. The others I wasn't interested in. Amazingly, last night I got clear signals from 5 and 29 with a strength of 70. The only thing I did different was move the antenna on top of a chair (which I had done unsuccesfully several times before) and lowered the number of red lights on the antenna which I have decided (complete educated guess with little confidence in the veracity of its factual basis) must be a built in amp. I read somewhere that too much amp can cause problems as well as too little or something like that.

I also tried to scan several times for channel 50 and found nothing. What is this multicasting? Does that mean we will not have it in HD? Or it will be a lower HD quality 580 dpi v. 1060? (I know those are probably not accurate either but I hope you understand to what I refer?

This has been the only drawback of going from Cox to Dish which I did a couple of years ago and quite frankly the HD on ESPN for sports has gotten me spoiled where its difficult to watch Fox football game without it. CBS last year college football was terrific.
rogershduser is offline  
post #539 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 11:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OverTheAir reception of local digital stations will always give you the highest quality picture, providing you have an antenna strong enough to get a signal over the minimum threshold.

Most cablecos, including Cox, use either statistical multiplexing or rate shaping to strip bandwidth out of the full HDTV signal. DirecTV and Dish do stat-muxing plus resolution reduction to fit more HD channels onto a sat transponder. Example: WCBS-DT from NY broadcasts 1920 x 1080i OTA resolution (a little over 2 million pixels). DirecTV downrezzes this to 1220 x 1080i, which is only 1.3 million pixels. On many TVs, you won't see the difference, but on a larger set that does full HD resolution, the difference is noticeable.

A local broadcast station is allowed ~19mbs of bandwidth to do whatever they want with, as long as they provide at least one channel of minimum 480i resolution. To do full 1920x1080i resolution (which CBS & NBC broadcast in), they need the full 19mbs to do it right, so originally stations planned to either send out ONE channel of full HD or multicast several channels of lower resolution within their 19mbs of bandwidth.

But recently, many stations have begun to multicast one or more 480i sub channels, in addition to attempting one 1080i sub channel. The results are not always good, especially if there is any fast motion or scene changes in the program.

ABC & FOX broadcast at 720p resolution, which is less bandwidth intensive than 1080i. So they can usually get away with one or two extra multicast subchannels without much picture quality degradation.
arxaw is offline  
post #540 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 11:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would try the radio shack 15-1880 (as previously mentioned) if you're not wanting to use an outdoor antenna. It looks like this:

If rat shack has one, buy it and just return it if it doesn't work for you.

For best results though, you really should consider an outdoor or attic antenna. Outdoor is best. A CM 4221 or 4228 (better) should work well for you.
arxaw is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off