Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 3402 Old 08-25-2006, 10:20 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently I was premature in sending an email to KFTA's new website and asking about when they would be on the air. I got my email back marked "unknown user account."
arkeng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 3402 Old 08-27-2006, 05:31 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFTA-HD On The Air

I see KFTA-HD is on the air with 1280 x 720p resolution with a SD subchannel for KNWA programming, RF channel 27, remapped to 24-1 and 24-2. Looks like full power too, now comparable to KFSM's signal here. Right now KFTA-HD is still carrying NBC programming, mirroring that on 24-2. My understanding is that they won't officially be a Fox affiliate until midnight tonight.
arkeng is offline  
post #543 of 3402 Old 08-27-2006, 05:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, arkeng. I'm getting KFTA-DT up here near the MO border. But the signal's weak and breaking up. Nothing from KNWA-DT at the moment. My H20-100 D* box bit the dust yesterday, so I can only use my old Samsung TS-160 until fedex brings me a replacement H20 on Tuesday. The replacment will be my 4th H20.

[EDIT:] I am now getting KFTA-DT at 93% solid on the Samsung 160.
arxaw is offline  
post #544 of 3402 Old 08-27-2006, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Theoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springdale
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
arxaw - several months ago you recommended a Samsung SIR-T451 to me. I was looking for a box for D* and that also had a QAM to pick up the HD stations on Cox. My current Samsung box doesn't have a digital cable tuner. It looks like a refurbished SIR-T451 costs about $150. I see in your last post you are getting an(other) "H20." Which is better? I don't need a lot of bells and whistles. I took a quick look at the thread on the H-20 but I couldn't really tell all that much. I know I don't want to put up with a slow onscreen guide, though, and I don't want anything that is going to crash, lock up or just not work right.

Also - I just ran a scan and didn't pick up KFTA (I'm in West Springdale). I was afraid of this. I have an amplified antenna on my roof (I think its a Channel Master 4228.) I hired a guy a few years ago to get me set up and I didn't ask a lot of questions, but mine sure looks like the 4228 shown on the Warren Electronics website. I have it facing the direction of the KFSM and KHOG towers, which are close in line. Do you think the KFTA tower is just enough out of line that I'll need something else to pick it up? Do I need to be able to turn it? I sure hope not.
Theoliver is offline  
post #545 of 3402 Old 08-27-2006, 08:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no D* box that has a functioning QAM cable tuner. The Samsung 451 is an OTA/Cable tuner only and does not have a D* tuner.

Most people feel that the D* H20 receivers have the best OTA tuners, and to me they seem more forgiving of sloppy antenna aiming than older models. But I've been *very* disappointed in their reliability. They just don't seem to last very long before malfunctioning. YMMV See the H20 thread for more than you'll ever want to know about the H20s. At this point, I really can't recommend any D* HD receiver until they get the bugs worked out. I'm only getting another one because they replace them at no charge and there's no charge to return the dead one.

If you'll enter your full address and zip at http://www.antennaweb.org you can see exactly which way to point your 4228 to get KFTA-DT by clicking the "street map" button in the results window. I'm just guessing, but if you go outside and look South, you should probably turn your antenna slightly to the right a tad. The 4228 picks up weak signals well, but is somewhat directional and sometimes requires precise aiming. But as strong as KFSM & KHOG are, you can probably aim slightly away from them and still be able to receive them. I can way up here by the MO border.

Is this what your antenna looks like:

If so, it's a CM 4228.

What amp are you using? A CM 7777 is a very good high gain, low noise preamp. Low noise is important for digital TV. It is 2 piece and looks like this:
arxaw is offline  
post #546 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 07:24 AM
Member
 
dmix00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Springdale, Arkansas
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too live in west Springdale and so far I am unable to pick up KFTA.

A few questions:
1. After looking at Cox cable this morning I noticed that 9 was showing KFTA's newscast but also showing NBCs Today Show. Yet when I looked at 51.1 it was showing KNWAs newscast and the Today show. Why aren't they the same since 9 is supposed to be KNWA?

2. Also channel 8 on Cox is not KFTA, where is KFTA going to be on the Cox channel lineup?

3. In west Springdale we are kind of on a plateau, so is anyone else in this area able to pick up KFTA with a high gain antenna?

4. Finally, antennaweb does not show KFTA on it's digital stations so I can't tell what type of antenna to upgrade to in order to get the signal.
dmix00 is offline  
post #547 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has KNWA-DT fixed their pixelation problem on the OTA broadcast? I haven't checked lately.....
Arkie is offline  
post #548 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was actually just going to type that I have usually a couple lines of pixelation every few seconds, and wanted to see if anyone else was still seeing it.
nj829 is offline  
post #549 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like KNWA-DT has also added a third sub channel (50-3).
But I don't get anything on it on my TV.
Still pixelly.
arxaw is offline  
post #550 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 11:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmix00 View Post

I too live in west Springdale and so far I am unable to pick up KFTA.
------------------
4. Finally, antennaweb does not show KFTA on it's digital stations so I can't tell what type of antenna to upgrade to in order to get the signal.

ChannelMaster CM 4228 8bay bowtie antenna and a CM 7777 V/U preamp. One of the few high gain UHF (chs 14-69) antennas you can buy that will also work for high VHF (chs 7 thru 13).
arxaw is offline  
post #551 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is KFTA still on, I wasn't able to get anything either.
nj829 is offline  
post #552 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 01:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see it either.
arxaw is offline  
post #553 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 04:16 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFTA-HD is back on now, showing a weight loss infomercial, 24-2 has KNWA news.
arkeng is offline  
post #554 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 04:45 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox cable has KFTA-HD FOX on channel 708. Finally I can watch FOX in HD!
jim9251 is offline  
post #555 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i wonder how long it is going to take KNWA to fix the pixelation on the OTA signal? I don't really understand the technology involved. Does it have something to do with their encoder being set wrong?

The way it cuts out now, it is not watchable.
Arkie is offline  
post #556 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 07:31 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe a few bugs to work out for KFTA. A couple of times this evening before 6:00 pm KFTA 24-1 flip-flopped between an infomercial and the KNWA news that was being carried on 24-2. And so far tonight the Fox programming is a 4:3 picture with black sidebars, while the Tulsa Fox station is broadcasting the same shows in 16:9 HD. Maybe somebody forgot to flip the switch. The old Fox station here in the River Valley, KPBI channel 46, is still broadcasting Fox programming tonight also.
arkeng is offline  
post #557 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Random06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: EC okla
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Umm how can they both be doing this? I guess that means I get 3 Fox's KFTA ,KPBI and KOKI (Tulsa).
Random06 is offline  
post #558 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 07:41 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it took a few days for KNWA to broadcast in HD once they went on the air. Maybe it's the same with FOX. At least it's a watchable picture, something that's been lacking for years.
jim9251 is offline  
post #559 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 07:49 PM
Member
 
Random06's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: EC okla
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes the old FOX from Arkansas wasnt one of the best to say the least. Im just glad I had/have HD FOX from Tulsa.
Random06 is offline  
post #560 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Theoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springdale
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I guess I got it wrong before about the Samsung 451 having both, D* and QAM tuners. That kinda sucks but I guess it makes sense. D* doesn't want people to be able to get digital cable with their own equipment.

Anyway, yes I have the CM 4228. Not sure about the amp, though. The antenna and 2 D* dishes are mounted on my roof on one end of the house, with the coax running the length of my house through the attic to the other end to a back closet where all of the AV stuff is. Since the amp needs electricity, I'm assuming it will be located somewhere inside, out of the weather. This weekend I'll have to locate it to see if it is any good. Surely it's somewhere between the two ends in the attic. You can't have an antenna without an amp, can you?

Unfortunately I think I'm out of luck after looking at the antennaweb site. My 4228 is currently facing about 5 o'clock and I'm getting 29-1 and 5.1 without pixelation, although I had to tweak it a little a few months ago after 29-1 just disappeared on me out of nowhere. After messing with it I discovered that the wind had repositioned it just a bit. A small adjustment in the way it's pointed makes a big difference. The problem is that KNWA is between 2 and 3 o'clock which is, unfortunately, almost directly to the side of the antenna. So - I think I'm out of luck. I can't imagine that the best amp could help the 4228 pick up a signal that is broadcasting directly to its side profile. Maybe getting KNWA through Cox via the 451 is my only option for my extra room where I need the new tuner, which means I won't have D* in that room.

Maybe I can get KFTA when it goes OTA since it's more in line with KHOG and KFSM. Thanks for the input.
Theoliver is offline  
post #561 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 08:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim9251 View Post

I think it took a few days for KNWA to broadcast in HD once they went on the air.

They may be HD, but KNWA is still not watchable, due to pixel hell.
arxaw is offline  
post #562 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 08:53 PM
Member
 
dmix00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Springdale, Arkansas
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTA = ABC - 29.1; CBS - 5.1; NBC - 51.1 and FOX - 24.1 with ATSC tuner
Cox Cable in NW Ark = ABC - 29.1; CBS - 5.1; NBC - 108.2 and FOX - 51.1 with QAM tuner.

I too am noticing the few lines of pixelation every few seconds on KNWA(NBC) and KFTA(FOX) over the air, it is non-existent over cable on the above channels.

If you are on Cox and have a QAM Clear tuner in your HD set or tuner box you can get all four channels (you don't need a cox cable box to get these HD channels if you have a QAM compatable tuner).

Finally, we can see every network show in HD!
dmix00 is offline  
post #563 of 3402 Old 08-28-2006, 09:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theoliver View Post

... yes I have the CM 4228. Not sure about the amp, though.

If it's a preamp like the CM 7777 I posted a picture of previously, it will be in two pieces. The "amp" part is out on the antenna mast, and should be as close to the antenna as possible. The power supply "brick" would be indoors, and possibly in the attic.

If you have a one piece amp (no parts on the mast outside), you might want to consider replacing that with a preamp. They work a lot better because they only amplify the signal at the antenna, and not the noise picked up by the coax.
arxaw is offline  
post #564 of 3402 Old 08-29-2006, 01:21 PM
Member
 
arkeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greenwood, AR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like KFTA is back on reduced power this afternoon, either that or my system is on the fritz.

Update -- Never mind. They're back at full power now.
arkeng is offline  
post #565 of 3402 Old 08-29-2006, 05:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Email KFTA/KNWA reception problems to:
mcleveland@knwa.com
brussell1@knwa.com

Send repeat emails until they fix this. They must think that there are no OTA HD viewers - only cable.
arxaw is offline  
post #566 of 3402 Old 08-30-2006, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You would think they would pull the plug on the signal until they got it fixed. All they are doing now is wasting electricity. That signal is certainly not watchable.
Arkie is offline  
post #567 of 3402 Old 08-30-2006, 09:06 AM
Member
 
dmix00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Springdale, Arkansas
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are probably doing it to be in compliance with the FCC, I think they had a deadline to be on the air by a certain date, missed that date, filed for an extension and don't have a choice because they are past the extension date. Even if it is a poor/unwatchable signal. My understanding was they were supposed to be on the air by last July, 2005.
dmix00 is offline  
post #568 of 3402 Old 08-30-2006, 10:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dmix, that is my theory, too. Just get the damned thing on the air - never mind if OTA viewers can actually watch it.

Most, if not all Nexstar-owned/managed stations missed their DTV on air deadlines.
arxaw is offline  
post #569 of 3402 Old 08-30-2006, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there not some kind of regulation that it must be a watchable signal?
Arkie is offline  
post #570 of 3402 Old 08-30-2006, 11:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkie View Post

Is there not some kind of regulation that it must be a watchable signal?

There must be.

If you email complaints to the KNWA addresses in the previous post, "Cc:" the email to the FCC DTV task force chairman, Rick Chessen:
rchessen@fcc.gov

Put the words DTV COMPLAINT in the subject line.
arxaw is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off