Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 05:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal Bilbe View Post

...I did ask if they were going to place a Low power repeater for KFTA DT in NWA, This is allowed by the FCC, They said that it is "in the budget"...

If KFTA-DT would increase transmitter power to the 1000kW ERP they applied for in the past (see proposed 1000kW application coverage map), they could easily cover most of NWA with the existing KFTA-DT tower after 2/09. Currently, there would be interference problems from KSFX analog (Springfield, MO) for many in the northern part of that proposed coverage area. Both KSFX & KFTA-DT are broadcasting on channel 27.

With all the KFTA-DT reception problems reported, I don't think they are even broadcasting at the currently approved power level of 200kW ERP.
arxaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
200 Erp? Yikes! No wonder I cannot pick them up!
Almost as bad as KAFT DT at 19KW. However seeing the FCC's 41DBu Field Plot for KFTA, It would realy look nice. It looks like they are transmitting from about the same position as KFSM-DT.

I hope that KFTA will go full power soon, Ill ask Norris, because it is not a pretty thing to compress your 1080i signal to accomodate a simulcast SD signal.
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1173 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 07:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KAFT-DT is on VHF channel 9. VHF needs considerably less power than UHF, so the comparison between it and UHF stations is not apples to apples.

Can you receive analog KFTA very well? I can get the analog fairly well, with no snow, but don't even get a blip for KFTA-DT. The only time I ever received KFTA-DT was the first two or three days they were on the air, and the signal was coming in at 100% signal strength. Then they disappeared completely. I think they're operating at reduced power.
arxaw is offline  
post #1174 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get neither, which is not saying much because KFSM's Translator K62DQ is about 4 miles from here and it is extremely snowy. My system seems to like digital way better than analog, which is not realy a problem for me considering its all acedemic after Feb 17, 2009. (If it does not get delayed again).

Fayetteville's City Attorney, Kit Williams (who I speak with often) lives on the south side of Mt. Sequoyah (tallest mountain/hill in the city limits of Fayetteville) says he can recieve KFTA-DT, but not KNWA-DT. He should be able to get a realy strong signal on KFSM-DT and KHOG-DT and KAFT-DT.

It would be realy nice if the stations could transmit from a cluster of co-located antennas so we would only have one direction to point our antennas.

Maybe its tropo ducting, but sometimes I can get KOTV-DT and KOLR-DT, and Its watchable!
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1175 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 07:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal Bilbe View Post

...Maybe its tropo ducting, but sometimes I can get KOTV-DT and KOLR-DT, and Its watchable!

Best times for DX reception are usually warm weather mornings & evenings and just before an approaching cool front reaches the area. Here's a forecast map:
http://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html

I often get Tulsa and other Oklahoma stations, and have picked up LR digital stations (except the VHF ones) occasionally and even stations as far away as Mississsippi. When you get a distant digital signal over the noise threshold, it will be as clear as a local station.
arxaw is offline  
post #1176 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 07:41 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I worked for CBS, we received an Email from somebody that was able to pickup KFSM-DT from New York!
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1177 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I was a kid living in Little Rock, we picked up Schenectady, NY perfectly clear one Saturday morning on an old B/W TV. And that was with a rabbit ear antenna! On rare occasions we would get Mexican TV stations.
arxaw is offline  
post #1178 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 07:54 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its an amazing little marble we all live on!

On a little note, it seems that stations during their prime time hours are starting to offer more HD Commercials, so a total HD programming cannot be too far behind.

CBS was purchased by some investors from Texas. They were not happy with the stations (New York Times Broadcast) Plans for HD, which was to spend as little money as possible and Upconvert the local stuff. They claim (Proof is in the pudding) they are going HD all the way. Given they are CBS we can expect either Sony or Grass Valley Cameras, They have a Grass Valley Kalypso SD swicher in Fort Smith. It will be 16x9, Dolby Digital 2.0. I do not know if they are going to upconvert Andy Griffinth though!
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1179 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 07:57 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thomson Grass Valley Swicher ($190,000)
http://www.thomsongrassvalley.com/pr...chers/kalypso/

Thomson Grass Valley Cameras ($45,000 Ea)
http://www.thomsongrassvalley.com/pr.../ldk4000_mkii/

Sony Broadcast Cameras
http://bssc.sel.sony.com/Broadcastan...et_10014.shtml
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1180 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you referring to KFSM?
arxaw is offline  
post #1181 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 08:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pending successful launch of new D* HD satellite on June 20, 2007.

Full article HERE
arxaw is offline  
post #1182 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I was reffering to KFSM.
Lyngsat.com has listings for lots of HD services and the formats/compressions.
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1183 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 09:06 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBC Universal have terminated their Analog feeds.
USA and Scifi are all digital now!
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1184 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 09:12 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been seeing lots of ads from the Sattelite providers claiming that Cable cannot keep up with the HD Growth. While this seems factual given that you could allways launch another satellite, there is less and less room on the equator for sats to sit. Cable could allways dump analog, and recover the bandwith from one channel and use it for 6 digital channels, or 1 HD Channel. They could further offset this with dumping MPEG 2 Compression for H.264 or MPEG 4 AVC Compression. Less bandwith needed per channel and less compression artefacts. http://www.apple.com/quicktime/technologies/h264/
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1185 of 3402 Old 05-26-2007, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DirecTV is using MPEG4 on all their new HD channels.
arxaw is offline  
post #1186 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 06:13 AM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KNWA-DT seems to be back off the air again. darn used transmitters...
nj829 is offline  
post #1187 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both analog and DT KNWA are off the air. And when flipping to channel 24 analog, it says "KNWA"..... These nexstar/mission stations are going downhill fast.
arxaw is offline  
post #1188 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 07:51 AM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have lost KNWA-DT from my lineup. The Channels are off air. I get no signal strength, where they usualy hang about the 98% level.

Go figure that they would be off air on Memorial Day Weekend.

I wonder what Fox and NBC will say about this? I wonder if the advertisers are pleased?
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1189 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 10:11 AM
Member
 
jsmithdds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't mean to waste anyone's time, but I would like to make sure I understand what I have been reading in this thread.

I finally bought an ota antenna as I have tired of waiting for DishNetwork to add my local HD channels. When I hooked it up yesterday, I could get KFSM and KHOG signals.

I did not pick up a signal from either KNBC or KFTA, even though I appear to be within the coverage maps I found posted earlier in the thread. Am I to understand that these signals are usally available, but that others are currently unable to receive them as well?

If this is correct, it this a recurring problem, or do you expect them to be available again soon?

Thanks in advance
jsmithdds is offline  
post #1190 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 11:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jsmithdds, welcome to the forum.

NBC affiliate KNWA-DT is temporarily off the air, supposedly due to a lightning strike. KFTA-DT may or may not be receivable at your location. I suspect they may not be operating at full power.

What antenna do you have?
What "colors" does http://www.antennaweb.org show for your specific address?
arxaw is offline  
post #1191 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Theoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springdale
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this probably belongs on dbstalk, but anyone around here "upgraded" to the new D* mpeg4 equipment yet? Will we need to in order to get the new HD stuff? Doesn't it involve running another coax line to each box?
Theoliver is offline  
post #1192 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 03:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need a 5LNB dish and H20 MPEG 4 receiver or HR20 DVR. I've read that solid copper center-conductor coax (instead of just copper-clad steel) is required for the 5LNB dish, but can't confirm that, since I have not changed out my dish to the 5LNB yet.

They guys at dbstalk could tell you for sure... :-)
arxaw is offline  
post #1193 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Theoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Springdale
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
arxaw - I have the H-20 (600), just not the new 5lnb. I'll head over to dbs to get the details. Thanks.
Theoliver is offline  
post #1194 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 04:08 PM
Member
 
jsmithdds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arxaw,

I have a Phillips MANT510 antenna (50dB) that I have on top of the TV hooked up right now. Now that I see it works, my wife doesn't want this on display in the living room so I plan on buyng the outdoor version and running a line through the wall (unless you have a better antenna recommendation).

Unfortunately, my specific address is not available on Antenna Web. I tried to locate it as best I could, but with only very small changes in estimated position I get anywhere from Gree-Red-Blue-Violet to only Blue.
jsmithdds is offline  
post #1195 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 06:47 PM
Member
 
jsmithdds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW,

I just re-scanned and not only am I picking up KNWA and KFTA, but they are both at 100 signal strength!
jsmithdds is offline  
post #1196 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 07:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KNWA-DT is back on the air.

If what you have works, but it has a low WAF, try sticking it up in the attic (the antenna, not the wife).
arxaw is offline  
post #1197 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow,
You are getting all that signal from the Phillips jsmithdds? Nice. Are you in Fayetteville or somewhere else. Try www.HDTVExpert.com, they have a few tips on antenna placement. With my little RCA ANT 2550, I found that the attic realy killed my reception, even with a booster.

BTW, how are KFSM-DT and KAFT-DT (3 sub channels, when 13.1 is not in HD)
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1198 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 08:01 PM
Member
 
jsmithdds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFSM can get to 100%, but not in the same orientation that makes KNBC and KFTA 100%. So instead I am settling for high 70's on KFSM. To be honest, I can't tell the difference between that and 100. I am in Bentonville.

I picked up 4 KAFT channels, but never got an ounce of signal strength from any of them. They didn't appear to have any content that I would need, so I deleted them from my guide.

BTW, can anyone tell me why some stations, such as KNWA and KFSM (and all the KAFT's for that matter), have program data that shows up in my grid, but other stations, such as KHOG and KFTA, only read "digital service"?
jsmithdds is offline  
post #1199 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All Stations that comply with the ATSC specifications are supposed to include a grid, for each channel/subchannel. There could be a problem with the PSIP (Program and System Information Protocol) that contains Ratings, Time, Program Name, SD/HD format Info. Sometimes the system gets out of sync. Every so often I have issues with KFSM. I have to reset my system (the computer), and then the Program Map Table (PMT) data is refreshed. I found that setting my Dipole Rabbit Ears (the Wands) at 45 Degrees, and about 10 Inches will result in a super strong signal from KAFT.

Also,
KFSM, KAFT, KFTA, KHOG are all to your south, but KNWA is in Garfield, to your East.
Neal Bilbe is offline  
post #1200 of 3402 Old 05-27-2007, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Neal Bilbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
70 Percent Signal on KFSM just means you will be subject to drop outs and occasional Tiling.
Neal Bilbe is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off