Fort Smith, AR - HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3402 Old 10-29-2004, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 73
This is the Official discussion thread for the Ft. Smith / Fayetteville / Springdale / Rogers, AR DMA.

The following networks are available in HD OTA:
ABC (40-1) 720p/DD2.0
CBS (5-1) 1080i DD2.0
PBS (13-1) 1080i/DD5.1
CPanther95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3402 Old 01-07-2005, 09:31 PM
Member
 
Regulator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NW AR
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been able to get DD5.1 from CBS during football games.

I recently spoke with an engineer for NBC about when they will broadcast with more power. Here's what he had to say:

"I can't give an exact date yet, because we don't have one. But, we are anticipating early to mid-summer. Please, don't hold me to that time-period, we are trying to put everything into motion to get this done. We have finally received the blessing of the FCC to move on this and we do intend to."

Hope this is accurate.


Anybody have an update about when FOX will start broadcasting?
Regulator is offline  
post #3 of 3402 Old 01-12-2005, 05:00 AM
Member
 
Kelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clarksville, Arkansas
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello from Clarksville. I hope this is true, as I can get SOME reception. Thias is what I'm picking up with a Silver Sensor.

KHBS Analog 40, Digital 21, 90-95 percent
KTHV Analog 11, Digital 12-1 and 12-2, 80 percent
KLRT Analog 16, Digital 30, 80 percent
KASN Analog 38, Digital 39, 60 percent

I need to get a better outdoor antenna, and am waiting for replies. I posted the following in the Little Rock forum.

Hi...

This is my first post...YA!!!!

I'm in Clarksville, and YES I am getting reception, quite a bit actually. My new Sony 46 incher is to be delievered today, but I have been experimenting. I went and got a US Digital receiver from Wally World. I tried two indoor antennas, which didn't work much. Then I tired the silver sensor. WOW. I am able to pick up KHBS out of Fort Smith (Analog Channel 40, Digital Channel 21) just about anywhere. Then I continued experimenting. I moved it to a window, continuted to pick up Channel 40 with about 95 percent and also locked onto KLRT (Analog Channel 16, Digital Channel 30) with 60-70 percent. (This is good for an NFL nut like me).

So I took it one step further and got an old shower curtain rod and put the antenna on top of it and took it outside. Another improvment. I was still able to pick up KHBS and KLRT. Then in a scan, KTHV (Analog Channel 11, Digitial Channels 12-1 and 12-2) locked on. I continued moving the wire, yes the cable wire, around and was able to lock KTHV in at 80-90 percent. Then in another scan, KASN (Analog Channel 38, Digital Channel 39) came in spotty, about 60 percent. I was able to see their weather forecast pretty good though. The receiver was also trying to lock on to Digital Channel 9, which I think might be KAIT Channel 8 out of Jonesboro. I'm not sure.

I am not getting anything else out of Fort Smith. (KFSM Analog Channel 5, Digital Channel 18 or KFTA Analog Channel 24, Digital Channel 27). Fox KPBI Channel 46 doesn't even have a digital channel. In any case, 0 percent readings. I am also not picking up KETS Channel 2 or 13 or KATV Channel 7. Nothing on KARK Channel 4 either, but I've read the horror stories on Channel 4 anyway, so I don't expect to get those since I'm over 80 miles anyway.

I need to know which outdoor antenna to get for my area. I think it's worth it since I'm picking up four networks between the two cities.

BTW, I am operating a 30db amplifier on this silver sensor. Please respond, as I believe I am the first person to report from Johnson County. BTW, a person in Pope County (Russellville) said I wouldn't pick anything up digitally. He's a tv salesman too. What an idiot.

I am on Dish Network also, and lan to eventually upgrade to the HD receiver model 811.

If anyone has any ideas, please holler at me.
Kelley is offline  
post #4 of 3402 Old 01-14-2005, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
BLUESFAN216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey,
I am in Ft. Smith and am also wondering which outdoor antenna to get. I ahve the Dish 811 receiver and am taking delivery of a Toshiba 57h84 tomorrow. I can't wait to watch HD!!! I just want to know the best way to receive the locals!
BLUESFAN216 is offline  
post #5 of 3402 Old 01-29-2005, 10:30 AM
Member
 
mcrendog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a letter yesterday:

Cox is finally bringing HD service to the Fort Smith and Van Buren! This starts Feb. 9th.
mcrendog is offline  
post #6 of 3402 Old 02-06-2005, 10:30 AM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Super Bowl XXXIX is a day from kickoff, and the local Fox channel remains available only in analog.

Terrill Weiss, general manager of Fox, UPN, WB and Univision stations in Northwest Arkansas, revealed Wednesday the station was trying to finish an upgrade by Sunday that would allow the game to be shown in high definition for digital cable subscribers through Cox Communications.

Several calls placed to Weiss on Friday weren't returned by press time, but a cable company official didn't expect the game to be carried locally in high definition. "As far as we know, they don't have the signal up for us to carry, but we would love to have the Super Bowl in high definition," said Nelson Mower, vice president of operations for the Arkansas region of Cox Communications.

Weiss revealed Wednesday the Fox station was attempting to upgrade to high definition in time for the game.

Workers installed digital receivers and other equipment at one of its sites in hopes of having in operational by Sunday, he said.

Mower confirmed representatives of the cable company and the television station had talked several times about the possibility of adding a high-definition Fox channel to the digital cable lineup in time for Super Bowl XXXIX.

Congress enacted a tar- get date of Dec. 31, 2006, for all television stations in the nation to shift from analog to digital television programming.

That date could be extended until 85 percent of homes in an area can view digital television.

While stations like Fox, UPN, WB and Univision still transmit strictly an analog signal, other local stations such as CBS (KFSM) and ABC (KHOG) affiliates and the Arkansas Educational Television Network (KAFT) have upgraded.

Once the transition deadline passes, analog channels will end and that spectrum will go toward other uses.

All television stations must install a new transmitter, antenna and production facilities when converting to digital service. Some stations also may be required to modify their antenna towers or construct new towers for their digital antennas.

Weiss estimated some stations could spend up to $1 million to switch to make the digital transition.

Fox soon will be offered in a high-definition format even if not in time for the Super Bowl, Weiss said Wednesday.

Cox Communications will be ready to accommodate Fox's digital format once the installation is complete, Mower said. "We would certainly like to carry Fox in high definition," he said. "They have a lot of good sports programs, and that's what really looks great in high definition.

" We just don't see that they've got the signal up yet. "
jim9251 is offline  
post #7 of 3402 Old 04-19-2005, 01:26 PM
Member
 
countd4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Arkansas
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would be willing to accept Fox in SD if they could get their act together. The Fox station here in Fayetteville via Cox is really terrible. I was so sorry they carried the Super Bowl. Could not have picked a worse broadcaster...

-- Count
countd4 is offline  
post #8 of 3402 Old 06-02-2005, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Regulator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NW AR
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i agree with countd4

fox needs to get moving.
Regulator is offline  
post #9 of 3402 Old 07-16-2005, 08:59 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well...6 months later and still no FOX HD and no NBC HD for NW Arkansas. What gives?
jim9251 is offline  
post #10 of 3402 Old 08-10-2005, 07:34 PM
Member
 
rheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We just received our D*TV HD Tivo and are getting ready to schedule the installation. We live outside of Ft. Smith on Hwy 255 near Lavaca and are trying to decide on the best route to go concerning an antenna for OTA. Is the antenna that D*TV can provide worth having it mounted on the house reception wise or would we be able to get by with an indoor antenna?

Has anyone tried to get the East Coast feed of the networks through D*TV?

Also, do you think they would mind if we started a thread just to gripe about our local Fox station?
rheff is offline  
post #11 of 3402 Old 08-15-2005, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be moving to Pea Ridge in the next couple of weeks, any hopes of getting HD out there? I have D* and would rather not have to use Cox for HD. Thanks!
nj829 is offline  
post #12 of 3402 Old 08-21-2005, 09:09 AM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well KNWA is going to have a special announcement on September 2. Let's hope it's HD!
jim9251 is offline  
post #13 of 3402 Old 08-23-2005, 10:15 AM
Member
 
hypnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: AR
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any updates on getting FOX in HD? The quality of FOX suffers greatly in NWA: huge jumps in volume between programs and commercials and horrendous PQ. There is basically no difference when pulling it in off air (preferred) or through Dish for me, so I know that it must be the station itself.
hypnos is offline  
post #14 of 3402 Old 08-23-2005, 03:49 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FOX and UPN are run by the same folks here, and I thnk they run WB too. All the stations PQ and sound are horrible and at times unwatchable. There was a lot of hype in the local media about Fayetteville's FOX station going HD in time for the Super Bowl, which never happened. Months later...it's still hasn't happened, and no one is talking about it anymore. A lady at the Fayetteville Cox office told me today to look for a "lot" of new HD programming here in January.
jim9251 is offline  
post #15 of 3402 Old 08-30-2005, 04:50 PM
Member
 
jim9251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ridgway, Colorado
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got an email from KNWA, they are going HD in 2006. And the Fayetteville-Ft Smith DMA is 104 not 107.
jim9251 is offline  
post #16 of 3402 Old 09-08-2005, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Kimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did KNWA give a date they will be up and running HD? I'm glad to hear its coming soon. i
Kimmie is offline  
post #17 of 3402 Old 10-09-2005, 04:10 PM
Member
 
TexasNArk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone out there receiveing OTA HD in Rogers or Bentonville? What channels, how good is the reception and what antenae are you using. Thanks for any info you can provide. I really hate using Cox if I don't have to for HD.
TexasNArk is offline  
post #18 of 3402 Old 10-09-2005, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Kimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can pick up OTA HD in North Springdale with no problem. Cheap rabbit ears worked so I haven't investigated any other antennae. KFSM (CBS) and KHTV(ABC) broadcast in HD and possibly PBS, although I have never seen it myself.

If only we can get the Fox and NBC affiliates to transmit in HD. . . Supposedly KNWA is coming on board sometime next year. No word on Fox, I'm not holding my breath.
Kimmie is offline  
post #19 of 3402 Old 10-10-2005, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Pea Ridge with bunny ears (RS-1550) I have ABC with no problem at all. Outside of that, nothing else comes in. I do plan on eventually getting big antenna, but have D* and the NY feeds for HD, so not rushing for the big antenna yet.
nj829 is offline  
post #20 of 3402 Old 10-10-2005, 02:47 PM
Member
 
casino187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is it that Cox doesn't have Fox and NBC in HD? I notice they carry it in other parts of the country.
casino187 is offline  
post #21 of 3402 Old 10-10-2005, 04:01 PM
Member
 
WED0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimmie View Post

No word on Fox, I'm not holding my breath.

Here's my response from KPBI regarding whether or not they'd have their HD signal up and running by the World Series.

We receive this question quite a bit as more HD sets are being sold in the area. Certainly not a sensitive issue, but it is an unusual situation for us. We are awaiting the FCC to open a window so that we can have a separate HD spectrum. This goes back to us operating with low power transmitters and having a different time frame than other stations that were mandated and given separate spectrum last year. What we are looking for is a way to broadcast both our analog and hd signals at the same time during the transition period. It probably will not occur during the World Series, but be patient I know our folks are working and waiting on this window to open. Please stay in touch, glad to pass along any updates on the situation as I receive them.
WED0420 is offline  
post #22 of 3402 Old 10-10-2005, 05:04 PM
Member
 
TexasNArk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nj829 View Post

In Pea Ridge with bunny ears (RS-1550) I have ABC with no problem at all. Outside of that, nothing else comes in. I do plan on eventually getting big antenna, but have D* and the NY feeds for HD, so not rushing for the big antenna yet.

nj829,
How did you get NY feeds? I petitioned and was turned down. I guess Pea Ridge is just out of the area and they will allow the feeds.

I guess I will have to try an HD antenae and see what I can get. Anyone else in my area have OTA HD?
TexasNArk is offline  
post #23 of 3402 Old 10-11-2005, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
nj829's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Currently 72751
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved and haven't switched my service address yet from the old DNS address I was at. However, there are some other boards out there that discuss moving your service address to other locations such as NYC and having access to the big 4 HD channels as part of your locals. Granted, you won't have locals access, and won't be able to have any service calls, etc. but if you can live with that, then it's not a big deal.
nj829 is offline  
post #24 of 3402 Old 10-13-2005, 07:57 PM
Member
 
Kimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WED0420 View Post

Here's my response from KPBI regarding whether or not they'd have their HD signal up and running by the World Series.

We receive this question quite a bit as more HD sets are being sold in the area. Certainly not a sensitive issue, but it is an unusual situation for us. We are awaiting the FCC to open a window so that we can have a separate HD spectrum. This goes back to us operating with low power transmitters and having a different time frame than other stations that were mandated and given separate spectrum last year. What we are looking for is a way to broadcast both our analog and hd signals at the same time during the transition period. It probably will not occur during the World Series, but be patient I know our folks are working and waiting on this window to open. Please stay in touch, glad to pass along any updates on the situation as I receive them.


Thanks for passing along the info. My husband has emailed them several times and has yet to get a reply.
Kimmie is offline  
post #25 of 3402 Old 10-13-2005, 08:38 PM
Member
 
TexasNArk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone using an OTA HD antanae? What brand and what set up? Which stations can you get? How is quality?

Thanks,

TexasNark
TexasNArk is offline  
post #26 of 3402 Old 10-15-2005, 10:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasNArk View Post

Anyone using an OTA HD antanae? What brand and what set up? Which stations can you get? How is quality?

I have a LARGE VHF/UHF fringe antenna + preamp and rotor that came with the house I bought. I get
3-1 (NBC-HD), 3-2 (UPN) from Springfield
5-1 (CBS-HD), 5-2 (news loop), 5-3 (radar) - Ft. Smith
13-1, 13-2, 13-3, 13-4 (AETN) - Fayetteville
21-1, 21-2, 21-3, 21-4 (KOZK/PBS) - Springfield
29-1 (ABC-HD) - Fayetteville

On DirecTV I also get New York HD networks:
WABC-DT
WCBS-DT
WNBC-DT
WNYW-DT (fox)
These are included in the HD pack from DirecTV at no extra charge to grandfathered DNS customers. My previous service address could not get OTA TV or locals via DirecTV, so I qualified for the NY stations. When I moved, I only changed my mailing address, so I could keep the networks.

OTA antenna HD picture quality is significantly better than the compressed stuff available on cable or DirecTV.
arxaw is offline  
post #27 of 3402 Old 10-16-2005, 08:18 AM
Member
 
TexasNArk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone out there have any luck with OTA HD? What channels and how is the reception?
TexasNArk is offline  
post #28 of 3402 Old 10-16-2005, 05:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See post #26.
arxaw is offline  
post #29 of 3402 Old 10-16-2005, 06:46 PM
Member
 
TexasNArk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you live in Rogers/Bentonville? What is your antenna and pre amp brand and model?

Thanks,

Texasnark
TexasNArk is offline  
post #30 of 3402 Old 10-17-2005, 10:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live NW of Eureka Springs and NE of Rogers. Post #26 has my antenna info. Brand is unknown, as it came w/ the house.
arxaw is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off