Columbus, MS - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1182 Old 11-07-2006, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
mcrutland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just found out the Comcast in Tupelo is going finally add a High Definition tier of channels. They will appear in the early part of December. I can only assume that the majority of the major network programing will come from Memphis (with the exception of CBS).

Maybe this will put pressure on WTVA/WKDH/WLOV to go HD.

Lets hope.
mcrutland is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1182 Old 11-10-2006, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
speedy3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i hope comcast offers something soon. I'm not having much luck with an antenna, and I really don't want to go with dish or directv.
speedy3k is offline  
post #183 of 1182 Old 11-11-2006, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
cArcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Corinth, Mississippi
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_japan View Post

What I'm saying is that they don't pursue any stories that would serve the viewing public, as in controversial or social issues. When's the last time you saw a story about a prejudicial issue on WTVA (that wasn't already a national or statewide issue)? They're way too friendly with the city government.

You aren't going to see a lot of muckraking in small local media. Right or wrong, it's the nature of the beast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_japan View Post

Who did you talk to as far as programming manager? There are two people that vaguely fit that position (no actual programming manager position exists), so I'm curious.

Ed Bishop, who identified himself as programming director.

Cheers,
CA
cArcher is offline  
post #184 of 1182 Old 11-18-2006, 10:41 PM
Member
 
captain_japan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cArcher View Post


Ed Bishop, who identified himself as programming director.

Cheers,
CA

No offense to Ed, but I worked there for a number of years, and he wasn't exactly kept 'in the loop' of anything. Bishop has even less power since Terry Smith's promotion to 'Director of Program Distribution and Development.'

Alas, I have new information for you all. Two things: new weather system that WTVA is getting (which isn't exactly forum-specific) and WKDH should go HD soon, as in within the next month or two. They already have preview monitors up, and the digital transmitter has been setup in Woodland. Word from my source is that they'll end up flash-cutting the signal, cutting the analog permanently once the digital is up.
captain_japan is offline  
post #185 of 1182 Old 11-19-2006, 07:35 AM
Member
 
clmartin22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed WTVA has really been advertising the new radar. I will be keeping a check on WKDH, any word on WTVA HD.

And what the heck is flash cutting?
clmartin22 is offline  
post #186 of 1182 Old 11-19-2006, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
mcrutland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clmartin22 View Post

I noticed WTVA has really been advertising the new radar. I will be keeping a check on WKDH, any word on WTVA HD.

And what the heck is flash cutting?

Flash cutting is when the analog signal is shut off and the digital takes its place. This is unlike WCBI which has an analog and digital signal. WKDH will be digital only.
mcrutland is offline  
post #187 of 1182 Old 11-21-2006, 11:13 PM
Member
 
captain_japan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrutland View Post

Flash cutting is when the analog signal is shut off and the digital takes its place. This is unlike WCBI which has an analog and digital signal. WKDH will be digital only.

Right. Because WKDH signed on the air rather late in the game compared to other stations like WCBI, which debuted in '56, I think....the FCC allowed WKDH to discontinue their analog. WCBI must maintain both signals by law until 85 percent of the viewing population has a digital receiver. That'll probably be a while.

When WLOV and WTVA make the digital jump, they will have to maintain both signals as well.

As for the new radar, word is it'll be the most powerful in the state, with near real-time Doppler radar. That's something not even WCBI can claim.

I did a Google search for that TrueView they're advertising. Turns out it's a WSI product. Search WSI and click on the products tab to learn more about the weather system WTVA's invested in.

It'll be as significant as Earthwatch Weather was when they first purchased that system in the 90's.
captain_japan is offline  
post #188 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
shawnbird91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed wlov last week and they said they should be at full power by the middle of jan of 07.
shawnbird91 is offline  
post #189 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 10:19 AM
Newbie
 
speedy3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
comcast is a joke in Tupelo. I just received info on their HD offering. they will only have CBS and PBS available in HD, along with just a few other national channels HD channels (tnt, discovery, hdnet, I think) . not only that, but they are raising their rates in Jan 07. oh well. I'm just glad I dropped them for D*. At least with D* I'm getting nbc, cbs, abc, and fox in HD.
speedy3k is offline  
post #190 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
shawnbird91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How Are You Getting The Locals Through Directv They Have Denied My Waiver. All I Can Get Is Cbs Ota.
shawnbird91 is offline  
post #191 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
speedy3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pm sent
speedy3k is offline  
post #192 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 01:51 PM
Member
 
clmartin22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy3k View Post

comcast is a joke in Tupelo. I just received info on their HD offering. they will only have CBS and PBS available in HD, along with just a few other national channels HD channels (tnt, discovery, hdnet, I think) . not only that, but they are raising their rates in Jan 07. oh well. I'm just glad I dropped them for D*. At least with D* I'm getting nbc, cbs, abc, and fox in HD.

How are you getting all the locals in HD?
clmartin22 is offline  
post #193 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 03:34 PM
Member
 
kona1611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I have been meaning to post for awhile now. I live in Starkville and have an indoor HD rabbit ear antenna from Radio Shack. The ONLY digital channels I can or ever have been able to pick up are:

4-1 (720p, WCBI Digital/HD). My HDTV labels it as MyMS
4-2 (480i, MyMS)
4-3 (480i, CW)

I have seen the letter from WKDH-45 that was sent out 11/1/06 that it will "begin broadcasting with a digital signal on TV channel 45" in December broadcasting from Woodland, 417m tall tower, with max. effective radiated power of 537 kV (from Walter Spain).

Does that mean it will be on 45-1 ? (Noobie question), if it isn't a channel #-# then it is not digital? That is, 12-1 = digital; 12 = not digital?

Anyway I called Walter the other day and he said that it would be up the first few weeks of December, and he seemed anxious to get it running asap. It would also be transmitting HD (ABC-HD). I asked him about other local channels and he said that WLOV-FOX Digital/HD should be up in Feb. 2007 (not sure what that means since others say it is already broadcasting, albeit intermittantly). By the way, on what channel are ppl picking up WLOV-HD OTA (over the air)? 13-1? 13? Something else? He also said that WTVA-NBC Digital/HD would be online in the summer of 2007.

When I moved back to Starkville in May, 2005 I was told that PBS is broadcasting in HD...channel 2, with the tower just down the road in Ackerman. I have never been able to receive any digital/HD on 2-1, 2-2, 2-3, etc.. if it is available where would I find it?

What other channels are people being able to pick up in the area?

Thanks for any answers.
kona1611 is offline  
post #194 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 04:36 PM
Member
 
kona1611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently all the moons and planets have aligned, because I went thru again and put in every conceivable channel numbers of nearby stations and such to see if I could discover any new digi-HD channels....and all the sudden for the first time ever... 2-1 and 2-2 show up, but they are basically unbearable. to watch... 85% of the time it is too staticky/blocky/pixelated and the sound goes first... soo:

2-1 - Regular local WMAB-2 PBS, 480i
2-2 - Wowee 1080i HD PBS.. not sure what their TV schedule is but in the brief seconds it is working, it's very nice.

Any thoughts? BTW, my rabbit ears are Philips MANT150 indoor rabbit ears with a hand-moveable direction plate thing in between the ears. Not sure of the proper use of them. Any recommendations on a better antenna setup? I live on the 2nd floor apartment with roof over me, nestled in trees...But anyway...
kona1611 is offline  
post #195 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
speedy3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
being in Starkville, you'll probably want to install an outdoor antenna.
speedy3k is offline  
post #196 of 1182 Old 12-04-2006, 05:52 PM
Member
 
kona1611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any suggestions? And where to get a good one? ... if not radioshack/wallyworld? Thanks.
kona1611 is offline  
post #197 of 1182 Old 12-05-2006, 08:27 AM
Member
 
clmartin22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
go to solidsignal.com, they can get you what you need for your location.
clmartin22 is offline  
post #198 of 1182 Old 12-05-2006, 09:42 AM
Member
 
ut_bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kona1611 View Post

I have seen the letter from WKDH-45 that was sent out 11/1/06 that it will "begin broadcasting with a digital signal on TV channel 45" in December broadcasting from Woodland, 417m tall tower, with max. effective radiated power of 537 kV (from Walter Spain).

Is there somewhere that we can see a copy of this letter? I'd like to see what it has to say.
ut_bill is offline  
post #199 of 1182 Old 12-05-2006, 11:00 PM
Member
 
kona1611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just when I thought it was ok to watch TV again. The other night when I posted in here that I finally got inklings of 2-1 and 2-2 (1080i HD) on my TV (Toshiba 52HM95) and my Philips HD antenna that I mentioned before.. and 4-1, 4-2, 4-3 always (95% of the time) come in crystal clear.

But then starting yesterday something weird happened. I cannot see ANY HD channel Even though I can hear the audio loud and clear. Anyone else in the Starkville area having problems? I can't imagine what setting I might have changed on my TV...I've been thru and thru the options and can't see anything obvious that I might have "turned off". Now, I can see regular OTA channels, albeit their usual fuzziness.. 4, 9, 2, etc thru the Antenna (ANT 1 on my tv). I've reconnected the connectors. I guess I can try hooking the rabbit ears thru ANT 2 .. anyone else ever had such a problem?

I've never had this problem before. Thanks.

Also, I got an email from the WTVA stating that once all the construction permits to build the tower and other stuff...and other legalese is done, they hope to be up and running in 120 days. They will be broadcasting in 1080i on channel 9-1.


Chuck
kona1611 is offline  
post #200 of 1182 Old 12-18-2006, 08:14 AM
Member
 
ut_bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if anyone else saw it, but I was able to get a pretty good HD signal (40-70%) from WLOV just about all day yesterday. I'm going to keep my eye on it this week and hopefully our cable company in Starkville will add it their HD lineup if it's strong enough long enough.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
ut_bill is offline  
post #201 of 1182 Old 12-18-2006, 04:19 PM
Member
 
captain_japan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kona1611 View Post


Also, I got an email from the WTVA stating that once all the construction permits to build the tower and other stuff...and other legalese is done, they hope to be up and running in 120 days. They will be broadcasting in 1080i on channel 9-1.


Chuck

It won't be 9-1. WTVA's been fighting to get 8-1 for the longest time because 9-1 is already reserved...which means WTVA may have to change its branding as a result...no more "Channel 9."

Latest I hear is WKDH by January...WLOV by February, and WTVA by March...possibly to coincide with the station's 50th anniversary.

They've been flghting to get 8-1 for the last year almost. The FCC was going to have them assigned to a double-digit number, I want to say in the 40s or past that.
captain_japan is offline  
post #202 of 1182 Old 12-20-2006, 01:57 PM
Member
 
deno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Mississippi
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else notice the "dt" on the WKDH logo. I saw it once last night. Hope they get it up before the new years day bowl game.

Deno
deno is offline  
post #203 of 1182 Old 12-20-2006, 08:59 PM
Member
 
kona1611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On what OTA (digital) channel did you pick up WLOV in HD?
kona1611 is offline  
post #204 of 1182 Old 12-28-2006, 01:06 PM
Member
 
ut_bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kona1611 View Post

On what OTA (digital) channel did you pick up WLOV in HD?

I got WLOV on 16-1 last week. Been out of town for a week, couldn't tell you if it's been that way since 12/21 but I was able to get it from 12/18 - 12/21 pretty strong.
ut_bill is offline  
post #205 of 1182 Old 12-30-2006, 08:08 AM
Member
 
deno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Mississippi
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting a strong signal reading on WLOV but just a blank screen, no picture, no sound. Anybody else seeing this?

Deno
deno is offline  
post #206 of 1182 Old 01-03-2007, 01:02 PM
Member
 
breadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: carrollton al
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in carrollton AL about 30 miles from columbus. I have recently put up a 50ft
tower with an antennas direct 91xg(uhf only no amp or rotor yet) and directv h20 receiver. I'm curious if anyone has had problems with sound on wcbi 4-1. I have no problem with picture, just sound. Also 4-2 and 4-3 are clear with sound. Also
I did use a compass to point antenna to correct heading(310) from my area.BTW
i've only had it up a week,thats why i was wondering if it is my equipment or if it is a problem from the transmitter.
breadman is offline  
post #207 of 1182 Old 01-04-2007, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
shawnbird91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a hr 20 and a h 20 reciever from direct tv. when i turned them on last nite channel 9-1 was on my program guide but could not recieve a signal. Right now all i can get is 4-1,4-2,4-3 with upper 90's on signal strength. but nothing on 27-1 or 12-1,12-2 and now 9-1. can anyone else get a strong signal with those channels
shawnbird91 is offline  
post #208 of 1182 Old 01-04-2007, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthrsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Post America America
Posts: 8,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnbird91 View Post

I have a hr 20 and a h 20 reciever from direct tv. when i turned them on last nite channel 9-1 was on my program guide but could not recieve a signal. Right now all i can get is 4-1,4-2,4-3 with upper 90's on signal strength. but nothing on 27-1 or 12-1,12-2 and now 9-1. can anyone else get a strong signal with those channels

Same thing here, I am right on the county line just north of Starkville. I get no signal from 9.1 or 27.1. They are showing guide data. 27-1 has been on for a long time.
darthrsg is offline  
post #209 of 1182 Old 01-04-2007, 06:52 PM
Member
 
breadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: carrollton al
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
darthrsg, do you ever have problems with audio on 4-1?
breadman is offline  
post #210 of 1182 Old 01-04-2007, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthrsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Post America America
Posts: 8,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 717
Nah, i get a little multipathing(signal bouncing) but when it's on it's on. I have noticed that since D* "fixed" my HR10-250 with their 6.3x software that my Tivo is not as reliable. It has random reboots just by changing the channel. For the record, my first HR10-250 that I bought worked flawlessy until the 6.3x update, the audio dropouts and whatever changes they made seriously affected my OTA reception. They replaced it and the "new" unit did not have the update and performed flawlessly, then it got the update. I will stay with D* until this summer and then I am through, E* is my only other option here in the sticks.
darthrsg is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off