Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 62Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 8974 Old 11-22-2004, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Not yet..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 8974 Old 11-22-2004, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by yaddayaddayadda
All channels seem to come in flawlessly except for WCCB. I don't understand how other channels in this general direction (WAXN, WSOC - even WUNG) come in perfectly but not WCCB?? I also don't understand how I seemed to get better reception from this antenna when it was inside, sitting on a speaker, than it is mounted outside?

Yes, strange indeed. Only a hunch, but everything seems to be pointing to an overdriven signal.
  • The problem signal is 1000 kW, and you get a station in the same location driven at 50 kW
  • Your antenna worked better at a 'worse' location

If you have an extra coax splitter around, you might just put that in to knock off a few dB (just don't connect one of the outputs). This assumes that the amp in your system isn't distorting the assumed powerful signal. Another option, but this means back onto the ladder, would be to try pointing away from WCCB. The problem with either of those two is you may fix WCCB and loose your weakest one WAXN (tongue biting here). So if one of these tests is successful, and you loose something you care about, then you need an attenuator for UHF 27. There's nothing else that's near the station's frequency here, so a crude one might work okay.

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #273 of 8974 Old 11-23-2004, 04:23 AM
Member
 
yaddayaddayadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I'll have to give that a try. Another question - is it normal to lose all HD channels in a rain storm similar to what we've had last night/this AM?
yaddayaddayadda is offline  
post #274 of 8974 Old 11-23-2004, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
jwwillis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still having problems with WCCB on my HDTivo. I even get WAXN better. WCCB will be watchable most of the time, except when a Panthers game is broadcasting.
jwwillis is offline  
post #275 of 8974 Old 11-23-2004, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by yaddayaddayadda
Thanks! I'll have to give that a try. Another question - is it normal to lose all HD channels in a rain storm similar to what we've had last night/this AM?

I wouldn't say so. If you're shooting through trees, you might loose a few percent, but that's about it. Maybe something on your outside antenna that shouldn't get wet got wet? I never had an issue with a little drizzle.

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #276 of 8974 Old 11-23-2004, 08:00 PM
Member
 
yaddayaddayadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I'm beginning to think. The installers didn't put any silicone around the hole leading into the house they drilled - I also have one D* cable coming in from the same hole and my TiVo has been acting up.

sons of @#@#!@!$
yaddayaddayadda is offline  
post #277 of 8974 Old 12-04-2004, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
jwwillis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have completely lost WCCB. I have had a constant strong signal over the past couple of years. Just in the last few months it went up and down. Now I get no signal at all. I even pulled out my old Samsung T-160, to see if something was wrong with my HDTivo. No signal on it either. What's up with this???
jwwillis is offline  
post #278 of 8974 Old 12-05-2004, 04:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
JW, PM me your location and rceiver, antenna, etc.. All looked fine lat night
here at my house.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #279 of 8974 Old 12-05-2004, 07:16 PM
Member
 
yaddayaddayadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Yes, strange indeed. Only a hunch, but everything seems to be pointing to an overdriven signal.


* The problem signal is 1000 kW, and you get a station in the same location driven at 50 kW
* Your antenna worked better at a 'worse' location



If you have an extra coax splitter around, you might just put that in to knock off a few dB (just don't connect one of the outputs). This assumes that the amp in your system isn't distorting the assumed powerful signal. Another option, but this means back onto the ladder, would be to try pointing away from WCCB. The problem with either of those two is you may fix WCCB and loose your weakest one WAXN (tongue biting here). So if one of these tests is successful, and you loose something you care about, then you need an attenuator for UHF 27. There's nothing else that's near the station's frequency here, so a crude one might work okay.

--Dale--

Well after 45 mins of fiddling outside - In came the square shooter, and for the first time in long time - I watched the panthers in HD glory! So I'll not question it. Antennas surely are a black art . So inside, I get all but the RH PBS station - not that I watched it anyway. All others are pristine.
yaddayaddayadda is offline  
post #280 of 8974 Old 12-07-2004, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody here regularly watch Enterprise on UPN D47 (when it's broadcast in HD)?

I have been recording "Enterprise" and watching it at a later time for over a year, and I do not remember even one time that it came through perfectly; it seems there is always a small segment missing. Those segments are usually short (10 seconds) and there's no sound and no picture. Then as suddenly as it quits, it comes back, as if nothing has happened. It's not a low signal because it's rock solid the whole time. And I can watch hours of the other shows on UPN without this effect.

Just curious of what might be going on. A guy in Seattle says he's not seen anything like what I'm describing, so it's apparently not a network issue.

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #281 of 8974 Old 12-07-2004, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
My guess..knowing the location of the WJZY/WWWB studios..is that it's a momentary loss of the HD feed due to aircraft either blocking the satellite signal, or aircraft radar interference, as it is close to Cband satellite frequencies... We have that happen here regularly with our FOX News Channel and ABC Network feed with the dish mounted on the roof..If it's radar, there is a $500 filter that will help.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #282 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
crazy4bass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by yaddayaddayadda
Well after 45 mins of fiddling outside - In came the square shooter, and for the first time in long time - I watched the panthers in HD glory! So I'll not question it. Antennas surely are a black art . So inside, I get all but the RH PBS station - not that I watched it anyway. All others are pristine.

Interesting. I watched the game Sunday, as I do every sunday. Mine wasn't in HD, haven't seen an HD cats game in about 7 weeks. I realize that FOX's commercials state they are pushing 720, yada yada, but when they switch back to WCCB's coverage it's defiantely not HD. The alst two weeks the late games have been in HD and there is major difference.

So.. how'd you get them in HD? Did I miss something somewhere????

Thanks
crazy4bass is offline  
post #283 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
All of the regular Panthers season games, with the exception of the Arizona game, have been HD. If you're not seeing HD, then you need to check your system setup. I watched the Saints game, it looked very good
here. No problems.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #284 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Check123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can verify that the production trucks in New Orleans were HD trucks. They had the new Fox HD logos on them...

hh
Check123 is offline  
post #285 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
crazy4bass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So why aren't they listed as HD? I'm looking at Titantv's listing (linked from WCCB's website) for this coming sunday. The Panthers game isn't listed as being in HD. Like I said, the 4:30 game this past sunday on FOX displayed the "In HD" scroller at the beginning, ran all the FOX HD promos, etc. The Panthers game had none of this. The promos during the Panthers game were even promoting the 4:30 game as a Special thing for Charlotte viewers because it would be in HD.

Not my equipment, maybe you guys are getting a different feed or I'm on the wrong channel or something but there is no way what's been on WCCB-DT the past few weeks has been HD. SD maybe, but not HD. Feel free to educate me, but when things are listed HD they look HD, when they aren't the don't. They make capture it HD but my argument is, I don't think WCCB is rebroadcasting it in HD. btw I'm in Charlotte.
crazy4bass is offline  
post #286 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by crazy4bass
there is no way what's been on WCCB-DT the past few weeks has been HD. SD maybe, but not HD. Feel free to educate me

Well, I guess you're the expert and would know!!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #287 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
crazy4bass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I guess smart ass comments get smart ass answers don't they?

Anyway, Im not arguing (well maybe a little), and I'm by no means an expert. Just curious that sometimes you see certain things and sometimes you don't, etc, etc. Maybe I just dont pay attention enough... Its curious though that nothing lists the broadcasts as being in HD (which we all know makes it law ). And either I'm missing it or the "In Hd" intro thingy isn't there. I'll pay more attention this week. Maybe it was that Arizona game that caught my attention and because none of the listing "say" HD I'm making an assumption.... go figure, wouldn't be the first time..

BTW: bdfox18doe, that you responding to my email to WCCB about this, this afternoon?
crazy4bass is offline  
post #288 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Hi JW..Now 2+2 equals 4..Not meant as an SA comment..Hope my email answered your questions.!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #289 of 8974 Old 12-09-2004, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
crazy4bass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, thanks a bunch for the info.....
crazy4bass is offline  
post #290 of 8974 Old 12-10-2004, 05:11 AM
Member
 
yaddayaddayadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd say they're HD because
1) My TV displays what resolution its displaying. My set says the Panther's games are 1080i.

2) DD 5.1 sound

3) Fills my 61x9 tv without stretching.

4) I can count the blades of grass on the field rather than looking at a vague patch of green under the player's feet

5) I can tell when they switch from a SD camera feed to HD camera feed on the same broadcast

Of course, I'm uneducated as well I think TitanTV is just often not up to date on their listings of all the games. Just think of it as another example of no respect for the panthers. I'm following the 'if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, acts like a duck' logic method
yaddayaddayadda is offline  
post #291 of 8974 Old 12-10-2004, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by yaddayaddayadda
[b]I'd say they're HD because
1) My set says the Panther's games are 1080i.

Except that they're 720p.....

Are you using an extenal tuner? Does your tv do 720p native?

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #292 of 8974 Old 12-10-2004, 06:27 AM
Member
 
yaddayaddayadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, my mits' integrated tuner. It does not display 720p natively - it converts to 1080i.

Oh - and more evidence that I was watching HD - you could actually see the wet spot on the Saints player's uniform who peed himself on the sidelines
yaddayaddayadda is offline  
post #293 of 8974 Old 12-10-2004, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
yewwww...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #294 of 8974 Old 12-10-2004, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bdfox18doe
Except that they're 720p.....

Bob, This might be a 'dumb question', but since we're all a bunch of yokals from Charlotte ;-) I figured maybe you could help me out here....

It would seem to me that 720p would be "better" than 1080i. Better in that it has more information because each scan line is "unique", as opposed to 1080i, where you have 540 unique, and the other 540 just a copy of the adjacent one. Is that right?

Then to complicate things, as we see from yada, many TV's display at 1080i. Would you consider that a down-rez? Curious minds...

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #295 of 8974 Old 12-10-2004, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Well Dale, that is the $64 question, and I won't get into the 720p vs 1080i
debate, as there is an excellent thread debating that here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=478736

I don't think it is as simple as 720p vs 1080i, as not all tuners and monitors are the same. Some sets do a better job at cross converting than others.
Some sets have better native pictures than others. There are camera and feed issues that complicate the mix. Enocder and multiplexor setups can affect the end result as well. There are way too many variables IMHO to
outright say one is better than the other unless compared under carefully
controlled conditions.


Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #296 of 8974 Old 12-11-2004, 01:13 PM
Member
 
herrfish1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Richmond County, NC
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I, for one, can understand why crazy4bass is slightly confused. A couple of weeks, I had to check to be sure that I was watching in High Def. FOX-HD picture quality just isn't as good as ESPN-HD, CBS-HD, or MNF on ABC-HD. FOX-HD just doesn't have quite as sharp a picture as the others mentioned. The WOW factor just isn't there. FOX'S 5.1 sound is usually very good though. Nonetheless, I appreciate FOX's effort to broadcast so many HD games. And, I think their picture quality willl improve with time. Just my .02 worth!
herrfish1 is offline  
post #297 of 8974 Old 12-11-2004, 01:29 PM
Member
 
yaddayaddayadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's funny you say that - because I find just the opposite. I think Fox is always better than CBS. About tied with MNF on ABC.
yaddayaddayadda is offline  
post #298 of 8974 Old 12-12-2004, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting reader to watch Panthers game (Minnesota is playing now) and the announcers JUST started talking. The game has been running for quite a while. Was that a network glitch or what?

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #299 of 8974 Old 12-12-2004, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Sure you weren't on the SAP audio? It has no announce..All was fine here
up until I left at 230pm..

Did watch the Panthers game..no shimmering grass, tho there was some cheerleader shaking..the picture was incredible and the surround was awesome..But it should be that way seated in the stadium..How was it on TV?

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #300 of 8974 Old 12-13-2004, 04:16 AM
Member
 
yaddayaddayadda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Did watch the Panthers game..no shimmering grass, tho there was some cheerleader shaking..the picture was incredible and the surround was awesome..But it should be that way seated in the stadium..How was it on TV?

Just as good. Except I didn't pay $6 per beer
yaddayaddayadda is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off