Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 50Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 06:53 AM
Member
 
NYURDRMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, CP, I didn't watch it.

I will comment though that I watched the panthers game the other night on Fox OTA, (although it wasn't HD), and didn't get any of the dropouts that were so bad in the spring. Hopefully that means I will be able to watch 24 this season on OTA.
NYURDRMS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 07:53 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I never get it during NFL - only primetime programming. It seemed to be getting better toward the end of last season (24 and House were particularly bad) - but after Prison Break, it seems it is still an issue.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #543 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 08:02 AM
Member
 
NYURDRMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is very discouraging. I was hoping they would have fixed whatever the problem was. Here is hoping that DTV will get HD locals from Charlotte soon and I can get rid of this OTA junk.
NYURDRMS is offline  
post #544 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 08:07 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
FYI:

Every year I hold out hope, but as of today - WB & UPN have "no plans" to upgrade to DD5.1.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #545 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYURDRMS View Post

That is very discouraging. I was hoping they would have fixed whatever the problem was. Here is hoping that DTV will get HD locals from Charlotte soon and I can get rid of this OTA junk.

And just where do you think directv will get the Charlotte locals?>>


Hint: OTA...


There was an issue with the splicer last night during prison break, I think It droppped the soap.. FOX is working on the issue..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #546 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 08:13 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

And just where do you think directv will get the Charlotte locals?>>


Hint: OTA...

That must be one big ass antenna

Glad to hear it is a known issue. Hopefully it won't be something that gets written off if it only affects one low volume STB. Especially one that encourages the viewer to skip commercials.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #547 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
There is a known issue with the directivo's..but getting it fixed is beyond our control..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #548 of 8819 Old 08-30-2005, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

Anyone else with an HD-Tivo getting audio dropouts every 30 - 60 seconds during Prison Break?

I scheduled a recording for 9pm on the 5th. Let us know what you think of that transmission and I can tell you what I'm getting using the MyHD tuner.

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #549 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 09:47 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Don't know if gasoline is a problem on the Yankee side of the border, but Fort Mill area has been tough with the majority of stations having no gas at all. FWIW, the Gate station at 160 & Gold Hill Road (about 2 miles west of I-77 Exit 88) just had a tanker fill up this morning. But lines were long.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #550 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 10:58 AM
Member
 
crispytreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

Don't know if gasoline is a problem on the Yankee side of the border, but Fort Mill area has been tough with the majority of stations having no gas at all. FWIW, the Gate station at 160 & Gold Hill Road (about 2 miles west of I-77 Exit 88) just had a tanker fill up this morning. But lines were long.

This is my fav station in the area, not as crowded as the stations on Carowinds Blvd.

PEACE
GT: ryebreadeater
crispytreat is offline  
post #551 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 02:17 PM
Member
 
skoone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Greenville, SC USA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys..

Is it me, or has WBTV started transmitting widescreen programming on 23-1 for SD video? Or has it been like this and I'm just now figuring it out?

Their news broadcast as of 9/1 is widescreen format. At first, I was hoping that it was HD, but no luck.

Regards,
Steve
skoone1 is offline  
post #552 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 02:48 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I'll have to check it out. The only local news I watch with any regularity is the 10:30 news on WCCB.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #553 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 02:48 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Yuck...it's just stretched. Some idiot made a bad decision - let's hope it doesn't stick.

Now we have to tune into 3-2 to watch SD material and 3-1 for HD
CPanther95 is offline  
post #554 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

Yuck...it's just stretched. Some idiot made a bad decision - let's hope it doesn't stick.

Now we have to tune into 3-2 to watch SD material and 3-1 for HD

"I'll have to check it out. The only local news I watch with any regularity is the 10:30 news on WCCB. "

So what the heck are you doing over on 3-1 for news????

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #555 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoone1 View Post

Hi guys..Steve

Steve! yer back, huh?? Glad to see ya!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #556 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 03:59 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

So what the heck are you doing over on 3-1 for news????

If you look at the times of my posts, you'll notice when I said "I'll have to check it out" - I had no idea WBTV news was even on at the moment.

Frankly it won't affect me much unless they are stretching all their syndicated and SD primetime programming also. Raymond's on in a minute - we'll see.

Please tell me WCCB wouldn't consider the same boneheaded move???
CPanther95 is offline  
post #557 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
No way in $%$$....IMHO, there are more than enough "stretch" features available in the viewers tv sets..(what moron designed those anyway??)..
we'll send it au naturale, and they can distort it to their pleasure!

By they way, everyone does "NOT" love Raymond..I for one, hate that show..maybe one day he'll consider surgery to fix his nasally voice..or else marry the nanny and leave the rest of us alone...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #558 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 06:01 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Well, they're stretching everything - syndicated - BB6....arrrrgh !

eMail sent to WBTV, but I doubt they have a clue over there
CPanther95 is offline  
post #559 of 8819 Old 09-01-2005, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
yea..they've fired everyone else.....

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #560 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 11:32 AM
Member
 
barneshome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mistakenly posted in the TW forum last night regarding some OTA troubles. My bad.

I am in South Charlotte, off Johnston Road between Carmel Road and 485 (28226).

I had a DirecTV HR10-250 receiver with a Winegard MetroStar 2000 OTA antenna (multi-directional) installed yesterday.

When running the line straight from the antenna to the sat-box, we (my installer and I) got very poor OTA signals. To help with that, he used one diplexer outside and one inside. It seemed to work (during daylight). I was getting all the major locals (ABC, CBS, Fox, NBC). Then, after dark, the Fox signal dropped way down (into the 20s). I hadn't touched any of the wiring. Still got the other locals, but not Fox.

This morning, same story. So, I went to Radio Shack and got an amplifier (15-2507). I brought it home, attached it and was able to get Fox...but not ABC. Grrr...

I also picked up the little Terk amplifier (waste of time) and a Motorola signal booster (same results as Radio Shack).

Finally, I gave up and restored the original diplexed connection. Now I am back to getting all 4 major locals, but ABC is still iffy. The other 3 get signals in the upper 60s to low 70s, while ABC is in the low 60s and drops out sometimes while I am watching it.

Believe me, I tried all sorts of configurations with the 3 products I mentioned as well as with/without diplexers.

I am at wits end. All of our shows are on CBS, Fox and ABC. I NEED Fox and ABC.

Any suggestions?
barneshome is offline  
post #561 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I'd drive the car over that antenna they installed..they are junk to say the least, I wonder if they do that so that when HD LIL comeas around they can get you to pay for it off satellite..
Many of the installers have little to no clue about how to properly receive the locals, if they did they wouldn't install some of the systems they do..

For best results, you need a seperate, roof-top or attic antenna, do not diplex the signal. You most likely won't need an amplifier..take a look at antennasdirect.com ..I use the Wingard squareshooter, and get all 9 locals perfectly.. Also, look at antennaweb.org to find the correct orientation for your antenna for where you are.. read back in this tread, there
is a lot of good antenna info here..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #562 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 12:15 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I'm not familiar with the Metrostar specifically, but typically, those disc types of omnidirectional antennas don't perform nearly as effectively as a standard UHF antenna.

Bob may have more specific info regarding the antenna/location etc. But I can assure you that it is a solvable problem. I pick up all Charlotte stations from Fort Mill without adjusting the rotor at all. My $26 antenna will also pick up Greenville and Columbia stations by adjusting the rotor.

Prior to that, I picked up all channels with a set top Double Bowtie antenna from RS ($15). On rare occasions I'd have to point at one tower or the other - but most times I left it pointed right in between and picked up both just fine.

Not a great shot, but you can see the CM4221 antenna in this pic.
LL
CPanther95 is offline  
post #563 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 02:20 PM
Member
 
DancingBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barneshome View Post

I mistakenly posted in the TW forum last night regarding some OTA troubles. My bad.

I am in South Charlotte, off Johnston Road between Carmel Road and 485 (28226).

I had a DirecTV HR10-250 receiver with a Winegard MetroStar 2000 OTA antenna (multi-directional) installed yesterday.

When running the line straight from the antenna to the sat-box, we (my installer and I) got very poor OTA signals. To help with that, he used one diplexer outside and one inside. It seemed to work (during daylight). I was getting all the major locals (ABC, CBS, Fox, NBC). Then, after dark, the Fox signal dropped way down (into the 20s). I hadn't touched any of the wiring. Still got the other locals, but not Fox.

This morning, same story. So, I went to Radio Shack and got an amplifier (15-2507). I brought it home, attached it and was able to get Fox...but not ABC. Grrr...

I also picked up the little Terk amplifier (waste of time) and a Motorola signal booster (same results as Radio Shack).

Finally, I gave up and restored the original diplexed connection. Now I am back to getting all 4 major locals, but ABC is still iffy. The other 3 get signals in the upper 60s to low 70s, while ABC is in the low 60s and drops out sometimes while I am watching it.

Believe me, I tried all sorts of configurations with the 3 products I mentioned as well as with/without diplexers.

I am at wits end. All of our shows are on CBS, Fox and ABC. I NEED Fox and ABC.

Any suggestions?

Go to Radio Shack and get this.

I have mine stuffed behind the TV and I get all the locals. FWIW, I am right east of the Arboretum.

Diplexers are bad news.
DancingBear is offline  
post #564 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 02:40 PM
Member
 
barneshome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am filing it away for future use.

As a last resort, I printed out a map from antennaweb, climbed up on the roof with compass in hand and rotated the mast of the antenna a few degrees. That did the trick. Even though it is a multidirectional frisbee (excuse me, antenna), rotating it a bit strengthened the signals of all 4 major locals. WB is doing fine as well. UPN is a little iffy, but we never watch anything on that channel or on PBS.

I returned all of the amplifiers/boosters I tried earlier today.

For now, I am happy and a little bit wiser. I also have all of your input in case I have problems again.

Thanks everyone!
barneshome is offline  
post #565 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Great News barneshome! Thanks for the update, yell if you need anything further!

You'd think the installer would have known that.. nahhhh...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #566 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 06:57 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Apparently "multi-directional" doesn't necessarily mean "every directional".
CPanther95 is offline  
post #567 of 8819 Old 09-02-2005, 07:09 PM
Member
 
barneshome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To be fair, the installer did a great job on everything else and corrected a number of issues left by the previous installer.

He was already over-scheduled and running late for the next job, but he still took the time to do everything I asked.

Plus, when he left, the locals were coming in fine.

It's now well after dark and all locals are still coming in just fine, so I am just going to sit back and enjoy it and NOT TOUCH ANYTHING.

So long for now.
barneshome is offline  
post #568 of 8819 Old 09-04-2005, 01:03 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

Well, they're stretching everything - syndicated - BB6....arrrrgh !

eMail sent to WBTV, but I doubt they have a clue over there

Well, a day or two later they stopped stretching. I'd like to think it was my eloquent email, however, considering I received no response - I doubt it.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #569 of 8819 Old 09-05-2005, 06:57 PM
Member
 
barneshome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm back with another ignorant question. I am getting a great picture from WCNC's OTA HD broadcast, but the sound is out of sync with the picture. Any suggestions? I noticed this last night during the race and again tonight during Las Vegas. Fox/ABC/CBS are not giving me this problem - just NBC.

I have the DirecTV HR10-250 and I am getting OTA signal strength in the low to mid 80s (seems good to me) on all of the major networks.
barneshome is offline  
post #570 of 8819 Old 09-05-2005, 07:40 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Haven't noticed a problem on my HR10-250 - just checked and Medium has the Audio and Video in sync.

Bob - No problems this week for Prison Break on the HD-Tivo.
CPanther95 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off