Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 47Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 8727 Old 10-17-2005, 05:03 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Threads merged.

Tipper, see the post just before yours.
CPanther95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 8727 Old 10-17-2005, 07:32 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Looks like WSOC is getting a little better at the hard switch to SD at the end of primetime. They used to switch with about 5 minutes left every night, now it is normally about 2-3 seconds before the end of the show. Not sure how they made the improvement, yet still jump the gun by just a few seconds

Only exception to this "improvement" was Sunday (IIRC) where they switched to SD with about 10 minutes left in the show.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #633 of 8727 Old 10-24-2005, 04:26 PM
Member
 
sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone having a problem with Channel 9? I lost it last night but have all the other stations. I'm located in Cornelius and use a 4 bay antenna in the attic.
sharpe is offline  
post #634 of 8727 Old 10-25-2005, 10:19 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Been strong for me.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #635 of 8727 Old 10-25-2005, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpe View Post

Is anyone having a problem with Channel 9? I lost it last night but have all the other stations. I'm located in Cornelius and use a 4 bay antenna in the attic.

The four-bay you describe probably is a UHF only antenna, and Channel 9 is VHF. Usually the 4 bay UHF does a fair job picking up VHF, but you may need to couple it with a small VHF antenna to ensure stability for Ch 9.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #636 of 8727 Old 10-25-2005, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerry birdwell View Post

The four-bay you describe probably is a UHF only antenna, and Channel 9 is VHF. Usually the 4 bay UHF does a fair job picking up VHF, but you may need to couple it with a small VHF antenna to ensure stability for Ch 9.

I think he's talking about UHF 34 which is "Channel 9" in name only. The only VHF digital we have in Charlotte is VHF 11 (aka "Channel 42").

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #637 of 8727 Old 10-25-2005, 04:31 PM
Member
 
sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry about the confusion. 34 dropped to 20% on the HD-TiVo Sunday night and into Monday, but it seems to be back now. Go figure.
sharpe is offline  
post #638 of 8727 Old 10-29-2005, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm curious... why did WSOC decide to keep their digital signal on channel 34 and give up ch 9 after the analog shutdown, instead of moving the digital signal to ch 9 and giving up ch 34? I've read often that the high-VHF channels (7-13) are generally considered "prime territory" because they propagate better than UHF channels, with less power, and are less affected than the low-VHF channels by impulse noise.
jtbell is offline  
post #639 of 8727 Old 11-01-2005, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbell View Post

I'm curious... why did WSOC decide to keep their digital signal on channel 34 and give up ch 9 after the analog shutdown, instead of moving the digital signal to ch 9 and giving up ch 34?

I thought that the FCC was going to hand the VHF spectrum to cell phone companies.
sengsational is offline  
post #640 of 8727 Old 11-01-2005, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nope, it's the highest UHF channels (52-69) that are going to be auctioned off. All the channels in the range 7-13 will be used for DTV by stations within range of my antenna after the analog shutoff:

7 - WSPA (Greenville CBS)
8 - WOLO (Columbia ABC)
9 - WNTV (Greenville ETV)
10 - WIS (Columbia NBC)
11 - WTVI (Charlotte ETV) (OK, I probably won't be able to get this one, except when a blue moon is up )
12 - WRDW (Augusta CBS)
13 - WLOS (Asheville ABC)

Of these, 8 and 9 are currently in use for DTV. WOLO comes in very nicely at 67 miles, even with a wall of trees behind my house in the line of sight. WNTV is mediocre, but that's probably because it doesn't have much power and I'm getting interference from WSOC's analog signal.
jtbell is offline  
post #641 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 06:01 AM
Member
 
beakerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved to Mooresville, NC, just north of Charlotte, zip 28117. So far I have been able to get most DTV channels, NBC, CBS, ABC and usually FOX. UPN and WB come in most of the time too. I'm using a basic powered rabbit ears antenna which provides a signal usually around 70% for the strong channels. On channels like Fox 1018, I will occasionally get "skips" in the programming due to the signal dropping out. I'm planning to upgrade my antenna to a medium directional attic mount antenna. I would appreciate any suggestions or references for an appropriate antenna. Being in Mooresville, I'm about 20-25 miles away from most broadcasts. The directions vary between 164 degs for ABC (9.1) and 236 degs for NBC (36.1). So I need something that will cover about 72 degs from 20-25 miles away.

Thanks!
beakerlene is offline  
post #642 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 06:24 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
beaker:

First thing I'd do is get a Radio Shack double-bowtie set top antenna for about $15. It will blow away just about any "amplified" rabbit ear type (w/ UHF disc) antenna - no matter how many times the manufacturer stamps "HDTV" on the box. IIRC, I have about an 80 degree spread and 19-23 miles to both towers and I picked up all signals strong without having to rotate the RS-DB antenna.

Attic antennas are tricky and your particular home and location will introduce fairly unique variables - a lot of it is trial and error. I put a CM4228 in my Dad's attic in Fort Mill and it works for the Charlotte stations, but margin of error is 1 or 2 degrees. If a mouse farts up in the attic, I have to readjust the positioning because he'll lose one tower or the other.(once or twice a year). About a mile away, I put a CM4221 outside on a mast, and I get Columbia and Greenville stations also - so an attic is a huge hindrance.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #643 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 07:13 AM
Member
 
beakerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CPanther95,

Thanks for your quick response. The RadioShack in Cornelius has the item in stock. Will the signal be strong enough without being powered, or do I need to use an amp/preamp. I do have my HD tuner connected to an amplified splitter. My second concern is that I use my current antenna for VHF and FM also. If I use the double bowtie antenna for my UHF signal could I "combine" (not the technical word) that signal with the VHF and FM signals from my current antenna. If so, would the UHF signal from my current antenna interfere with the bowtie antenna?

Thanks!
beakerlene is offline  
post #644 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

If a mouse farts up in the attic, .

I'd hat eto be up there when that happens!!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #645 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 07:57 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
No amp or pre-amp. I worked my way all the way up the RS line of indoor antennas and none performed better (in fact, not nearly as good) than the $5 antenna I had laying around in my attic. They actually discontinued it a few years ago, but a "black" market of sorts sprung up on eBay and these cheap antennas were going from $10 to $25 each. They reluctantly started offering them again and bumped the price to $15 since it was now an "HDTV" antenna.

Not sure how you are using the VHF antenna, is it for PBS digital, or just for analog stations? If you're most concerned with the primary 6 HD networks in Charlotte, there'd be no reason to combine the antennas, all are on UHF frequencies. Run the UHF antenna to your HD tuner, and run the VHF antenna to an analog input and the FM input of your receiver.

If you explain the need for VHF better, it might make it more clear.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #646 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 08:22 AM
Member
 
beakerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The VHF signal is primarily for the analog stations that either don't have a digital station, or where I don't receive a sufficient signal for the digital station. Hopefully the second issue will no longer be a problem with the new antenna. If all the local Charlotte channels broadcast in digital too, I suppose I technically won't need VHF. If I want the digital PBS do I need a VHF signal? I could take your suggestion and run the FM and analog tuners to a separate antenna. I had hoped to have everything (UHF, VHF, FM) coming from one (or multiple) source on one cable in the attic so I didn't have to have any antennas visible near the TV or receiver. I do have a few workarounds, including your suggestion if this is not possible. Thanks again!
beakerlene is offline  
post #647 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 10:51 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
If you go with a set top antenna for UHF, you will still have only one cable coming into your system. It's worth a try for $15.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #648 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beakerlene View Post

If I use the double bowtie antenna for my UHF signal could I "combine" (not the technical word) that signal with the VHF and FM signals from my current antenna.

Just put that idea right out of your mind because it won't work like you expect; 1+1 usually equals about .5 in this arena. If you have other devices that need other signals, just give them their own antenna and be done with it.
--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #649 of 8727 Old 11-02-2005, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by sengsational View Post

Just put that idea right out of your mind because it won't work like you expect; --Dale--

Dale's correct..however, if you use exactly the same length cables for the two antennas, it "MIGHT" work, you'd just have to try it.. sometimes, it will, a lot of times, it won't...

I'm not exactly a PBS fan..don't get me started about having 3 PBS dinosaurs..er, stations..here in our area.... so I could care less about WTVI since it is on a great VHF channel but woefully underpowered....However, WUNG gives me all I need for PBS..and they're easily received! (great job, Wayne !!)

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #650 of 8727 Old 11-03-2005, 10:03 AM
Member
 
beakerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a UHF double-bowtie antenna yesterday from Radio Shack and hooked it up. The new antenna was intended to replace my existing amplified UHF/VHF rabbit ears, RCA ANT200B with UHF loop. The change was negligible and probably had more to do with orientation than the antenna. Some channels got slightly better, others slightly worse. I can't pick up either PBS stations with either antenna. I am able to pick up ABC, CBS, FOX and NCB with both antennas 90% of the time. The rationale for seeking a new antenna is to prevent occasional skips in the broadcasts from signal drop outs. It appears I'm just as well off with my old UHF loop. I would appreciate any comments or suggestions to help increase my signal strength. Right now I can't receive WB or PBS, which doesn't make sense to me if they have the same range and orientation of neighboring stations. Maybe it's the broadcast strength. Thanks!

WSOC-DT 9.1 ABC 165 24.1 34 71-79% 68-73%
WUNG-DT 58.1 PBS 142 22.1 44 21-58% 0-21%
WJZY-DT 46.1 UPN 231 21.1 47 28-67% 56-61%
..WB-DT 55.1 WB 231 21.7 39 21-30% 0%
WCNC-DT 36.1 NBC 231 23.1 22 74-84% 71-75%
WBTV-DT 3.1 CBS 235 22.9 23 65-75% 72-78%
WCCB-DT 18.1 FOX 166 23.6 27 62-71% 71-74%
WAXN-DT 64.1 IND 165 24.1 50 18-26% 0%
WTVI-DT 42.1 PBS 159 23.2 11 0% 0%
beakerlene is offline  
post #651 of 8727 Old 11-03-2005, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beakerlene View Post

I would appreciate any comments or suggestions to help increase my signal strength. Right now I can't receive WB or PBS, which doesn't make sense to me if they have the same range and orientation of neighboring stations. Maybe it's the broadcast strength.

You can go to the fcc site http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/audio/tvq.html and look at the power they are licensed for (may not be using it all). Bob, didn't you say that you had good experience with a Square Shooter with a wide spread between towers?

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #652 of 8727 Old 11-03-2005, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by sengsational View Post

Bob, didn't you say that you had good experience with a Square Shooter with a wide spread between towers?--Dale--

Yes, I get all local stations perfectly with the square shooter.. I'm on the Matthews end of Mint Hill..

Just got a Sony DHG-HDD250.. A very nice HD-DVR!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #653 of 8727 Old 11-04-2005, 06:28 AM
Member
 
beakerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tips. I just did a couple quick google searches on the Winegard SS-1000 SquareShooter. It looks very promising. Are there any local retailers that provide it, or do I have to purchase it online? I'd like to be able to try it out and return it if it doesn't do the trick. Thanks!
beakerlene is offline  
post #654 of 8727 Old 11-04-2005, 08:00 AM
Member
 
WallyBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey beaker, I'm in Cornelius so I'm in a similar situation to you. The first antennaes I tried were the Channelmaster Stealthtenna and then the CM 3016 that I bought at the local Lowe's. I installed them in my attic and tried to shoot the difference between the 2 tower clusters - they are 90 degrees apart for me. The 3016 got good reception, but it was too directional - it couldn't pick up both clusters at once.

I pondered the SquareShooter, but didn't want to drop a hundred bucks. Like you say, it's not available locally. I ended up getting the antennasdirect DB-4. It does a good job for me. The CM 4228 that is popular here is a similar design.

Hope this input is helpful.
WallyBR is offline  
post #655 of 8727 Old 11-04-2005, 08:21 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
The CM4221 is a closer match to the DB-4 (4-Bay). I went with it because it is less directional than the big 8-Bay 4228. In fact, when I point almost due south for Columbia stations, the rear of the 4221 is efficient enough to pick up both Charlotte towers. I can rotate the 4221 at least 20 or 30 degrees either way and still pick up both towers when pointing in between the Charlotte towers.

I went with the 4228 for my Dad because it is an attic installation, stronger but more directional (at least that's the reports from AVS'ers) - it must be positioned exactly to get both towers - never tried the 4221 in an attic or the 4228 outside, so TIFWIW.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #656 of 8727 Old 11-04-2005, 08:33 AM
Member
 
beakerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Wally, thanks for your response. That was helpful. I actually tried a the Stealthenna too before I joined this forum and was dispointed with the results. Both your suggestions look promising. I'm assuming neither of those are available locally either? I found the SquareShooter online for $79. I'm wondering if it's worth the extra money. The DB-4 is marketed as the strongest multi-directional antenna which is apealing to me since I have broadcast location with about 80 deg separation. I'm wondering how directional the Square Shooter is?
beakerlene is offline  
post #657 of 8727 Old 11-07-2005, 05:41 AM
Member
 
beakerlene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Again, thanks for all the responses. I've been looking to purchase one of the medium UHF antenna (e.g., DB-4, CM4221) and the various online retailers recommend purchasing a preamp with the antenna. Do I need a preamp with the antenna and if so, can anyone recommend a good one? For example, Antenna's Direct matches up the "PA16 Low noise UHF Pre-amp" with the DB-4.
beakerlene is offline  
post #658 of 8727 Old 11-07-2005, 08:14 AM
Member
 
WallyBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
beaker,

I am not using a preamp. From some reading I did here and elsewhere, it didn't sound like it would do me any good. I can't recall the reasoning though.

I don't know what kind of return poicy antennasdirect has, but I'd recommend the company highly. When my antenna came in, the box was damaged and the antenna was bent in the corner. I called to let them know and they apologized and immediately FedEx'd a replacement. Since the antenna bay was aluminum, I just bent it back into shape and still use the original bent one to this day. I sold the replacement on audiogon - if I still had it I'd offer it to you!

Good luck.
WallyBR is offline  
post #659 of 8727 Old 11-07-2005, 08:44 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 73
I use a CM7775 (UHF only) pre-amp ... would have got the CM7777 if I knew I'd be picking up Columbia stations.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #660 of 8727 Old 11-15-2005, 01:39 PM
Member
 
jeff1257's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beakerlene View Post

Again, thanks for all the responses. I've been looking to purchase one of the medium UHF antenna (e.g., DB-4, CM4221) and the various online retailers recommend purchasing a preamp with the antenna. Do I need a preamp with the antenna and if so, can anyone recommend a good one? For example, Antenna's Direct matches up the "PA16 Low noise UHF Pre-amp" with the DB-4.


Go with the 4221 and save the money. The screen on the back allows it to have more forward gain than the DB-4. I would try without the preamp first. If you need one, I would look at the Wiengard AP-4700. The 19db is better suited for this area. I still have to cut 6dbs out of mine. Anything stronger can cause problems. I have a 4228 roof mounted off of Sardis Rd. Everything is 90 and over with my Dish 942. Great reciever. Also get WSPA-Spartanburg, WFMY-Greensboro and the best PBS-WNSC-Rock Hill. They have HD programming 24 hours a day. Unlike 42 and 58 that dont even come on till 7:00 and 8:00 at night.
jeff1257 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off