Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 288 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 43Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8611 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Speaking of retro, back when I used to travel I-77 through your area (Very late 70's through early 90's), there seemed to be a popular format in radio on several stations in your area called "Carolina Beach Music",....
Most likely you are referring to the music and dance that originated around Ocean Drive, SC. Do a search on that, beach music, "The Shag", and pavilion and you will most likely have what you are looking for.

Ocean Drive the town no longer exists (part of N. Myrtle Beach) and it's real touristy there now. But the music still has a lot of fans.

Last edited by blackcat6; Yesterday at 11:35 AM.
blackcat6 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8612 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I asked earlier, but I think I need an FM Trap because my Channel Master UHF antenna and Kitztech preamp gets all the GSP radio signals full strength, including the HD Radio. As well as 95.1, 96.1, and 107.9 signals from Dallas. This may cause problems with weak TV signals such as 13-WLOS, and WSOC and WCCB which often come in at night. And 9.1 is dropping in and out this afternoon, but no 9.5 translator. I added a Radioshack 4G-LTE filter, but I think I may need an FM trap. Several preamps have them built in, but not the Kitztech 100. Just wondering if FM signals can cause overload or interference, according to what I have heard.
tylerSC is offline  
post #8613 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
difuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I asked earlier, but I think I need an FM Trap because my Channel Master UHF antenna and Kitztech preamp gets all the GSP radio signals full strength, including the HD Radio. As well as 95.1, 96.1, and 107.9 signals from Dallas. This may cause problems with weak TV signals such as 13-WLOS, and WSOC and WCCB which often come in at night. And 9.1 is dropping in and out this afternoon, but no 9.5 translator. I added a Radioshack 4G-LTE filter, but I think I may need an FM trap. Several preamps have them built in, but not the Kitztech 100. Just wondering if FM signals can cause overload or interference, according to what I have heard.
I would have an FM trap on an antenna I did not use to receive FM.. I'm not sure all the work that could be done to determine how much a strong FM signal might compromise DTV reception has been done. But, the trap may well help, and probably cannot hurt. Go for it.
difuse is offline  
post #8614 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I asked earlier, but I think I need an FM Trap because my Channel Master UHF antenna and Kitztech preamp gets all the GSP radio signals full strength, including the HD Radio. As well as 95.1, 96.1, and 107.9 signals from Dallas. ......
It can also mean too much amplification on the wrong antenna for what you are trying to receive. Is this an attic install?

Last edited by blackcat6; Yesterday at 12:53 PM.
blackcat6 is online now  
post #8615 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
dixiedamsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some advice from the experts here. I would like to hook a dvr up to my OTA tv. There will be too many shows on at the same time this year. lol What I would like to know is: what type should I get and where do I get one. The only one we ever had came with the dish and I'm not going back there.

Thank you for your help.
dixiedamsel is offline  
post #8616 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
DVR options for OTA fall into two categories:
  1. Purchase a DVR
  2. Build a HTPC, add tuner cards or similar, install DVR software. These days DVR software is usually WMC or MythTV. (there are also others)


If you purchase a DVR the one that comes closest to the Dish DVRs is the Tivo Roameo. They just released a 4 tuner OTA only model that includes all the popular streaming apps. It's $49 and will record 75 hours of HD and you can add an external drive. It's as plug and play as it gets. Downside, there is a monthly fee of $14.99. (or you can opt for a lifetime option)

I live too far away from my Mom to give her reasonable support for her cord cutting. So we opted for the Tivo. The $14.99/month is well worth having something that works and who she can call for questions. It's a nice DVR. Better than Dish.

Other examples are Tablo (sp), Channel Master, Simple TV, but these all have various shortcoming tradeoffs vs cost.

For my own use, I have constructed a MythTV whole house DVR running on built from scratch PCs. I looked at WMC and while it's easier to setup, you are stuck with all the issues of dealing with Microsoft licenses and updates. It's OK for some, but being a long term Unix propeller head, I took the MythTV path. (It can simultaneously record everything being broadcast in Charlotte )

Hope this helps.

Last edited by blackcat6; Yesterday at 01:44 PM.
blackcat6 is online now  
post #8617 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 90
The TiVo Roamio has the best menu interface, and less problematic issues. But you are required to have an internet connection for it to function properly. While it may or may not work as a stand alone tuner, it receives program data from the internet to function as a DVR. And I believe there is a $100 off promo code for the Lifetime subscription, which in the long term is cheaper than the monthly fee. The OTA only version will be sold at Best Buy for $49 beginning Sept. 14. There is another version now sold at Best Buy and Walmart, but it will also function as a cable DVR or antenna, depending upon your choice. But it is more expensive.
tylerSC is offline  
post #8618 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Considering that they have released a model specific for OTA only, is an indication of the amount of cord cutting out there.
blackcat6 is online now  
post #8619 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
It can also mean too much amplification on the wrong antenna for what you are trying to receive. Is this an attic install?
Yes the antenna is in the attic. Channel Master 4248 UHF Diamond Yagi, original American made version. Very good UHF antenna. And a Kitztech 100 preamp, and 4-way Holland splitter. The antenna will receive most all GSP signals without an amp, as well as WBTV. And it even gets WSPA RF7, which is VHF. But a preamp is needed to receive 13-WLOS from Asheville, as well as WCNC, WJZY, and WMYT from Dallas. At night, I often also receive WSOC 9.1 and WCCB. I used to frequently receive the WSOC 9.5 translator, but recently some sort of interference blocks that low power signal. Not sure if WiFi, 4G-LTE cell phone towers, or FM radio could be an issue. But overall I get good reliable reception of what I am expected to receive at my location.
tylerSC is offline  
post #8620 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 03:06 PM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I asked earlier, but I think I need an FM Trap because my Channel Master UHF antenna and Kitztech preamp gets all the GSP radio signals full strength, including the HD Radio. As well as 95.1, 96.1, and 107.9 signals from Dallas. This may cause problems with weak TV signals such as 13-WLOS, and WSOC and WCCB which often come in at night. And 9.1 is dropping in and out this afternoon, but no 9.5 translator. I added a Radioshack 4G-LTE filter, but I think I may need an FM trap. Several preamps have them built in, but not the Kitztech 100. Just wondering if FM signals can cause overload or interference, according to what I have heard.
I have an old outside TV antenna (purchased in the year 2000) hooked into my in-home Sony HD radio, and get the Charlotte HD stations well. I had problems getting 99.3 WBT FM (not HD) from Rock Hill - the signal was very inconsistent. But WBT on 107.9-2 (HD) comes in strong. So do the other Charlotte stations (at least the ones I have tried). But I tried (on a whim) my new HD antenna in the radio, since it is pointed west, to see if I could get the 100,000 watt 94.5 from Greenville. Not even a whimper - only static. That antenna is mounted high above my garage gable on a pole. But my vehicles, sitting in the same garage, obviously on the ground - much lower than that antenna - will get 94.5 (not perfectly, but it does come in). The day I had an HD radio installed in my car at Best Buy in Gastonia, 98.9 HD from Spartanburg came in strong there. But back home in Mount Holly, in Belmont, and throughout Charlotte, only the analog 98.9 comes in.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #8621 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
I have an old outside TV antenna (purchased in the year 2000) hooked into my in-home Sony HD radio, and get the Charlotte HD stations well. I had problems getting 99.3 WBT FM (not HD) from Rock Hill - the signal was very inconsistent. But WBT on 107.9-2 (HD) comes in strong. So do the other Charlotte stations (at least the ones I have tried). But I tried (on a whim) my new HD antenna in the radio, since it is pointed west, to see if I could get the 100,000 watt 94.5 from Greenville. Not even a whimper - only static. That antenna is mounted high above my garage gable on a pole. But my vehicles, sitting in the same garage, obviously on the ground - much lower than that antenna - will get 94.5 (not perfectly, but it does come in). The day I had an HD radio installed in my car at Best Buy in Gastonia, 98.9 HD from Spartanburg came in strong there. But back home in Mount Holly, in Belmont, and throughout Charlotte, only the analog 98.9 comes in.
What type of new HD antenna do you have pointed west? And is there an amp?
tylerSC is offline  
post #8622 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 03:42 PM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
What type of new HD antenna do you have pointed west? And is there an amp?
DB4-E DB4e Extended Long Range OutdoorDTV Antenna


I do not have an amp. Thanks.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #8623 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
DB4-E DB4e Extended Long Range OutdoorDTV Antenna


I do not have an amp. Thanks.
The DB4e is not expected to receive FM radio. Basic rabbit ears would work better. But to receive 94.5 and 98.9 from GSP, then a good dedicated FM antenna such as Winegard 6000 should perform very well. And those Sony HD Radios have very good tuners.
tylerSC is offline  
post #8624 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
dixiedamsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
DVR options for OTA fall into two categories:
  1. Purchase a DVR
  2. Build a HTPC, add tuner cards or similar, install DVR software. These days DVR software is usually WMC or MythTV. (there are also others)


If you purchase a DVR the one that comes closest to the Dish DVRs is the Tivo Roameo. They just released a 4 tuner OTA only model that includes all the popular streaming apps. It's $49 and will record 75 hours of HD and you can add an external drive. It's as plug and play as it gets. Downside, there is a monthly fee of $14.99. (or you can opt for a lifetime option)

I live too far away from my Mom to give her reasonable support for her cord cutting. So we opted for the Tivo. The $14.99/month is well worth having something that works and who she can call for questions. It's a nice DVR. Better than Dish.

Other examples are Tablo (sp), Channel Master, Simple TV, but these all have various shortcoming tradeoffs vs cost.

For my own use, I have constructed a MythTV whole house DVR running on built from scratch PCs. I looked at WMC and while it's easier to setup, you are stuck with all the issues of dealing with Microsoft licenses and updates. It's OK for some, but being a long term Unix propeller head, I took the MythTV path. (It can simultaneously record everything being broadcast in Charlotte )

Hope this helps.
Blackcat6,

Thank you for your response. The options seem limited in that my husband has said no way to another subscription service(we have a Roku with Netflix, Acorn and Amazon Prime) and the fact that I don't think I can build a dvr. I mean, I could probably try if I had a For Dummies book that covered that. I would need lots of pictures.
dixiedamsel is offline  
post #8625 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Doesn't anyone still make a DVR for cheapskates? A DVR that you can manually program to record a show, the way people used to program VCRs manually?
veedon is offline  
post #8626 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post
Doesn't anyone still make a DVR for cheapskates? A DVR that you can manually program to record a show, the way people used to program VCRs manually?
Take a look at the Iview 3500 and Homeworx 150 models for the cheaper versions. See HDTV Recorders thread. But if TiVo is too pricey, the next choice would be Channel Master DVR+. No subscription fees there.
tylerSC is offline  
post #8627 of 8628 Old Yesterday, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixiedamsel View Post
..... I could probably try if I had a For Dummies book that covered that. I would need lots of pictures.
My recommendation is that if you lack the knowledge to build a HTPC/DVR, then you better stick to one with a subscription. We are a long way past the days of the VCR with the flashing clock that nobody knows how to set.

A good DVR does time shifting (pause, FF, Rev) of live TV, record multiple OTA broadcast HD video streams which will amount to gigabytes of data/hour, and have decent scheduling with conflict resolution of TV shows that you like to watch. If your favorite series gets preempted and shown at a later time, you want your DVR to figure it out and reschedule. You will want a machine that allows you to seamlessly record and watch live or recorded TV at the same time. And most importantly you want this in a small box that doesn't make any noise.

A machine that can do all this, and do it well, isn't cheap. The Tivo is a bargain if you can't manage your own build.

Last edited by blackcat6; Today at 12:06 AM.
blackcat6 is online now  
post #8628 of 8628 Old Today, 12:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Yes the antenna is in the attic. Channel Master 4248 UHF Diamond Yagi, original American made version. Very good UHF antenna......
At one time a very nice antenna but optimized for the pre-digital UHF definition. Today you can get the same usable gain with a much smaller antenna. A combo HBU-33 would be a nice replacement. It should also be less affected by FM.

As noted earlier, I don't recommend attic installs especially for Yagi designs. Given what you said, IMO if you mounted that antenna outside, and ditched the Kitsch amp, your issues would go away. If needed, you can use a distribution amp to drive the 4 TVs.
blackcat6 is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off