Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 304 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 75Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9091 of 9120 Old 12-09-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
^^Winegard Freevision is $34.99 at Home Depot and can be used indoors or outside. Other choices are Terk HDTVa and Antennas Direct Clearstream 2V, but more expensive. If you add an amp, consider Channel Master 3414, which is resistant to overload and can handle strong and weak signals. But that may not be necessary.
tylerSC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9092 of 9120 Old 12-09-2014, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
difuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post
Thank you and thanks to everyone else who posted. AVSF has always been amazing.

What I'm looking for.... well, the first thing was to cut the cord to cable, and with the exception of the internet, that's done. I kept my TWC modem and upped the speed to 6 mbps, which will allow me to stream HD thru various services. I have a Netgear Neotv streamer that was free and seems to be fine. I have trials with Netflix and Huluplus. I have a 46" Panny S1 plasma that I love still.

I had purchased the RCA amplified antenna on a whim last year just to see what I could get on OTA. The outdoor antenna is not an option in my current arrangement. Are there other not-too-expensive options for an indoor antenna that will be that much better than the RCA I already have ? ... and I will try an unamplified antenna too, if it's worth getting another one.

I knew I was not going to pay the ridiculous cable rate anymore and I love college football and the sports offered on espn, but it's just not worth it.

I want to optimize my viewing experience, which is sports and a combo. of action movies streamed, with the best possible picture. That make sense ?

Thanks again for your help.
My digital experience with indoor antennas was such that I can advise using a reflector. I had very good results with two bowties, one free turning, and one fixed with a turning reflector;the two were joined using 300 ohm baluns and a 75 ohm coupler. I do not think such an arrangement can be purchased pre-fabricated. It would not be expensive to make such an array, but you will have to judge if you wish to take the trouble to do so. If so, I will try to help, and I know others will, too..
difuse is online now  
post #9093 of 9120 Old 12-10-2014, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by difuse View Post
My digital experience with indoor antennas was such that I can advise using a reflector. I had very good results with two bowties, one free turning, and one fixed with a turning reflector;the two were joined using 300 ohm baluns and a 75 ohm coupler. I do not think such an arrangement can be purchased pre-fabricated. It would not be expensive to make such an array, but you will have to judge if you wish to take the trouble to do so. If so, I will try to help, and I know others will, too..
The old Radioshack double bow tie was a great indoor antenna, and it had an attached reflector. They should still manufacture it. And Channel Master had a version also.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9094 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 12:16 PM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know anything about limitations regarding GritTV being broadcast in 16x9? Since it is from the same company as EscapeTV (which is formatted in 16x9 on 64.3), you would think it's possible. Is there also a version offered in 4x3 and perhaps that is the one WBTV has chosen <or> is it available ONLY on 4x3?

There is one guy at WBTV who will respond to e-mail, but he is in charge of promotions. If the question is outside his area, he will forward it to the appropriate staff and copy me, but no one ever replies after that, even if I reply-to-all on the chain later asking about it. When I call programming, I always end up in voice mail, and no one ever returns the call. I also e-mailed the question to the Contact Us link on the GritTV website, but no one has replied after a few weeks.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #9095 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 51
It's seems this is mostly left up to the whims of the local TV stations. A few seem to have little interest in getting the aspect ratio right on their subchannels. The best, by far is WJZY and their Movies! channel. That could be because that station is owned by FOX.
blackcat6 is online now  
post #9096 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 03:53 PM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That seems to be true, and EscapeTV would be the second best in my opinion. The other stations are hurting their own revenue, because I know I would watch more Grit and Bounce, if the movies were in 16x9. And Bob McCord (former program director for WSOC-TV) told me one time that if one person in the Charlotte expresses an opinion, they estimate at least 1000 viewers in the area feel that way.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #9097 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 04:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Grit and Escape are fed in 1080i from the satellite, but Bounce TV is not.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #9098 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, got the Winegard FV .....and

got 0 total channels on first 2 programs. Everything hooked up ok and antenna formed correctly.

What am I doing wrong ?

...one search I held the antenna up outside, the other inside.

Last edited by Avgguy; 12-11-2014 at 04:28 PM. Reason: add content
Avgguy is offline  
post #9099 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 04:31 PM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Grit and Escape are fed in 1080i from the satellite, but Bounce TV is not.

- Trip
But what about the ratio?

Even 4x3 can be 1080i (you saw that this week if you watched the I Love Lucy Christmas Special or the 50th anniversary of Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer on WBTV/CBS).

On the other hand 16x9 can be 480i (Movies! and EscapeTV are examples of that in Charlotte).

Even though it is 1080i on satellite, it will be down-graded to 480i when we see it, because no one in Charlotte does more than that on a sub-channel. But we would still like to see the full image at 16x9.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #9100 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
difuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post
got 0 total channels on first 2 programs. Everything hooked up ok and antenna formed correctly.

What am I doing wrong ?

...one search I held the antenna up outside, the other inside.
Something is very wrong. If you are getting nothing, the first check would be to make sure your TV is set on antenna reception. Even if there was a hook-up issue, the scan probably should have decoded something
difuse is online now  
post #9101 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 05:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
But what about the ratio?

Even 4x3 can be 1080i (you saw that this week if you watched the I Love Lucy Christmas Special or the 50th anniversary of Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer on WBTV/CBS).
While you can have 4:3 1080i, in practice it's nearly always in a 16:9 frame.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #9102 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 06:13 PM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Lol...

Quote:
Originally Posted by difuse View Post
Something is very wrong. If you are getting nothing, the first check would be to make sure your TV is set on antenna reception. Even if there was a hook-up issue, the scan probably should have decoded something
Note to self... please don't hand tighten either end of coaxial connections...

18 channels on first search.

Is it just me or is the pic quality even better compared to the RCA antenna ?..... now to get enough cable to run it outside somehow.

Outstanding !

Last edited by Avgguy; 12-11-2014 at 06:36 PM.
Avgguy is offline  
post #9103 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
Does anyone know anything about limitations regarding GritTV being broadcast in 16x9? Since it is from the same company as EscapeTV (which is formatted in 16x9 on 64.3), you would think it's possible. Is there also a version offered in 4x3 and perhaps that is the one WBTV has chosen <or> is it available ONLY on 4x3?

There is one guy at WBTV who will respond to e-mail, but he is in charge of promotions. If the question is outside his area, he will forward it to the appropriate staff and copy me, but no one ever replies after that, even if I reply-to-all on the chain later asking about it. When I call programming, I always end up in voice mail, and no one ever returns the call. I also e-mailed the question to the Contact Us link on the GritTV website, but no one has replied after a few weeks.
I think the picture quality on GritTV is very good. But I agree it would probably be nicer in 16x9 format. And they should do the same with Bounce, especially when they air the local news broadcasts. It looks too stretched and distorted. The WSOC newscasts on 64.5 which are SD look much better in 16x9 when compared to the WBTV newscasts in 4x3 on 3.2.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9104 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post
Note to self... please don't hand tighten either end of coaxial connections...

18 channels on first search.

Is it just me or is the pic quality even better compared to the RCA antenna ?..... now to get enough cable to run it outside somehow.

Outstanding !
Glad to hear you got it working. That Winegard is a good compact antenna. Just use a barrel splice to extend the cable.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9105 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
It's seems this is mostly left up to the whims of the local TV stations. A few seem to have little interest in getting the aspect ratio right on their subchannels. The best, by far is WJZY and their Movies! channel. That could be because that station is owned by FOX.
Movies! looks very good on 46.2, and WJZY was very good to properly adjust the aspect ratio to 16x9 after responding to viewer feedback. And it is coming soon to WYFF 4.2. Escape also looks good on 64.3 when I can get it. And that Court channel is soon to replace Live Well on 36.2, although I was hoping for CoziTV.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9106 of 9120 Old 12-11-2014, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Glad to hear you got it working. That Winegard is a good compact antenna. Just use a barrel splice to extend the cable.
Thank you for the help !
Avgguy is offline  
post #9107 of 9120 Old 12-13-2014, 01:08 AM
Senior Member
 
SpencerKarter85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greenwood, South Carolina
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Movies! looks very good on 46.2, and WJZY was very good to properly adjust the aspect ratio to 16x9 after responding to viewer feedback. And it is coming soon to WYFF 4.2. Escape also looks good on 64.3 when I can get it. And that Court channel is soon to replace Live Well on 36.2, although I was hoping for CoziTV.
No offense but Movies! truly belongs to WHNS IMHO since it's FOX-related and should replace the weather map/NOAA radio on 21.2 and CoziTV would be better off on WYFF 4.2 since it's NBC-related since this station is owned by Hearst unfortunately. Even though Greenville, SC DMA is lacking diversity (no Bounce or a Spanish-language subchannel in the market like Charlotte, NC and Columbia, SC has). I would love to see AntennaTV replace the SD simulcast of WSPA 7.1 (CBS) on 62.2 one day so we could have more variety and fun.


BTW tylerSC, I'm also plan on getting for Christmas a 25' telescopic mast along with extra 5' mast for the antenna rotor so I could increase my signal with most Line of Sight path (30' I could get WLOS 13.1 (ABC) on Line of Sight path!) and less 1edge and 2edge paths. Too bad WYFF dropping ThisTV on 4.2 (for no reason) but I think it's still on WIS 10.2 in Columbia, SC DMA or they replaced it with some nonsense IDK.

Spencer Karter

My Christmas Wish List: SLINGBOX M1
SpencerKarter85 is offline  
post #9108 of 9120 Old 12-13-2014, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Smile No sound thru AVR, only tv speakers work

Not sure where else to post this, probably in AVR forum, but I'll start it here initially, mods pls. move if needed.

I only get sound from tv spkrs.

I have one hdmi running out from avr to tv and pass thru is on..... wonder what I'm doing wrong now. I have a Yamaha 667 avr.
Avgguy is offline  
post #9109 of 9120 Old 12-13-2014, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avgguy View Post
Not sure where else to post this, probably in AVR forum, but I'll start it here initially, mods pls. move if needed.

I only get sound from tv spkrs.

I have one hdmi running out from avr to tv and pass thru is on..... wonder what I'm doing wrong now. I have a Yamaha 667 avr.
Your TV may have to have HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel) for this to work. Do you have Optical Toslink or Red/White RCA audio? That may be another option.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9110 of 9120 Old 12-13-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Avgguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Your TV may have to have HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel) for this to work. Do you have Optical Toslink or Red/White RCA audio? That may be another option.
You're correct...tv has to have ARC also...my S1 doesn't.... I'll have to get an optical cable.
Avgguy is offline  
post #9111 of 9120 Old 12-15-2014, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
whns tv 21 has add cozi tv on 21.2 replace it 3 d weather radar. today.

edit: it went back to the radar around 8:30pm last night.

Last edited by LMckin; Yesterday at 07:20 AM.
LMckin is offline  
post #9112 of 9120 Old Yesterday, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
whns tv 21 has add cozi tv on 21.2 replace it 3 d weather radar. today.
Well today I still see the weather radar. On 21.2. But maybe Cozi is coming.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9113 of 9120 Old Yesterday, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Well today I still see the weather radar. On 21.2. But maybe Cozi is coming.
It went back to the radar about 8:30pm last night let hope it is coming.
LMckin is offline  
post #9114 of 9120 Old Yesterday, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
It appears WBTV may be broadcasting their news from a different studio, as the backdrop and camera angles appear slightly altered. And there seems to be a black and white checkerboard floor. And I have heard unconfirmed reports that a new set may debut after the first of the year, so this could be a possible explanation.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9115 of 9120 Old Yesterday, 07:41 AM
Member
 
Check123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The studio with the black and white floor is the Jim Patterson studio. TV-3 I think they call it.

t123
Check123 is offline  
post #9116 of 9120 Old Yesterday, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Check123 View Post
The studio with the black and white floor is the Jim Patterson studio. TV-3 I think they call it.

t123
Jim Patterson was the 1st voice ever heard on WBTV
rdgcss is offline  
post #9117 of 9120 Old Yesterday, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
csmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure if anyone related to 64 is on this thread, but just in case ESCAPE-Tv 64.3 has sporadic static on it, it's been there for a couple days.
csmith is online now  
post #9118 of 9120 Old Today, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Not sure if anyone related to 64 is on this thread, but just in case ESCAPE-Tv 64.3 has sporadic static on it, it's been there for a couple days.
We are on it, waiting on a part.

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #9119 of 9120 Old Today, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Theo is there any chance the WSOC Shelby translator could ever switch 64.5 over to HD? I'd love to finally be able to get it in HD. The 64.1 signal is too weak for my area. I realize this likely would require an investment on your part in hardware but just wanted to offer the suggestion. I know other stations do dual 720p feeds
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #9120 of 9120 Old Today, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
Theo is there any chance the WSOC Shelby translator could ever switch 64.5 over to HD? I'd love to finally be able to get it in HD. The 64.1 signal is too weak for my area. I realize this likely would require an investment on your part in hardware but just wanted to offer the suggestion. I know other stations do dual 720p feeds
Certain markets do have dual 720p stations in HD using advanced encoders. But mostly full power channels. Not sure it is necessarily done on low power stations, although it would be nice. I just wish they could boost power just a bit.
tylerSC is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off