Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 317 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 106Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9481 of 9509 Old 02-25-2015, 05:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
They only method that I can think of that allows you to receive all the subchannels along with a EPG is to put up an antenna along with your own OTA DVR.
Yes, the only way to watch AntennaTv is with an Antenna.....On your Tv...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!

Last edited by bdfox18doe; 02-25-2015 at 01:42 PM.
bdfox18doe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9482 of 9509 Old 02-25-2015, 05:53 PM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
See Charlotte, NC - TWC

If you want to read a good discussion on the subject matter go here. Search on free cable channels. (they were not really free)

http://www.reddit.com/r/cordcutters/

Thanks.

Still not sure if this applies to me, though, since I already pay for cable TV.

If TWC insists that broadcast cable subscribers have to have a converter box for a digital TV tuner to receive their signals, they will loose even more customers.
4:3 Toshiba is online now  
post #9483 of 9509 Old 02-25-2015, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
csmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
WMYT-SD showing up on 46.3
csmith is offline  
post #9484 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 01:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by csmith View Post
WMYT-SD showing up on 46.3
This is probably because WMYT is at significantly reduced power due to technical problems with their transmitter and antenna. It may be several days or weeks before it is repaired and they are back to full power for 55.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9485 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 07:08 AM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Question for Bob:

What was up with WCCB's sub-channels late last night? Right around midnight, they all froze, and stayed that way for quite a while. 18.1 was still fine. .2 appeared to be blank, and said "no signal" on the screen, even though my personal signal strength was still in the high 90's. .3 and .4 had a freeze-frame on the screen. I was watching Perry Mason on .3 when it froze, and I thought I had lost signal. I turned on another TV, hooked to a different antenna, and had the same freeze-frame. I then checked my signal strength, and saw it was still good. At that point I checked all four of them, and found that only the .1 was still broadcasting normally.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #9486 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 10:45 AM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
This is probably because WMYT is at significantly reduced power due to technical problems with their transmitter and antenna. It may be several days or weeks before it is repaired and they are back to full power for 55.
Might as well stay on 46.3 and upgrade to HD. 55 is probably spectrum bait anyway.

One person's craziness is another person's reality. - Tim Burton
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #9487 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 11:25 AM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
Question for Bob:

What was up with WCCB's sub-channels late last night? Right around midnight, they all froze, and stayed that way for quite a while. 18.1 was still fine. .2 appeared to be blank, and said "no signal" on the screen, even though my personal signal strength was still in the high 90's. .3 and .4 had a freeze-frame on the screen. I was watching Perry Mason on .3 when it froze, and I thought I had lost signal. I turned on another TV, hooked to a different antenna, and had the same freeze-frame. I then checked my signal strength, and saw it was still good. At that point I checked all four of them, and found that only the .1 was still broadcasting normally.

I saw that too.

I assumed it might be weather related, but their feed could have been at fault.
4:3 Toshiba is online now  
post #9488 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 11:39 AM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
If there was any calibration, then resetting it to initial conditions eliminated it. Sounds as if there was never a HW issue, but instead the issue was one caused by SW.

After experiencing my problem, I am beginning to wonder if faulty TV tuners are more to blame for bad picture quality than the display itself. Many have complained about displays made by third-party vendors, but it could have been the tuner instead.

I've seen VCR tuners and digital-to-analog cable converters that gave less than stellar viewing results regardless of connection type.
4:3 Toshiba is online now  
post #9489 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 11:56 AM
Member
 
brice52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Back when I had Dish, there were no sub-channels at all. Just the XX.1 of each station. When you connected an antenna to their receiver, some of the channels would show up with guide info in it's EPG, others did not have it.

They only method that I can think of that allows you to receive all the subchannels along with a EPG is to put up an antenna along with your own OTA DVR. (or TV if you are OK with the broadcast EIT)
I have dishnetwork 722k dvr with a two tuner OTA module installed and it shows epg with the exception of wpxu and wunm.
brice52 is offline  
post #9490 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 11:59 AM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone noticed that the on-screen channel guide for WCCB 18.4 (QVC) shows the programming line-up for MOVIES! on 46.2? Same line-up displays for both, on my Channelmaster DVR.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #9491 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
mcy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
This is probably because WMYT is at significantly reduced power due to technical problems with their transmitter and antenna. It may be several days or weeks before it is repaired and they are back to full power for 55.
You are correct:

http://www.myfoxcarolinas.com/story/...al-on-wjzy-463

I hope they leave it on there for my Dad who can't receive 55 that often, but I'm not holding my breath.
mcy919 is offline  
post #9492 of 9509 Old 02-26-2015, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
Has anyone noticed that the on-screen channel guide for WCCB 18.4 (QVC) shows the programming line-up for MOVIES! on 46.2? Same line-up displays for both, on my Channelmaster DVR.
That CM must be addled. The schedule is OK on my MythTV DVR.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #9493 of 9509 Old Yesterday, 07:47 AM
A J
Senior Member
 
A J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
Has anyone noticed that the on-screen channel guide for WCCB 18.4 (QVC) shows the programming line-up for MOVIES! on 46.2? Same line-up displays for both, on my Channelmaster DVR.
Not that way on my Channel Master DVR (CM-7000PAL). I unlocked 18.4 and checked the guide and it was all shopping. Then I locked out 18.4 again (not my cup of tea).
A J is offline  
post #9494 of 9509 Old Yesterday, 09:17 AM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by A J View Post
Not that way on my Channel Master DVR (CM-7000PAL). I unlocked 18.4 and checked the guide and it was all shopping. Then I locked out 18.4 again (not my cup of tea).
I believe they have since fixed it. I noticed it was this way for quite a while, though.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #9495 of 9509 Old Yesterday, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
I believe they have since fixed it. I noticed it was this way for quite a while, though.
There have been no other reports of issues with QVC guide data on 18.4 that we know of. It's a 3rd party service anyway.
Now the outage you mentioned the other night was due to snow fade (in the sky) and accumulation in the dishes.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!

Last edited by bdfox18doe; Yesterday at 09:53 AM.
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #9496 of 9509 Old Yesterday, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Looks like 55 may be back to full power as I am now getting 8 or 9 bars again.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9497 of 9509 Old Today, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Waxhaw NC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK, I am new to this board,so just let me know if I am posting this in the wrong place. I'm also new to OTA as I am tired of paying $70 per month for satellite service to watch a half dozen channels.

I just purchased a RCA ANT1750F amplified antenna and installed it high up in my vaulted ceiling. It's about 16 feet above ground. I'm picking up all the local channels I wanted to get except for channel 36 (WCNC), which is the channel we like to watch for the local news and weather.

I live a little south of Waxhaw NC and TV Fool reports that ch 36 is 42 miles away at 324 deg. However, ch 3 (WBTV) is 44 miles away, also at 324 deg and I get that station fine. I also get ch 10 (WIS) in Columbia SC which is 52 miles south of me. All these are in the yellow zone that should be receivable with an indoor antenna,

Whats the problem here? Does ch 36 just have a weaker signal than the other channels? Do I need a better antenna to pick up this station? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Dave
davebmck is online now  
post #9498 of 9509 Old Today, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebmck View Post
....
Whats the problem here? Does ch 36 just have a weaker signal than the other channels? Do I need a better antenna to pick up this station? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Dave
Most likely you need a better antenna. Those flat leaf style antennas have no real gain. The amplifiers don't serve much purpose since they don't put more signal on the antenna.

WCNC is more difficult to pickup and especially if you are 42 miles from the transmitter. I'd need to see your TV fool report to make a good recommendation, but if you can't do that, and you wish to stick with an indoor antenna, then look for a Winegard Freevision. (locally sold at Home Depot, don't confuse it with the flatwave) No guarantees on that, but it is a better antenna and does have directional gain.

I'm guessing however if you want reliable reception, you going to need a larger antenna than typically found indoors.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #9499 of 9509 Old Today, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 115
WCNC has a few nulls in there signal, whereas WBTV is more omnidirectional. The Freevision from Home Depot is a good antenna, but he may be better off with an HBU33, and there are good clearance prices at some Radioshack stores right now that are closing. But if space is a factor, then consider a Clearstream 4V or Clearstream 2V from Walmart or Best Buy. Although a bit pricey, they are good performers in a compact space. As for an amp, Home Depot now sells the Winegard LNA200 which is moderate gain and low noise. Should not need much of an amp as WSOC and WCCB should have strong nearby signals. And the Radioshack preamp is also on clearance and has adjustable gain.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9500 of 9509 Old Today, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Waxhaw NC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
I'd need to see your TV fool report to make a good recommendation.
If you can suggest how to post it, I will be happy to. I tried to copy it into a Word file, but it is too large to post.
davebmck is online now  
post #9501 of 9509 Old Today, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Waxhaw NC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
The Freevision from Home Depot is a good antenna, but he may be better off with an HBU33, and there are good clearance prices at some Radioshack stores right now that are closing. But if space is a factor, then consider a Clearstream 4V or Clearstream 2V from Walmart or Best Buy.
Looks like the HBU33 is an outdoor antenna and the Clearstream 4V is either indoor or outdoor. Are both of these directional? I kind of like the idea of the omni-directional as I have stations all around me. If I'm going outdoors, what would be the best omni-directional antenna?
davebmck is online now  
post #9502 of 9509 Old Today, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I think the Clearstream 4V is a bit more omnidirectional, especially if you remove the reflector screen. It should work for the Charlotte and Dallas towers.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9503 of 9509 Old Today, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebmck View Post
Looks like the HBU33 is an outdoor antenna and the Clearstream 4V is either indoor or outdoor. Are both of these directional? I kind of like the idea of the omni-directional as I have stations all around me. If I'm going outdoors, what would be the best omni-directional antenna?
Omnidirectional antennas, by definition, have no gain. You don't want this. The major deficiency of the CS4V, aside from cost & use of plastic, is that it is a UHF only antenna. . So this would rule out WTVI if you want to receive it. It is a PBS station, but it also has two good subchannels, MHZ & Create.

In regards to the TV Fool report, there is an option on the page where you generate it to create an anonymous link to the report. You just need to post the link here.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #9504 of 9509 Old Today, 06:44 PM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just who all broadcasts from the Dallas tower farm?

***********************

Does this forum cover weather radio signal reception for weather radios?

I have a fairly new Midland WR-120 weather radio, and I have seen times when I got no alert in spite of warnings scrolling across the TV. I've ruled out incorrect radio settings. My reception signal comes from Spencer Mountain.
4:3 Toshiba is online now  
post #9505 of 9509 Unread Today, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Waxhaw NC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i have to have at least 5 posts to include a link, so this is #4
davebmck is online now  
post #9506 of 9509 Unread Today, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Waxhaw NC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
#5
davebmck is online now  
post #9507 of 9509 Unread Today, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Waxhaw NC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
In regards to the TV Fool report, there is an option on the page where you generate it to create an anonymous link to the report. You just need to post the link here.
Here is the link: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0c23d16afc3

davebmck is online now  
post #9508 of 9509 Unread Today, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcat6 View Post
Omnidirectional antennas, by definition, have no gain. You don't want this. The major deficiency of the CS4V, aside from cost & use of plastic, is that it is a UHF only antenna. . So this would rule out WTVI if you want to receive it. It is a PBS station, but it also has two good subchannels, MHZ & Create.

In regards to the TV Fool report, there is an option on the page where you generate it to create an anonymous link to the report. You just need to post the link here.
They have upgraded the CS4 to CS4V with the VHF dipole. So he should be able to get WTVI. And there is metal inside the plastic circles. It is a good compact antenna. But a bit pricey.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9509 of 9509 Unread Today, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebmck View Post
That TV Fool report indicates that WCNC should be your strongest signal from Dallas. Unless you are in a null of some sort. And you should also get WIS and WOLO from Columbia. So you may want to consider an HBU33 or HBU55, especially if you can still find on clearance at a closing Radioshack. And their preamp is also on clearance and has adjustable gain, as you don't want much of a boost because the Charlotte signals are already strong.
tylerSC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off