Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 326 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 123Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9751 of 9765 Old 04-27-2015, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 118
WMYT Channel 55 is apparently off the air as they upgrade their antenna. They hope to be back on the air Tuesday afternoon and hopefully their signal will be improved, although I think they will remain at a lower power level. But I always got a strong signal from 55 despite the lower power.
tylerSC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9752 of 9765 Old 04-27-2015, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Spoke with WJZY/WMYT receptionist. They are definitely replacing the transmit antenna for Channel 55. Don't know if it will be positioned differently on the tower, but I guess it will still be side mounted. The old 46 analog antenna is still on top I think. Perhaps it will have a better pattern to reach problem areas around Hickory where there is interference from WHKY. Although 55 has a permit for a low power translator on Smith Mtn. to reach Catawba County. The new antenna should be up tomorrow afternoon. But meanwhile they still have 55 simulcast on 46.3.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9753 of 9765 Old 04-27-2015, 08:08 PM
Member
 
tesla_engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Spoke with WJZY/WMYT receptionist. They are definitely replacing the transmit antenna for Channel 55. Don't know if it will be positioned differently on the tower, but I guess it will still be side mounted. The old 46 analog antenna is still on top I think. Perhaps it will have a better pattern to reach problem areas around Hickory where there is interference from WHKY. Although 55 has a permit for a low power translator on Smith Mtn. to reach Catawba County. The new antenna should be up tomorrow afternoon. But meanwhile they still have 55 simulcast on 46.3.
My guess would be, they are installing a new antenna that would be a antenna just like the one they have now.
It should be the same place on the tower, same gain, same pattern.
There is no construction permit, also there is a freeze on TV construction that changes coverage at this time.
Also the CP for Hickory is on Baker Mt, not Smith Mt.

Tom
tesla_engineer is offline  
post #9754 of 9765 Old 04-27-2015, 09:49 PM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
WMYT has been operating under special temporary authority at reduced power due to failure of some critical parts. No construction permit is required for any work to restore the station to normal licensed operation.

Link to STA authorization (you may need to append ".pdf" to the file name if you choose to save it):
http://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/pro...etter_id=56921

Last edited by blackcap93; 04-27-2015 at 10:01 PM.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #9755 of 9765 Old 04-28-2015, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla_engineer View Post
My guess would be, they are installing a new antenna that would be a antenna just like the one they have now.
It should be the same place on the tower, same gain, same pattern.
There is no construction permit, also there is a freeze on TV construction that changes coverage at this time.
Also the CP for Hickory is on Baker Mt, not Smith Mt.
I can probably kiss WYFF reception good-bye!

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #9756 of 9765 Old 04-28-2015, 10:16 AM
Member
 
tesla_engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcap93 View Post
WMYT has been operating under special temporary authority at reduced power due to failure of some critical parts. No construction permit is required for any work to restore the station to normal licensed operation.

Link to STA authorization (you may need to append ".pdf" to the file name if you choose to save it):
http://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/pro...etter_id=56921
I was aware of the STA. That was my point. It has to be built back just like it was. No height change, no power change, no pattern change, no gain in coverage.

Tom
tesla_engineer is offline  
post #9757 of 9765 Old 04-28-2015, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla_engineer View Post
I was aware of the STA. That was my point. It has to be built back just like it was. No height change, no power change, no pattern change, no gain in coverage.
55 is back and a strong signal. Which I always find interesting as they are 225 kw power compared to WJZY and WBTV at 1000kw power. And the signal strength is basically the same with much less power. At my receiving location. WBTV is always 10 bars, WJZY and WMYT drop to 7 or 9 during the day and back to 10 at night.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9758 of 9765 Old 04-28-2015, 12:07 PM
Member
 
tesla_engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
55 is back and a strong signal. Which I always find interesting as they are 225 kw power compared to WJZY and WBTV at 1000kw power. And the signal strength is basically the same with much less power. At my receiving location. WBTV is always 10 bars, WJZY and WMYT drop to 7 or 9 during the day and back to 10 at night.
My guess is the your "Signal Meter" is reading more quality, not level.
Many of the ones I have looked at are that way. I have seen locations that lower signal levels did better, because of less reflections.(multipath)

Tom
tesla_engineer is offline  
post #9759 of 9765 Old 04-28-2015, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla_engineer View Post
My guess is the your "Signal Meter" is reading more quality, not level.
Many of the ones I have looked at are that way. I have seen locations that lower signal levels did better, because of less reflections.(multipath)
I notice WJZY's Sub channels is off only the .1 channel is on.
LMckin is offline  
post #9760 of 9765 Old 04-28-2015, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
I notice WJZY's Sub channels is off only the .1 channel is on.
Rescan they are back now.
tylerSC is online now  
post #9761 of 9765 Old 04-28-2015, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Rescan they are back now.
ok
LMckin is offline  
post #9762 of 9765 Old Yesterday, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm not sure if this is a promo plan or not, but right now TiVo is selling their Roamio OTA DVR's for $299 WITH Lifetime service included.

This unit is antenna only, but has four tuners... and the service, which is a huge deal. If you have reliable internet TiVo is the way to go, hands down.

The deal only shows using this URL: https://www.tivo.com/TLP4
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #9763 of 9765 Old Today, 05:15 AM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
I'm not sure if this is a promo plan or not, but right now TiVo is selling their Roamio OTA DVR's for $299 WITH Lifetime service included.

This unit is antenna only, but has four tuners... and the service, which is a huge deal. If you have reliable internet TiVo is the way to go, hands down.

The deal only shows using this URL: https://www.tivo.com/TLP4
My Sharp 70" smart TV will optionally connect to the internet, and has many of those same applications installed, but the internet is not required - you can choose to not use the internet features, and only use the over-the-air features. Could this Tivo work that way? I read your link, but can't tell.
OTA-DVR-guy is online now  
post #9764 of 9765 Old Today, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA-DVR-guy View Post
My Sharp 70" smart TV will optionally connect to the internet, and has many of those same applications installed, but the internet is not required - you can choose to not use the internet features, and only use the over-the-air features. Could this Tivo work that way? I read your link, but can't tell.
You can choose not use any of the apps, but the TiVo will need to download the guide data via an internet connection (but the newer Channel Master DVR does the same, unless you want to rely on the 24 hours or so of PSIP data. Several posts on TiVo community and TiVo forums reference people using hotspots. It isn't "recommended", but most say it works. You might want to search for some more definite threads there first. One that I found is here

This apparently is the best of many "test" offers TiVo is considering, or offering for the Roamio OTA model. A TiVo community poster uncovered the link. They apparently aren't public, and are just going out in e-mails or might become public later on. I did order one of these myself last night, and can confirm that it checks out at $299 and says that it includes lifetime service.

Since moving my Roamio basic to our bedroom and adding a CableCard I've found I occasionally missed being able to record something from the Charlotte OTA stations. I wasn't willing to buy a full blown second TiVo with Lifetime service, but this was reasonable enough to fit the bill.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #9765 of 9765 Old Today, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 118
That $299 promo is truly the best deal to date for an OTA DVR, especially a TiVo. The Channel Master DVR+ models are $249 and $399. So that TiVo deal is a happy medium worthy of consideration at this price point. Also, if you use a Gaffney zip code on the TiVo, you will get guide data for both Charlotte and Greenville-Spartanburg-Asheville markets, although Gaffney is officially GSP market. Which is good that TiVo goes by reception availability rather than DMA boundaries.
tylerSC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off