Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 330 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 127Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9871 of 9888 Old 07-10-2015, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
Very Nice News set.
That Facebook pic looks like the same set with a new paint job. Unless I am mistaken. But yes it looks very good.
tylerSC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9872 of 9888 Old 07-13-2015, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Look like WCNC change backdrop on their news studio look better.
tylerSC is offline  
post #9873 of 9888 Old 07-16-2015, 06:38 AM
Member
 
OTA-DVR-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Multi-Port Antenna

Do you know of a good antenna with multiple output ports on it? I have three coaxial cables running up my outside pole to two antennas that are aging and need to be replaced (one of the two antennas has an extra coax hooked to it by taping the connector to the post next to the existing output port, which interestingly seems to work fine signal-wise). But I would really like to get one good HD anteanna and hook all three to it. Using a three-way splitter off of one port isn't the preferred option, because all three cables are already split under the house (to the living room and to the bedroom), so splitting them at the antenna is something I would like to avoid.
OTA-DVR-guy is offline  
post #9874 of 9888 Old 07-19-2015, 03:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 123
I do not know of any antennas that have 3 output ports. Although some of the newer Winegard HD series with the balun box may have 2. But you probably just need a good 3-way splitter, or decide if you need a distribution amp instead. The Channel Master 4 port dist amp is a good choice. But you may have strong signals and an amp may not be necessary.
tylerSC is offline  
post #9875 of 9888 Old 07-19-2015, 02:24 PM
Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anybody know what 36.3 is going to be. There is signal but no video.
realoldman is online now  
post #9876 of 9888 Old 07-20-2015, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by realoldman View Post
Anybody know what 36.3 is going to be. There is signal but no video.
36.3 is apparently a new subchannel for WYFF-4. It is not WCNC, as the signal info says RF36 not RF22. They do not yet have video or mapping to 4.3. Don't know yet what programming it will be.
tylerSC is offline  
post #9877 of 9888 Old 07-20-2015, 09:46 PM
Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
36.3 is apparently a new subchannel for WYFF-4. It is not WCNC, as the signal info says RF36 not RF22. They do not yet have video or mapping to 4.3. Don't know yet what programming it will be.
Foumnd that out, WYFF has no comment.
realoldman is online now  
post #9878 of 9888 Old 07-21-2015, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by realoldman View Post
Foumnd that out, WYFF has no comment.

I received an email message from WYFF engineer when i sent an message to him ask him about it they was just running a 24 hr test just to see about possible add a 4.3 in the future

and there is No final decision has been made witch problem has come from the stations owners Hearst
LMckin is online now  
post #9879 of 9888 Old 07-21-2015, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
I received an email message from WYFF engineer when i sent an message to him ask him about it they was just running a 24 hr test just to see about possible add a 4.3 in the future

and there is No final decision has been made witch problem has come from the stations owners Hearst
Hearst may have plans for a future subchannel but they are not yet ready to officially announce.
tylerSC is offline  
post #9880 of 9888 Old 07-21-2015, 09:54 PM
Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Hearst may have plans for a future subchannel but they are not yet ready to officially announce.
11.3 has weather radar on now. Not fully working.
realoldman is online now  
post #9881 of 9888 Old 07-24-2015, 06:12 PM
Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
11.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by realoldman View Post
11.3 has weather radar on now. Not fully working.
Blank now
realoldman is online now  
post #9882 of 9888 Old Today, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pghsteelersfan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pghsteelersfan View Post
New to this forum, hoping someone local can confirm/help. In the last couple days, I have lost WCNC OTA on both Win HTPCs (despite full bars in the MCE Signal Meter) yet direct to TV, no problem and strong signal as well.

Anyone using windows media center and know how to fix the problem?

Thanks in advance!
Can someone with working reception of WCNC OTA use TSReader Lite or a similar tool to pull the "Program Association Table"? From similar stories online, I am seeing that the PSIP, ID, TVCT, etc. values may be different for 22.1 (aka 36.1) and 22.2 (36.2) and that apparently can hose WMC. I would like to have that data to confirm and to contact/forward to the WCNC engineers. The only solution seems to be fixing it at the transmitter.
I have not been able to get TSReader Lite to work with my Avermedia Tuner Cards.

Please help!
Need to ask for help again as it now appears that WTVI (PBS) has made some change in their tables. I am getting the same behavior in Windows Media Center as I did with WCNC when they messed up the TSID. No signal on WMC but crystal clear through TV only.

Could one of you helpful souls run TSReader for WTVI OTA and post the results? It does not work with my cards.

Thanks in advance!
pghsteelersfan is online now  
post #9883 of 9888 Old Today, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Hearst may have plans for a future subchannel but they are not yet ready to officially announce.
WYFF-4 has dropped Mobile DTV and was testing subchannel for future use, according to Engineer. But no plans at the moment.

But I am curious if any Charlotte stations have also dropped Mobile DTV, since it seems to waste bandwidth for a format that has not been widely adopted.
tylerSC is offline  
post #9884 of 9888 Old Today, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
WYFF-4 has dropped Mobile DTV and was testing subchannel for future use, according to Engineer. But no plans at the moment.

But I am curious if any Charlotte stations have also dropped Mobile DTV, since it seems to waste bandwidth for a format that has not been widely adopted.
WSOC and WAXN have removed there ATSC-MH signals back in May.

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #9885 of 9888 Old Today, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by pghsteelersfan View Post
Need to ask for help again as it now appears that WTVI (PBS) has made some change in their tables. I am getting the same behavior in Windows Media Center as I did with WCNC when they messed up the TSID. No signal on WMC but crystal clear through TV only.

Could one of you helpful souls run TSReader for WTVI OTA and post the results? It does not work with my cards.

Thanks in advance!
I have looked at WTVI with a TSR. Appears normal. What are you looking for specifically?

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #9886 of 9888 Old Today, 06:12 PM
Member
 
tesla_engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by pghsteelersfan View Post
Need to ask for help again as it now appears that WTVI (PBS) has made some change in their tables. I am getting the same behavior in Windows Media Center as I did with WCNC when they messed up the TSID. No signal on WMC but crystal clear through TV only.

Could one of you helpful souls run TSReader for WTVI OTA and post the results? It does not work with my cards.

Thanks in advance!
I have taken a look at the WTVI data stream. We see no problems with the feed. WHKY TV runs the translator on channel 14 at Hickory for WTVI. We monitor the stream 24 x 7. All errors in the stream the last 30 days, we know why they occurred. We have see nothing that would cause the problem you are seeing. The translator at Hickory uses the same stream that the main transmitter at Charlotte uses. The transmitter are connected by fiber.

Tom
tesla_engineer is online now  
post #9887 of 9888 Old Today, 06:17 PM
Member
 
tesla_engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
WYFF-4 has dropped Mobile DTV and was testing subchannel for future use, according to Engineer. But no plans at the moment.

But I am curious if any Charlotte stations have also dropped Mobile DTV, since it seems to waste bandwidth for a format that has not been widely adopted.
WHKY TV still runs about 900K of data that reports as "Mobile Data". WHKY uses this for timing/syncing between our two transmitter, on the same channel. We run no Mobile Programming, and with the current state of the art, have no plans to do so at this time. May rethink this with ATSC 3.0

Tom
tesla_engineer is online now  
post #9888 of 9888 Old Today, 07:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla_engineer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pghsteelersfan View Post
Need to ask for help again as it now appears that WTVI (PBS) has made some change in their tables. I am getting the same behavior in Windows Media Center as I did with WCNC when they messed up the TSID. No signal on WMC but crystal clear through TV only.

Could one of you helpful souls run TSReader for WTVI OTA and post the results? It does not work with my cards.

Thanks in advance!
I have taken a look at the WTVI data stream. We see no problems with the feed. WHKY TV runs the translator on channel 14 at Hickory for WTVI. We monitor the stream 24 x 7. All errors in the stream the last 30 days, we know why they occurred. We have see nothing that would cause the problem you are seeing. The translator at Hickory uses the same stream that the main transmitter at Charlotte uses. The transmitter are connected by fiber.
I don't know how to explain it, but both Media Center HTPCs have WTVI back online tonight, where neither had it earlier today (despite showing strong signals in MCE settings). Both TVs they are connected to showed strong signals and programming just fine. I was at work and made no updates or changes to ANYTHING (not even a reboot in between then and now)... Problem is solved but the mystery remains.

Thanks for replying so quickly!
pghsteelersfan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off