Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 79 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 43Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 8564 Old 12-01-2009, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
videoshade1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spockko View Post

can anyone tell my why wtvi-42.1 has such a terrible signal
I can never get it

Spockko,

Where in the Charlotte area are you located? WTVI does have a known issue with the signal in the Hickory area and is in the process of locating a translator in the area on CH14.
videoshade1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 8564 Old 12-01-2009, 09:14 PM
Newbie
 
videoshade1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by re_nelson View Post

Were the factors leading to WTVI's ERP of 2.2 kW (or 2.57 kW per the CP) limited to co-channel WTVD and WJHL?

Was channel 12 pursued since it seems to have fewer short-spacing concerns?

The power for WTVI is set to protect WTVD and WJHL as suspected. Ch12 was not considered viable due to WXII in Winston-Salem analog being on the air when the WTVI DTV transmitter was brought online. WTVI will be going on air with a new transmitter by the end of December at the latest with a power of 2.57KW.
videoshade1 is offline  
post #2343 of 8564 Old 12-07-2009, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
spockko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoshade1 View Post

Spockko,

Where in the Charlotte area are you located? WTVI does have a known issue with the signal in the Hickory area and is in the process of locating a translator in the area on CH14.

just south of southpark
spockko is offline  
post #2344 of 8564 Old 12-07-2009, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
re_nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoshade1 View Post

The power for WTVI is set to protect WTVD and WJHL as suspected. Ch12 was not considered viable due to WXII in Winston-Salem analog being on the air when the WTVI DTV transmitter was brought online. WTVI will be going on air with a new transmitter by the end of December at the latest with a power of 2.57KW.

That's an increase of 0.68 dB. Will that new xmtr really yield much bang for the buck?
re_nelson is online now  
post #2345 of 8564 Old 12-08-2009, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Dougbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spockko View Post

just south of southpark

I live two miles south of southpark. I live on the wrong side of a slope...not in the view...or line of signal...
I have trees and only see the sunrise about 20 minutes after the sunrise..

I have no trouble with OTA WTVI.

I do have a 1965 UHF-VHF-FM antennae. with rotor... I learned way back then....if you want off the air reception...you need an outdoor..antennae.

Things have not changed.

Rabbit ears did not work for me then...nor do any of the current indoor antennas. Location, location....

Comcast is thinking about not having TV stations.... going for cable.

Cable needs no license from the FCC to operate. No expensive transmitters...and the cost of operation and maintenance....
Is that the wave of the future?
Dougbell is offline  
post #2346 of 8564 Old 12-19-2009, 06:25 AM
A J
Senior Member
 
A J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Flipping through channels Friday night a little after 9 o'clock, I noticed that WMYT (55-1/-2/-3) were either off the air, or transmitting so weakly I couldn't get them (normally they peg my meter). A half hour later I rechecked and they still weren't there.

I assume that was weather related.

A J
A J is offline  
post #2347 of 8564 Old 12-19-2009, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WMYT was more or less normal for me when I checked it around 10:30 PM, and during my recording off it between midnight - 1 AM. The picture breaks up occasionally, but it's been doing that regularly since about Thanksgiving anyway. My fringe-signal reception tends to deteriorate during the winter, in general.
jtbell is offline  
post #2348 of 8564 Old 12-21-2009, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do unprotected TV transmitter antennas experience "reflected power" issues with icing and need to reduce power to protect the transmitter? I know FM antennas have these issues and I'm guessing TV behaves similarly. I was experiencing a weak WJZY signal on Friday sometimes flirting with the "cliff", while the other Charlotte stations were okay - WJZY is typically one of my stronger signals.

Eric
eacalhoun is offline  
post #2349 of 8564 Old 12-21-2009, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 68
yes, but most properly designed transmitter antenna installations have radomes and deicers to prevent that from occurrring. Most likely, the problem was ice on your receive antenna if outside..as they are affected in the same manner. And dependent upon the amount of ice, the frequency affected may vary. Ice on trees and buildings is also reflective, I have seen ghosts appear in analog signals
due to icing, and digital is affected the same way.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #2350 of 8564 Old 12-22-2009, 02:52 PM
 
Country_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is WHKY getting ready for the WTVI translator, or are they planning on having two crap channels now (14.1 and 14.2)?
Country_Boy is offline  
post #2351 of 8564 Old 12-22-2009, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
They're adding RTV to 14-2. I don't see what WTVI has to do with anything.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2352 of 8564 Old 12-22-2009, 10:35 PM
 
Country_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The fact that WTVI putting in a booster or something in Hickory, which has been discussed a few times on this board would mean that it has something to do with something now wouldn't it?

This is the first I have heard of RTV coming to Hickory. Anything is an improvement over Praise the Lord and buy this necklace crap that WHKY is known for.
Country_Boy is offline  
post #2353 of 8564 Old 12-23-2009, 06:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
WTVI has a CP to place a channel 14 translator on WHKY studio tower. WHKY adding a 14.2 channel has nothing to do with WTVI's translator. Its two separate things.

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #2354 of 8564 Old 12-23-2009, 10:32 AM
Member
 
moedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So RTN (Retro TV) is FINALLY coming to Charlotte. The bad news is it will be on WHKY, a channel I don't recieve. Why didn't some reputable station, such as WMYT (which annouced they were going with RTV years ago) get RTN? I would have thought WSOC or WAXN would have carried RTN since most, if not all, of the other Cox stations carry RTN.
moedog is offline  
post #2355 of 8564 Old 12-23-2009, 12:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Because RTV's technical quality is awful and very few reputable stations are willing to add it anymore.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2356 of 8564 Old 12-23-2009, 09:05 PM
 
Country_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theo1080 View Post

WTVI has a CP to place a channel 14 translator on WHKY studio tower. WHKY adding a 14.2 channel has nothing to do with WTVI's translator. Its two separate things.

Good. That will give me two more free channels. I have been cable free for a year now.
Country_Boy is offline  
post #2357 of 8564 Old 12-27-2009, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I noticed this morning that WHKY is now testing 14-2. It's running Jewelry TV with a crawl that says that RTV will start on or before January 1.
LL
jtbell is offline  
post #2358 of 8564 Old 12-27-2009, 05:12 PM
Member
 
CW Hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mount Airy,North Carolina
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I am new to the board. WHKY has got RTV on the air now.I am watching the "Rifleman". I am very pleased with how good it looks on my 24 year old Philco.
CW Hall is offline  
post #2359 of 8564 Old 12-30-2009, 11:24 PM
 
Country_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Retro TV programs on a retro TV. That's pretty good!

I just gave up my 17 year old RCA a couple months ago.

Kudos to WHKY for trying something different. I hope they get enough viewers to make it worth it for them.

I know that I have been watching it for the past few days! I love that old stuff. It's free from all the special effects that ruin today's programming.

On another note: Now I am hearing about how Broadcast TV will not be around in a few years. It seems a massive waste of money to do this digital thing if they are going to go to cable instead of over the air.
Country_Boy is offline  
post #2360 of 8564 Old 01-01-2010, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Grateful11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm glad I came over here, I don't think I even get RetroTV on TWC, Thanks I'll check it out.

Grateful11
Grateful11 is offline  
post #2361 of 8564 Old 01-14-2010, 12:09 PM
A J
Senior Member
 
A J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The PBS stations understood, right off the bat, about putting alternative programming on their -2 and -3 subchannels. The network and independent stations either have a useless 4:3 SD feed on -2, identical other than format to their -1 feed, or a dinky weather feed. Channel 55-3 does offer Word, but I doubt there's much interest in that (although, I watched the Lone Ranger until they dropped that).

Is anything new even rumored to be on the horizon for subchannels in Charlotte?

A J
A J is offline  
post #2362 of 8564 Old 01-14-2010, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
If the transmitter proofs out ok...WSOCTV1 from Crowder Mtn should be on the air by mid afternoon on Friday...RF Channel is 30. Any signal reports are welcome. WSOC will be in HD on stream 1, WAXN in 16x9 SD on stream 2

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #2363 of 8564 Old 01-15-2010, 12:07 PM
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Channel 30 is transmitting now, with logical channels 9.5 (WSOCTV1) and 64.5 (WAXNTV2). Channel 9.5 is working normally, but 64.5 has audio, but no watchable picture.
blackcap93 is online now  
post #2364 of 8564 Old 01-15-2010, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The transmitter at Shelby is on the air....I have a bad video encoder card for WAXNTV2. I will have one on Monday. ....WSOCTV1 (9.5) is ok and operating correctly.

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #2365 of 8564 Old 01-15-2010, 04:47 PM
Member
 
jmduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Statesville, NC
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up 9.5 a few minutes ago here on the north side of Statesville. It was coming in sporadically at between 10% and 40% on the signal meter. I can usually watch a channel if it's above 25%. I expect it to come in better later in the evening. Of course, I don't need this channel since I already get WSOC and WAXN out of both Hickory and Charlotte.

I guess this means I'll no longer get WAGT out of Augusta on good tropo nights.
jmduncan is offline  
post #2366 of 8564 Old 01-15-2010, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Zenith CECB picked up channel 30's PSIP data for 9-5 and 64-5, but wasn't quite able to decode a picture. I'm about 62 miles out. Long-distance reception in general was only moderately good tonight, though, and I have some co-channel interference from WAGT in Augusta. I'm optimistic that I'll actually be able to see something occasionally, on good nights.
jtbell is offline  
post #2367 of 8564 Old 01-16-2010, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbell View Post

I'm optimistic that I'll actually be able to see something occasionally, on good nights.

It happened sooner than I thought it would, this morning. RF 30 is coming in at around 61%, versus RF 34 at 88%, which is a level I get maybe once every couple of weeks.
LL
jtbell is offline  
post #2368 of 8564 Old 01-18-2010, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The vendor did not send me a new encoder today...but did sent a software fix for the card I have. I will install Tuesday morning...

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #2369 of 8564 Old 01-25-2010, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
After 3 visits from Harris..The power level issue for the Crowder Mtn translator has finally settled down. 9.5 is in HD with 5.1 audio. WAXN on 64.5 is still in bars as the encoder fix from Larcan, did not do the trick. I am working on it.

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
post #2370 of 8564 Old 01-26-2010, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
9.5 and 64.5 are both operation on Crowder...Please report any problems

Thanks

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD

Amateur Radio - W9SOC

Theo1080 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off