Taped in HD, but not aired - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-22-2001, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Homer J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's kick start this forum...


Why would a broadcaster (FOX comes to mind) tape a show in HiDef, but only broadcast it in 480p? Anyone??
Homer J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-22-2001, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
dagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They tape in HD so that if the show becomes popular and ends up in reruns in the future, they can be high quality HD reruns that people will watch as opposed to 4:3 NTSC reruns that will look like crap. They don't broadcast in HD now because that would require more satellite bandwidth and hence more $.

So . . . it all comes down to money. But remember . . . it is Show *business* not show friends. http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/wink.gif
dagman is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-22-2001, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
R8der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read something about it being easier and more cost effective to "edit" material shot with an HD cam. I think they are trying to upgrade on the production side of things, and hoping that those of us watching are content with 480p. Granted, 480p is worlds better than 480i, so at least they are doing that, but I'm hoping they'll eventually start broadcasting in 720p. At least this method gives them that option.

Chris
R8der is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-22-2001, 01:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
$$$$$$

Money (& probably only money) is the reason. It's cheaper to acquire on HD video tape, than to film and transfer to HD video tape.

------------------
"better living thru modern expensive electronics"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-22-2001, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
J_Nemeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Futureproofing programs seems to be the current trend. I just shot the aerial sequences for the movie "Trapped" which will air on USA Network sometime soon. We shot on Super35 with the groundglass marked for 1.78:1 HD with a 4:3 holdout in the middle. The finished film will get an HD transfer and be placed on the shelf. USA will air the SD version which is the 4:3 holdout extracted from the HD master.

It would have been cheaper to just do a Standard Definition telecine, but we composed the shots for both 1:78 and 4:3 so there will be both.

------------------
Jay

"Can I please just watch this the way it is supposed to be seen?"

Jay

"Can I please just watch this the way it was meant to be seen?"
J_Nemeth is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-23-2001, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave McRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Worth, FL, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox reckons they can get comparable quality to 35mm film by shooting in 720p/24 and save a ton of money.

------------------
HiDefDave

STOP HDCP!

HiDefDave

STOP HDCP!
Dave McRoy is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-24-2001, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Homer J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think anybody here has answered the question though. If it's shot in hi-def, why not just air it that way rather than downconvert it?
Homer J is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-24-2001, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Man E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: The Wilderness Near Hell
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If they are allowed to broadcast only 480p without being subjected to the wrath of the FCC or Congress, this leaves a huge digital data payload available for other profit-potential purposes. Broadcasting of the same 720p presentation significantly reduces this potential.



------------------
The button is labeled "Play", not "Pay". STOP the MPAA!
Our Silent Angels
Please visit The Manny Page!

HBO is guilty of Crimes Against Filmanity!

From Paragraph 44 of the 5th Report and Order: We note in this regard that broadcasters and networks have emphasized their commitment to high definition television.

Our Silent Angels Please visit The Manny Page!
Man E is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-27-2001, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edgewater, nj, usa
Posts: 3,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Homer,

Dagman answered your questions. He said it would be more bandwidth intensive on teh satellites which means more money. More money more problems (to borrow from Biggie).

------------------
STOP DVI/HDCP!!!!!

chap is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off