Gainesville, FL - HDTV - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 3461 Old 01-16-2007, 09:21 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have the email address for the Chief Engineer that you guys have been talking to? I would like to ask him about the progress they are making on HD OTA.
bowens21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 3461 Old 01-16-2007, 01:54 PM
Member
 
drewbrunelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the one I used was jjone925@foxtv.com but I was asked not to abuse it so please be polite
drewbrunelle is offline  
post #903 of 3461 Old 01-16-2007, 10:52 PM
Member
 
drewbrunelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
............if you hear anything back lemme know
drewbrunelle is offline  
post #904 of 3461 Old 01-17-2007, 07:24 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is what I got back from them. It was actually from the VP/GM Stan Knott.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOGX View Post

Dear Mr. Owens,



Thanks for your inquiry into HD at WOGX.



Our goal is to have the signal available by early February.





Stan Knott

VP/GM

It does look like they're trying to get it ready by the time Nascar starts. That is great. I normally don't watch a lot of FOX but with 24 and American Idol just starting, we will be watching it more often.
bowens21 is offline  
post #905 of 3461 Old 01-17-2007, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
desiguy2447's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Early Feb is good news.. Now lets see if WOGX meets this deadline. Did anyone also get a choppy signal from CBS 4 Gainesville last night? Was watching NCIS as usual in HD, but the signal was boucing all over the place!!
desiguy2447 is offline  
post #906 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
speedokdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a dish network customer who lost his Jax (WTLV) from E* after Dec 1 due to the court case. I applied to National Programming Service (mydistantnetworks(dot)com). According to DecisionMark, the company that runs the computer simulation and tells them what station to get a waiver from, I needed a waiver from WESH. NPS applied to WESH who of course denied it. I went to WTLV who faxed a waiver to NPS and mailed it to me. I called NPS and still they won't provide a signal. Big game of CYA. So, as far as I can tell, I'm out of options for getting NBC unless I bring in Cox. I'm off of 34th st near the Goodwill and Kangaroo. I haven't read of anyone having success OTA. Am I SOL? Suggestions?
speedokdf is offline  
post #907 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 11:04 AM
Member
 
kilobravo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
speedokdf...there is a very simple solution to your problem. You need to "move" to an address in Jax. All you do is call Dish network and tell them that you need to change your service address. Just pick an address in jax (movie theater, car dealership, etc...) and then make up a fake apartment number. Go to the dish website to verify that it is a valid system address, and assuming it is...call dish. Just let them know you need to change your service address, but leave the billing address and phone # the same. Also tell them that you have already installed the equipment at the new location and won't be needing any assistance from them. After you hang up, you will have your new networks in about 10 minutes. I've done this twice, and I now "live" in D.C. so that I can get all 4 networks in HD.
kilobravo3 is offline  
post #908 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
desiguy2447's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the same boat. I use to get NBC from NYC as Gainesville has no local NBC. Shortly after Dish Network lost the court battles my NYC CBS (which I had a waiver before CBS 4 was even in Gainesville), and I had NBC from NYC for almost 8 years.. Like you I went to the NPS, and the site claims I need a waiver for NBC for which I have not bothered to sign up with NPS because I knew the waiver would get rejected because WESH NBC Orlando would not even read the waiver to see that I am in Gainesville. As for OTA no luck in getting JAX NBC.. I would imagine if you bought an OTA and mounted it outside and had it raised at some odd height in the air you would pick up NBC Jax, and other JAX locals.
desiguy2447 is offline  
post #909 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
desiguy2447's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the info seems I'll have to give that a try to get the four locals from JAX in HD!!
desiguy2447 is offline  
post #910 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
desiguy2447's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Direct TV nor Dish carry JAX locals in HD.. Seems u'll have to give an Orlando service Address to get locals in HD by Dish unless u have an ota for Gainesville HD minus NBC and dread WOGX (FOX).

Never mind only Direct has Orlando locals in HD..

Currenly only watching CBS on a regular basis <- and my OTA works well for the HD signal for the most part!! ->
desiguy2447 is offline  
post #911 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 11:18 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Trenton and lost my NBC from E*. I really don't watch much NBC so I didn't reorder it, but my parents and in-laws called NPS and had it turned on within a few minutes. If you want NBC but don't want to get all of your locals from Jax like you would if you "moved" there, then just "move" to Trenton and get Gainesville locals plus NBC.
bowens21 is offline  
post #912 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 11:20 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiguy2447 View Post

Direct TV nor Dish carry JAX locals in HD.. Seems u'll have to give an Orlando service Address to get locals in HD by Dish unless u have an ota for Gainesville HD minus NBC and dread WOGX (FOX).

Dish doesn't offer locals in HD in Jax or Orlando. The only FL city they offer is Miami and I have heard that people here have tried to "move" to Miami with no success. We are just out of the spotbeam. I know DirecTV offers Orlando HD locals so you could "move" to Ocala or Orlando. I think Ocala is considered part of the Orlando DMA so you would qualify for Orlando locals.
bowens21 is offline  
post #913 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 11:22 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I just checked and "moving" to Ocala with DirecTV will get you Orlando locals in HD.
http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/packPr...assetId=900018

Just use zip code 34483 for Ocala.
bowens21 is offline  
post #914 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
speedokdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As for "moving", with respect to dish, what about needing the receiver plugged into the phone line. I guess that doesn't give you away?
speedokdf is offline  
post #915 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 12:13 PM
Member
 
kilobravo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hasn't been a problem for me. Apparently, the only thing they care about is that the phone number on your account matches the phone number the receiver is calling from. And, when you consider that people do use VOIP and can have any area code they want, it makes sense. I "moved" to Jax originally after 12/1 to get NBC. But, I "moved" to DC before the BCS champ game. It takes about 5 minutes. Good luck.
kilobravo3 is offline  
post #916 of 3461 Old 01-18-2007, 02:21 PM
Member
 
drewbrunelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if you can hook a directv receiver up to your internet connection instead of the phone line? I gave up my landline years ago.
drewbrunelle is offline  
post #917 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 06:13 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think WOGX may have been doing some testing Friday night. Did anyone notice anything strange? I turned it on and there was no sound and no picture but I checked the signal strength and had very strong signal. A little while later I checked it again and the picture and sound was back. Then later it was gone again still with strong signal. I think we are getting close to finally getting FOX in HD!
bowens21 is offline  
post #918 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 06:16 AM
Member
 
G8rfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a rather optimistic view! Another possibility is that their systems were going down intermittently due to nothing other than suckness.
G8rfreak is offline  
post #919 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 06:46 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by G8rfreak View Post

That's a rather optimistic view! Another possibility is that their systems were going down intermittently due to nothing other than suckness.

That's true, but I had just gotten an email (see a few posts up) from they're station manager a few days ago that said they were working on it and it should be working by early Feb.
bowens21 is offline  
post #920 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 12:15 PM
Member
 
GatorMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Dish VIP 622 and a square shooter antenna for local OTA. I get about a 74% signal from WOGX, but the 622 will never lock on. My signals for WCJB and WGFL are in the 90's and they lock on just fine.

Anyone else able to get Fox to lock on with the Dish 622? If so what signal strength are you getting?

Many thanks.

Mike
GatorMike is offline  
post #921 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 12:22 PM
Member
 
kilobravo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,

I'm in the same boat as you. I'm right about the mid 70s for signal strength, but it won't lock. I read in some other forums that the vip622 is very picky when it comes to the PSIP data transmitted by the station. Apparently there is something wrong with WOGX's signal. I wasn't too worried about it because I figured it would get fixed once they got the HD signal up and running. Guess only time will tell.
kilobravo3 is offline  
post #922 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 12:37 PM
Member
 
GatorMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilobravo3 View Post

Mike,

I'm in the same boat as you. I'm right about the mid 70s for signal strength, but it won't lock. I read in some other forums that the vip622 is very picky when it comes to the PSIP data transmitted by the station. Apparently there is something wrong with WOGX's signal. I wasn't too worried about it because I figured it would get fixed once they got the HD signal up and running. Guess only time will tell.

thanks for the info kilobravo.

I'm with you, I hope they fix everything when they get the HD signal up. I guess I'm being REALLY optimistic. Wife and I watch 24 and American Idol so that would be great to get it in HD.
GatorMike is offline  
post #923 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 12:39 PM
Member
 
kilobravo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well...if you can't wait until Feb (best case I think for WOGX), you can always do what I did and "move" to an address in Washington, DC. I get all 4 nets in HD now, but I don't get FSN and Sunshine so I miss out on some gator bball. If WOGX goes HD, I will move back so I can get those channels again as I don't care about many shows on NBC.
kilobravo3 is offline  
post #924 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 01:47 PM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GatorMike View Post

I have a Dish VIP 622 and a square shooter antenna for local OTA. I get about a 74% signal from WOGX, but the 622 will never lock on. My signals for WCJB and WGFL are in the 90's and they lock on just fine.

Anyone else able to get Fox to lock on with the Dish 622? If so what signal strength are you getting?

Many thanks.

Mike

I have a 211 and mine is the same way. Signal in the 70's but it won't lock. It would back when I had my 811 but hasn't ever since I got my 211. Luckily I have an digital tuner in my tv so I can just flip over to that for FOX.
bowens21 is offline  
post #925 of 3461 Old 01-22-2007, 02:56 PM
Member
 
GatorMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowens21 View Post

I have a 211 and mine is the same way. Signal in the 70's but it won't lock. It would back when I had my 811 but hasn't ever since I got my 211. Luckily I have an digital tuner in my tv so I can just flip over to that for FOX.

Hey bowens21, that's a good idea. Do you just split your antenna signal between your TV and your SAT receiver? I could probably do that until WOGX gets with it...
GatorMike is offline  
post #926 of 3461 Old 01-23-2007, 06:03 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GatorMike View Post

Hey bowens21, that's a good idea. Do you just split your antenna signal between your TV and your SAT receiver? I could probably do that until WOGX gets with it...


Yeah, I just put a splitter right behind the tv so if my 211 starts to act up at all with the weather and everything I can just change inputs on my tv and still watch some good HD programming. Well, not on FOX but from ABC, CBS and PBS.
bowens21 is offline  
post #927 of 3461 Old 01-23-2007, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
desiguy2447's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DISH VIP211 and same thing here WOGX won't lock. Like everyone else with the 211 and 622 all the other channels are fine in the upper 90's to 100%, with my 811 I was able to lock in WOGX at 70 to 75%.
desiguy2447 is offline  
post #928 of 3461 Old 01-24-2007, 12:45 PM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys see Dish just uplinked the guide info for MYTV 28.2 and the 2 PBS subchannels. I like some programming on PBS HD but I never watch it because I didn't have any guide info.

Here's the uplink report.
http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=87646
bowens21 is offline  
post #929 of 3461 Old 01-24-2007, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
forget_f1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I have a quick question for you. I am planning to drop Cox and go OTA, but I don't know what antenna to get (and a bit confused). I went to antennaweb and this is my info

* yellow - uhf WGFL-DT 28.1 CBS HIGH SPRINGS FL 257° 13.3 28
* yellow - uhf WUFT-DT 36.1 PBS GAINESVILLE FL 312° 2.5 36
* yellow - uhf WCJB-DT 20.1 ABC GAINESVILLE FL 197° 10.7 16
* green - uhf WOGX-DT 51.1 FOX OCALA FL 179° 22.7 31

Note the compass orientation. So a multi-directional DB4 antenna with a 90° width won't cover my 133° range (312°-179°). I am afraid of ghosting from an omnidirectional antenna so I am thinking of a directional antenna with a motor or the all in one AntennaCraft 5MS9000 Directional HDTV/VHF/UHF Amplified, Indoor/Outdoor Antenna with Internal Rotator.

As a second question will I able to get ABC, CW, CBS, My Network, PBS - WUFT, FOX, and do only CBS,ABC,WUFT broadcast in HD (and soon FOX)?

Thanks for taking the time to read.
forget_f1 is offline  
post #930 of 3461 Old 01-25-2007, 06:12 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by forget_f1 View Post

Hey guys, I have a quick question for you. I am planning to drop Cox and go OTA, but I don't know what antenna to get (and a bit confused). I went to antennaweb and this is my info

* yellow - uhf WGFL-DT 28.1 CBS HIGH SPRINGS FL 257° 13.3 28
* yellow - uhf WUFT-DT 36.1 PBS GAINESVILLE FL 312° 2.5 36
* yellow - uhf WCJB-DT 20.1 ABC GAINESVILLE FL 197° 10.7 16
* green - uhf WOGX-DT 51.1 FOX OCALA FL 179° 22.7 31

Note the compass orientation. So a multi-directional DB4 antenna with a 90° width won't cover my 133° range (312°-179°). I am afraid of ghosting from an omnidirectional antenna so I am thinking of a directional antenna with a motor or the all in one AntennaCraft 5MS9000 Directional HDTV/VHF/UHF Amplified, Indoor/Outdoor Antenna with Internal Rotator.

As a second question will I able to get ABC, CW, CBS, My Network, PBS - WUFT, FOX, and do only CBS,ABC,WUFT broadcast in HD (and soon FOX)?

Thanks for taking the time to read.

I would definitely get something with a rotator. You're not very far from all of your stations so you won't need a real powerful one. I'm about 30 miles away from Gainesville and I use a CM4228 by channel master. It picks up all of the stations very well.

Yes you will get all of those channels listed if you have a digital tuner. Are you getting satellite or just going to use OTA? If you just use OTA do you have a built in digital tuner in your tv? If not you will need to buy a digital set top box. CBS, ABC, and PSB are the only ones broadcasting in HD right now (hopefully FOX within the next couple weeks). CW is a subchannel of ABC. It will show up as 20.2. MYTV is a subchannel of CBS. It will be 28.2. PBS has 2 subchannels. 36.1 is their normal channel 5 programming non-hd, 36.2 is their national HD feed, and 36.3 is an educational pbs channel.
bowens21 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off