Gainesville, FL - HDTV - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 3461 Old 02-09-2007, 05:35 AM
Member
 
waldogatr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, the Bud Shootout is tomorrow night, on FOX, and after all this time WOGX is SD only.
waldogatr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 3461 Old 02-09-2007, 06:46 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, really. They told me "early Feb" but then they had a problem with their digital signal so maybe that put them behind. Hopefully they'll get it up before to long.
bowens21 is offline  
post #993 of 3461 Old 02-10-2007, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Snarler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowens21 View Post

Yeah, really. They told me "early Feb" but then they had a problem with their digital signal so maybe that put them behind. Hopefully they'll get it up before to long.

I wouldn't worry about it. Earlier in the thread someone indicated we have all sorts of choices so surely you have another way of seeing any broadcast on Fox you want in HD right?
Snarler is offline  
post #994 of 3461 Old 02-11-2007, 07:11 PM
Member
 
drewbrunelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah there arent many alternatives when you live in a condo not facing the direction you need to be to get directv
drewbrunelle is offline  
post #995 of 3461 Old 02-13-2007, 12:16 PM
Member
 
JustinBbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spoke with a Cox technician yesterday, told me Fox is working on it and it is expected this quarter or early next quarter. He also told me that video on demand is coming during that time frame as well.
JustinBbad is offline  
post #996 of 3461 Old 02-13-2007, 12:35 PM
Member
 
G8rfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinBbad View Post

Spoke with a Cox technician yesterday, told me Fox is working on it and it is expected this quarter or early next quarter. He also told me that video on demand is coming during that time frame as well.

Can't help but laugh. Their dates keep moving further and further away. We'll all have UltraHD TVs by the time WOGX gets to HD.
G8rfreak is offline  
post #997 of 3461 Old 02-13-2007, 02:32 PM
Member
 
drewbrunelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
exactly, I'll believe it when I see it. Their word has no value anymore... (still upset about the national championship game)
drewbrunelle is offline  
post #998 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 07:07 AM
Newbie
 
cmmillionaire69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox cable has Fox HD up on channel 723 however I am only getting a black screen at the moment.
cmmillionaire69 is offline  
post #999 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 07:56 AM
Member
 
GatorMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What???

Good news if it's true. Can anyone else confirm. I'm at work
GatorMike is offline  
post #1000 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 07:59 AM
Member
 
G8rfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my wife to check at home. She said a non-HD morning show was on 723. It's Fox though. Probably just a show that isn't filmed in HD. Seems like we've got it now.
G8rfreak is offline  
post #1001 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 08:27 AM
Member
 
kahleds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if WOGX is also broadcasting HD OTA?
kahleds is offline  
post #1002 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 10:36 AM
Member
 
pinbwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by G8rfreak View Post

I got my wife to check at home. She said a non-HD morning show was on 723. It's Fox though. Probably just a show that isn't filmed in HD. Seems like we've got it now.

I concur! 723 is indeed showing in HD now on COX cable. All of the their afternoon shows are only in SD, but I expect all of the primetime programming will be HD! Friday morning/afternoon was the first time I noticed it on COX. FoxHD wasn't up Thursday.

I tried flipping around on the antennae, but I cannot pick up Fox OTA. So I guess FOX-OCALA came through to their promise for NASCAR(Daytona500) on Sunday 2pm-7:30pm.
But I'm not much of a racing fan, just the TV shows...24, House, and The OC. So everything else will be bonus! Maybe we'll actually begin watching more of Fox's shows.

COX cable now has 12 total HD channels offered. Hopefully we'll see WB and NBC added to their HD-lineup in the next year or 2......one can only hope......
pinbwiz is offline  
post #1003 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 11:03 AM
Member
 
jalapeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unbelievable, we actually got another HD channel. I guess I better start watching NASCAR, because we never would have gotten this channel without them. Better late than never, I guess. Too bad Cox's HD service in G'ville is still lacking compared to other markets our size.
jalapeno is offline  
post #1004 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 01:14 PM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm if it is available in HD OTA? I don't live in Gainesville so I can't get Cox cable. I live out in Trenton and have been waiting to have FOX HD for years. I'll be home in 45 minutes. I sure hope it's HD when I get home. I don't care much for Nascar but I love 24 and my wife watches American Idol. This is great!
bowens21 is offline  
post #1005 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
ateVSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kahleds View Post

Does anybody know if WOGX is also broadcasting HD OTA?

WOGX HD OTA is not yet available.

So kudos to Cox for making this happen with their direct fiber feed from the WOGX studios. BTW, that was in place before the BCS. Gotta give Cox credit when due, especially on this forum...
ateVSB is offline  
post #1006 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 06:19 PM
Member
 
UForgotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: N Florida
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can also confirm that it is HD via Cox, but not OTA yet.
I agree that it sucks they didn't have this done 2 months ago, but at least it's up and running now.

SA 8300HD PVR w/ SARA 1.88.19.1 Provider: Cox NCF.
UForgotten is offline  
post #1007 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 06:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know which RF (physical) channel FoxHD is using on Cox? I can't enter the virtual channel (723) on my MyHD card. I have to either find it by channel scan, which it didn't, or add the correct RF channel number.

Anybody else here using a PC for Cox HD?

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #1008 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 07:26 PM
Member
 
jhoov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another confirmation that 723 is Fox working in HD. Wow, it is about damn time. Too bad that they couldn't get their **** together in time for the big game.
jhoov is offline  
post #1009 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 09:04 PM
Member
 
sj41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoov View Post

Another confirmation that 723 is Fox working in HD. Wow, it is about damn time. Too bad that they couldn't get their **** together in time for the big game.

Yup FINALLY. At least I can finish 24 in HD now
sj41 is offline  
post #1010 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 09:19 PM
Newbie
 
ateVSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trbarry View Post

Does anyone know which RF (physical) channel FoxHD is using on Cox?

567 MHz; I think that's EIA 81.
ateVSB is offline  
post #1011 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 09:40 PM
Newbie
 
ateVSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderbender55 View Post

What I find unbelievable is that in America, the land of the free, we are not allowed to purchase any HD network program [...]
I think if we were allowed choices, the local cable companies and local stations would get on the ball very quickly.

The fact that you don't have choice over which "local" stations to view -- with both satellite and cable -- should tell you about where the problem is (hint: it's the broadcasters).
ateVSB is offline  
post #1012 of 3461 Old 02-16-2007, 10:03 PM
Newbie
 
ateVSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Shorts View Post

I will have to disagree with the logic that Cox should be able to resell "Free" signals to it's subscribers. Cable companies make on average $50.00 pers subscriber [...]

Whoa -- you are comparing apples to oranges. Cable provides the broadcast channels on their most basic tier ($11/month for Cox in our area, 22 channels). $50/month is for additional tiers with many more channels. That $11/month is federally (?) regulated by the way and really just represents the value of the "community antenna" (you know, the CA in CATV). Not having to use OTA and funky antennae is worth $11/month. So you're not paying for the programming, but for the convenience of the community antenna.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Shorts View Post

[...] if cable sells local advertising then cable services should pay for the signals that they re-distribute from their competitors.

I don't think cable inserts ads on the broadcast channels (or vice versa), so you can't equate them. If anything, cable is HELPING the broadcasters by distributing their product without charge -- more eyeballs watching the ads is a good thing for the broadcaster and advertiser. I think only 10% of viewers watch broadcast OTA. That's the reality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Shorts View Post

I don't believe anyone should be making money off of the "Free" signals the TV stations provide[...]

Hmm, so broadcasters should get a cut from antenna sales at Best Buy? TV makers? Again, with the increased distribution of the ads, there is actually value to the broadcaster. Arguably, without this increased distribution, they'd be out of business.
ateVSB is offline  
post #1013 of 3461 Old 02-17-2007, 09:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ateVSB View Post

567 MHz; I think that's EIA 81.

ateVSB -

Thanks, got it now. I hadn't noticed it before because it's just another sub-channel on the same RF channel as PBS HD on Cox, really 81-4 as my MyHD card sees it.

Now if we can only manage to get CW and NBC in HD. I've only recently moved here and sort of miss having Veronica Mars, Smallville, Supernatural, Heroes, and Medium in HD. That's a good percentage of my TV watching that I instead still have to download if I want video quality (missing all local commercials).

The CW especially makes me wonder since the local ABC station is sending it as an OTA sub-channel. This means WCJB obviously has the local rights to it, at least in SDTV. Now there maybe wouldn't be enough bandwidth to send the CW in HD over the air on that same channel. But since the station has local rights to the feed maybe they could pass the CW HD feed to Cox anyway, assuming they have a spare HD encoder around.

Maybe WCJB and Cox can be convinced to do this if there is good response to the Fox HD on cable now. After all, most people watch over cable these days and more eyeballs means more ad revenue.

Anyway, kudos & props to the Fox, WOGA, & Cox guys for the new HD!

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #1014 of 3461 Old 02-17-2007, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
staceyeileen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apologies if this is mentioned elsewhere in this thread. I have only read through about half of it.

I am currently getting Cox HD using my QAM tuner. I'm getting PBS on 81.1, Fox on 81.2 ABC on 100.1, and CBS on 100.2. Is that everything I should be getting or am I missing any channels? Up until yesterday or today I was getting these channel (sans Fox) on the virtual channels (720/728/729) but now I'm not for some reason...
staceyeileen is offline  
post #1015 of 3461 Old 02-17-2007, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
bradh352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears PSIP/channelname information is no longer showing up for QAM on COX. This may be a temporary thing, I'm not sure. Also, doing a channel scan is not currently auto-detecting the VideoID for WOGX, not sure why, but manually setting it works for me. Anyone interested in a current channels.conf format for local Gainesville stations (can be imported into mythtv or similar), here it is:
Quote:
#ChannelName:Frequency:Modulation:VID:AID:PID
WUFTH:567000000:QAM_256:64:65:102
WOGXH:567000000:QAM_256:73:74:103
WCJBH:651000000:QAM_256:64:65:2
WGFHD:651000000:QAM_256:66:67:1
WRUF:717000000:QAM_256:225:226:8
GOVN:723000000:QAM_256:145:146:6

bradh352 is offline  
post #1016 of 3461 Old 02-17-2007, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by staceyeileen View Post

Apologies if this is mentioned elsewhere in this thread. I have only read through about half of it.

I am currently getting Cox HD using my QAM tuner. I'm getting PBS on 81.1, Fox on 81.2 ABC on 100.1, and CBS on 100.2. Is that everything I should be getting or am I missing any channels? Up until yesterday or today I was getting these channel (sans Fox) on the virtual channels (720/728/729) but now I'm not for some reason...

I think the sub-channel numbering changes depends upon the card, and what it finds. But I currently seem to get:

81-1&2 (can't get, probably encrypted)
81-3 PBS HD
81-4 Fox HD
100-1 CBS HD
100-2 ABC HD

I don't know of any other HD channels. I can also get some sort of 480i SDTV digital NBATV channel on 91-1 but I'm not much of a sports fan and don't know what that is. I think most other Cox digital channels are encrypted and I can't receive them with my MyHD or Dvico F3Q cards.

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #1017 of 3461 Old 02-18-2007, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
ivories13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey - I'm getting cox using my QAM filter - I can't get the FOX signal for some reason. I get CBS and ABC - anyone else having this problem?
ivories13 is offline  
post #1018 of 3461 Old 02-18-2007, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
ivories13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry - disregard last message - I finally found FOX HD - my QAM filter has it has 81-103 - thanks for the heads up everyone!
ivories13 is offline  
post #1019 of 3461 Old 02-18-2007, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
cac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradh352 View Post

It appears PSIP/channelname information is no longer showing up for QAM on COX. This may be a temporary thing, I'm not sure. Also, doing a channel scan is not currently auto-detecting the VideoID for WOGX, not sure why, but manually setting it works for me. Anyone interested in a current channels.conf format for local Gainesville stations (can be imported into mythtv or similar), here it is:

I just tried your channels.conf list and it looks good but wcjb and wgfh are reversed. I'm in Ocala but I wouldn't think that would affect frequencies.

I didn't get anything on the wruf entry, isnt that a radio station? What are you getting there?

I've been manually going through a channels.conf tuning each entry to see if anything is there and I've found a few other items. I've found 3 music choice channels, all metal. They don't seem to tune right so they may be subchannels, if that's possible.

METAL1:585000000:QAM_256:0:79:7
METAL2:579000000:QAM_256:149:152:26
METAL:579000000:QAM_256:81:82:18

I've also found 6 pbs feeds so far, but I'm not bothering to post them since wufth is one of them and they all have exactly the same thing. I've found another Fox51, again tuning difficulties on it.

WOGXH:567000000:QAM_256:64:65:103

and ota:
WOGX_DT:575028615:8VSB:49:52:3

I'd appreciate if someone else in Ocala or Gainesville could try these and let me know what you get. I've got a long list left to try, when I scanned for channels I ended up with 239 entries, only 1 of which had a name and most of which aren't streaming anything. I'm still hoping to find wesh.
cac67 is offline  
post #1020 of 3461 Old 02-19-2007, 05:18 AM
Member
 
bowens21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea when WOGX HD will be available OTA? I sent an email to the station Friday but haven't heard anything back yet. Hopefully it will be soon. It doesn't seem like they would have that much more work to do. Just get the signal to the tower.
bowens21 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off