Palm Springs, CA - HDTV - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 264 Old 09-28-2008, 06:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
KPSE-LP is a low-powered station. If KVMD-DT is granted a move to channel 50, KPSE-LP would be obligated to move.

KVMD-DT wants to move to 50 because it's the only channel available in the Los Angeles DMA. I think they want to move their transmitter even further west and boost power to 500 kW. (Honestly, I wish KCET-DT had applied for channel 50 so they could boost their power way up, but that's not the way it worked out I guess...)

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 264 Old 09-28-2008, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwise96557 View Post

For an interesting read on the over the air transition on the Palm Springs stations go to KESQ.com and check out the Bob's Blog portion on their web site.

Thanks for the tip. It is interesting reading.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #123 of 264 Old 09-29-2008, 01:00 AM
Newbie
 
gwise96557's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Trip. I agree with you about KCET, Maybe since KMIR owns KPSE they may just save the money and put it on A sub channel, like KESQ has done with KDFX, KCWQ, KUNA and get a greater Coverage area than they would as a low power station. That looks to be a going thing in the smaller markets. Time will tell and the great digital soap opera continues at least for another few months
gwise96557 is offline  
post #124 of 264 Old 09-30-2008, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
clapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Palm Desert, Ca.
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
"For an interesting read on the over the air transition on the Palm Springs stations go to KESQ.com and check out the Bob's Blog portion on their web site. "

I tried the web page and did a search for "bob's blog"; but couldn't find anything about OTA.

Red
clapple is offline  
post #125 of 264 Old 09-30-2008, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by clapple View Post

"For an interesting read on the over the air transition on the Palm Springs stations go to KESQ.com and check out the Bob's Blog portion on their web site. "

I tried the web page and did a search for "bob's blog"; but couldn't find anything about OTA.

http://www.kesq.com/Global/link.asp?...v=menu191_11_7

Here you go.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #126 of 264 Old 10-01-2008, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
clapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Palm Desert, Ca.
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got it. Thanks.

Red
clapple is offline  
post #127 of 264 Old 11-07-2008, 03:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
According to a Time Warner e-mail sent out today, we have the following new HD channels in TW Desert Cities.

Cinemax HD - 624
Palladia HD- 636
TLC HD - 641
Weaselboy is offline  
post #128 of 264 Old 11-07-2008, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I mentioned on the Time Warner Cable thread in the HDTV Programming Forum, I more concerned about what's going to happen to FSN HD broadcasts when MOJO shuts down later this year. Of course, I can hope that it will be replaced by a full-time FSN HD channel, but we're really going to need at least two channels to broadcast all the FSN HD games that will be being broadcast in the not-to-distant future.
dennis1 is offline  
post #129 of 264 Old 11-21-2008, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently, Time Warner has sneaked Disney HD into its lineup (ch. 659). At least, I don't remember it being there before, and now it's there. I haven't seen any notice by TW about the addition.
dennis1 is offline  
post #130 of 264 Old 11-22-2008, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17


I saw this on the TWDC page... so looks like we are getting more channels.

Science channel HD is also now in the guide.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #131 of 264 Old 11-22-2008, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, nice find there.

I see that the Hallmark Movie Channel HD is also up and running.

Although I have to question the fact that Hallmark and Science are stuck up at the top of the 600's, separated from the other HD channels by the Hispanic digital tier "Nuestra Tele". Who'd be looking for them up there? No sé.
dennis1 is offline  
post #132 of 264 Old 11-23-2008, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I thought that channel assignment was odd also.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #133 of 264 Old 12-01-2008, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that MOJO is gone from the TW lineup, does anyone know what TW has decided to do concerning FSN HD broadcasts (which have, up to this point, shown up on MOJO)? Will they be adding FSN HD soon, or are we out of luck for the foreseeable future?

I suppose someone could call customer-no-service and ask them, but based on much prior experience with asking them such questions, I think that that would be an exercise in futility. They always seem to be clueless on such matters.
dennis1 is offline  
post #134 of 264 Old 12-02-2008, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I noticed on the San Diego forum they got MGM HD to replace, MOJO.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #135 of 264 Old 12-02-2008, 12:26 PM
Member
 
zootid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Fernando Valley, Los Angeles
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know of an independent satellite dish installer in the desert ? please PM me if so. thanks
zootid is offline  
post #136 of 264 Old 12-05-2008, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Looks like we got a new version of Navigator 3.1.0_11 dated 11/26/2008 last night on our SA8300HDC DVR boxes.

Also noticed new HD channels FoodTV, Fox Sports, and HGTV in the guide, but the channels do not appear to be active yet.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #137 of 264 Old 12-05-2008, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post

Looks like we got a new version of Navigator 3.1.0_11 dated 11/26/2008 last night on our SA8300HDC DVR boxes.

Also noticed new HD channels FoodTV, Fox Sports, and HGTV in the guide, but the channels do not appear to be active yet.

They're now active (although FSN HD just has a test pattern, since there isn't any FSN HD programming available at this time. Next chances for a test: Saturday 12/6 @ noon--college football--Washington at Cal; and Sunday 12/7 @ 6:30--Lakers/Bucks).

This is definitely good news. Of course, this doesn't answer the question of whether there'll eventually be two channels, one for FSN West and FSN Prime Ticket. By the way, I wrote an e-mail to TW three days ago asking for clarification of the whole FSN HD matter. I'm yet to receive a reply. Pretty typical, unfortunately.
dennis1 is offline  
post #138 of 264 Old 12-06-2008, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FSN HD (Channel 689) appears to be pretty much up and running.
dennis1 is offline  
post #139 of 264 Old 12-06-2008, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
[Mr Burns voice] Excellent [/Mr Burns voice]
Weaselboy is offline  
post #140 of 264 Old 12-19-2008, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
aBlueSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like TWC just added USAHD (#637) and CNBCHD (#653).
aBlueSky is offline  
post #141 of 264 Old 12-19-2008, 10:40 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not only looks like it. They actually did.

Funny how these new HD channels just keep showing up with no forewarning or announcements (at least that I'm aware of).
dennis1 is offline  
post #142 of 264 Old 12-20-2008, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I wonder if all these new HD channels all of a sudden is because of the new regional VP?

Nice to get the new channels whatever the reason.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #143 of 264 Old 12-20-2008, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe the reason is that they've finally implemented switched-digital video.
dennis1 is offline  
post #144 of 264 Old 12-28-2008, 10:09 PM
Member
 
rprenove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else ever observed that there is absolutely no surrounds (crowd noise) coming from KMIR during Sunday night football even tough they seem to be sending out a Dolby Digital signal? I never watch KMIR except for Sunday night football so can not comment on their prime time shows from NBC. I went to a friend's house this evening to A/B KMIR and KNBC during the Chargers game and it was obvious the difference as all 5 channels were coming from KNBC but only the fronts with KMIR. I wonder if we will always be stuck with inferior audio or video since this is such a small market. KPSP is another sad situation as it still does not bring us Dolby Digital from CBS. When one has access to the LA channels these differences stick out.
rprenove is offline  
post #145 of 264 Old 12-29-2008, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
clapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Palm Desert, Ca.
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
rprenove,
Didn't noticed the sound problem. What gets me is that our local CBS and FOX stations provide network HD programs to TWC; but not OTA. What's with that???

Red
clapple is offline  
post #146 of 264 Old 12-29-2008, 04:29 PM
Member
 
rprenove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Red:

The sound issues are not obvious unless you have exposure to other network stations such as LA or San Diego. As far as OTA goes, KPSP is a LP station so they are not tied to the analog shutdown. I do not know what the story is with KDFX but have noticed that there is an OTA digital sub channel which only carries 480i veriosn of KDFX. Given local cable penetration neither station has a lot of incentive to spend money on OTA upgrades to digital to support HD.

Rick
rprenove is offline  
post #147 of 264 Old 12-31-2008, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
galtieri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still can not find any confirmation of unencrypted local HDTV channels for TWC. We are remodeling a house and I would like to have a second TV in a bedroom without a cable box. Can someone confirm what, if any, HDTV channels a newer TV with Clear-QAM tuner will receive.

Thanks!
galtieri is offline  
post #148 of 264 Old 12-31-2008, 03:30 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Pardon the interruption. I am originally from PS. Anyways need some help for my dad. He is having trouble getting KPSP (38?) OTA. Antenna web says it is a low power station, but he is only five miles away. Are they transmitting a digital signal yet? He is using an indoor powered antenna and a E* 722 tuner. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #149 of 264 Old 01-01-2009, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by galtieri View Post

I still can not find any confirmation of unencrypted local HDTV channels for TWC. We are remodeling a house and I would like to have a second TV in a bedroom without a cable box. Can someone confirm what, if any, HDTV channels a newer TV with Clear-QAM tuner will receive.

Thanks!

I have not tried it myself, but to comply with FCC regs they are required to rebroadcast in the clear (clear QAM) any local stations that are HD. So that should get you KPSP (CBS), KMIR (NBC), and KESQ (ABC). You would need a newer TV with a QAM cable tuner.
Weaselboy is offline  
post #150 of 264 Old 01-01-2009, 03:01 PM
Newbie
 
galtieri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I know this is how it works in Orange County with Cox.
galtieri is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off