New York, NY - Comcast - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 826 Old 03-28-2005, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
julkruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in North Jersey and have Comcast.

Saw and ad in a recent bill saying that WB HD is coming in April but now channel number or exact date.

Does anyone know what channel it will be and what date is is going on?

Thanks
julkruk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 826 Old 03-28-2005, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard the same thing. I't will probably be on channel 235 that is the same channel Philly gets its WB17 in HD.
willwhdtv is offline  
post #3 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 127
After speaking with Comcast, I have learned that the plan is to insert the YES HD MLB games onto INHD2 in the NYC DMA, as was done in Boston with NESN. The engineers are working on that as we speak. It is hoped to be ready by this weekend, but..... not guaranteed. I trust that this is good news for Yankee fans.
JWhip is online now  
post #4 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 09:55 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Threads merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #5 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 09:57 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Title edited.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #6 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's Great News for us Yankee fans. Hopefully the Comcast Engineers that are working on this are Yankee fans also!
willwhdtv is offline  
post #7 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
julkruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I checked out channel 235 and it says To Be Announced, switched to the channel and........................................WB HD woohoo

I have been waiting to get WB HD to watch Smallvile in HD *Don't Flame* I really enjoy that show.

Thanks to willwhdtv for the channel info.
julkruk is offline  
post #8 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
nhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by willwhdtv
That's Great News for us Yankee fans. Hopefully the Comcast Engineers that are working on this are Yankee fans also!

I live in Lawrenceville NJ.

Am I considered in the NY DMA for Comcast???
nhey is offline  
post #9 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you get your local channels in HD from Philly than you are in the Philly DMA. If you get you locals in HD from NY than your in the NY DMA.
willwhdtv is offline  
post #10 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 12:17 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 61
If you're in the Philly DMA, you can discuss Comcast in the Philly DMA thread
CPanther95 is offline  
post #11 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 01:16 PM
Member
 
JimF_NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by CPanther95
Title edited.

Perhaps, since Comcast doesn't service New York, NY, it should be edited again to reflect the regions that it does serve.
JimF_NJ is offline  
post #12 of 826 Old 03-31-2005, 02:21 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 61
The city refers to the DMA.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #13 of 826 Old 04-01-2005, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JWhip - Do you have any idea when UPN9 in HD will be added to the NY DMA as this is the last channel of the local channels for us?
NY is and O & O station.
willwhdtv is offline  
post #14 of 826 Old 04-01-2005, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 127
NO as I do not even have the date for UPN 57 in Philadelphia. Since I have told that it will be added in NY, my quess would be within 60 days but I really do not know. It depends on many factors including available bandwith in any given system.
JWhip is online now  
post #15 of 826 Old 04-05-2005, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JWhip

Is there a way for us to find out what is the available bandwith for our Comcast area? Or is this an internal thing.
willwhdtv is offline  
post #16 of 826 Old 04-07-2005, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hphase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 2,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen a Comcast QAM channel list of HDTV programs for integrated cable tuners? STB "channel numbers" don't match what an integrated QAM cable tuner will find.
hphase is offline  
post #17 of 826 Old 04-13-2005, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has a channel number been assigned to TNT-HD yet? That way we can report it when we see it!
willwhdtv is offline  
post #18 of 826 Old 04-20-2005, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Jason Pastore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm wondering this myself. Does our area have enough bandwidth or are there plans to add more? I still hope we get TNT-HD on the 24th tho.

"Ohhh, its red wire to red wire. Pfft, what idiot dreamed that up?" -Homer Simpson (installing Satellite)
Jason Pastore is offline  
post #19 of 826 Old 04-23-2005, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like other places are getting or already have TNT -HD. If anyone knows when we can expect it please post it here.
willwhdtv is offline  
post #20 of 826 Old 04-28-2005, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received confirmation for someone at Comcast Corp that Central NJ has a 750 Mhz system and they have run out of space to add any more HD channels for now which is why TNT-HD has not been added. They are currently using any available bandwith for the Digital Simulcasting of the analog channels. One possible solution to free up bandwith is to make a decision here in Central NJ is that if this portion of NJ is part of the NY DMA than they should remove all Phila analog stations that are being duplicated here for NY. This would free up about 6 to 7 analog stations and then they would be able to add quite a few HD channels.

JWhip - Can this be suggested to Comcast as a possible solution to free up some bandwith since you seem to know someone who can suggest this?
willwhdtv is offline  
post #21 of 826 Old 05-01-2005, 12:32 AM
Member
 
HarleyJoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JWhip
After speaking with Comcast, I have learned that the plan is to insert the YES HD MLB games onto INHD2 in the NYC DMA, as was done in Boston with NESN. The engineers are working on that as we speak. It is hoped to be ready by this weekend, but..... not guaranteed. I trust that this is good news for Yankee fans.

Sunday (4-30-05) Comcast of Toms River / Stafford Twp were using 207 (InHD2) for YesHD although the channel description was still InHD2.
HarleyJoel is offline  
post #22 of 826 Old 05-10-2005, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hphase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 2,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can no longer receive INHD 1 and 2, and that includes YES-HD. I'm guessing that Comcast "scrambled" the channel, making it invisible to QAM tuners?

I know Comcast just shuffled their channels a few weeks ago, adding WB11. Anyone have any insight about INHD?
hphase is offline  
post #23 of 826 Old 05-10-2005, 09:47 AM
Member
 
thomasmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NewJersey, the landfill of opportunity
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they've really got to address the bandwidth issue before they add anymore content. the "macroblocking" on the "richer" channels is really making me curse these folks on a regular basis. Discovery HD is giving me grief almost every night now. For what I'm paying them each month, I'm seriously starting to consider a dish.
thomasmiller is offline  
post #24 of 826 Old 05-15-2005, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
hundrednaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Central NJ with Comcast. I don't have HDTV yet but would like to know if Comcast carries the OTA channels "in the clear" so a QAM tuner can pick them up without STB from comcast.
hundrednaire is offline  
post #25 of 826 Old 05-17-2005, 03:46 PM
Member
 
lah5135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belleville, NJ
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an LG4200a and I am able to get just the basic over the air HD channels. Everything else is scrambled! Northern NJ
lah5135 is offline  
post #26 of 826 Old 05-18-2005, 07:15 AM
Member
 
mister_two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hphase and hundrednaire,

I am also using my QAM tuner to view HD channels on Comcast. The only HD channels I get are: ABC, NBC, PBS-hd, CBS, WB and FOX. ABC is on 110-1. Am I missing any other HD channels? Are Discover HD and ESPN HD scrambled? I would love to be able to view these two channels. A few weeks ago the NBA playoffs was on channel 100-1 and in HD. But it's now "channel not available".
mister_two is offline  
post #27 of 826 Old 05-23-2005, 09:02 PM
Member
 
jnardone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Monmouth Beach, NJ
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had Comcast digital service for about a month and I can not get channel 205 (discovery HD) to come in unless I do a hard reboot of my box first. Others have reported that you must first tune to an analog channel and then switch to DHDT but this no longer works for me. I have been through three different boxes as the CSR's all act surprised when I call up with this problem and they schedule a service call. The last service tech told me that the current firmware in the HD DVR bix is not compatible with DHDT for some reason. My brother-in-law is in a different area in NJ serviced by Comcast and he has the Motorola HDDVR box and has no problems. Do you think I can demand the Motorola box instead of the Scientific Atlanta box. I already tried asking nicely and they said that I can't have one.
jnardone is offline  
post #28 of 826 Old 06-03-2005, 09:32 PM
Member
 
JimF_NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

The city refers to the DMA.

That's great and all. And that's obviously the best way to handle it, since this thread is an abundance of information. I can barely keep up with all the activity.
JimF_NJ is offline  
post #29 of 826 Old 06-04-2005, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
willwhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kendall Park, NJ
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the Comcast customers in the NY DMA will be the last ones to get UPN9 HD in the Northeast. This station is O & O by Viacom and Comcast has the right to retransmit but doesn't have the available bandwith. The Phila DMA (UPN57 HD) is beginning to roll it out to their customers.

I've heard that Comcast is scheduled to complete the Digital Simulcast of the analoge stations for NJ by the end of September and they will also begin rolling out VOIP this summer.

There is no scheduled date for us receiving UPN HD and TNT HD anytime soon.

If anyone knows anything different please post it.
willwhdtv is offline  
post #30 of 826 Old 06-12-2005, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
dave10023nyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

The city refers to the DMA.


I found this thread by accident. I have family all over Jersey served by Comcast. Better to call this Northern NJ Comcast or it will be the same 2 people replying to this thread
dave10023nyc is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off