Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 215 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6421 of 7477 Old 11-08-2011, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Sheer Lunacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: AE5VI
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've watched enough NOVA programmes that didn't go well at all. They don't tend to break up, but the frame rate drops to ~4/second if that. The one on Gothic cathedrals a few months back was notable for this. Television isn't normally supposed to be a series of stills, no matter how clear!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 NTSC, PAL, & MUSE

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, including user guides for Sony MST-2000 and Victor HV-MD2 / Mitsubishi MD-CZ11


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sheer Lunacy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6422 of 7477 Old 11-08-2011, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KERA is only putting out about 11Mb/s for the video on 13.1. They could easily bump that to 14 or 15 with no changes to 13.2, and it would really cut down on the tendency of the picture to turn into block soup on high motion scenes. It happens all the time on Nature, when there's fire, running water, grasses blowing in the breeze, or anything else where there's a lot of detail and no real pattern to the motion. The NetVX does a far better job of it than the old Motorola encoder did, but there's still room for improvement, and plenty of wasted space that could be put to better use. DD5.1 audio when available would be nice too.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6423 of 7477 Old 11-11-2011, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

KERA is only putting out about 11Mb/s for the video on 13.1. They could easily bump that to 14 or 15 with no changes to 13.2, and it would really cut down on the tendency of the picture to turn into block soup on high motion scenes. It happens all the time on Nature, when there's fire, running water, grasses blowing in the breeze, or anything else where there's a lot of detail and no real pattern to the motion. The NetVX does a far better job of it than the old Motorola encoder did, but there's still room for improvement, and plenty of wasted space that could be put to better use. DD5.1 audio when available would be nice too.

I often see that problem on KXII/12 (and it's really horrible on This TV on 33.3). I don't see it much on KERA, but then, I only have a 32" 720p TV. I expect motion artifacts would become more bothersome as the screen size and resolution go up.

RabbitEars says KERA is at 12.5Mb/s on 13.1 with another 2.25Mb/s on 13.2, which makes me wonder WTF happened to the other 4Mb/s or so. (UpdateTV can't be taking that much!) Looks like they could add Create on 13.3 and still give 13.1 nearly 2Mb/s more.

Edit: 2.25Mb/s isn't really enough for 13.2. If they stick with 2 channels they could easily boost both data rates to acceptable levels, but to add 13.3 they probably need to use a statmux.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6424 of 7477 Old 11-20-2011, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

KERA is only putting out about 11Mb/s for the video on 13.1. They could easily bump that to 14 or 15 with no changes to 13.2, and it would really cut down on the tendency of the picture to turn into block soup on high motion scenes. It happens all the time on Nature, when there's fire, running water, grasses blowing in the breeze, or anything else where there's a lot of detail and no real pattern to the motion. The NetVX does a far better job of it than the old Motorola encoder did, but there's still room for improvement, and plenty of wasted space that could be put to better use. DD5.1 audio when available would be nice too.

Actually, NO, the entire 19.2MB is used for all channels....(we just discussed that at the DTV seminar at KERA 3 weeks ago...see www.MSWdtv.com and http://www.mswdtv.com/_/VSB_Seminars.html for the info on Gary's excellent seminars, etc.) The bits are just assigned to the different streams.....but the entire 19.2 MB carries ALL the info for any virtual channel, main or sub.....(semantics but lets keep the numbers correct)
BPTTV is offline  
post #6425 of 7477 Old 11-20-2011, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
toadfannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone want to see the Harbaugh boys (Ravens v. 49ers) duke it out on Thanksgiving night-- exclusively on the NFL Network? Well, let's let TWC know how we feel. After all, aren't we told that we should contact our provider if we want certain channels?

Email:

Melinda Witmer, TWC VP Programming and chief negotiator ... melinda.witmer@twcable.com

Glenn Britt, TWC CEO ... glenn.britt@twcable.com

Happy Thanksgiving!
toadfannc is offline  
post #6426 of 7477 Old 11-20-2011, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPTTV View Post

Actually, NO, the entire 19.2MB is used for all channels....(we just discussed that at the DTV seminar at KERA 3 weeks ago...see www.MSWdtv.com and http://www.mswdtv.com/_/VSB_Seminars.html for the info on Gary's excellent seminars, etc.) The bits are just assigned to the different streams.....but the entire 19.2 MB carries ALL the info for any virtual channel, main or sub.....(semantics but lets keep the numbers correct)

Huh? You're clearly not understanding the point. KERA is using about 12.5Mb/s for 13.1, out of the total ATSC payload of 19.39Mb/s. They're using about 2.5Mb/s for 13.2. The remaining ~4Mb/s is wasted on padding (nullpackets). Those 4Mb/s could be used to increase the picture quality on both 13.1 and 13.2, but either they don't care, or prefer to broadcast inferior quality. It's bad enough when stations crap on the HD picture to carry lame subchannels and useless services like Mobile DTV (WFAA, KXAS), but it's even worse when they do it and just waste that space.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6427 of 7477 Old 11-27-2011, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Profiled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, just moved into a new house in North McKinney (Custer & Virginia).

I really just want to be able to pick up the networks (CBS, ABC, NBC and FOX).

Went to Antenna web and it recommends a blue UHF antenna (everything is around 45 miles away and about a 192 to 195 degree).

I'd like to go with an attic mounted antenna, but i'm guessing I may have some trouble as the roof has a radiant barrier installed, which I believe is a huge signal destroyer.

Not sure if it's worth buying an Antenna and seeing how it performs (I don't want to go through a huge hassle of ordering online, sending back, etc), or if I should should try and figure out a roof mounted one or not.

If anyone has any suggestions on whether I should give it a try (and if so what I should buy for in-attic, and if not a roof mounted antenna).

Thanks in advance for the advice/help, please let me know if I didn't provide any vital information that is needed.
Profiled is offline  
post #6428 of 7477 Old 11-27-2011, 11:53 AM
Member
 
teasip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You need VHF for ABC (WFAA) on channel 8.
teasip is offline  
post #6429 of 7477 Old 11-27-2011, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Profiled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teasip View Post

You need VHF for ABC (WFAA) on channel 8.

You're right, I missed it hiding in there, does that complicate things or just affect the choice in antennas?
Profiled is offline  
post #6430 of 7477 Old 11-27-2011, 12:31 PM
Member
 
teasip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You need UHF/VHF capability. My brother is in McKinney and has an attic UHF antenna and yet is capable of getting WFAA though I was unable to do so here in N. Plano (I'm also using a dual band traditional aerial in attic which picks up everything).
teasip is offline  
post #6431 of 7477 Old 11-27-2011, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'll need a decent VHF high/UHF combo, and will either need to create a "window" in the radiant barrier to allow signals through, or else put the antenna on the roof. Attic, I would go Winegard HD7696P or ChannelMaster CM2020, roof you can probably get away with the HD7694P or CM2018.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6432 of 7477 Old 11-28-2011, 08:23 AM
Member
 
hughvh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any suggestions for a professional installer for a roof antenna? I would like get my parents an HD antenna for their 55" screen. The Cowboy Game in SD was painful to watch on Thursday on such a large screen.
hughvh is offline  
post #6433 of 7477 Old 11-28-2011, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Profiled View Post

You're right, I missed it hiding in there, does that complicate things or just affect the choice in antennas?

Mostly just the choice in antennas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

You'll need a decent VHF high/UHF combo, and will either need to create a "window" in the radiant barrier to allow signals through, or else put the antenna on the roof. Attic, I would go Winegard HD7696P or ChannelMaster CM2020, roof you can probably get away with the HD7694P or CM2018.

All those are good antennas. Other good ones are Antennacraft HBU-44 (attic) or HBU-33 (roof). The HBU-33 is available at Radio Shack, I think. The others are usually available at Fry's.

I've also had good luck with the Channel Master 4228HD in an attic, also available at Fry's. The 4-foot-square 4228 might fit in the attic more easily than those 10-foot monsters.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6434 of 7477 Old 11-28-2011, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
re_nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughvh View Post

Any suggestions for a professional installer for a roof antenna? I would like get my parents an HD antenna for their 55" screen. The Cowboy Game in SD was painful to watch on Thursday on such a large screen.


Check with Ray Estrada at TekMax in Plano, phone (972) 584-0272. I've had them do two antenna projects for me. The work is superb, the staff is excellent and the price is very reasonable. And Ray actually knows what TV Fool is.
re_nelson is offline  
post #6435 of 7477 Old 11-28-2011, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not a huge fan of the 4228HD for VHF. Not much gain or directionality.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6436 of 7477 Old 11-28-2011, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

Not a huge fan of the 4228HD for VHF. Not much gain or directionality.

It's not the best for VHF-Hi, true. It's worked acceptably for me, but then I'm the kind of guy that pulls out the wiring harness connecting the two halves and replaces it with two baluns, 3' cables, and a splitter in reverse.

In one case its lack of VHF directionality actually worked to my advantage. I put one in for my in-laws in Stroud, OK, about halfway between Tulsa and Oklahoma City. They're closer to the OKC antenna farm so I pointed it that way. It gets all the OKC stations in both VHF and UHF bands - but also gets a usuable signal from KTUL on RF 10. It's almost bidirectional at that frequency.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6437 of 7477 Old 11-28-2011, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr L View Post

Odd, I can't get 21 to map to 30. I have Dish VIP222K with the OTA tunner. I have deleted both CH 21's (29 and 21). Then did a manual add starting with 21. 7 channels then appear on 21 (21.1 - 21.7). Next I manually add 29 which maps over 21.1 leaving the other 6 in place.

Whatever was wrong with KWDA that caused this problem seems to be fixed now. Everything that used to show KWDA as channel 21 now shows channel 30.

The channel mapping is a little odd:
Code:
Old     New
21.1 - 30.2
21.2 - 30.3

...

21.6 - 30.7
21.7 - 30.9
There is no 30.1 or 30.8. Whatever.

Edit: Well, over the weekend they added a 30.1 and 30.8 to their lineup, for a total of 9 subchannels! The color bars moved from 30.9 to 30.1; 30.9 is showing Spanish infomercials while 30.8 is showing a teaser for a new African-American-themed channel, Diicon.

They seem to have overcrowded their bandwidth. There's a "channel available" teaser running on (I think) 30.4 which looks terrible - even worse than This on 33.3!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6438 of 7477 Old 11-29-2011, 04:39 PM
Member
 
K5ING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Krum, America
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughvh View Post

Any suggestions for a professional installer for a roof antenna? I would like get my parents an HD antenna for their 55" screen. The Cowboy Game in SD was painful to watch on Thursday on such a large screen.

You don't need an "HD antenna". An antenna is an antenna. Not having an HD antenna won't give you an SD picture. If you're already getting a solid picture now (not freezing up) with your existing antenna, then an "HD" antenna won't give you any better picture.

Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the south-western quadrant of the Greater Krum, TX  Metropolitan Area. 

 

73, K5ING (Jeff)
 

K5ING is offline  
post #6439 of 7477 Old 12-18-2011, 08:11 PM
Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
TV - Sanyo DP42840 LCD 42"

Antenna: RCA 751R - Mounted in Attic, above a 1 story home, about 10 feet above ground, no amplification.

Std. cable, about 70 feet to TV.

Location: North Central Irving, about 20 miles from the Cedar Hill Towers.

Digital channels scanned:

2
4
5
8
11
13
18
21
23
27
28
29
30
31
33
34
39
44
47
49
50
51
52
55
58
68

Cable Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is offline  
post #6440 of 7477 Old 12-30-2011, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
JStigler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Euless, TX, USA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you that just simplly can't do an attac or outdoor antenna then ck out this one. I saw this at a seminar recently and bought one. For an indoor it does seem to perform better than any other I have seen in VHF. It is in kit form so you have to assemble. Comes in a small box so don't let that fool you.
Digital Antenna
DUV-Indoor Model
Model No. DUV®-IN
Made in the USA

http://digitenna.com/SpecSheets.pdf
http://digitenna.com/products

Seems like it was about $50
JStigler
JStigler is offline  
post #6441 of 7477 Old 12-30-2011, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you compared it against the Winegard SS3000?
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6442 of 7477 Old 12-31-2011, 12:34 AM
Member
 
Dr L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Heard Universal Sports on 5.3 is moving to Cable in the next couple of weeks and will no longer be offer OTD. Here's to hoping they make the switch to Me-TV. BTW, I think Me-TV would be a great fit for 52.2 and surprised they haven't tied it into their Classic theme. You have to think the Network with the 3rd highest coverage will land in DFW soon, so why not scoop it up?

If 5.3 goes a different way, I would say The New Country Network or Bounce look like good DFW demographic fits. What ever it becomes I hope it's an English station. I already pick up 24 Spanish stations or 35% of what I get and I get all (some on and off) but CH50 which I believe airs 2 more Spanish Stations. According to Wiki, 22% of our population is Hispanic, although their number is based on 2000 data, so I'm sure it's up around 25% today. That tells me the population is over served and hence I feel it is fair to make the statement that I am hoping for an English station.
Dr L is offline  
post #6443 of 7477 Old 12-31-2011, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope it goes away and the bandwidth gets reallocated to the HD channel. PQ has been kinda crappy since they launched the useless mobile DTV stream.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6444 of 7477 Old 12-31-2011, 05:44 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr L View Post

Heard Universal Sports on 5.3 is moving to Cable in the next couple of weeks and will no longer be offer OTD.

Midnight tonight. (Dec. 31)
schultdw is offline  
post #6445 of 7477 Old 01-03-2012, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr L View Post

Here's to hoping they make the switch to Me-TV. BTW, I think Me-TV would be a great fit for 52.2 and surprised they haven't tied it into their Classic theme. You have to think the Network with the 3rd highest coverage will land in DFW soon, so why not scoop it up?

Speculation around here is that London Broadcasting will be bringing Me-TV to KTXD/47 soon. It wasn't there as of yesterday though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr L View Post

If 5.3 goes a different way, I would say The New Country Network or Bounce look like good DFW demographic fits. Whatever it becomes I hope it's an English station. I already pick up 24 Spanish stations or 35% of what I get and I get all (some on and off) but CH50 which I believe airs 2 more Spanish Stations. According to Wiki, 22% of our population is Hispanic, although their number is based on 2000 data, so I'm sure it's up around 25% today. That tells me the population is over served and hence I feel it is fair to make the statement that I am hoping for an English station.

I doubt NBC would put a Spanish station on KXAS; they'd most likely put it on KTXT (Telemundo) instead.

BTW, 50.2 (Reino Unido) is Spanish; 50.1 (MTV Tr3s) is bilingual (English w/ Spanish subtitles or vice versa depending on the specific show). 50.3 (AMGTV) and 50.4 (Hot TV) are English.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6446 of 7477 Old 01-03-2012, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

I hope it goes away and the bandwidth gets reallocated to the HD channel. PQ has been kinda crappy since they launched the useless mobile DTV stream.

Idiotically, as of yesterday they were simulcasting Nonstop on 5.2 & 5.3. Only difference is that 5.2 is 16:9 while 5.3 is 4:3 letterboxed.

Complete waste of bandwidth. If they want to keep the subchannel but don't have anything to air right now, can't they at least dig out their old NBC Plus weather equipment and use that until they're ready to air something new?
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6447 of 7477 Old 01-03-2012, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by JStigler View Post

For those of you that just simplly can't do an attac or outdoor antenna then ck out this one. I saw this at a seminar recently and bought one. For an indoor it does seem to perform better than any other I have seen in VHF. It is in kit form so you have to assemble. Comes in a small box so don't let that fool you.
Digital Antenna
DUV-Indoor Model
Model No. DUV®-IN
Made in the USA

http://digitenna.com/SpecSheets.pdf
http://digitenna.com/products

Seems like it was about $50
JStigler

Interesting how they folded the bowtie. The spec sheet indicates its performance is equivalent to a theoretical dipole across most of the VHF-Hi and UHF bands, so it seems to have excellent bandwidth.

There's a minor discrepancy between the products page and the spec sheet. The former shows a DUV-C model, but the latter lists that as the DUV-S (suburban) model. All their outdoor models have both a UHF corner reflector and a VHF reflector; nice touch.

The spec sheet also lists a DUV-M (metro) model that's not on the products page. It's designed as an "outdoor" model but it looks small enough (about 2' x 2') to use indoors if you could rig some sort of stand for it. If their indoor model isn't enough for you the DUV-M might be worth a try.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6448 of 7477 Old 01-03-2012, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Dr L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
RE 5.3 per NBC 5.
"At this time, NBC 5 has decided that we will not add another channel in
its place".

I have always thought a good idea would be to simply air the local news in repeat mode untill the next telecast. Any idea why no one does this?

I also like the idea of airing a time delay of 2 to 3 hours on a Sub. But I'm told DVR's are today's answer to time shifting. My response, I like to Channel Surf and I can't surf on a DVR.
Dr L is offline  
post #6449 of 7477 Old 01-04-2012, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post

Idiotically, as of yesterday they were simulcasting Nonstop on 5.2 & 5.3. Only difference is that 5.2 is 16:9 while 5.3 is 4:3 letterboxed.

Complete waste of bandwidth. If they want to keep the subchannel but don't have anything to air right now, can't they at least dig out their old NBC Plus weather equipment and use that until they're ready to air something new?

Same thing ABC does on their O&Os, and it's just as stupid here. Just give the bandwidth back to HD and let us enjoy a slightly less molested picture, especially with NBC carrying the Super Bowl this year.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #6450 of 7477 Old 01-04-2012, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr L View Post

RE 5.3 per NBC 5.
"At this time, NBC 5 has decided that we will not add another channel in
its place".

I have always thought a good idea would be to simply air the local news in repeat mode untill the next telecast. Any idea why no one does this?

I also like the idea of airing a time delay of 2 to 3 hours on a Sub. But I'm told DVR's are today's answer to time shifting. My response, I like to Channel Surf and I can't surf on a DVR.

Legal issues having to do with rights to air the programming (and fees paid to do so), ratings, and advertising. Not enough money to be made to make it worth the time to deal with it.
coyoteaz is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off