Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 7364 Old 02-01-2005, 01:56 PM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lowe's carries the Channel Master antennas and some of their other products. No Channel Master 7777 though.
DubC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 7364 Old 02-02-2005, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
peejmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys, for the quick responses. I believe I'll be picking up a Channel Master before the game this weekend.

One other thing to note, my current antenna is connected to the receiver via over 200' of RG6 Quad-shield coax as it criss-crosses its way from my garage attic to my home theater without any amplification. It doesn't seem like I'll need an amplifier--just lucky I guess!
peejmeister is offline  
post #633 of 7364 Old 02-02-2005, 09:22 AM
Member
 
Randall Paris Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Studio City, CA, USA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Celebrity Poker Tournament Benefiting Cinema Fighting Cancer.

Please join us for an evening of fun in addition to the HD EXPO activities, in a poker tournament
(Texas Hold 'Em) side by side with celebrities benefiting the Cancer Relief Fund.
__The tournament will take place March 3rd from 7:30p (sponsors /exhibitor booths close at 7pm) in
Flix at Los Angeles Center Studios at $200.00 a seat with limited space.
All tournament players will receive one complimentary drink ticket, admittance into
HD EXPO and reserved studio parking at Los Angeles Center Studios.
_ Sponsorship of tables are available in addition to donation of prizes and services.
All profits donated to the Cancer Relief Fund.

Click here to see the November 4th HD EXPO's Celebrity Poker Tournament details.
http://www.hdexpo.net/celebrityPoker.html


http://www.hdexpo.net/regEvent.html
Randall Paris Dark is offline  
post #634 of 7364 Old 02-02-2005, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by peejmeister
One other thing to note, my current antenna is connected to the receiver via over 200' of RG6 Quad-shield coax as it criss-crosses its way from my garage attic to my home theater without any amplification. It doesn't seem like I'll need an amplifier--just lucky I guess!

200' of coax is causing you some extreme loss in dB gain. Runs of RG6 should be kept under 100'. Here's a table to show you attenuation loss per 100 feet.


http://www.pbn.com.au/library/rf5.htm

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #635 of 7364 Old 02-04-2005, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
lincoln30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's wrong with NBC HD??? Who can I contact at the local affiliate to complain.

1. Last two weeks ER has been broadcast in SD not HD. This has happened numerous times in the recent past but I haven't been keeping track.

2. I don't watch Joey but it seems the few times I have watched it (or part of it) the audio is screwed up, but at least it's HD
lincoln30 is offline  
post #636 of 7364 Old 02-04-2005, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lincoln. Look Here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=505243

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #637 of 7364 Old 02-06-2005, 10:31 AM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else lost audio on FOX via OTA?

I am receiving audio over the dish but can not get it from the antenna.


NEVERMIND.......audio is back
DubC is offline  
post #638 of 7364 Old 02-06-2005, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
yodapark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: little elm TX
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, i get 8-1 and 8-2 around 88-90%...

just cannot get 19-1(cbs)...i get 20-1(sherman), but 49% only...

anyone: will a pre-amp help?
yodapark is offline  
post #639 of 7364 Old 02-08-2005, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
Cary in HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I just installed E* with an 811 receiver. I am using a silver sensor indoors.
4.1 and 5.1 at about 77-82%. What's the trick to pulling in abc and cbs?

Can I use an outdoor antenna in the attic? If I did, could it be wired with a dioplexer and carried to the receiver on a single line and then split out with another dioplexer just prior to the receiver?

Thanks.
Cary in HDTV is offline  
post #640 of 7364 Old 02-08-2005, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Cary in HDTV
[b]Hi guys,

I just installed E* with an 811 receiver. I am using a silver sensor indoors.
4.1 and 5.1 at about 77-82%. What's the trick to pulling in abc and cbs?/B]


Isn't the silver sensor a UHF only antenna?

8-1(ch9) is VHF and 11-1(ch19) is low UHF, close enough to need a VHF antenna. I would take the SS back and use that money to get you a good VHF/UHF Yagi for the attic with an amplifier. Yagi antennas are what you see on everybody's roof. All elements are horizontal.

4-1 is bcast on UHF35 and 5-1 is on UHF41

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #641 of 7364 Old 02-08-2005, 05:41 PM
Member
 
motulal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question regarding Comcast QAM channels (in Arlington)

Does anyone know if Comcast encrypts the broadcast HDTV channels on its cable system in Arlington?

/// Motulal
motulal is offline  
post #642 of 7364 Old 02-08-2005, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
> 8-1(ch9) is VHF and 11-1(ch19) is low UHF, close enough to need a VHF antenna.

This is not quite correct. 8-1 is indeed on VHF channel 9, and 11-1 is on UHF channel 19 -- but the latter is not "close enough [to VHF] to need a VHF antenna"... The VHF TV band stops at 216 MHz (the top of channel 13) and the UHF band starts at 470 MHz (the lower edge of channel 14). Since there is a *big* gap between those channels, there is no benefit to using a VHF antenna to receive any UHF channel, even one near the bottom of the UHF TV band.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #643 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 07:39 AM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have seen posts that say that the VHF band covers channels 2-13. If this is true, then how are channels 4 (FOX) and 5 (NBC) on the UHF band?
DubC is offline  
post #644 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 07:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
IFLYSWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by DubC
I have seen posts that say that the VHF band covers channels 2-13. If this is true, then how are channels 4 (FOX) and 5 (NBC) on the UHF band?

The digital broadcasts are actually on UHF channels that are remapped to channels 4-1, 5-1, 11-1, etc., by your ATSC tuner.

Hope that helps...
-Randy

Randy
IFLYSWA is offline  
post #645 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know of a local place to buy a CM7777?

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
post #646 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have heard that Fry's sells CM antennas so it would be a safe bet that they would have the amps too.

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #647 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They don't carry the CM7777. They have something called a 3041 (by Channel Master), but its specs aren't as good as the CM7777. Some Lowes carry it too, but not locally.

Any other suggestions?

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
post #648 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not sure about Dallas but I got mine from my local(Commerce TX)TV shop. I know you can get them from Solid Signal but you said local.

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #649 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
scratchee_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DFW TX
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELP....I can't get FOX 4-1.

I just got a RCA DTC-210 receiver and connected it to an antenna in my attic. All other channels are 90% or better. I just can't get Fox 4-1. Any suggestions?

I jiggled the antenna etc...nothing. Anyone else in the Saginaw area have problems with Fox?
scratchee_1 is offline  
post #650 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Working fine here. Check the signal level on ch 35 and see what you get.

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #651 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
scratchee_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DFW TX
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ummm....I don't get ch 35 either??

Suggestions?
scratchee_1 is offline  
post #652 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 10:59 AM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am thinking of putting my antenna in the attic so I can get it off my chimney. Will the extreme heat in the attic during the summer months affect reception?
DubC is offline  
post #653 of 7364 Old 02-09-2005, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would not, but you can get away with it. Make sure you don't have the aluminum sheeting on the underside of your roof decking. You will go from great to NADA!

No, heat does not affect signals.

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #654 of 7364 Old 02-10-2005, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
Cary in HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, did I mess up?

I have the 811. I used a diplexer and joined an antenna signal from my attic and the satellite signal and ran it across the house to the 811. I used another diplexer coming out of the wall and then hooked it up to the receiver as diagrammed.

I am getting channels 5.1 (80%), 8.1 (75%), 11.1 (65%) and 4.1 (70%, but it takes a minute to actually lock-in).

Problem: My program guide keeps dropping out. Is this related to me joining the signals? The locals OTA in HDTV look really good. Can't believe the difference!

Suggestions?

Thanks for your help. BTW, I am a complete novice to electronics, satellites, wiring, etc. I would never have been able to figure any of this out without the help of this board! Lurker for quite awhile.

Cary
Cary in HDTV is offline  
post #655 of 7364 Old 02-10-2005, 08:54 AM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To all of those who have a chimney mounted antenna:

Do you guys run a ground wire?

If so, what is the best way to do it? (i.e. where do you connect the grounding wire to the antenna, mast or antenna? Where do you attach the other end of the grounding wire (in the ground, to a stake)? What do you use to connect the wire to the antenna? What do you use to connect the wire on the opposite end. How do you run the grounding wire (follow the chimney down to the ground? or attach it to something else?)?

Thanks again
DubC is offline  
post #656 of 7364 Old 02-10-2005, 12:07 PM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found this manual that explains grounding procedure. It contains all info on mounting an antenna. Good stuff for those who have not done this before.

http://www.solidsignal.com/manuals/AntInstallGuide.pdf
DubC is offline  
post #657 of 7364 Old 02-10-2005, 12:44 PM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another antenna question:

Does an antenna have to say "HD antenna" on the box or in the manual, or will any antenna that picks up UHF/VHF signals be able to acquire HD programs?

Most of the Channel Master antennas I am looking at don't mention HD in thier description.
DubC is offline  
post #658 of 7364 Old 02-10-2005, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any UHF/Vhf antenna will do, some put HDTV on the box for marketing, but there is nothing special about any antenna that makes it able to pick up HD signals.

Remember;
Outdoor is better
Bigger is better
Directional is better
Kingdaddy is offline  
post #659 of 7364 Old 02-10-2005, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Dad worked for a TV repair shop in the 50s, and he remembers how many new antennas were sold to unsuspecting customers, who were told they needed a new antenna with their color TV.

A similar thing occurred when CDs took off, where "digital ready" speakers were sold.

The signal is in the same bandwidth, so the same antennas work.

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
post #660 of 7364 Old 02-10-2005, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by DubC
Another antenna question:

Does an antenna have to say "HD antenna" on the box or in the manual,

Absolutely NOT!!

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off