Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 247 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7381 of 7510 Old 07-24-2014, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Surprised to learn that KVFW/38 is again broadcasting an ATSC signal. I'd heard that the NY Spectrum Holding Co. was gathering LPTV licenses for an experimental service (similar to the now-defunct MediaFLO), so I'd basically just quit checking RF 38. Guess that idea hasn't worked out for them so far, and they decided to put their bandwidth up for lease like most of the other LPTVs.

BTW, their signal is a real powerhouse, isn't it? Keeps dropping out here in S. Garland.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 07-24-2014 at 05:30 PM. Reason: Add more info
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7382 of 7510 Old 07-24-2014, 05:50 PM
Member
 
teasip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry, but I preferred to wait on Eddie Barker on KRLD TV for my news. I do remember waiting on my front porch in NE Dallas on Monday afternoons so I could peruse the NFL stats and look forward to seeing "Dallas" at the top of the NFL Eastern Division standings.
teasip is offline  
post #7383 of 7510 Old 07-27-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Surprised to learn that KVFW/38 is again broadcasting an ATSC signal. I'd heard that the NY Spectrum Holding Co. was gathering LPTV licenses for an experimental service (similar to the now-defunct MediaFLO), so I'd basically just quit checking RF 38. Guess that idea hasn't worked out for them so far, and they decided to put their bandwidth up for lease like most of the other LPTVs.

BTW, their signal is a real powerhouse, isn't it? Keeps dropping out here in S. Garland.
Turned on my DTVPal DVR this morning and it had added KVFW-LD 38.1 overnight. But when I try to tune to it, "0". Once in a while the signal will come up and show color bars. Looks like I have my pluge grayscale and colors about right.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7384 of 7510 Old 07-28-2014, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Same here. Every once in a while it will just barely lock in. All other LPTVs are OK, so I get the feeling KVFW isn't operating at a full 15 kW.

BTW, you can find more reliable color bars at KPFW/18.4.

Breaking News: K31GL has added 31.2 back. Still a complete waste of bandwidth, er, simulcast of 31.3.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 07-28-2014 at 04:58 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7385 of 7510 Old 07-31-2014, 07:19 PM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I mentioned earlier that Bounce was to move from KDFI 27-3 to KUVN 23-2 sometime next year. Could it be that Bounce will move by year's end? A snapshot of the TitanTV app shows 2 Bounces: the new home on KUVN and the old home on KDFI. (See attached photo; hope it works, because I used my iPad for screenshot capture and upload.)

I know it's not August yet (as of posting), but after seeing 23-2 show up on TitanTV, I tuned in to KUVN and KSTR, hoping the new channels will show up, but alas, not yet. (Maybe tomorrow or within the next 2 weeks?)

Either way, we antenna people need to be on the lookout for the new home of Bounce, Escape (these two on KUVN) and Grit (this one on KSTR)!

dtv_junkie87
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	213.8 KB
ID:	190954  
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
post #7386 of 7510 Old 08-03-2014, 09:45 AM
Member
 
crackedscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Did KFWD ever get around to boosting their power to 55 kw? I remember reading in this thread a few years back that they had a construction permit to do so, but I don't remember them ever acting on it. It's still the only station I can't receive.
crackedscreen is offline  
post #7387 of 7510 Old 08-03-2014, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackedscreen View Post
Did KFWD ever get around to boosting their power to 55 kw? ..It's still the only station I can't receive.
Don't know the answer, but considering Ch 8 is a "96-98" and Ch 52 on RF9 is "98-100" on my DVR, I'd say they are pretty much equal here in NW Dallas.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7388 of 7510 Old 08-03-2014, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Don't know the answer, but considering Ch 8 is a "96-98" and Ch 52 on RF9 is "98-100" on my DVR, I'd say they are pretty much equal here in NW Dallas.
Not necessarily. A very clean signal from both, even if they are several tens of dB different in power, will often read about the same on many sets.

Last edited by ProjectSHO89; 08-03-2014 at 02:24 PM.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #7389 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
Not necessarily. A very clean signal from both, even if they are several tens of dB different in power, will often read about the same on many sets.
WFAA 39 kW vs KFWD 13 kW... a 6 dB difference. Not seeing that difference here, or on the RabbitEars stations received graphs.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7390 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 08:02 AM
Member
 
crackedscreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
WFAA 39 kW vs KFWD 13 kW... a 6 dB difference. Not seeing that difference here, or on the RabbitEars stations received graphs.
WFAA is 55 kw.
crackedscreen is offline  
post #7391 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackedscreen View Post
WFAA is 55 kw.
Then rabbitears is wrong, that's where I got the power number. So 13 to 55 kW would be about 10 dB .
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7392 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Er, RabbitEars has 55 kW for WFAA. Not sure where your 39 kW came from.

And 13 kW to 55 kW is a 6.3 dB difference. 13 to 39 is a 4.8 dB difference.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #7393 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Er, RabbitEars has 55 kW for WFAA. Not sure where your 39 kW came from.

And 13 kW to 55 kW is a 6.3 dB difference. 13 to 39 is a 4.8 dB difference.

- Trip
Actually it says 37.9 kW I guess I rounded it up.

here:
http://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/one_...01A67C8/tuner0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wfaakfwd-erp-1.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	29.4 KB
ID:	196193  
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7394 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Don't know the answer, but considering Ch 8 is a "96-98" and Ch 52 on RF9 is "98-100" on my DVR, I'd say they are pretty much equal here in NW Dallas.
Interestingly, I usually (but not always) see slightly stronger signals on WFAA. Which one has a better reading probably depends on many factors, including the effects of KFWD's directional antenna, local terrain, multipath interference, etc.

The main advantage of KFWD going to 55 kW would be fewer dropouts due to interference from KCEN during tropo episodes. The extra 6-odd dB would also help folks with a poor signal (due either to being in KFWD's fringe or not having a good-enough VHF antenna) somewhat; most of us probably won't see much difference though. I don't understand Spanish well enough to watch KFWD anyway.

KFWD still has a valid CP to go to 55 kW. Not sure if/when they'll follow through with it. Bob Nelson is more "plugged in" to the goings-on at various TV stations than most of us; perhaps he's heard something?
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7395 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 11:06 AM
Member
 
tripelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The image below shows the spectrum of channels 8 & 9 as received about 28 miles NNE in Garland.

The antenna is a Radio Shack Special that is similar in appearance to a VU-90, it is mounted at ~ 29 feet AGL. TVfool shows the antenna location as LOS. The RG-6 coaxial line is 50 feet in length.

Connection to antenna coaxial cable was through a F-81 connector, to a 4' RG-59 cable terminated in 3dB attenuator at analyzer input.

The image shows ~10 dB difference between the two channels.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Channel 8 & 9.gif
Views:	123
Size:	10.6 KB
ID:	196393  

Last edited by tripelo; 08-04-2014 at 11:58 AM. Reason: clarify
tripelo is offline  
post #7396 of 7510 Old 08-04-2014, 11:09 PM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think we might have a new tenant for KAZD 55-4: some network called "Launch TV." Trip's website shows that KAZD will be a future affiliate, and this press release says it as well:

http://online.wsj.com/article/PR-CO-...21-908534.html

Here is what appears to be the official site (sorry, not too crazy about the lineup, though at least 55-4 may not be vacant anymore!):

http://www.launchtvstudios.com

As of typing time, the "for lease" screen is still there.

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
post #7397 of 7510 Old 08-09-2014, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Today, overnight, I see 49.3 got added, "GRIT" , but "No Service" when tuned to 49.3. 98-100 sig strength so hopefully it will be of some interest.
dtv_junkie87 likes this.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7398 of 7510 Old 08-09-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripelo View Post
The image below shows the spectrum of channels 8 & 9 as received about 28 miles NNE in Garland.
...terminated in 3dB attenuator at analyzer input.

What kind of analyzer did you use?

Your post inspired me to hook up my nearly 45 year old IFR-1000 spectrum analyzer. Unfortunately the PLL circuit in it fails to lock after several years of sitting not powered up.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7399 of 7510 Old 08-09-2014, 08:22 AM
Member
 
tripelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
What kind of analyzer did you use?
Thanks for your interest.

It is a Sencore SLM1456CM,

http://www.sencore.com/sites/default/files/slm1456.pdf

It doesn't have the capability of a laboratory analyzer, but pretty good for hobby TV use. Especially good for portable use, for example: when measuring at the top of a tower.

Quote:
...nearly 45 year old IFR-1000 spectrum analyzer. Unfortunately the PLL circuit in it fails to lock after several years of sitting not powered up.
Sorry bout your older equipment, some of the old equipment is still very useful. I have some 'boat anchors' that come in handy on occasion.
tripelo is offline  
post #7400 of 7510 Old 08-09-2014, 08:29 AM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Today, overnight, I see 49.3 got added, "GRIT" , but "No Service" when tuned to 49.3. 98-100 sig strength so hopefully it will be of some interest.
"Of some interest?" You bet so! Chuck Norris, Jackie Chan, John Wayne, Clint Eastwood, AHHNOLD, and more!

Here's the website: http://www.grittv.com (hopefully we'll see a schedule soon)

What about KUVN? Did they add Bounce 23-2 and Escape 23-3 yet?

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
post #7401 of 7510 Old 08-09-2014, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv_junkie87 View Post

What about KUVN? Did they add Bounce 23-2 and Escape 23-3 yet?

dtv_junkie87
Not received, yet.

23.1 is a 100% signal here.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7402 of 7510 Old 08-09-2014, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
What kind of analyzer did you use?

Your post inspired me to hook up my nearly 45 year old IFR-1000 spectrum analyzer. Unfortunately the PLL circuit in it fails to lock after several years of sitting not powered up.
Usually the caps in the power supply dry out if the unit has not ran for several years..that will cause any number of issues..the PS is hot all the time when plugged in to charge the (optional) battery so the caps are constantly charged then...but if allowed to dry up, then the PS goes dead on one or more outputs and that kills a lot of sections...
A simple check with a voltmeter will show what the problem is.
BPTTV is offline  
post #7403 of 7510 Old 08-09-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPTTV View Post
Usually the caps in the power supply dry out if the unit has not ran for several years...
Yep makes sense. I actually expected the o'scope to not light up, but it does, sweep works, just no PLL lights and the receiver audio has a varying ticking from the speaker, speeds up and slows down. Last time I used it a few years ago to look at the spread spectrum transmit of a digital Graco baby monitor, it was working great then.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7404 of 7510 Old 08-12-2014, 10:05 PM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I noticed that KLEG 44-2 (yes, I can actually receive this station from the great indoors) is now displaying color bars instead of Swagat. Anybody know what will go here? (What other Bollywood networks are there? )

Also, Ed said that he found KSTR 49-3 (future home of Grit) on his TV. I tuned in to KSTR, and I couldn't find 49-3. I rescanned my TV many times in the past few days, and still, no dice. (Both Univisions come in strong where I live.) Did the engineers turn on 49-3 for just a brief time? (And when do you think 23-2, 23-3, and 49-3 will show up? According to the Cleveland thread, WQHS already soft-opened Escape on 61-4 there.)

Speaking of rescanning, though, I can now get all six KPXD channels! (ion, qubo, etc. etc., all the way to HSN!)

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
post #7405 of 7510 Old 08-13-2014, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Still receiving the blank 49.3- GRIT. Tune to it first says "Regularly Scheduled Programming", a second passes then says "No Service".
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7406 of 7510 Old 08-14-2014, 09:16 AM
Member
 
K5ING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Krum, America
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Still receiving the blank 49.3- GRIT. Tune to it first says "Regularly Scheduled Programming", a second passes then says "No Service".
Grit TV's launch date is Aug 18 according to some news stories and the Wikipedia article on "Grit".

Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the south-western quadrant of the Greater Krum, TX  Metropolitan Area. 

 

73, K5ING (Jeff)
 

K5ING is offline  
post #7407 of 7510 Old 08-14-2014, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
A change: 49.3 says "Grit TV Coming Soon" before it switches to No Service when I tune to it now.

Another change: K31GL now shows what the channel name is, "Retro","HOT TV." Still no program info though.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7408 of 7510 Old 08-14-2014, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My wife and I have decided to cancel our FioS TV/Phone/Internet package in a cost-cutting measure. We live in N Carrollton, and a quick scan of antennaweb shows I am about 28-31 miles from Cedar Hill. While looking at DTV antennas, I see that there are a myriad of styles and options. I am interested in wiring for 4 TVs (all Vizio HDs of 40in and smaller sizes) What are some recommended antennas for this job? I read on these forums that Ch 8 is a VHF broadcaster, so that means I need a UHF/VHF combo, right?

I am looking to mount the antenna in the southernmost corner of my two-story attic. All of the coax in my house terminates by my Telephone ONT on the southwest side of my house. So I am looking at going from the antenna down to the terminations and then back up into the rooms. I suspect I would need an amplifier coming off of the antenna, are there recommended splitters for the job, too? There are already shielded commercial splitters on the side of the house that were used for Dish TV a few years back.

Thanks for any help you guys can give.

Here is my tvfool entry:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec2fd84dabf417

Last edited by tx_gooner; 08-14-2014 at 02:18 PM.
tx_gooner is offline  
post #7409 of 7510 Old 08-14-2014, 02:37 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Another change: K31GL now shows what the channel name is, "Retro","HOT TV." Still no program info though.
I sent them an email a few weeks ago requesting that they add EPG data. The response was underwhelming so I filed a complaint with the FCC. Their response was nearly as bad as they sent me a document on low power TV stations that said nothing about the EPG. But after some more digging into 47 CFR Part 74, Subpart G, it appears that EPG is strictly optional for LPTV.
schultdw is offline  
post #7410 of 7510 Old 08-14-2014, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
In an email to K31GL a few months ago, I asked about program info, and the engineer said they would like to add full EPG but it's too expensive. He referred me to a link on K31GL's web site for Retro's program guide. But the link was to a saved PDF of an old program schedule no longer valid! Going directly to Retro's site got the current schedule.
ed_in_tx is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off