Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 256 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #7651 of 7661 Old 02-23-2015, 08:09 PM
Member
 
phiz118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm a noob to cord cutting (like so many others) and currently reside in the Sachse region of DFW. Here's my TV Fool link to show the direction of the antennas. I'm planning to mount this above my 2nd story in the attic. I think this would suffice since the signal is pretty strong and all in one direction. I feel like the AntennaCraft HBU33 would be the best option, however it doesn't pick up the low VHF signals. As others have said, I'm concerned that someday DFW may move into that zone. Is it possible to buy an addon antenna at that time if it did happen? Any other antenna's you would recommend?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f01e4869c97a

David
phiz118 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7652 of 7661 Old 02-23-2015, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 65
As I recall from an email with an engineer a couple of years ago, Retro supplies its receiving equipment to the station operator.
ed_in_tx is online now  
post #7653 of 7661 Old 02-24-2015, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by phiz118 View Post
I feel like the AntennaCraft HBU33 would be the best option, however it doesn't pick up the low VHF signals. As others have said, I'm concerned that someday DFW may move into that zone. Is it possible to buy an addon antenna at that time if it did happen? Any other antenna's you would recommend?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f01e4869c97a

David
One could always add a low VHF only antenna below the present installation with a high/low signal joiner (HLSJ) if the situation arose.http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=Y5-2-6&ss=466698 If there is a mass exodus to the low band I suspect more such devices would become available. You already have signals on channels 2, 4 and 5. They appear to all be Spanish Religion or infomercials if that is any interest to you. It will at least be interesting to see if you can pull them in from a technical standpoint.
Mister B is offline  
post #7654 of 7661 Old 02-24-2015, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeboy67 View Post
Might I throw in a suggestion? I live in Decatur and I use a CM-3020 Deep Fringe and it is a very reliable antenna sitting at 30 ft. AGL. I pick up nearly all of the Cedar Hill stations and a couple of the Wichita Falls stations as well. It may not be the prettiest in the world, but it gets the job done, especially if you get a rotator to boot. http://www.amazon.com/Channel-Master.../dp/B000BSGCSA
I was looking at that one on Amazon. It has a folded dipole UHF driven element too, like the AntennaCraft designs. In another post I mentioned comparing the AntennaCraft to a Winegard of similar physical size that had a simple dipole driven element, the folded dipole worked a lot better. Maybe because of more capture area, and wider bandwidth of a folded dipole? Not sure. But I found it interesting CM has a similar design on their biggie. And we know it works from Decatur!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ChMaster3020-uhf.driven.ele.2.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	565041  
ed_in_tx is online now  
post #7655 of 7661 Old 02-24-2015, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norman Fisher View Post
Well here we go again! KGL31 Retro TV is once again off the air all day today. No more Doctor Who or The Doctors reruns for me today. This station must be run by kindergartners, I rarely ever get a full week the picture and sound is on 31.4 is stable. It's not my antenna, there is a signal and a station called Retro, but no picture or sound. Is it so difficult for them to pick up the Retro Feed without issues? Probably won't do any good but I emailed Mako Communications (the parent owners of KGL31) ) today to complain about it.
I think the problem is that there are two different groups involved. Mako owns and operates the TV transmitter, but they sell all the bandwidth to other companies, who provide content. With Retro, I think the content provider is the same group that does Hot TV (31.4 and Hot use similar logos); the difference is, with Hot TV they're broadcasting their own content, whereas with Retro they're receiving the content via satellite and sending it to K31GL.

I agree with Ed, this time it's most likely ice on the dish pointed at Retro's satellite. That would only affect 31.4, not any other subchannel on K31GL or any of Mako's other stations.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7656 of 7661 Old 02-24-2015, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by phiz118 View Post
I'm a noob to cord cutting (like so many others) and currently reside in the Sachse region of DFW. Here's my TV Fool link to show the direction of the antennas. I'm planning to mount this above my 2nd story in the attic. I think this would suffice since the signal is pretty strong and all in one direction. I feel like the AntennaCraft HBU33 would be the best option, however it doesn't pick up the low VHF signals. As others have said, I'm concerned that someday DFW may move into that zone. Is it possible to buy an addon antenna at that time if it did happen? Any other antenna's you would recommend?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f01e4869c97a

David
Looks like you may be a bit too far out for an HBU33. I'd recommend at least an HBU44 or, if you're concerned about stations moving to VHF-Lo, I'd second Nukeboy's suggestion and go with a CM-3020. They've gotten a bit pricey at Fry's but I've had pretty good luck with mine.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7657 of 7661 Old 02-24-2015, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Looks like you may be a bit too far out for an HBU33. I'd recommend at least an HBU44 or, if you're concerned about stations moving to VHF-Lo, I'd second Nukeboy's suggestion and go with a CM-3020. They've gotten a bit pricey at Fry's but I've had pretty good luck with mine.
The Antennacraft antennas are on clearance sale at various Radioshack stores that are closing down. Very good prices. Including HBU33, HBU55, and C490. The C490 would be similar to the CM-3020.
JHBrandt likes this.
tylerSC is online now  
post #7658 of 7661 Unread 02-24-2015, 10:22 PM
Member
 
phiz118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Looks like you may be a bit too far out for an HBU33. I'd recommend at least an HBU44 or, if you're concerned about stations moving to VHF-Lo, I'd second Nukeboy's suggestion and go with a CM-3020. They've gotten a bit pricey at Fry's but I've had pretty good luck with mine.
I'm pretty far out for some of the "junk" stations (red and grey), but all of the premier stations are in green/yellow. If I didn't pick up any of the red/grey stations, then I'm really not that worried. With that, I'm still thinking the HBU33 or HD850 would be good. I just can't put a 13 foot antenna in my attic (or on my roof for that matter). I think the 7 ft HBU33 is pushing my limits already. Thoughts? I do like the idea of grabbing one from radio shack if the deal is right. Their online prices aren't very good, but I may drop by to see if they have better in store prices.
phiz118 is offline  
post #7659 of 7661 Unread Today, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I think the problem is that there are two different groups involved. Mako owns and operates the TV transmitter, but they sell all the bandwidth to other companies, who provide content. With Retro, I think the content provider is the same group that does Hot TV (31.4 and Hot use similar logos); the difference is, with Hot TV they're broadcasting their own content, whereas with Retro they're receiving the content via satellite and sending it to K31GL.

I agree with Ed, this time it's most likely ice on the dish pointed at Retro's satellite. That would only affect 31.4, not any other subchannel on K31GL or any of Mako's other stations.
Well over 4 days now and no REtro TV on KGL-31.4. It sounds like more than just ice on the dish. I wouldn't be surprised if they are waiting on new equipment from the Retro folks. Even before the ice hit on Monday the picture on Retro was freezing from time to time. It must have been going out for quite a while. I hope they get it back up soon so I can get my shows... Too bad they don't have an alternate way of pulling in the station as a temp back up till the problem is fixed. Also it would be nice if they would flash on the screen from time to time that Retro will be back after technical issues are resolved. Any kind of update. That's asking too much I guess.
Norman Fisher is online now  
post #7660 of 7661 Unread Today, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norman Fisher View Post
... it would be nice if they would flash on the screen from time to time that Retro will be back after technical issues are resolved. Any kind of update. That's asking too much I guess.
Looks like your request was granted.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	k31gl-4msg.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	570937  
ed_in_tx is online now  
post #7661 of 7661 Unread Today, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Looks like your request was granted.
Yes foot in mouth disease! Right after I posted it about 10 min later I turned the station on and saw the message. Ha!
Norman Fisher is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off