Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 258 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7711 of 7720 Old 04-09-2015, 05:46 AM
Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
But Dish finally got me recently when they declared by old receiver obsolete and forced me to upgrade it. The local channels and their $5/mo "surcharge" came along for the ride.
These "forced upgrades" will be the undoing of us all !!

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7712 of 7720 Old 04-09-2015, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Was it your receiver or theirs? Since the local stations make them all pay for carrying, they want to collect that fee and profit from everyone they can.
It was mine. Back when I first signed up for Dish they sold receivers the way AT&T sells cell phones: sign a contract and the equipment is yours once the contract is up.

I still have it - an old 301 - but of course there's no use for it now. The new one - a 311 - is theirs and since I'm not on a contract any more, I guess it always will be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
I remember 10 or so years ago a friend that had Dish and lived in NE Garland wanted the locals, but Dish couldn't provide them since he was in a Zip code that should be able to receive with an antenna. He really couldn't receive squat for OTA even with his antenna on a 40' push-up pole, because he's down in a hole out by Firewheel golf course.
Hard to believe there was a time when you couldn't get locals by satellite if you had the option of an antenna (even if that option was only theoretical), and now you have to take them whether you want them or not. Strange how things have changed.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7713 of 7720 Old 04-25-2015, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 270
They're back on now, but once again a bit of weather knocked K31GL out of commission for most of the morning
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7714 of 7720 Old 04-25-2015, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Oh yeah.. Retro on 31.4. It's been so unreliable I'd just about forgotten about it. Guess I'll tune in while it's up.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #7715 of 7720 Old 04-28-2015, 06:21 PM
Newbie
 
newsmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by See The Light View Post
The first 'shot across the bow' has occurred in the transition to all digital cable tv.
In place of Channels 68-76, it now shows a picture that says:

"Get your TV picture back.
This channel is only available in digital format.
Order your digital adapter today."
Looks like the next phase is in effect. Today I noticed that announcement on channels 39, 42, 49, 52, 53 and 55.

The ones See the Light mentioned above went to snow less than a week later, except 70, which is still showing the "nightlight." (I understand there's a technical reason 70 has to stay on.)
newsmark is offline  
post #7716 of 7720 Old 04-28-2015, 10:15 PM
Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsmark View Post
Looks like the next phase is in effect. Today I noticed that announcement on channels 39, 42, 49, 52, 53 and 55.

The ones See the Light mentioned above went to snow less than a week later, except 70, which is still showing the "nightlight." (I understand there's a technical reason 70 has to stay on.)
Yes, then they went to snow.

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
post #7717 of 7720 Old 05-02-2015, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Oh yeah.. Retro on 31.4. It's been so unreliable I'd just about forgotten about it. Guess I'll tune in while it's up.
More kooky 31.4 shenanigans today: Four of their Saturday morning cartoons messed up in the same weird way: They played fine from the start of the show until the first commercial break - then, nothing at all. No commercials, no cartoon; just a blank screen until the next cartoon started. Then the whole cycle repeated.

As I write, we're in the blank-screen phase of Sabrina the Teenage Witch. No idea if this nonsense will continue all day.

Meanwhile, Hot TV on 31.3 is fine, so once again it's specifically a Retro thing.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7718 of 7720 Old 05-02-2015, 04:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
More kooky 31.4 shenanigans today: Four of their Saturday morning cartoons messed up in the same weird way: They played fine from the start of the show until the first commercial break - then, nothing at all. No commercials, no cartoon; just a blank screen until the next cartoon started. Then the whole cycle repeated.

As I write, we're in the blank-screen phase of Sabrina the Teenage Witch. No idea if this nonsense will continue all day.

Meanwhile, Hot TV on 31.3 is fine, so once again it's specifically a Retro thing.

It's not Retro TV they are broadcasting just fine with no black outs. The problem is the local Dallas affiliate KGL 31.4. Their transmitter (I assume is supplied by RTV) continuously has issues in picking up the RTV signal. For the last two days they have been running first part of the show, then when the first commercial break comes, it freezes and goes blank till the next show comes on. Then as you say repeats that cycle again. It's back on now, but if you look at Rabbit Ears.com site, their signal strength has dropped WAY below normal. The picture is on now, but it's dropping in and out pixelization wise every few minutes. And that's very surprising considering we have beautiful sunny skies, so the reception should be perfect.

I gave up figuring out this station a long time ago... Retro TV is on Time Warner cable in San Antonio, but not here in Dallas.
Norman Fisher is offline  
post #7719 of 7720 Old 05-02-2015, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Yeah but the weird thing is, 31.3 and 31.4 are both part of the same transmitter. Just different transport streams.

There are at least two different problems; one is the poor overall signal quality since the storms a week ago, which affects all 31.x subchannels. On their weekly graph at RabbitEars you can clearly see where something happened about a week ago. That's clearly Mako's issue (unless it's Bob's!); they need to hire someone to work on that and get it back to spec.

The other problem was the weird "show the first part of the show, then drop out at the first commercial break" thing, which only affected 31.4. That's what I meant by "specifically a Retro thing:" it affected Retro but not Hot TV, nor the other 31.x stuff I don't watch anyway. Didn't mean to imply it was affecting all Retro affiliates.

Not sure who needs to fix the Retro issues. Has Luken had as much trouble with Rev'n on 26.4 as they've had with Retro on 31.4? I don't watch it much; I do know Rev'n was off the air for a while some weeks ago, but it's working now and I haven't happened to notice any other kookiness with it. Mako owns & operates both KODF/26 and K31GL; I'd like to see Luken move Retro to a subchannel of KODF/26, which was easier for me to receive even before the recent storms.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #7720 of 7720 Old 05-03-2015, 04:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Mako is taking the national Retro TV satellite feed (as far as I know) and as such if there was such a problem on Luken's end, other areas would be complaining about it.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #7721 of 7720 Old Yesterday, 11:18 PM
Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Several more TWC analog channels were nightlighted after 12am (IE, CNN, TWC, Animal Planet, NBC Sports).

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off