Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 7547 Old 06-16-2005, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Desmond View Post

As best I could understand, the concern of the FCC was that KTVT-DT on channel 11 will create impermissible adjacent channel interference in the southernmost portions of KXII-DT's coverage area when that station moves back to channel 12.

Not to step on anyone's toes, but shouldn't KTVT take priority over KXII based on larger viewer base?
Quote:


I would suspect that a slight modification of the transmission power for one or both of these stations will resolve that problem.

As for KXTX and KLDT, the plan is that KXTX-DT will be on channel 40, KLDT-DT on channel 39.

So if they resolve the issue, KXTX would be on 11. Would KLDT still be on 39?

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 7547 Old 06-16-2005, 04:10 PM
Member
 
drjdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JStigler,

Yes the NBA games are very good. As for thd Dobly 5.1 on Channel 8 and Channel 11, it is not all the time. It is Dobly 5.1 on the 10:00 news on both channels. On Channel 5, it is Dobly 2.0. This is what my receiver is reporting. I have noiticed on the 10:00 Channel 8 news that you can really tell the Dobly 5.1 on certain segments of the news. As for the other news times, I don't know as I only watch the 10:00 news.
drjdan is offline  
post #813 of 7547 Old 06-16-2005, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xesdeeni View Post

Not to step on anyone's toes, but shouldn't KTVT take priority over KXII based on larger viewer base? So if they resolve the issue, KXTX would be on 11. Would KLDT still be on 39?

Xesdeeni

I don't know how the FCC is determining priorities when dealing with interference issues as with KXII and KTVT. I'm sure that it will ultimately get resolved in a way that won't hurt either station, though -- the interference that would allegedly occur to KXII is almost certainly limited to the very southern edge of their protected coverage contour. That's here in Plano, where almost no one actually watches KXII -- but because the population of Plano is much higher than that of any cities that are actually in the Sherman/Ada TV market, the population in Plano that would receive interference on KXII ends up looking like a fairly high percentage of KXII's total coverage area.

As for KXTX -- it will not end up on channel 11, no one has suggested that it would end up on channel 11. It has been posted here several times that KXTX will end up on channel 40, and this will occur regardless of how the interference concern between KTVT and KXII is resolved.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #814 of 7547 Old 06-17-2005, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Desmond View Post

...the interference that would allegedly occur to KXII is almost certainly limited to...Plano, where almost no one actually watches KXII -- but ...the population in Plano that would receive interference on KXII ends up looking like a fairly high percentage of KXII's total coverage area.

Ahh. That makes sense.
Quote:


As for KXTX -- it will not end up on channel 11, no one has suggested that it would end up on channel 11. It has been posted here several times that KXTX will end up on channel 40, and this will occur regardless of how the interference concern between KTVT and KXII is resolved.

Please forgive me. Apparently I was operating below the legal limit of caffeine yesterday. Somehow I confused KTVT/KXII and KXTX/KLDT.

Ks & Xs & Ts, oh my!

Never mind....

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
post #815 of 7547 Old 06-24-2005, 10:28 PM
Member
 
drjdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JStigler

I think the NBA finals were very good sound.

Do you have any idea when Channel 8 will start broadcasting in 16:9 HD? The current 4:3 broadcast look good--are they using HD cameras and down converting to 4:3 for broadcast?
drjdan is offline  
post #816 of 7547 Old 06-29-2005, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
JStigler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Euless, TX, USA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our camera's are Phillips LDK-9 and are 4:3. These are several years old. Can't say when you will see local news in 16:9 but it is being discussed. We are a serial digital plant. That means the camera's are digital all the way through the plant and upconvert to 8.1. No analog in the path. This makes a big of difference.
JStigler
JStigler is offline  
post #817 of 7547 Old 06-30-2005, 04:26 PM
Member
 
Schlep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also having problems with ABC, but I haven't been able to get the signal to lock-on, also with KDFI 27. I just installed this antenna (Terk HDTVs) today. I'm able to get:

2.1: KDTN
4.1: KDFW
5.1: KXAS
5.2: KXAS Weather
11.1: KTVT
13.1: KERA
21.1: UPN
21.2: UPN Radar
23.1: KUVN
33.1: KDAF
33.2: KDAF Radar
39.1: KXTX
46.1: Some shopping channel
49.1: KSTR
52.1: KFWD
58.1: KDTX
58.2: KDTX
58.3: KDTX
58.4: KDTX
68.1: KPXD
68.2: Pax West
68.3: Worship
68.4: Faith

It just seems really strange to me that I can pick ALL of this up, but I can't get ABC or KDFI. Any suggestions? I'm thinking they both may be VHF and I'll have to get one of those combiners mentioned earlier in the thread.

Edit: did some research and found out that KDFI is in the middle of upgrading their tower from ~11kW to ~1,000kW, so that's why I'm not getting that up here in Denton. WFAA/ABC I've read is really hard to get, even in parts of Plano. I don't get why they can't use UHF like every other station in DFW.

Schlep
Schlep is offline  
post #818 of 7547 Old 06-30-2005, 08:04 PM
Member
 
drjdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since Channel 8 is VHF, why don't get a small external VHF antenna that is easy to handle (and could be returned easy) to see if you can get Channel 8. With your regular TV's, can you get Channel 8 analog?
drjdan is offline  
post #819 of 7547 Old 06-30-2005, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Schlep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did that about half an hour ago using a powered antenna from Radio Shack with no luck. On regular analog ABC I get a little bit of constant static, but it's still very watchable. I live in an apartment, so I think I'm quickly coming close to the limit of what I can do. I'd like to have Monday Night Football in the Fall, otherwise I really wouldn't care about ABC.

Schlep
Schlep is offline  
post #820 of 7547 Old 06-30-2005, 09:13 PM
Member
 
kmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Schlep, what tuner (or HDTV set if tuner built in) are you using?
kmoe is offline  
post #821 of 7547 Old 06-30-2005, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Schlep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a Sony 42WE655 which has a built-in tuner.

Schlep
Schlep is offline  
post #822 of 7547 Old 07-01-2005, 01:06 PM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone looking at getting a HD Tivo (HR10-250)?

Picked up one at the Lewisville BB for $377. Used a 50% off coupon they had in a coupon book back in the TV section. It took a while and two different managers, but they accepted it.

DTV also offered me:

$250 credit upon acitvation of HD programming
$5.99 for 6 months of the HD pack (1/2 off)
Showtime free for 3 months
HBO $2 a month for 3 months

If you take the $250 credit and act like it is going toward the HD Tivo, Un-technically I got the HD Tivo for $127.
DubC is offline  
post #823 of 7547 Old 07-01-2005, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Schlep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought about it, but decided not to since the box will probably be useless within a year due to the change to MPEG4. I'll wait and see what these new boxes look like.

Schlep
Schlep is offline  
post #824 of 7547 Old 07-02-2005, 03:59 PM
Newbie
 
Plano HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having the same exact problem as Birddog. I am using a Radio shack antenna installed in my attic since November (TV is a Samsung 30" widescreen with built-in HD Tuner). ABC's HD signal was flawless - Monday night football was crystal clear. Over the last two months, I can't pick it up at all. Rescanning did not help. Same problem with KDFI digital, but an earlier post mentioned that their broadcast tower is under maintenance. All other local digital channels are fine.

Any other suggestions are welcome.

Thx.
Plano HDTV is offline  
post #825 of 7547 Old 07-02-2005, 04:41 PM
Newbie
 
Plano HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found the quote below from KMOE. Tried this, and it worked. I removed the antenna, rescanned; reattached the antenna, and rescanned again. I now get both ABC 8-1 & 8-2 (weather) perfectly. I live in Plano near the intersection of Custer and Legacy.

THANKS KMOE!!!!

------------------------
QUOTE= kmoe]The PIDs were changed awhile back so this may not be related.......but one thing that may be working for some is to unplug the coax from your tuner, do a rescan so it "unlearns" the old WFAA PIDs, plug in your coax, then do a new final re-scan
Plano HDTV is offline  
post #826 of 7547 Old 07-02-2005, 05:43 PM
Member
 
jmont24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I on a lark this morning I tuned in 8-1 on my Samsung S360 and low and behold there was a Signal so I went to my TV's internal Tuner and scanned for digital channels and 8-1 magically appeared. Ive changed nothing on my setup for the last month or so when I last tried to pick up WFAA.

Now if they could of only did what they did before the NBA finals.

Jason
jmont24 is offline  
post #827 of 7547 Old 07-03-2005, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
120inna55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens, TX
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sorry for the newbie questions:

Somewhere on this forum in the past I found a link to a site that tells you whether a station is UHF or VHF and at what power they're boradcasting. Where is this site?

How can you tell what's full power (what do the numbers relate to)?

When were all of these stations supposed to be at full power?


I looked for a FAQ, but couldn't find anything specific to this. Sorry if this is a repetitive post.
120inna55 is offline  
post #828 of 7547 Old 07-04-2005, 12:40 PM
Member
 
balthrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently upgraded my Dish Network 811 receiver to a 942. I could pick up KMPX-DT (30), and KTAQ-DT (46) on the 811, but the new reciever is not picking up either one now. No changes of any kind have been done to my Radio Shack antenna in the attic or to the Channel Master signal booster attached to the receiver. KDFI-DT is still coming intermittantly, but I chalk that up to their weak signal.


Also, does any one know if KLDT-DT is broadcasting at all? I have never been able to pick up their digital sigal on channel 54.

Alan Balthrop
Webmaster/Historian
Dallas Sidekicks Memorial Archive
http://www.kicksfan.com
balthrop is offline  
post #829 of 7547 Old 07-04-2005, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
120inna55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens, TX
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by balthrop View Post

I recently upgraded my Dish Network 811 receiver to a 942. I could pick up KMPX-DT (30), and KTAQ-DT (46) on the 811, but the new reciever is not picking up either one now. No changes of any kind have been done to my Radio Shack antenna in the attic or to the Channel Master signal booster attached to the receiver. KDFI-DT is still coming intermittantly, but I chalk that up to their weak signal.


Also, does any one know if KLDT-DT is broadcasting at all? I have never been able to pick up their digital sigal on channel 54.


It has been suggested by others that the 942's OTA tuner is inferior. Hopefully it's just software related and can be fixed with an update.
120inna55 is offline  
post #830 of 7547 Old 07-04-2005, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by balthrop View Post

Also, does any one know if KLDT-DT is broadcasting at all? I have never been able to pick up their digital sigal on channel 54.

KLDT-DT is transmitting at low power from their analog tower site in Lewisville (a mile or so down the road from Vista Ridge Mall). While Plano is theoretically in the coverage area of this low power transmitter, as a practical matter it really can't be easily received here -- an outdoor or attic antenna aimed at Cedar Hill is pointed the wrong way for KLDT, and the signal is just too weak for an indoor antenna to receive.

Not that there is much to see on this station, anyway. Still, it is a waste considering that they do have CPs from the FCC to move both analog and digital to Cedar Hill.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #831 of 7547 Old 07-05-2005, 12:22 AM
Member
 
Schlep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Out of curiosity...why do these stations broadcast from Cedar Hill instead of from a more central location like Irving or Farmers Branch?

Schlep
Schlep is offline  
post #832 of 7547 Old 07-05-2005, 08:59 AM
Member
 
balthrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlep View Post

Out of curiosity...why do these stations broadcast from Cedar Hill instead of from a more central location like Irving or Farmers Branch?


Two Reasons:


1. Cedar Hill is the highest geographic point in the Metroplex.


2. When the towers were built at Cedar Hill, the Metroplex was both a lot smaller, and geographiclly a lot further south.

Alan Balthrop
Webmaster/Historian
Dallas Sidekicks Memorial Archive
http://www.kicksfan.com
balthrop is offline  
post #833 of 7547 Old 07-05-2005, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Schlep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Makes sense. I'm surprised there aren't some higher points in Denton county; especially west of 35.

Schlep
Schlep is offline  
post #834 of 7547 Old 07-06-2005, 10:47 PM
Member
 
DubC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are higher points in Denton County. Denton County's highest point is approx. 110 feet higher than Cedar Hill, but its north of Slidell.
DubC is offline  
post #835 of 7547 Old 07-07-2005, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Seems like that would be a lot further from downtown Dallas and downtown Fort Worth than the current Cedar Hill antenna farm is.

In any event, relocating the main antenna farm location for the area is not really practical -- it would be a logistical nightmare to coordinate a whole bunch of stations relocating at the same time to avoid interference. And it would ripple into adjacent markets, violating spacing requirements with adjacent and cochannel stations in Wichita Fallas and Sherman.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #836 of 7547 Old 07-14-2005, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
rkhobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Living in low-lying area in McKinney about 46 miles from the towers, ABC HD was coming in on my DirecTV HR10-250 at a signal strength around the mid 60's. This was somewhat satisfactory if you want to put up with the occassional interference and digitallization fragments which would happen for a second or two every 5 minutes (especially at night).

I'm using a DB8 high-gain multi-directional antenna (UHF/VHF) in my attic from antennasdirect.com. This works great for all my HD UHF channels which I receive signal strengths from the mid 70's to the mid 80's. But I wasn't quite satisfied with the VHF ABC HD performance.

After some research, I purchased and installed a cheap ($33 at SolidSignal.com) dedicated VHF antenna in my attic. I got a Winegard YA-1713 that is designed for VHF channels 7 through 13. This thing is only 35" wide with a boom length of 100". Since I was using a channel master 777 pre amp that allows for independent VHF and UHF inputs, I combined both the UHF (from DB8) and the VHF (YA-1713) on the pre-amp. I had to switch the FM trap from IN to OUT to get the "combine" to work. My ABC signal strength jumped from the mid 60's to the high 80's. ABC HD is NOW coming in very strong and this morning I checked and signal strength was at 90.

I hope this improves my periodic interference issues and digital pixelation artifacts on VHF ABC HD channel 8-1.

 

Winegard-ya-1713.pdf 49.4794921875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Winegard-ya-1713.pdf (49.5 KB, 7 views)
rkhobbit is offline  
post #837 of 7547 Old 07-14-2005, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
dgouldin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is most likely a load of bull, but a WalMart employee told me today that all DFW stations stopped broadcasting OTA HD at least until 2006. Please somebody debunk this rumor so that I can buy an OTA receiver and know I won't be terribly disappointed.
dgouldin is offline  
post #838 of 7547 Old 07-14-2005, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Dgouldin, that WalMart employee is indeed full of it...OTA HD programming is not going away locally.

And going back one post further, I'm not surprised that adding a separate VHF antenna was helpful to rkhobbit; the DB8 is a UHF-only 8-bay bowtie antenna, which will work somewhat in the high VHF band but really is not designed to do so. That means it wasn't a very efficient antenna for receiving WFAA-DT on channel 9.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #839 of 7547 Old 07-15-2005, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dgouldin - HD all over the place last night. Damn! Jennifer Connelly looked good in HD (on Leno).

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
post #840 of 7547 Old 07-15-2005, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
IFLYSWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xesdeeni View Post

dgouldin - HD all over the place last night. Damn! Jennifer Connelly looked good in HD (on Leno).

Xesdeeni

I knew I forgot to record something.....

Randy
IFLYSWA is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off