Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 289 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8641 of 8646 Old Yesterday, 05:30 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
No reason the LG should be that way unless it has a defective VHF tuner section.
This assumes that it has separate VHF and UHF tuners. Tuner chip sets tend to be all in one affairs these days.

Signal loss in coax cable depends on frequency so there is less loss at VHF frequencies, making it more likely that you could overload the RF front end. There are a number of ways to test that idea. I keep some attenuators around for just this purpose. Just as easy is to connect a really bad antenna, like a 3 foot wire, to the input.

I just tried that here and WFAA came in fine.
schultdw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8642 of 8646 Old Yesterday, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
This assumes that it has separate VHF and UHF tuners. Tuner chip sets tend to be all in one affairs these days.
.
Yep they don't make'em like they used to. The few integrated tuner chips I have looked at will probably have some sort of VHF low-VHF high-UHF band filtering.

For example if something was defective between pins 32 and 33 the VHF High tracking filter circuit ...


Last edited by ed_in_tx; Yesterday at 05:54 PM.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #8643 of 8646 Old Yesterday, 08:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: S Arlington
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks guys. I'll report back tomorrow. The amp is separate, so I'll disconnect in the morning. I'm also tempted to go to a nearby big box and see if they can get WFAA digital. If they can't, it would indicate a failure with these units. If they can receive on their set, my tuner is bad.

How do I post tvfool? Do I post a screen shot, or post a link?
Thanks again!
texski is offline  
 
post #8644 of 8646 Old Yesterday, 08:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,810
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1719 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by texski View Post
How do I post tvfool? Do I post a screen shot, or post a link?
Thanks again!
Either one will work but the link is easier. Once you bring up your TVFool.com report, the link should be right there on the page in bold, ready to copy and paste. Here's mine, for instance: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4c6b638ccf8

That hex string on the end encodes your address, so you can share a TVFool report for your exact location without revealing it to the world.
texski likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8645 of 8646 Old Today, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by texski View Post
Thanks guys. I'll report back tomorrow.
Did you happen to notice if the LG added 28.x and 52.x channels? They transmit on VHF high like Ch 8.1.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #8646 of 8646 Old Today, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,810
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1719 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Did you happen to notice if the LG added 28.x and 52.x channels? They transmit on VHF high like Ch 8.1.
He mentioned "DTV 9;" I took that to mean it didn't add 52.x:
Quote:
Originally Posted by texski View Post
Just a couple of days ago I bought this OLED and was hoping you all might be able to shed some light. I hooked this up to my attic antenna and this LG will not auto tune or manually recognize 8.1, 8.2, 8.3 or dtv 9.
... unless maybe he was looking for some 9.x channels?
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off