Dallas, TX - HDTV - Page 291 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 68Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8701 of 8708 Old 10-21-2017, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 89
KVFW 38, back to "0". So much for that!
ed_in_tx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8702 of 8708 Old 10-21-2017, 04:35 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
KVFW 38, back to "0". So much for that!
It must be something local as the signal strength is unchanged here and I can see Dr. Who. The Pertwee incarnation anyway.
schultdw is online now  
post #8703 of 8708 Old Yesterday, 07:46 AM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I added overrides and it helped three stations including RF38 (KVFW) but not RF10.

https://rabbitears.info/tvdx/signal_...tuner0/KVFW-LD

The dropouts are a problem on the server side. Perhaps overload of the database engine.
schultdw is online now  
 
post #8704 of 8708 Old Yesterday, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,961
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1803 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
I added overrides and it helped three stations including RF38 (KVFW) but not RF10.

https://rabbitears.info/tvdx/signal_...tuner0/KVFW-LD
Excellent! Since you have custom code, I assume you had to modify it.

Out of curiosity, which approach did the trick: forcing the call letters into virtual program 1, or adding the "reporter-callsign" tag?
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
The dropouts are a problem on the server side. Perhaps overload of the database engine.
I've been noticing those in my own data for the past couple of weeks. They come and go. At least now I know it's not just me.

I mentioned them to Trip because I was worried my tuner was going out. He told me the site was looking at possibly revamping the server-side software. Hopefully they can come up with an approach that solves that issue.

Last edited by JHBrandt; Yesterday at 03:58 PM. Reason: Add missing word "did"
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8705 of 8708 Old Yesterday, 11:13 AM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Out of curiosity, which approach the trick: forcing the call letters into virtual program 1, or adding the "reporter-callsign" tag?
Special tag.
schultdw is online now  
post #8706 of 8708 Old Yesterday, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,961
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1803 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
Special tag.
OK, great. So for those with the "stock" script, the command-line override should work.

Turns out the Windows version has the same command-line override. I just installed overrides for KWDA, KODF, KJJM, KVFW, and KLEG and they're working. As you noted, trying to override RF 10 doesn't work, probably because the server cross-checks the channel/call sign pairs against a database that still lists KHPK on RF 28.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
If you see a green or yellow number in the rightmost column, that station is watchable at my home, but a few such stations aren't identified by their call letters at the link above. (I think Trip may have a fix for this, though, since Bob's scan does somehow manage to identify those stations.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Bob is running the Linux build and custom modified his code to identify those stations at least some of the time. I do not have those modifications.

- Trip
Good news if this comes up again: both the Linux Perl script and the Windows executable support a command-line option to deal with this issue. The syntax is:

-o 10,KHPK,21,KWDA, etc.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #8707 of 8708 Old Yesterday, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 71
KDTX has been off the air since the storms last night.

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!
See The Light is online now  
post #8708 of 8708 Old Today, 06:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,433
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
It must be something local as the signal strength is unchanged here and I can see Dr. Who. The Pertwee incarnation anyway.
You may be right on the local interference. Whatever is causing it, wipes out the signal down to 0-52-55-0 which isn't good enough to get a lock. Maybe Rent a Center has a spectrum analyzer I can rent..
ed_in_tx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off