Boone/Hickory, NC - Charter - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 523 Old 08-13-2009, 06:20 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomluck View Post

Any update yet Umatter2Charter?

Here you go.

FamilyNet SD
Ovation SD
World Fishing Network SD
TV One
Bravo HD
Smithsonian HD
Science Channel HD
USA HD
Fox News Channel HD
Versus HD
Speed HD
Sci FI HD
The Movie Channel HD

We'll also be moving some analog channels to digital.

George
Umatter2Charter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 523 Old 08-16-2009, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
GHulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Any chance of getting MLB Xtra Innings in Asheville? Ever?
GHulse is offline  
post #393 of 523 Old 08-25-2009, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Channel lineup changes have taken place on all Charter systems in North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia on August 25, 2009. Info is still rather spotty right now, as my Moxi is showing the right activated channels, but not the correct listings, and I still have no idea where a number of the channels are. When full info becomes available, I'll post it here.

The Moxi box listing issue is systemwide and will not be fully cleared up until at least tomorrow morning, if not a little longer.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #394 of 523 Old 08-25-2009, 11:58 AM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Good afternoon everyone. I definitely understand your frustration with the changing channel line-ups in SC and NC. We have received PDFs of the new channel line-ups from marketing, and would be more than happy to email the correct channel lineup to anyone who needs it. You can also see this at the Charter.net link listed above. http://www.charter.net/tv/?sc_cid=directory_tv

George
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #395 of 523 Old 08-26-2009, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
There are some issues that need to be brought up here pertaining to Moxi customers in the Lincolnton area.

1. Channel listings for GSN (77), Univision (200), and the Extra Innings/Center Ice channels (360-374) are missing
UPDATE: GSN's listings are still missing, and the XI/CI channels are showing up as PPV channels

2. Channels 830-835 are still in the channel map, but should no longer be there.

3. The listings for the UNC-TV digital channels (120, 122, 712) are messed up again. This is an issue that has been continuing since September 2008, when UNC-TV rearranged its OTA broadcast services.

4. Channel 708 (QVC HD) is not in HD, but tuning instead to analog channel 14. Also, Univision channel 203 tunes to analog channel 23.

5. It should be made clear in the lineups that WSPA is not available to Lincolnton-area customers (outside WSPA's viewing area and also WBTV's transmitter is in this area)
blackcap93 is offline  
post #396 of 523 Old 08-26-2009, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
tomluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
George-

I would love to have a .pdf of the new lineup, as I did not receive one by mail. If you could, please send it to tomluck at aol dot com.

Thanks.
tomluck is offline  
post #397 of 523 Old 08-26-2009, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcap93 View Post

4. Channel 708 (QVC HD) is not in HD, but tuning instead to analog channel 14.

The nerve of them! what do they expect people to do, go shop at walmart instead??

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #398 of 523 Old 08-26-2009, 12:32 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomluck View Post
George-

I would love to have a .pdf of the new lineup, as I did not receive one by mail. If you could, please send it to tomluck at aol dot com.

Thanks.
Here you go. I forgot this site allowed attachments..

 

Channel Migration Lineup Aug 2009 -Asheville.pdf 296.009765625k . file

 

Channel Migration Lineup Aug 2009 -Boone.pdf 292.7919921875k . file

 

Channel Migration Lineup Aug 2009 -Hickory.pdf 295.5791015625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Channel Migration Lineup Aug 2009 -Hickory.pdf (295.6 KB, 1 views)
File Type: pdf Channel Migration Lineup Aug 2009 -Boone.pdf (292.8 KB, 1 views)
File Type: pdf Channel Migration Lineup Aug 2009 -Asheville.pdf (296.0 KB, 7 views)
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #399 of 523 Old 09-06-2009, 09:35 PM
Member
 
indiix2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have an updated QAM HD channel listing for Hickory, NC area? I thought i was able to get WBTV-DT a few months ago, but i cannot seem to find it anymore. All i have are the following (interested in HD only):

101.4 WSOC-DT (ABC)
103.1 WCCB-DT (FOX)
103.2 WCNC-DT (NBC)
106.1 WMFY-DT (CBS)
106.2 WXII-DT (NBC)
106.4 WXII-DT2 (NBC)
107.3 WUNG-DT (PBS - Greensboro)

Does anyone pickup anything i've missed? Also what do others in the HKY area pickup with a OTA antenna?
indiix2 is offline  
post #400 of 523 Old 09-07-2009, 07:23 PM
Member
 
ECUPirates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by indiix2 View Post


Does anyone pickup anything i've missed? Also what do others in the HKY area pickup with a OTA antenna?

I pick up WBTV, WSOC, WCCB, WCNC, WHKY, WAXN, WJZY, WMYT and a couple of different UNC-TV's.

I have a small Terk antenna in my attic and get all of these.
ECUPirates is offline  
post #401 of 523 Old 09-14-2009, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Sincerity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any reason why AMC on demand offers mad men HD but we don't actually get the AMDHD channel? I found this strange. in Hickory btw.
Sincerity is offline  
post #402 of 523 Old 09-19-2009, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WBTV is now at channel 73-2.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #403 of 523 Old 09-20-2009, 10:57 AM
Member
 
indiix2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcap93 View Post

WBTV is now at channel 73-2.


Is this active now? I'm not getting this channel on my QAM tuner. I have an HDHomerun and don't pickup this channel. However i did notice yesterday when installing my new OTA tuner that 106.1 over QAM seemed to show a WBTV news advert. So i thought maybe 106.1 went from WMYF to WBTV. I'll be soon picking up a second HDHomerun so i can have dual tuners for both OTA and QAM. Giving my 4 tuners total. This should ease some issues i'm having with recording conflicts and TV channel watching conflicts.
indiix2 is offline  
post #404 of 523 Old 09-28-2009, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm still getting WBTV on 73-2 and WFMY on 106-1, and I'm also fed from the Hickory headend. WBTV was moved from channel 72 to 73 in the big line up reshuffle in August.

You may try rescanning your HDHomerun or by tuning to channel 73 directly.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #405 of 523 Old 09-28-2009, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Fox Soprts South HD and SportSouth HD have now been split into their own channels. Fox Sports South HD now airs the same programming as the analog channel, either in upconverted, pillarboxed SD or in HD. I assume this is the same for SportsSouth HD, but I can't be sure as Charter doesn't carry this channel
blackcap93 is offline  
post #406 of 523 Old 10-01-2009, 05:42 PM
Member
 
indiix2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcap93 View Post

I'm still getting WBTV on 73-2 and WFMY on 106-1, and I'm also fed from the Hickory headend. WBTV was moved from channel 72 to 73 in the big line up reshuffle in August.

You may try rescanning your HDHomerun or by tuning to channel 73 directly.

It didn't help. I didn't get anything at all in the entire 70's channel range. I get WFMY however windows 7 doesn't show that channel up in the media center listings so it's almost worthless to me, but i haven't deleted i yet.

Maybe my HDHomerun just doesn't tune in that signal. Would it be 64 or 256 QAM encoding? Would changing that help? HDHomerun won't even tune the channel at either.
indiix2 is offline  
post #407 of 523 Old 10-01-2009, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by indiix2 View Post

Maybe my HDHomerun just doesn't tune in that signal..

QAM 73 is 519 mhz..which is same as OTA channel 22 which is WCNC-DT
I'd say you have an ingress problem with your cable drop.

256QAM is what cable uses now, 64 QAM just doesn't have the capacity.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #408 of 523 Old 11-02-2009, 07:43 PM
Member
 
indiix2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did 101.4 get dropped on charter QAM recently? It's no longer showing up on my channel scan.
indiix2 is offline  
post #409 of 523 Old 11-03-2009, 01:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WSOC is now on 103-3, due to several digital channels changing RF frequencies.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #410 of 523 Old 05-18-2010, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Some minor housekeeping of my posts in this thread have beern done, and there isn't much to report on the HD channel front right now, with no HD channels being added to Charter's lineups in recent months.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #411 of 523 Old 05-23-2010, 07:10 AM
Member
 
gayle28607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Boone, NC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I correct that UNC TV is now at 769.25 Mhz? My tuner, an EyeTV hybrid, isn't able to decrypt this. It sees a signal, but there isn't an image.
gayle28607 is offline  
post #412 of 523 Old 07-16-2010, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
ThisTV Charlotte (WBTV-DT2) is now available in the Hickory area on channel 174 (on Motorola and Moxi boxes) and on channel 73-3 (QAM tuning devices).
blackcap93 is offline  
post #413 of 523 Old 07-21-2010, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hickory-area viewers with QAM tuners can now tune to digital local channels as follows:

3-1 WBTV-DT1 (1080i)
3-2 WBTV-DT2 (This! Charlotte) (SD)
9-1 WSOC-DT1 (720p)
17-1 WUNE-DT1 (UNC-KD) (SD)
17-2 WUNE-DT2 (UNC-TV) (1080i)
17-3 WUNE-DT3 (UNC-EX) (SD)
18-1 WCCB-DT1 (720p)
36-1 WCNC-DT1 (1080i)
blackcap93 is offline  
post #414 of 523 Old 08-30-2010, 12:04 AM
Member
 
Birds Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Newland, NC
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Umatter2Charter,

It's been over a year since I last asked this and I'm still wondering if the Newland, NC (Avery County) area is going to get HD any time soon? Thanks!

Johnny
Birds Nest is offline  
post #415 of 523 Old 08-30-2010, 12:14 PM
 
Umatter2Charter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Town & Country, MO
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birds Nest View Post

Hey Umatter2Charter,

It's been over a year since I last asked this and I'm still wondering if the Newland, NC (Avery County) area is going to get HD any time soon? Thanks!

Johnny

Unfortunately it does not look like there are any plans in place to add HD for the area in the near future. Sorry.
Umatter2Charter is offline  
post #416 of 523 Old 09-27-2010, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
tomluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our Tivo popped up with a message today saying that a new channel had been detected, DisneyHD on 756. It's on the Tivo guide as well. However, no picture as yet. What's the status? Any other upgrades coming? We're in Hickory.
tomluck is offline  
post #417 of 523 Old 09-29-2010, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes, Disney Channel HD is on channel 756, and there should be a signal now, as long as you subscribe to the proper package.

Also, PBS Sprout (a channel aimed at preschool kids and their parents and caregivers) will be available on channel 112 beginning October 26.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #418 of 523 Old 10-08-2010, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
blackcap93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, NC
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Comedy Central HD will be available to Hickory-area customers beginning November 16 on channel 767.
blackcap93 is offline  
post #419 of 523 Old 11-23-2010, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm located about eight miles west of Hickory and have Charter Cable HDTV. Does anyone have any knowledge of changes in the Channel lineup adding ESPNU and CNBC for HD?

Formerly from Gastonia.

Hugh

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #420 of 523 Old 11-23-2010, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've got a so called Moxi Box from Charter Cable. Do they have plans in upgrading this piece of equipment?

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off