Hartford, CT - Comcast - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3315 Old 05-19-2006, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Agnt86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Ahh crap, thanks for catching that.

No problem. You'd do the same for me.

And you replied before I finished my edit/commentary!
Agnt86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3315 Old 05-24-2006, 05:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, Comcast just got on my last nerve. I ordered their digital service with the "Dump the Dish" promotion. I specifically asked the rep if I could get a box with firewire and was told yes. And when they came out and installed it... it was the old 5100 series box. So I called Comcast and they said "Oh, to get firewire you have to get a DVR and pay another $5." I said "But I don't want a DVR... I want an HD box with firewire like I was promised." They basically said tough. I really, really despise cable companies.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #363 of 3315 Old 05-24-2006, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
In most parts of the country Comcast has the Motorola 6200 box that has firewire. You should be able to get this non-DVR box since the Motorola 5100 has been discontinued. Try talking to a different Comcast rep. and specifically ask for the Motorola 6200 box.
PaulGo is offline  
post #364 of 3315 Old 05-25-2006, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone lost their CPTV HD feed in the last couple of days or know if it has been assigned a new frequency by Comcast? I am in Clinton, use a QAM tuner (Sony XBR) with direct cable, no box, no cable card. I was getting this on my set in the 70's, 79.15 I think.
sgbroimp is offline  
post #365 of 3315 Old 05-25-2006, 06:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGo View Post

In most parts of the country Comcast has the Motorola 6200 box that has firewire. You should be able to get this non-DVR box since the Motorola 5100 has been discontinued. Try talking to a different Comcast rep. and specifically ask for the Motorola 6200 box.

I did a couple different times last night. I was told the only 6xxx series box they carry is the 6412.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #366 of 3315 Old 05-25-2006, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

I did a couple different times last night. I was told the only 6xxx series box they carry is the 6412.

This is a thread on the subject. It appears the cable company must provide at least one box that has 1394 active. Also all boxes manufactured after 7/1/2005 have to have an active 1394 port. If your area is the dumping grounds for old HD boxes it appears your only option is the 6412.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0&page=1&pp=40
PaulGo is offline  
post #367 of 3315 Old 05-26-2006, 06:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep. I actually had a protracted battle with Comcast yesterday because the rep hadn't been truthful about all the charges I would incur with the "dump the dish" promo. So in the end I have the HD receiver and the lowest level digital to go along with Basic cable. So I'm paying about $25/month. But I did get them to give me a $70 credit since they had misled me badly. To get the 6412 I'd have to cough up another $5.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #368 of 3315 Old 05-26-2006, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake14mw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Madpoet, Have you ever had a DVR? Believe me, once you get used to it, you will think it is the best $5 a month you spend.

At this point, I would never go without a DVR. I would go down to one TV or lower programming packages before I got rid of my DTivos.
jake14mw is offline  
post #369 of 3315 Old 05-30-2006, 09:28 AM
Member
 
bac2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When we were at the Big E last year, I talked to the Comcast rep and he said the Springfield area was getting upgraded 6412 DVRs with larger hard drives. I believe he said 250GB. We have one of the original 6412s with I think 80GB. Any truth to this and are they available in CT? We are always at the high end of percentage used and it would be nice to save more.
bac2010 is offline  
post #370 of 3315 Old 05-31-2006, 07:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NESN-HD vs. YES-HD... when are we supposed to be getting one over the other? I live in what is considered a NESN zone, so I naively assumed (and was told) I'd be getting NESN-HD on InHD2. I do... sometimes. And othertimes I get YES-HD. Kind of pissing me off. How do you know when you will get one or the other?

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #371 of 3315 Old 05-31-2006, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
KK in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I emailed Comcast with that question not too long ago. They sent me the info through the All-Star break below:

Date Team Opponent Time
17-May New York Yankees TEXAS 7:05
18-May New York Yankees TEXAS 7:05
19-May Boston Red Sox at Philadelphia 7:05
20-May Boston Red Sox at Philadelphia 7:05
21-May Boston Red Sox at Philadelphia 1:35
22-May Boston Red Sox NEW YORK 7:05
23-May Boston Red Sox NEW YORK 7:05
24-May Boston Red Sox NEW YORK 5:00
25-May Boston Red Sox TAMPA BAY 7:05
26-May Boston Red Sox TAMPA BAY 7:05
27-May New York Yankees KANSAS CITY 4:05
Date Team Opponent Time
28-May New York Yankees KANSAS CITY 1:05
29-May Boston Red Sox at Toronto 7:05
30-May Boston Red Sox at Toronto 7:05
31-May Boston Red Sox at Toronto 7:05
1-Jun No HD Games Available
2-Jun New York Yankees at Baltimore 7:05
3-Jun New York Yankees at Baltimore 4:35
4-Jun Boston Red Sox at Detroit 1:05
5-Jun New York Yankees BOSTON 7:05
6-Jun Boston Red Sox at New York 7:05
7-Jun New York Yankees BOSTON 7:05
8-Jun New York Yankees BOSTON 1:05
9-Jun New York Yankees OAKLAND 7:05
10-Jun Boston Red Sox TEXAS 7:05
11-Jun Boston Red Sox TEXAS 2:05
13-Jun Boston Red Sox at Minnesota 8:10
14-Jun New York Yankees CLEVELAND 7:05
15-Jun Boston Red Sox at Minnesota 8:10
16-Jun Boston Red Sox at Atlanta 7:35
17-Jun No HD Games Available
18-Jun New York Yankees at Washington 12:05
19-Jun New York Yankees at Philadelphia 7:05
20-Jun Boston Red Sox WASHINGTON 7:05
21-Jun New York Yankees at Philadelphia 7:05
23-Jun Boston Red Sox PHILADELPHIA 7:05
24-Jun New York Yankees FLORIDA 4:05
25-Jun Boston Red Sox PHILADELPHIA 2:05
26-Jun New York Yankees ATLANTA 7:05
27-Jun Boston Red Sox NY METS 7:05
28-Jun New York Yankees ATLANTA 1:05
28-Jun Boston Red Sox NY METS 7:05
29-Jun Boston Red Sox NY METS 7:05
30-Jun New York Yankees NY METS 7:05
2-Jul Boston Red Sox at Florida 1:05
3-Jul New York Yankees at Cleveland 7:05
4-Jul New York Yankees at Cleveland 6:05
5-Jul Boston Red Sox at Tampa Bay 7:15
6-Jul New York Yankees at Cleveland 7:05
7-Jul Boston Red Sox at Chicago WS 8:30
8-Jul No HD Games Available
9-Jul Boston Red Sox at Chicago WS 2:05
10-Jul ALL STAR BREAK (July 10-12)

KK in CT is online now  
post #372 of 3315 Old 05-31-2006, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The entire season is available here:

http://www.comcast.com/cthd/
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #373 of 3315 Old 06-01-2006, 03:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What the hell is the point with that? They make a huge deal abut how you can only get NESN-HD on Comcast and they only give us half the season? Add to it the continuing rumors that D* is adding NESNHD and I'm gone from Comcast if it happens.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #374 of 3315 Old 06-01-2006, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is rather annoying, but unfortunately we're stuck right in the middle of two markets and they have to try to please fans of both markets. It sucks that NESN is broadcasting 100% of the games this year in HD, but we still don't get to see them all. At least last year the only time they showed Yankee games in HD was when there wasn't a NESN game in HD (Fridays or off days).

I'd rather stick with Comcast to get ~115 games in true HD than to get all of them in HD Lite. If Dish offers NESN HD to go with the soon to be added list of channels without going HD Lite then I'd have to consider. Of course that's assuming they ever add the CT locals in HD also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

What the hell is the point with that? They make a huge deal abut how you can only get NESN-HD on Comcast and they only give us half the season? Add to it the continuing rumors that D* is adding NESNHD and I'm gone from Comcast if it happens.

Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #375 of 3315 Old 06-01-2006, 10:42 PM
Member
 
docbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my set-up (Comcast, West Hartford, Motorola DCT 5100 box) the audio level on CPTV SD (on channel 7) and on CPTV2 (on channel 185) are both extremely low at all times. Tonight, something I was watching on WGBY (on channel 12) was similarly low although their volume is normally comparable to most other stations.

Is anyone else experiencing this? I am trying to figure out if this is a PBS problem, a CPTV problem, a Comcast problem, or just my own problem so I'll know who to complain to.

BTW, I also get CPTV on channel 97 but it seems identical to channel 7 except that its volume is in the normal range. And PBS HD on channel 240, when it comes in, is also normal.
docbone is offline  
post #376 of 3315 Old 06-03-2006, 07:36 PM
Member
 
KML0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a Sanyo 26" LCD HDTV with one of those QAM tuners. When I've got the cable line hooked directly to the "Digital Antenna In" 75 ohm CATV input, Here's what I get for local HD:

Local access on 74-1, 74-2 and 74-3 (Public, Gov't and ARTS), NECN, TBS, HSN, QVC, C-Span 1 and 2, the local analogs including WRDM-LP (TEL) channel 50 Hartford, CN 8, Shop At Home, CT-N (kinda like a local C-Span?), EWTN, BET, NBC Weather Plus, Fuse and an NBA League Pass Info Channel. Besides that, I also got WTXX-DT (WB), WEDH-DT (PBS) [which is cable only], WVIT-DT (NBC), WFSB-DT (CBS) and WTIC-DT (FOX). No HD came in for I/PAX or UPN. As for the locals I did get in HD, it was only the primary channel for each (3-1 CBS, 8-1 ABC, etc.). NBC Weather Plus is technically 30-2 but Comcast already carries that separately anyway. What was strange was that I seemed to be getting an On Demand movie or two as the feed went to nothing the second the movie was over and it didn't match any listiings at tvguide.com or the channel guide on my converter in the other room. Strange!
KML0224 is offline  
post #377 of 3315 Old 06-05-2006, 07:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That happens with QAM... has to do with what your neighbors are viewing.

Just got 2 3412s. Man are these boxes primitive compared to the HD Tivo.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #378 of 3315 Old 06-05-2006, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This was posted on the WB 20 website under their HiDef section....

WB20 IN HiDEF




THE TUBE NETWORK is available free over-the-air on CW 20 WTXX-DT channel 20.2 on your digital tuner, and coming soon to Comcast Digital Cable.

It's easy to watch THE TUBE MUSIC NETWORK, here's how:

1. THE TUBE is FREE over-the-air these two ways:
- a digital television with a built-in digital tuner
- or, a digital tuner attached to your digital television
Both options require an over-the-air antenna to receive THE TUBE signal.

2.THE TUBE can be viewed on cable, where available (check with your local cable provider)

3. THE TUBE can also be enjoyed on satellite the following two ways: -Basic satellite subscribers can tune in by using a built-in or separate digital tuner on their digital sets.

-Or, if they upgrade to the satellite's HDTV service, the box provided by the satellite company can also be used as the digital tuner to view THE TUBE over-the-air.
An over-the-air antenna will be needed in addition to the satellite dish.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #379 of 3315 Old 06-05-2006, 11:21 PM
Newbie
 
Tgairing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I live in North Haven and i've recently purchased a Sony 30xs955 tv. I've scanned scanned a few times for HD channels but won't have my hd cable box set up until thursday. I've found abc, fox, nbc, and pbs but i can't seem to find the wb anywhere. Anyone able to pm me or email me a list of channels for the area that my tuner might not be picking up.
My e-mail address is tgairing1@hotmail(dot)com
Thanks in advance
Tgairing1 is offline  
post #380 of 3315 Old 06-07-2006, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Qixotl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Milford, CT
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else in the Middletown area having dropout problems with ESPNHD? I have been seeing them off and on for about a month (mostly on Sundays), but they have been ruining my picture quality for three straight days now. All of the other HD channels I have been flawless in this timeframe. My signal levels for ESPNHD seem decent (S/N = 35dB, Signal quality = -1 to -4 dBmV), so I have to think that this might not be a localized problem.
Qixotl is offline  
post #381 of 3315 Old 06-08-2006, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The ESPN2HD feed just replaced the ESPNHD feed as I was watching SportsCenter. Here's hoping that they're just testing the feed and that we'll see ESPN2HD on its own channel (203) shortly.

Edit:
202 was switched back to the ESPNHD feed at a while after the Sox/Yanks game started (blacked out on ESPN2HD), but sometime before 8:00.

The press release from Comcast stated that the channel would be added on 6/9. Hopefully it'll get its own channel later tonight or tomorrow.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #382 of 3315 Old 06-08-2006, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Agnt86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm on the Plainville system, and I've got ESPN2HD on 203 now.

I didn't see the press release though. Where was it?

Additionally, I sent an e-mail to both Comcast and WTXX to ask about "The Tube". Specifically when we can expect to see it, and where will it be located on the dial. If I get information of any actual substance, I will post it here.
Agnt86 is offline  
post #383 of 3315 Old 06-09-2006, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agnt86 View Post

I'm on the Plainville system, and I've got ESPN2HD on 203 now.

I didn't see the press release though. Where was it?

Additionally, I sent an e-mail to both Comcast and WTXX to ask about "The Tube". Specifically when we can expect to see it, and where will it be located on the dial. If I get information of any actual substance, I will post it here.

The press release was in the "Press Room" on comcast.com.

http://www.cmcsk.com/phoenix.zhtml?c...634&highlight=

I checked this morning and have ESPN2HD as well on the Avon, Burlington, Canton system which I believe is basically the same as the Plainville system.

Anyone else in CT seeing ESPN2HD? I'd like the update the HD listing file accordingly so please chime in if you're seeing it and are in a different location in CT.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #384 of 3315 Old 06-09-2006, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ESPN2 HD added as channel 203 here in East Hartford.

Hopefully TNTHD is not too far behind.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #385 of 3315 Old 06-09-2006, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Hopefully TNTHD is not too far behind.

I second that! Although I don't really care until the NBA season starts back up now. In the meantime it'd be nice to see more HD added in the near future. Hopefully we don't have to go another NBA season without FSN NE in HD, but I'd settle for NESN HD as a full-time channel so we can get all the Sox games in HD instead of 75%.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #386 of 3315 Old 06-09-2006, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
KK in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 18
We have it on channel 203 on the Bolton system as well.

KK in CT is online now  
post #387 of 3315 Old 06-09-2006, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Master channel list is updated (first post of thread). I updated what I know, if anyone sees anything that doesn't jive with their system, please IM me or post the changes that are needed.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #388 of 3315 Old 06-09-2006, 10:46 PM
Member
 
docbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After reading about it here, I checked and, sure enough, ESPN2-HD is on channel 203 in West Hartford as well. The idiots at Comcast waste no time informing us of the latest Jennifer Aniston flick showing on On-Demand Channel 1 or every boxing pay-per-view between any two tomato cans, but has the little red "message" light on the cable box gone on with a message about the new channel? Not in my house.
docbone is offline  
post #389 of 3315 Old 06-10-2006, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Qixotl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Milford, CT
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No ESPN2HD in Middletown still (cable box rejects channel 203), but I am not shocked. Despite the system upgrade back in October, we still do not even have TNT-HD, UHD, or WTXX-HD here (though the latter has been on the online channel listings for about a year).
Qixotl is offline  
post #390 of 3315 Old 06-10-2006, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of 9pm Friday (09Jun06) channel 203 was still blank with NO ESPN2HD anywhere in the listing for the New London Comcast SA based system. Channel 202 has been and still is ESPNHD. I do hope that we get 203 ASAP (like this weekend).

Anyone have any clue if the fact that the Hartford area has it and the New London County area doesn't means that we are going to be delayed months or longer in getting it? (or am I just jumping ahead of things?)
Beaker1024 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off