Hartford, CT - Comcast - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 3342 Old 08-28-2006, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Dudeolife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In response to an 8/15 posting, NESN HD is now a full time channel for Comcast in the New Haven area. It is like a real life wet dream to have NESN HD for all Sox broadcasts on NESN. Drop D* and get Comcast for this reason alone. I also live in Hamden. Too bad the Sox got thumped this year, but it ain't over yet.
Dudeolife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 3342 Old 08-28-2006, 08:39 AM
Member
 
KML0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Under 6.5 for A.L. East and under 4 for the A.L. Wildcard? Yes it is. Anyways, does the Mets channel offer an HD feed? Nobody north of Wallingford carries their station.
KML0224 is offline  
post #513 of 3342 Old 08-29-2006, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everyone enjoying the crappy new banner ads at the bottom of the guide? Nice surprise, huh?
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #514 of 3342 Old 08-29-2006, 07:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What the HELL is that? Thanks for ruining the guide Comcast.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #515 of 3342 Old 08-30-2006, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless something changes it appears we should only expect to see the live games that will be shown on NFL HD to pre-empt INHD (206).

Maybe if it is requested enough locally they'll change their minds on how they handle that channel, but until then it appears we cannot count on seeing the replay games.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #516 of 3342 Old 08-30-2006, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thye removed the ads at 10PM or so last night, here's hoping they don't ever return!
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #517 of 3342 Old 08-30-2006, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There was a comment by someone in Baltimore that he's had the ads for a while and they come and go.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #518 of 3342 Old 09-02-2006, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rumors abound that we'll be seeing CN8 HD before years end.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #519 of 3342 Old 09-02-2006, 11:15 PM
Member
 
docbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Rumors abound that we'll be seeing CN8 HD before years end.

Yawn. I hope we don't miss out on a worthwhile HD channel so Comcast can devote that bandwidth to their version of Wayne's World.
docbone is offline  
post #520 of 3342 Old 09-04-2006, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Agnt86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by docbone View Post

Yawn. I hope we don't miss out on a worthwhile HD channel so Comcast can devote that bandwidth to their version of Wayne's World.

Well stated!
Agnt86 is offline  
post #521 of 3342 Old 09-05-2006, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lets not get into a whole thing of the value of CN8..... (although I agree with docbone)

I am wondering if there is any hint of rumor on the areas of CT that do not have ESPN2HD as of yet getting it at all. We recently got (or I just never noticed till last week) WB-HD which will soon change names to "CW" or something like that.

Any ideas as to why we got this WB-HD ("CW-HD") channel before ESPN2HD while most of CT has ESPN2HD???

This is getting very serious now we the first week of College Football has been played without having ESPN2HD!

Note: I can post back later with the WB-HD channels # if you want to have it updated (if needed to be updated).
Beaker1024 is offline  
post #522 of 3342 Old 09-05-2006, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe Comcast is required to carry locals in HD and they are not required to carry cable channels in HD.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #523 of 3342 Old 09-07-2006, 07:02 AM
CPO
Member
 
CPO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: CT shoreline
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Posted over in HD recorder, but wanted to get some input from the local level as well. Are we still able to get HD signal in CT "in the clear" I have a Sony HD QAM receiver which I feed with Comcast basic cable service. Was able to get my big 4 in HD on channels 231, 232 etc. until recently. Now they are coming in as 67.11, 67.18 and so forth. I can tune to channel 231, but it reads no signal. Comcast tech told me I could not receive HD locals w/o using their box. Any suggestions?
CPO is offline  
post #524 of 3342 Old 09-07-2006, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPO View Post

Posted over in HD recorder, but wanted to get some input from the local level as well. Are we still able to get HD signal in CT "in the clear" I have a Sony HD QAM receiver which I feed with Comcast basic cable service. Was able to get my big 4 in HD on channels 231, 232 etc. until recently. Now they are coming in as 67.11, 67.18 and so forth. I can tune to channel 231, but it reads no signal. Comcast tech told me I could not receive HD locals w/o using their box. Any suggestions?

My only comment is that the clear QAM signals seem to jump around over time. I've seen the locals on at least 3 different frequencies over the last year or so. So maybe the fact that they were on 231, 232, etc. and now they're not is just another example of that instability.

It's probably just a frustration tactic to increase the number of HD box rentals.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #525 of 3342 Old 09-13-2006, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone interested that doesn't read other parts of this forum on a regular basis . . .

An interview with the COO of Comcast regarding HD by an AVS Forum member:
http://www.tvpredictions.com/burke091306.htm

News about Starz On Demand/Free Preview 9/15-16 and 100 of HD On Demand content being added on 9/15:
http://www.prnewswire.com/cgi-bin/st...4432141&EDATE=
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #526 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Agnt86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

For anyone interested that doesn't read other parts of this forum on a regular basis . . .

An interview with the CEO of Comcast regarding HD by an AVS Forum member:
http://www.tvpredictions.com/burke091306.htm

Thanks! I was looking for that interview.
Agnt86 is offline  
post #527 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast cut a deal with CBS that will allow the top U.S. cable distributor to offer its subscribers video-on-demand versions of Survivor, CSIand other hits from the network's primetime lineup free-of-charge to digital-cable customers. The agreement is significant in that it will allow any Comcast customer nationwide with access to VOD to watch the programming free-of-charge. The deal replaces an earlier agreement between Comcast and CBS that allowed the operator to sell repeats of CBS series for 99 cents apiece, but only in markets with CBS owned-and-operated stations. CBS spokesman Dana McClintock said the network will sell advertising during the programming, although the amount of inventory hasn't yet been determined. Comcast subscribers will be able to pause, rewind and fast-forward through the programming, including the commercials, according to spokeswoman Jenni Moyer. Programming that will be part of the VOD offering includes CSI: Miami, CSI: NY, Survivor, NCIS, Numb3rs, Jericho and Big Brother.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #528 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BY JOHN M. HIGGINS AND BEN GROSSMAN

The three-year-old NFL Network has quietly cut a deal for this season with Comcast Corp. to carry its controversial package of eight live football games on terms far weaker than the league is seeking.Meanwhile, the NFL Network will go dark on Time Warner Cable systems recently acquired from Adelphia Communications in a bankruptcy sale.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #529 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
cheneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPO View Post

Posted over in HD recorder, but wanted to get some input from the local level as well. Are we still able to get HD signal in CT "in the clear" I have a Sony HD QAM receiver which I feed with Comcast basic cable service. Was able to get my big 4 in HD on channels 231, 232 etc. until recently. Now they are coming in as 67.11, 67.18 and so forth. I can tune to channel 231, but it reads no signal. Comcast tech told me I could not receive HD locals w/o using their box. Any suggestions?

I live in Windsor and get all the locals "in the clear". They have been on the same sub-channels for about a year now - ATHD4N is right; they did move around a lot in the past. In fact, they have added "The Tube" on 82-3 here in the Hartford system in the last couple of months.
cheneyp is offline  
post #530 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody seeing the Starz HD/Encore HD On Demand content or are we in the dark?
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #531 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 02:45 PM
Member
 
robd1438's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting starz channels and encore on demand, but no starz on demand, that give the prompt saying call to order. Is that supposed to be included in the free weekend?

Gear List!

robd1438 is offline  
post #532 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Starz On Demand is working here. We also have Starz and Movieplex, no encore under HD On Demand category.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #533 of 3342 Old 09-15-2006, 05:02 PM
Member
 
robd1438's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
encore on demand has its on channel, and on that it has a subsection for Encore HD. Take a look. I'll give it a bit and then maybe call about starz, still no on demand here and i wanted that! a weekend of more HD movies is a good one!

Gear List!

robd1438 is offline  
post #534 of 3342 Old 09-16-2006, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All I see under Encore On Demand is....

All Movies
Comedy
Action
Encore's New Movies
Drama
SciFi-Horror

Absolutely no HD content.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #535 of 3342 Old 09-16-2006, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

All I see under Encore On Demand is....

All Movies
Comedy
Action
Encore's New Movies
Drama
SciFi-Horror

Absolutely no HD content.

Same here, no Encore HD content.

Also disappointing is the lack of 5.1 sound on the On Demand HD movies from Starz. If you can watch them on Starz or record them off of Starz is 5.1 shouldn't they be 5.1 when watching them On Demand also?

I waited a 1/2 hour last night for FlightPlan to start on the regular HD channel instead of watching it On Demand.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #536 of 3342 Old 09-16-2006, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robd1438 View Post

encore on demand has its on channel, and on that it has a subsection for Encore HD. Take a look. I'll give it a bit and then maybe call about starz, still no on demand here and i wanted that! a weekend of more HD movies is a good one!

What movies are you seeing under Encore HD?
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #537 of 3342 Old 09-18-2006, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Comcast cut a deal with CBS that will allow the top U.S. cable distributor to offer its subscribers video-on-demand versions of Survivor, CSIand other hits from the network's primetime lineup free-of-charge to digital-cable customers. The agreement is significant in that it will allow any Comcast customer nationwide with access to VOD to watch the programming free-of-charge. The deal replaces an earlier agreement between Comcast and CBS that allowed the operator to sell repeats of CBS series for 99 cents apiece, but only in markets with CBS owned-and-operated stations. CBS spokesman Dana McClintock said the network will sell advertising during the programming, although the amount of inventory hasn't yet been determined. Comcast subscribers will be able to pause, rewind and fast-forward through the programming, including the commercials, according to spokeswoman Jenni Moyer. Programming that will be part of the VOD offering includes CSI: Miami, CSI: NY, Survivor, NCIS, Numb3rs, Jericho and Big Brother.

Two questions:
1) Will there be HD VOD of these primetime shows and if so will they have 5.1 DD.
2) How long after the first airing of the program will you have to wait to see the program on the VOD listing? (again HD question appling to this if diff from SD).
Beaker1024 is offline  
post #538 of 3342 Old 09-18-2006, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beaker1024 View Post

Two questions:
1) Will there be HD VOD of these primetime shows and if so will they have 5.1 DD.
2) How long after the first airing of the program will you have to wait to see the program on the VOD listing? (again HD question appling to this if diff from SD).

IIRC there is a slot under HD OnDemand for Primetime so one can only hope that the HD versions of the shows mentioned make their way into that slot. Hopefully they're 5.1 as well, but I guess only time will tell.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #539 of 3342 Old 09-18-2006, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A2HDNow,

Thanks for the information and I completely understand your answers.... There is just one general question about this that isn't a wait till Comcast maybe delivers.

Will we (HD DVR users) trust our favorite Primetimes to always showup on the VOD and not record it on the DVR to save the space.... This is an interesting situation, thanks for posting the information!
Beaker1024 is offline  
post #540 of 3342 Old 09-18-2006, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beaker1024 View Post

A2HDNow,
Will we (HD DVR users) trust our favorite Primetimes to always showup on the VOD and not record it on the DVR to save the space.... This is an interesting situation, thanks for posting the information!

Personally, no I will not trust it to show up in the HD VOD and will only use that as a backup in case of a conflict or if something doesn't work.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off