Hartford, CT - Comcast - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 3319 Old 10-18-2006, 07:51 PM
Member
 
Qixotl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Milford, CT
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, lots of popping in the rear speakers and bit from the fronts during Jericho tonight here in Middletown. Strangely, there was none during the ads even though the national ones are broadcast in (pseudo) DD 5.1. Hopefully WFSB can find the issue and get it fixed soon.
Qixotl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 3319 Old 10-18-2006, 10:15 PM
Member
 
docbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ad301 View Post

Can anyone point me to a source for accurate guide data for WEDH-DT?

I get that channel, at least that's what Comcast claims it is, on ch 240. But as far as I've been able to tell, the guide data is always wrong, from 6pm each weekday evening until 10am the next morning.

I e-mailed PBS about this same problem and, not surprisingly, never got a response. (Maybe they know I haven't sent them any money in a few years.)

Somewhere (maybe even on AVS Forum) I found this url:
PBS HD National Schedule
but I've never been able to get it to work. The other problem is the first time you go to any PBS online program guide it asks for your zip code. Once you give them one in CT you can't go to any PBS program guide without it trying to give you the CPTV schedule, which, as you have noted, is never accurate after 6 PM.
docbone is offline  
post #573 of 3319 Old 10-19-2006, 10:43 AM
Member
 
PMJohnson9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pawcatuck, CT
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I noticed it on the Groton system as well - both Tuesday and Wednesday. As Qixotl also stated, it was only during the show and not during the commercials, so I suspected something having to do with CBS itself - aren't most of the commercials inserted at the local level?

Here's hoping they DON'T go 3-for-3 tonight with CSI: !

Quote:
Originally Posted by sensibull View Post

Anyone else getting tons of static in their rear channels during 5.1 broadcasts on CBS HD? I got it last night during The Unit and tonight in Jericho. I would suspect my receiver first, but it's the only channel exhibiting it.

PMJohnson9 is offline  
post #574 of 3319 Old 10-19-2006, 01:35 PM
Member
 
robd1438's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was about to ask the same questions about CBS. I just watched the Unit that I had DVR'ed and it was unbearable out of my rear's. I checked other channels, DVR'ed movies and nothing. Got worried my speakers blew, so I'm glad to hear others are having same issue. I'm on Middletown system as well, hopefully it gets resolved soon or at least before the Pats game on Sunday!

Gear List!

robd1438 is offline  
post #575 of 3319 Old 10-19-2006, 07:31 PM
Member
 
PMJohnson9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pawcatuck, CT
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh don't get me started on the Patriots' broadcasts!

I'd be ECSTATIC if the only issue was the sound crackling - they've had a nasty habit of getting kicked down to standard def the past few weeks....

PMJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by robd1438 View Post

I was about to ask the same questions about CBS. I just watched the Unit that I had DVR'ed and it was unbearable out of my rear's. I checked other channels, DVR'ed movies and nothing. Got worried my speakers blew, so I'm glad to hear others are having same issue. I'm on Middletown system as well, hopefully it gets resolved soon or at least before the Pats game on Sunday!

PMJohnson9 is offline  
post #576 of 3319 Old 10-19-2006, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having the same problem with CBS 5.1 when watching Jericho tonight on my DVR. Man that was annoying.

Also, at least The CW seems to have fixed the problem with the freezing/pixelation. Watched Smallville tonight without incident.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #577 of 3319 Old 10-20-2006, 12:42 AM
Member
 
Agnt86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Having the same problem with CBS 5.1 when watching Jericho tonight on my DVR. Man that was annoying.

Also, at least The CW seems to have fixed the problem with the freezing/pixelation. Watched Smallville tonight without incident.

I experienced the same types of issues with my S3 TiVo - skipping to the next part the video came back but having audio - so it must have been a problem in transmitting the stream (or how Comcast was receiving it).

Tonight's Smallville was better. A few isolated incidences, but nothing pandemic like Veronica Mars was.
Agnt86 is offline  
post #578 of 3319 Old 10-21-2006, 08:01 AM
Member
 
ad301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Madison CT
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by docbone View Post

I e-mailed PBS about this same problem and, not surprisingly, never got a response. (Maybe they know I haven't sent them any money in a few years.)

Somewhere (maybe even on AVS Forum) I found this url:
PBS HD National Schedule
but I've never been able to get it to work. The other problem is the first time you go to any PBS online program guide it asks for your zip code. Once you give them one in CT you can't go to any PBS program guide without it trying to give you the CPTV schedule, which, as you have noted, is never accurate after 6 PM.

I got the same non-response to my inquiries. I don't know how they expect people to view their programs, if there isn't an accurate schedule of those programs available anywhere. These days, at least in my household, we almost never sit there channel surfing. DVRs are such a great tool, but without accurate guide data, WEDH-DT is just not included of our viewing. I guess we're just another household that they won't be expecting a pledge from. Too bad.
ad301 is offline  
post #579 of 3319 Old 10-21-2006, 08:27 AM
Member
 
robd1438's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cbs seemed ok last night watching ghost whisperer, so maybe they got it straightened out. And I do agree about the Pats broadcasts, I'm waiting for the day to get through a whole game in HD and not having it either switch to SD or have me need to switch to the SD channel. Because we all know once you're watching football in HD, SD is almost unbearable.

Gear List!

robd1438 is offline  
post #580 of 3319 Old 10-22-2006, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
cheneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've heard a lot of crackling over the last week or so and it does seem to be all CBS shows. CBS tends to have the highest level of the major networks on the rears so it was pretty annoying watching Criminal Minds and CSI. Hoping this is temporary....
cheneyp is offline  
post #581 of 3319 Old 10-22-2006, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
cheneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ad301 View Post

I got the same non-response to my inquiries. I don't know how they expect people to view their programs, if there isn't an accurate schedule of those programs available anywhere. These days, at least in my household, we almost never sit there channel surfing. DVRs are such a great tool, but without accurate guide data, WEDH-DT is just not included of our viewing. I guess we're just another household that they won't be expecting a pledge from. Too bad.

I use a Sony DVR and using its QAM tuner, I get PBS HD on Channel 82-1. The Sony uses the TVGOS system and I map this channel to WGBYDT out of Springfield. This guide data has proved to be very accurate in the evenings although WEDH is usually on during the day - not usually recording Barney and the like....
cheneyp is offline  
post #582 of 3319 Old 10-23-2006, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheneyp View Post

I've heard a lot of crackling over the last week or so and it does seem to be all CBS shows. CBS tends to have the highest level of the major networks on the rears so it was pretty annoying watching Criminal Minds and CSI. Hoping this is temporary....

Yah this was very annoying.... Dobly Digital and Dobly Prologic II (Movie mode) sent the crackling to the rears (and I mean loud in the rears). Had to watch those show in Direct/Stereo mode to keep the crackle barried in the rest of the audio (still noticable).
Beaker1024 is offline  
post #583 of 3319 Old 10-23-2006, 07:57 AM
Member
 
ad301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Madison CT
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheneyp View Post

I use a Sony DVR and using its QAM tuner, I get PBS HD on Channel 82-1. The Sony uses the TVGOS system and I map this channel to WGBYDT out of Springfield. This guide data has proved to be very accurate in the evenings although WEDH is usually on during the day - not usually recording Barney and the like....

Thanks for the pointer. Although that schedule still doesn't match 100% with what we see on ch 240, it's better than their own online guide. It just amazes me that the station's (WEDH) own web site wouldn't have anything close to accurate guide data. Really, really poor.
ad301 is offline  
post #584 of 3319 Old 10-26-2006, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I looked at my bill online today and saw this message

"INHD2 will no longer be available on ch. 207 after 12/14/06. Look for an announcement soon about a new HD Network."

Who wants to start guessing?
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #585 of 3319 Old 10-26-2006, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDNet.....?
PaulieORF is offline  
post #586 of 3319 Old 10-26-2006, 04:19 PM
Member
 
KML0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Say...did anybody else here have problems with WTNH-DT "8-1"? There were serious dropout issues at 11 AM when "The View" started on ABC. "8-2" was fine at that point. Several minutes later, "8-1" was OK. Also, does anybody else with Comcast occasionally lose channel "82" with their QAM tuner? That channel is WTXX-DT ("20-1"), The Tube ("20-2") and PBS-HD (WEDH-DT cable only during the day?).
KML0224 is offline  
post #587 of 3319 Old 10-28-2006, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ad301 View Post

Thanks for the pointer. Although that schedule still doesn't match 100% with what we see on ch 240, it's better than their own online guide. It just amazes me that the station's (WEDH) own web site wouldn't have anything close to accurate guide data. Really, really poor.



Yeah, here are my top 3 guesses.

YES HD on 201
NGEO HD
WCTX HD

(FSN HD would be nice for Celtics coverage tho)
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #588 of 3319 Old 10-30-2006, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Yeah, here are my top 3 guesses.

YES HD on 201
NGEO HD
WCTX HD

(FSN HD would be nice for Celtics coverage tho)

I might just have to become a Nets fan since they were smart enough to draft Marcus Williams instead of going after the gangster Telfair. They were worried about the stolen laptop incident? LOL!

Oh and the fact that the Nets are on INHD2 or 1 on YES makes it that much more appealing. At least on most nights they know how to play team basketball.

From a conversation I had a couple of months ago it sounded very unlikely that FSN NE HD would be added due to what areas get it and which don't. Very frustrating. Looks like another season of SD and hopefully catching a game or two of the Celtics on TNT HD.

Can you tell I'm frustrated with the Celtics?
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #589 of 3319 Old 10-31-2006, 04:50 PM
Member
 
PMJohnson9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pawcatuck, CT
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

I looked at my bill online today and saw this message

"INHD2 will no longer be available on ch. 207 after 12/14/06. Look for an announcement soon about a new HD Network."

Who wants to start guessing?


Just looked at MY bill (Groton) and it had a similar message, but stated what exactly was replacing INHD2:

"Get more sports in HD! On 12/14/06, ESPN2 HD is on ch. 203. To
view ESPN2 HD, you will need a subscription to Expanded Basic
and an HD Box. INHD2 will no longer be available on ch.207 after
12/14/06."

I'm sure Beaker will be as happy as I am about that, although I STILL want to see TNT HD and Universal HD...

Ah well.... baby steps....

PMJ
PMJohnson9 is offline  
post #590 of 3319 Old 11-01-2006, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oregon is getting National Geo HD and A&E HD in December, maybe that's what thy're adding to those of us who get TNTHD, ESPN2HD, UHD, MHD etc.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #591 of 3319 Old 11-02-2006, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Oregon is getting National Geo HD and A&E HD in December, maybe that's what thy're adding to those of us who get TNTHD, ESPN2HD, UHD, MHD etc.

Could be both or one or the other. Either way nothing terribly exciting as I'm sure NGEOHD will go the way of MHD after a day or two (get boring with the same thing on constantly). A&E is said to be a lot of upconverts, but I guess that's better than stretched SD if you watch a lot of A&E.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #592 of 3319 Old 11-02-2006, 11:45 AM
Member
 
ad301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Madison CT
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I notice we got the new software on the Branford system.
ad301 is offline  
post #593 of 3319 Old 11-02-2006, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here in East Hartford as well. Now all we need is the VRN upgrade!
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #594 of 3319 Old 11-02-2006, 03:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Enjoying the Cinemax HD presentations of Star Wars

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #595 of 3319 Old 11-02-2006, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ad301 View Post

I notice we got the new software on the Branford system.

I'm noticing some new things with what looks like the old software. Now HD shows are and HD indicator in the info part of the screen.

We do have the Cinemax HD On Demand now though as well. At least they also added Starz and Encore back into the Premuim Channel content listing in the HD section.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #596 of 3319 Old 11-03-2006, 12:28 AM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is anyone else having issues with guide data not full updating? I have a lot of TBA gaps. 90% of my scheduled recordings are missing. after 20+ hours, I had about 1 day of full guide data for programming. This update bites.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #597 of 3319 Old 11-03-2006, 11:53 AM
Member
 
KML0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if Comcast in New Britain or Hartford will ever carry the following?

WUVN-DT (UNI) channel 46 Hartford
WHPX-DT (I) channel 34 New London
WCTX-DT (MY) channel 39 New Haven
KML0224 is offline  
post #598 of 3319 Old 11-04-2006, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting observation...

I was responding to a post in a different forum about ADS in Branford (I believe)....

I explained about the menu to see if it's analog or not, I noticed that...

Frequency is now listed with a "0" in front.

Example: TNT HD used to be listed as 645.000 Mhz. Now it's listed as 0645.000 Mhz.

I'm wondering if this means a 1Ghz system or am I just wishing.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #599 of 3319 Old 11-04-2006, 04:51 PM
Member
 
DaveB99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Clinton, CT
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable Box Question:

I am in the Clinton Comcast area. This is part of the New Haven area I believe.

Getting a new TV manana - yahoo. With HDMI.

I have the SA 3250HD Box. It only has DVI.

Does Comcast offer a box that is NOT a DVR like the 3250 with HDMI out??

Or should I just buy a DVI to HDMI cable?
DaveB99 is offline  
post #600 of 3319 Old 11-06-2006, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Interesting observation...

Frequency is now listed with a "0" in front.

Example: TNT HD used to be listed as 645.000 Mhz. Now it's listed as 0645.000 Mhz.

I'm wondering if this means a 1Ghz system or am I just wishing.

Probably just wishful thinking at this point. The software was probablyl updated to be able to display four-digit frequencies. I think it some article a Comcast exec had said that all Comcast areas would be 1Ghz at some point in the relatively near future (next year or two). It would have been something I read months ago so don't quote me.

I think we're all still 750mhz except for New Haven, Telemedia areas (860mhz) and the areas that are still at 650 or lower. A 750mhz area has frequencies from 50mhz to 800mhz which is why at one point over the summer we saw channels on frequencies over 750mhz.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off