Hartford, CT - Comcast - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 3339 Old 02-28-2006, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

No bandwidth my arse!

Today, or yesterday, Comcast put the programming back on INHD2. They did not remove Universal HD.

InHD, INHD2 and UHD are all broadcasting in HD. Where's this lack of bandwidth? Lying bastards!

Perhaps the bandwidth they speak of is in relation to cash flow instead of data flow.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 3339 Old 02-28-2006, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Although I'm not a Comcast customer (yet...), I am here to inform those of you who don't know that SNY (Sportsnet New York, the new cable home of New York Mets baseball) will be added to the Danbury and New Haven systems on March 30th on channel 65, replacing HBO. No word yet on how Mets HD broadcasts will be handled by Comcast.

These are the only two Comcast systems in the state that are slated to have SNY added so far.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #243 of 3339 Old 02-28-2006, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulieORF View Post

Although I'm not a Comcast customer (yet...), I am here to inform those of you who don't know that SNY (Sportsnet New York, the new cable home of New York Mets baseball) will be added to the Danbury and New Haven systems on March 30th on channel 65, replacing HBO. No word yet on how Mets HD broadcasts will be handled by Comcast.

These are the only two Comcast systems in the state that are slated to have SNY added so far.

So much for a uniform channel lineup throughout CT.

One thing that I was told before was that they couldn't pre-emt INHD/INHD2 on a system by system basis and that it had to be done on a statewide basis due to the lack of hardware to do so. At least that's the reason I was given that we couldn't get FSN NE HD broadcasts of Celtics games (not all of CT has a contract to carry FSN NE). So since not all of CT will have SNY then I would suspect they'll have to make room on New Haven and Danbury for the channel itself or there won't be any SNY HD broadcasts until they do.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #244 of 3339 Old 03-01-2006, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

So much for a uniform channel lineup throughout CT.

One thing that I was told before was that they couldn't pre-emt INHD/INHD2 on a system by system basis and that it had to be done on a statewide basis due to the lack of hardware to do so. At least that's the reason I was given that we couldn't get FSN NE HD broadcasts of Celtics games (not all of CT has a contract to carry FSN NE). So since not all of CT will have SNY then I would suspect they'll have to make room on New Haven and Danbury for the channel itself or there won't be any SNY HD broadcasts until they do.

Or just blackout INHD2 on every Comcast system in the state, though Danbury does not fall under the CT area I believe, as it falls under teh NY area Comcast systems because of it lying in the NY DMA.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #245 of 3339 Old 03-01-2006, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulieORF View Post

Or just blackout INHD2 on every Comcast system in the state, though Danbury does not fall under the CT area I believe, as it falls under teh NY area Comcast systems because of it lying in the NY DMA.

Danbury is on the CT DPUC coverage map.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #246 of 3339 Old 03-01-2006, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Danbury is on the CT DPUC coverage map.

If that's the case, then what you heard about Comcast not being able to preempt INHD on a system to system basis in CT is incorrect, since Danbury does not get NESN while the rest of CT does, and instead gets MSG HD and YES HD braodcasts preempting INHD.
PaulieORF is offline  
post #247 of 3339 Old 03-01-2006, 11:09 AM
Member
 
ctsooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ridgefield, CT
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Danbury is on the CT DPUC coverage map.

Danbury is a CT franchise, but for TV purposes is in the NYC DMA, meaning we get the NY Sports stations, and all the NYC must carries.
ctsooner is offline  
post #248 of 3339 Old 03-01-2006, 05:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I finally got my basic cable hooked up and did my QAM scan. Amazing how much is available in the clear. Sadly NOT ESPN, Discovery, or any of the movie channels . I did however find the... er... pleasure channel . Not sure if I just got one of my neighbors being naughty on PPV, or if this is a permenant situation. Thankfully the wife was not in the room!

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #249 of 3339 Old 03-01-2006, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
sensibull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: www.portecho.net
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

I did however find the... er... pleasure channel . Not sure if I just got one of my neighbors being naughty on PPV, or if this is a permenant situation. Thankfully the wife was not in the room!

Happened to me a few times as well, once with the in-laws over Pretty sure we are picking up a PPV feed, as I sometimes tune in recent releases and special presentations on those channels. Seems like a bonus deal until you're right in the middle of a good flick and the actual purchaser pauses to make some popcorn or something and you loose the feed
sensibull is offline  
post #250 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Universal is permanent on systems with at least 750mhz in CT. Anyone lose it?

No word on if we'll see TNT-HD in time for NBA playoffs since we appear to have bandwidth for more HD channels and does not appear as if we'll see ESPN2HD anytime soon.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #251 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got around to updating the CT Comcast Systems overview document (first post in this thread). If anyone has any info to add/change for their system, please PM me. I only edited what I knew and did not speculate on changes to other systems.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #252 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Looks like Universal is permanent on systems with at least 750mhz in CT. Anyone lose it?

No word on if we'll see TNT-HD in time for NBA playoffs since we appear to have bandwidth for more HD channels and does not appear as if we'll see ESPN2HD anytime soon.


Universal has gone away in the Groton/New London area for Comcast. Going to really miss Knight Rider in HD! I'd be happy if they'd give some updates on getting ESPN2HD, but as with everyone else I've heard nothing.
Beaker1024 is offline  
post #253 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 01:21 PM
Member
 
ad301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Madison CT
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the Branford system, Universal HD disappeared when the Olympics ended, and INHD2 was restored.
ad301 is offline  
post #254 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
jake14mw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone from WFSB posted on the Hartford-OTA thread that they plan on having games on two DT subchannels for the NCAA tournament. Assuming this is true, is there any shot that Comcast could somehow carry them?
jake14mw is offline  
post #255 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 02:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Day 2, and I still have the porn . Got to love it.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #256 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We still have UHD here in East Hartford.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #257 of 3339 Old 03-02-2006, 09:20 PM
Member
 
docbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think Channel 3 is planning to do pretty much what they did last year which is run an HD game on the DT channel and a different game on the SD channel whenever possible. So Comcast would have the SD game on channel 2 and the HD game on channel 233. Of course if UCONN is playing, that trumps anything and they would show that game on both channels. Last year CBS did not do all the early round games in HD; I don't know if they have changed that for this year.
docbone is offline  
post #258 of 3339 Old 03-03-2006, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please note: Effective April 5, 2006, there are changes to our digital lineup. Encore Drama and WAM will be replaced with Indieplex and Retroplex.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #259 of 3339 Old 03-03-2006, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Please note: Effective April 5, 2006, there are changes to our digital lineup. Encore Drama and WAM will be replaced with Indieplex and Retroplex.

Was that on your monthly statement or did you see it somewhere else?
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #260 of 3339 Old 03-03-2006, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake14mw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by docbone View Post

I think Channel 3 is planning to do pretty much what they did last year which is run an HD game on the DT channel and a different game on the SD channel whenever possible. So Comcast would have the SD game on channel 2 and the HD game on channel 233. Of course if UCONN is playing, that trumps anything and they would show that game on both channels. Last year CBS did not do all the early round games in HD; I don't know if they have changed that for this year.

Docbone, I would guess that you are right, but that doesn't match what they said. I sent them an e-mail, but didn't get a responce. As far as CBS goes, they are doing the same amount of HD as last year, so half of the first weekend's games are done in HD, and then after that they are all in HD.

The problem for me is that my WFSB-DT OTA signal is about the worst it has been in almost a year. Of course you cable folks don't have to worry about that!
jake14mw is offline  
post #261 of 3339 Old 03-03-2006, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Was that on your monthly statement or did you see it somewhere else?

Monthly statement, which was made available online today.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #262 of 3339 Old 03-03-2006, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Monthly statement, which was made available online today.

My monthly statement (Feb. 26) only mentioned a Showtime preview (I think it was Showtime) coming up in April. Thanks for the advanced warning for the second month in a row! No mention of channel lineup changes. I guess I'll see if they mention it on my next statement.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #263 of 3339 Old 03-10-2006, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In case anyone doesn't read the HDTV programming threads. . .

There's talk that Comcast will be rolling out ESPN2HD to some locations at the end of March through mid-April. I sure hope CT is a location they are looking at adding that channel to. Although at that time I'd probably be more interested in TNT-HD since the NBA playoffs would be starting shortly thereafter.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #264 of 3339 Old 03-12-2006, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I talked to a CSr today about SNY, he said it'll only be added to the Dabury and New Haven systems.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #265 of 3339 Old 03-12-2006, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does that include the HD version also?
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #266 of 3339 Old 03-12-2006, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulieORF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 2,036
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wallingford will likely get SNY in addition to New Haven and Danbury...

C&P from an article in the Meriden Record-Journal...

SportsNet New York is a cooperative effort between Sterling Entertainment Enterprises (the Mets), Time Warner Cable and Comcast Cable. It is scheduled to launch on March 16. Wallingford, being a Comcast territory, most likely will get the channel, but the rest of the area will be left out.

We're still working out the details, said Comcast public relations manager Rob Wilson. I think Wallingford is in the mix.

Wilson expects Comcast to make an announcement toward the middle of the month.


Link: http://www.record-journal.com/articl...s/sports01.txt
PaulieORF is offline  
post #267 of 3339 Old 03-13-2006, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It depends on if you are in the New Yorkk DMA. All of Ct. is accrding to the sny.tv website.
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #268 of 3339 Old 03-14-2006, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake14mw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those basketball fans here, WFSB has posted a poll so that you can vote on what games you would like to see in HD. Here is a link to the OTA thread which has a post of JoeHorn from WFSB, http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...81#post7303381.

I think it's great that they are asking our opinion, so go and vote! It seems to me that the Thursday evening choice of Greensboro is a no-brainer, but the others are interesting choices! Good job WFSB. Also note that they will be multicasting other games as well, although I don't think any cable systems will carry that.
jake14mw is offline  
post #269 of 3339 Old 03-14-2006, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
jake14mw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question for you Comcast experts. I have just lifeline Comcast. I am having a bunch of people over to watch basketball on Friday. If one of my friends that has an Comcast HD receiver brought it over, would it work at my house? My OTA reception of WFSB-DT has been shaky lately, so I'd like some insurance.
jake14mw is offline  
post #270 of 3339 Old 03-14-2006, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andy238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm no expert but I would hold my hopes up. I doubt using your friends box will work.

I've moved a couple times in the last 6-8 months and every time I moved my Comcast service I got a new box. I called about this because with the last move I got a box that wasn't as good as the one I had to return. I asked why I couldn't take my box with me and the CSR said they match the box with the address. I couldn't just move my box with me for "security reasons".

I'd give it a try anyway though. You know how those CSR's are

BTW, I am going to drop into my local Comcast office and exchange boxes...
Andy238 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off