Hartford, CT - Comcast - Page 95 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 3315 Old 05-12-2010, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
BoSoxMole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: East Providence, RI
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I call bull on this one, well, at least in my area. (New London/Groton/Mystic)

Quote:


It's time for your yearly Comcast Project Infinity video on-demand update: It's ramping up to 11,000 different movies available, with 3,000 in HD (up from 1,000 back in October '08) and that infrastructure upgrade we'd heard about should mean even more on the way. CEO Brian Roberts just announced at the Cable Show that the service is up to 350 million orders per month, and if it were a linear channel, VOD would be Comcast's second most-watched offering. The online Fancast XFINITY TV offering is no slouch either, with 1,500 movies from cable and 5,500 movies on the site for rent or purchase. The first areas to see the expanded offerings will be Washington D.C. and Philadelphia before rolling out elsewhere. Of course that's all great, but we're going to slot a redesigned 16x9 UI and multiroom capabilities slightly above more VOD possibilities on the interest scale for now.


The Mole is here.
BoSoxMole is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 3315 Old 05-12-2010, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
PatG25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, CT
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoSoxMole View Post

I call bull on this one, well, at least in my area. (New London/Groton/Mystic)

My area will see more HD channels in 2021, New London/Groton/Mystic around 2030

Plus or minus a few months, that is.
PatG25 is offline  
post #2823 of 3315 Old 05-14-2010, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
pplchamp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the news everyone in the Hartford system has been waiting for....

Xfinity is here... lol

On May 18th the following channels will be available in Digital format only.

AMC
Versus
Travel Channel
TNT
Lifetime
Cartoon Network
Animal Planet
HGTV
Food Network
The Learning Channel
SyFy
E!


On June 15th the following channels will be available in Digital Format only..

SNY
NESN
ESPN
ESPN2
CSNE
YES
Golf Channel
FX
USA
ABC Family
nick
Disney
A&E
History
Discovery
TV Land
Spike
Comedy Central
MTV
VH1
BET
Fox News
CNBC
CNN HN
CNN
MSNBC


On May 25th the following HD channels will be addeed...

258 Lifetime Movie Net
237 NECN HD
285 Biography
183 Planet Green
257 Fuse
253 IFC
256 We
255 Disney XD
254 MGM
259 ESPN News
226 Starz Comedy
225 Starz Edge
228 Starz Kids and Family


On June 15th the following channels will me moved...

266 - 715 Big Ten
274 - 734 CBS College Sports
186 - 108 CSpan 2
185 - 744 CTSN
295 - 396 Daystar
265 - 725 ESPN Classic
261 - 721 ESPN News
291 - 393 EWTN
262 - 722 Fox College Atlantic
263 - 723 Fox College Central
264 - 724 Fox College Pacific
267 - 727 Fox Soccer
189 - 138 Gospel
292 - 394 Halogen
190 - 90 Leased Access
268 - 740 MLB Network
273 - 733 NBA TV
275 - 736 NFL Network
276 - 737 NHL Network
270 - 730 Outdoor channel
187 - 124 Oxygen
280 - 102 Shop NBC
271 - 731 Speed
194 - 217 Syfy
290 - 392 TBN
277 - 738 Tennis
294 - 395 The Word
260 - 720 TV Games
250 - 292 WEDH Create
247 - 293 WFSB News
246 - 291 WTXX This
251 - 296 WUTH Telefutura
248 - 294 WVIT Plus
240 - 295 WVIT Sports


On June 15th the following channels will be dropped...

PIN 279
HBO HD Simulcast 215 (Remains on 300)


On June 29th the following HD channels will be added...

289 Weather Channel
279 HSN
265 BET
261 CNN HN
277 Tru Tv
268 Comedy Central
263 MTV
264 VH1
219 Hallmark
260 MSNBC
190 HBO Latino
186 HBO Zone
185 HBO 2
248 5Star Max
247 Action Max
188 HBO Comedy
250 OuterMax
249 Thriller Max
251 WMax
270 Big Ten
271 CBS College Sports
273 Tennis
290 TCM
276 ESPNU
274 NBA TV
275 NHL
215 History International
266 G4
769 InDemand 2
269 Style
262 CMT
280 Gospel Music
194 investiagation Discovery
267 TV One
pplchamp1 is offline  
post #2824 of 3315 Old 05-14-2010, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
chasbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Naugatuck CT
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice.
chasbox is offline  
post #2825 of 3315 Old 05-14-2010, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
PatG25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, CT
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice if you have the Hartford system. Meaningless for us other schmucks that have 12 HD channels (not including premium).
PatG25 is offline  
post #2826 of 3315 Old 05-15-2010, 12:52 AM
Senior Member
 
chasbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Naugatuck CT
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Obviously
chasbox is offline  
post #2827 of 3315 Old 05-17-2010, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Must be nice living in the Hartford area, still in the New London/Mystic/Ledyard area, no love at all. It would be nice to see more than 1 HD channel added in 3 years.

Does anyone have any inside info in this area, does Comcast just not care about this area ?

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist

My Windows Media Center Blog...
http://mc.anywherecool.com/Blog/
DavidinCT is offline  
post #2828 of 3315 Old 05-24-2010, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post

Must be nice living in the Hartford area, still in the New London/Mystic/Ledyard area, no love at all. It would be nice to see more than 1 HD channel added in 3 years.

Does anyone have any inside info in this area, does Comcast just not care about this area ?

Apparently not. They could kill analog, and/or upgrade to 860/1000mhz, but no, they don't care. I don't know if it is because they acquired these areas from AT&T broadband and they are "non-standard" for Comcast or what, but they sure make themselves look bad. In this day and age, every market should have at least 100 HD's.
BiggAW is offline  
post #2829 of 3315 Old 05-24-2010, 08:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else have periodic break-ups during the Lost finale?
Feddie is offline  
post #2830 of 3315 Old 05-24-2010, 08:57 AM
Member
 
wmccullough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tolland, Connecticut
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feddie View Post

Did anyone else have periodic break-ups during the Lost finale?

We did - it was extremely annoying, and we missed several blocks of dialog, some of which I am sure would have been enlightening. I also noticed that the picture quality in general was pretty poor, especially in the light cave sequence.
wmccullough is offline  
post #2831 of 3315 Old 05-24-2010, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmccullough View Post

We did - it was extremely annoying, and we missed several blocks of dialog, some of which I am sure would have been enlightening. I also noticed that the picture quality in general was pretty poor, especially in the light cave sequence.

I wonder if it was Comcast or WTNH. Given that WTNH is so awful, I'm going to assume they disappointed as usual unless I hear otherwise.
Feddie is offline  
post #2832 of 3315 Old 05-24-2010, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
bigshowdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marlborough, CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We had breakups like crazy as well, switched over to the SD channel 8 at times so we wouldn't miss too much...
bigshowdj is offline  
post #2833 of 3315 Old 06-01-2010, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Here on the Branford system, TBS is in clear-QAM, and PBS-13 WNET is in HD. Are either of these FCC mandates, since TBS is in the basic package (but not OTA), and since WNET would fill a certain number of local channels in HD? Using up capacity for WNET makes absolutely no sense, but then again they still have analog here, and that makes no sense either, so go figure I guess.
BiggAW is offline  
post #2834 of 3315 Old 06-01-2010, 01:08 PM
Member
 
GunZLo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waterbury,Connecticut
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here on the waterbury system earlier today , they added whpxHD : 702 : and univisionHD : 706 : . also on my channel guide it shows 784 as msnbchd and 785 as fxhd , but no programming or info .. so hopefully this means their actually working on our sysyem finally ..
GunZLo is offline  
post #2835 of 3315 Old 06-10-2010, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which DVR do most of you have? DCH3416 or DCX3400 Anyone know how big the hard drive is on the DCX?
Feddie is offline  
post #2836 of 3315 Old 06-10-2010, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ScoopsHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feddie View Post

Which DVR do most of you have? DCH3416 or DCX3400 Anyone know how big the hard drive is on the DCX?

The DCXs are typically 250 gig. However, there have been sporadic mention on some of these forums of folks getting a 320 gig model. And some folks at Comcast have said that 500 gig models might be coming later this year.
ScoopsHD is offline  
post #2837 of 3315 Old 06-10-2010, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoopsHD View Post

The DCXs are typically 250 gig. However, there have been sporadic mention on some of these forums of folks getting a 320 gig model. And some folks at Comcast have said that 500 gig models might be coming later this year.

How can you figure it out?
Feddie is offline  
post #2838 of 3315 Old 06-10-2010, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ScoopsHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feddie View Post

How can you figure it out?

I don't have my DCX around me right now... but if you look on the bottom of the DCX the model number should be something like DCX3400/###/250 or similar... the last block there denotes the hard drive size.
ScoopsHD is offline  
post #2839 of 3315 Old 06-10-2010, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoopsHD View Post

I don't have my DCX around me right now... but if you look on the bottom of the DCX the model number should be something like DCX3400/###/250 or similar... the last block there denotes the hard drive size.

Looks like I have a 320. That makes me want to take back my other 160 if I can double it .
Feddie is offline  
post #2840 of 3315 Old 06-13-2010, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
kaiservt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colchester, CT
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone getting ESPN 3D?
kaiservt is offline  
post #2841 of 3315 Old 06-13-2010, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feddie View Post

Which DVR do most of you have? DCH3416 or DCX3400 Anyone know how big the hard drive is on the DCX?

Why on earth would you use a Comcast DVR? That's what Opencable is for. There's TiVo, Moxi, and now the Ceton card on MCE.
BiggAW is offline  
post #2842 of 3315 Old 06-13-2010, 06:50 PM
Member
 
GunZLo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waterbury,Connecticut
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiservt View Post

Anyone getting ESPN 3D?

not here in wtby .
GunZLo is offline  
post #2843 of 3315 Old 06-13-2010, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

Why on earth would you use a Comcast DVR? That's what Opencable is for. There's TiVo, Moxi, and now the Ceton card on MCE.

It is cheaper. When my house got hit by lightning two weeks ago and it fried the HDMI connection, all I had to do was take it in and get a new one. Works for me
Feddie is offline  
post #2844 of 3315 Old 06-16-2010, 02:10 PM
Member
 
docbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pplchamp1 View Post

Here is the news everyone in the Hartford system has been waiting for....

Xfinity is here... lol



On June 15th the following channels will be moved...

266 - 715 Big Ten
274 - 734 CBS College Sports
186 - 108 CSpan 2
185 - 744 CTSN
295 - 396 Daystar
265 - 725 ESPN Classic
261 - 721 ESPN News
291 - 393 EWTN
262 - 722 Fox College Atlantic
263 - 723 Fox College Central
264 - 724 Fox College Pacific
267 - 727 Fox Soccer
189 - 138 Gospel
292 - 394 Halogen
190 - 90 Leased Access
268 - 740 MLB Network
273 - 733 NBA TV
275 - 736 NFL Network
276 - 737 NHL Network
270 - 730 Outdoor channel
187 - 124 Oxygen
280 - 102 Shop NBC
271 - 731 Speed
194 - 217 Syfy
290 - 392 TBN
277 - 738 Tennis
294 - 395 The Word
260 - 720 TV Games
250 - 292 WEDH Create
247 - 293 WFSB News
246 - 291 WTXX This
251 - 296 WUTH Telefutura
248 - 294 WVIT Plus
240 - 295 WVIT Sports

It appears TiVo got the memo because all of their guide information has been updated on my HD3 DVR. Unfortunately, whoever was in charge of implementing the changes at Comcast must have been left out of the loop because none of them have actually been made. At least not in West Hartford.
docbone is offline  
post #2845 of 3315 Old 06-20-2010, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feddie View Post

It is cheaper. When my house got hit by lightning two weeks ago and it fried the HDMI connection, all I had to do was take it in and get a new one. Works for me

TiVo is slightly cheaper than the Comcast DVR over it's 48 month amortization period, a lot cheaper if you keep it longer, and it has a much better DVR and more storage than the crappy Comcast DVR. The Ceton card, when it actually ship, just has more awesomeness.

A good surge protector is your friend. If your house actually go hit, your box would have had a lot more damage than that. Sounds like a nearby strike.
BiggAW is offline  
post #2846 of 3315 Old 06-20-2010, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

TiVo is slightly cheaper than the Comcast DVR over it's 48 month amortization period, a lot cheaper if you keep it longer, and it has a much better DVR and more storage than the crappy Comcast DVR. The Ceton card, when it actually ship, just has more awesomeness.

A good surge protector is your friend. If your house actually go hit, your box would have had a lot more damage than that. Sounds like a nearby strike.

With today's technology, I'm not sure if I would have it for 48 months.

I have a fancy Monster surge protector from 03 on my home theater. Maybe I should be trying to make a claim on it? I think the unused satellite dish on the house was hit. The cabling coming into the basement from it exploded!
Feddie is offline  
post #2847 of 3315 Old 06-21-2010, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So did anyone else get the flyer about the "upgraded" software rollout? Is this a general form or for New London area specifically? It doesn't seem to have a date and I know this isn't a software upgrade! It's just the Motorola iGuide software package but this area is SA with Explorer software.

Can they push the iGuide/pilot (?) software onto the SA8300HD box? If they do the big question is do you lose all recordings?

I've used this software too and while it's pretty GUI I'd prefer to keep SA Explorer please. (yes the folders for shows by titles is nice but not worth the change to me)

AFAIK wouldn't changing software mean a headend change too so would that also mean an upgrade and more HD channels?

Lastly why does Comcast send out confusing / missleading flyers without dates or real info.
Beaker1024 is offline  
post #2848 of 3315 Old 06-21-2010, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
L Supreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Metrowest MA
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beaker1024 View Post

So did anyone else get the flyer about the "upgraded" software rollout? Is this a general form or for New London area specifically? It doesn't seem to have a date and I know this isn't a software upgrade! It's just the Motorola iGuide software package but this area is SA with Explorer software.

Its a rolling launch, the notification you recieved was to let you know that a change is coming.

Quote:


Can they push the iGuide/pilot (?) software onto the SA8300HD box? If they do the big question is do you lose all recordings?

Yes, they can. No, you will not lose your recordings



Quote:


AFAIK wouldn't changing software mean a headend change too so would that also mean an upgrade and more HD channels?

No, this is a version made to work on SA boxes. No headend change required.
L Supreme is offline  
post #2849 of 3315 Old 06-21-2010, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
the q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Collegeville, PA
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should not lose your recordings or any settings.

There is some more info here:
http://blog.comcast.com/2010/05/new-...ble-boxes.html

and here
http://www.comcast.net/meetyourguide/

It looks like the Middletown area got the new guide last week: http://www.middletownpress.com/artic...b241065101.txt

The Q
the q is offline  
post #2850 of 3315 Old 06-21-2010, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Beaker1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To me this is a step back... Unless this iGuide is different than the one I've seen on a Motorola box with (GUI screen captures on flyer are exactly the same)

So on that Moto box with this software the TV Guide table had less rows shown (with an AD!!! you have to scroll through each time). Series recordings, settings were not as straight forward as good old SA Explorer. (Seemed like added steps, complexity to justify a pretty, no just prettier, GUI)

If they would just put their time and money into infrastructure upgrades to get more HD channels out (not premium ones) that would be useful.
Beaker1024 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off